1.1	CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT ON H. F. No. 3263		
1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8	A bill for an act relating to traffic regulations; modifying provisions governing speed limits in highway work zones, operating vehicles on multilane roads, and surcharges on traffic citations; creating traffic safety education account; amending Minnesota Statutes 2008, sections 169.14, subdivision 5d; 169.18, subdivisions 7, 10, by adding a subdivision; 171.12, subdivision 6; 171.13, by adding a subdivision; Minnesota Statutes 2009 Supplement, section 357.021, subdivision 6.		
1.9 1.10 1.11	May 7, 2010 The Honorable Margaret Anderson Kelliher Speaker of the House of Representatives		
1.12 1.13	The Honorable James P. Metzen President of the Senate		
1.14 1.15	We, the undersigned conferees for H. F. No. 3263 report that we have agreed upon the items in dispute and recommend as follows:		
1.16 1.17	That the Senate recede from its amendments and that H. F. No. 3263 be further amended as follows:		
1.18	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:		
1.19 1.20	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169.14, subdivision 5d, is amended to read:		
1.21	Subd. 5d. Speed zoning in work zone; surcharge. (a) The commissioner, on		
1.22	trunk highways and temporary trunk highways, and local authorities, on streets and		
1.23	highways under their jurisdiction, may authorize the use of reduced maximum speed		
1.24	limits in highway work zones. The commissioner or local authority is not required to		
1.25	conduct an engineering and traffic investigation before authorizing a reduced speed limit		
1.26	in a highway work zone.		
1.27	(b) The minimum highway work zone speed limit is 20 miles per hour. The work		
1.28	zone speed limit must not reduce the established speed limit on the affected street or		
1.29	highway by more than 15 miles per hour, except that the highway work zone speed limit		
1.30	must not exceed 40 miles per hour. The commissioner or local authority shall post the		

1

2.1 limits of the work zone. Highway work zone speed limits are effective on erection of2.2 appropriate regulatory speed limit signs. The signs must be removed or covered when

they are not required. A speed greater than the posted highway work zone speed limit isunlawful.

2.5 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), on divided highways the commissioner or local
authority may establish a highway work zone speed limit that does not exceed 55 miles
2.7 per hour.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), on two-lane highways having one lane for
 each direction of travel with a posted speed limit of 60 miles per hour or greater, the
 commissioner or local authority may establish a highway work zone speed limit that
 does not exceed 40 miles per hour.

2.12 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "highway work zone" means a segment of 2.13 highway or street where a road authority or its agent is constructing, reconstructing, or 2.14 maintaining the physical structure of the roadway, its shoulders, or features adjacent to 2.15 the roadway, including underground and overhead utilities and highway appurtenances, 2.16 when workers are present.

(c) (f) Notwithstanding section 609.0331 or 609.101 or other law to the contrary, a
person who violates a speed limit established under paragraph (b) or (c) this subdivision,
or who violates any other provision of this section while in a highway work zone, is
assessed an additional surcharge equal to the amount of the fine imposed for the speed
violation, but not less than \$25.

2.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 169.685, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
2.23 Subd. 6. Exceptions. (a) This section does not apply to:

(1) a person transporting a child in an emergency medical vehicle while in the
performance of official duties and when the physical or medical needs of the child make
the use of a child passenger restraint system unreasonable or when a child passenger
restraint system is not available;

2.28 (2) a peace officer transporting a child while in the performance of official duties
2.29 and when a child passenger restraint system is not available, provided that a seat belt
2.30 must be substituted; and

2.31 (3) a person while operating a motor vehicle for hire, including a taxi, airport
2.32 limousine, and bus, but excluding a rented, leased, or borrowed motor vehicle;

2.33

(4) a person while operating a school bus; and

2.34 (5) a person while operating a type III vehicle described in section 169.011,
2.35 subdivision 71, paragraph (h), if the vehicle meets the seating and crash protection

2

3.1 requirements of Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 222, Code of Federal Regulations, 3.2 title 49, part 571.

(b) A child passenger restraint system is not required for a child who cannot, in the 3.3 judgment of a licensed physician, be safely transported in a child passenger restraint 3.4 system because of a medical condition, body size, or physical disability. A motor vehicle 3.5 operator claiming exemption for a child under this paragraph must possess a typewritten 3.6 statement from the physician stating that the child cannot be safely transported in a child 3.7 passenger restraint system. The statement must give the name and birth date of the child, 3.8 be dated within the previous six months, and be made on the physician's letterhead or 3.9 contain the physician's name, address, and telephone number. A person charged with 3.10 violating subdivision 5 may not be convicted if the person produces the physician's 3.11 statement in court or in the office of the arresting officer. 3.12

3.13 (c) A person offering a motor vehicle for rent or lease shall provide a child passenger
3.14 restraint device to a customer renting or leasing the motor vehicle who requests the device.
3.15 A reasonable rent or fee may be charged for use of the child passenger restraint device.

3.16

3.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

3.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2008, section 171.13, is amended by adding a subdivision
3.18 to read:

- 3.19 Subd. 1k. Driver's manual; driving in right lane. The commissioner shall include
- 3.20 in each edition of the driver's manual published by the department after August 1, 2010,
- 3.21 instructions relating to circumstances under which a driver of a motor vehicle should
- 3.22 drive in the right-hand lane of a highway that is divided into more than one lane in the
- 3.23 <u>same direction of travel.</u>"
- 3.24 Delete the title and insert:

"A bill for an act

relating to traffic regulations; modifying provisions related to highway work zone
speeds, driving in the right-hand lane, and seat belt requirements for persons
operating a type III vehicle as a school bus; amending Minnesota Statutes 2008,
sections 169.14, subdivision 5d; 169.685, subdivision 6; 171.13, by adding a
subdivision."

4.1	We request the adoption of this report and repassage of the bill.		
4.2	House Conferees:		
4.3 4.4	Melissa Hortman	Bernard Lieder	
4.5 4.6	Carol McFarlane		
4.7	Senate Conferees:		
4.8 4.9	Joe Gimse	Steve Murphy	
4.10 4.11	Jim Carlson		