
Rule 12. Discovery, Motions, and Applications​

(a) Discovery​

The voluntary exchange of information is encouraged. Formal discovery is discouraged except​
that a party is entitled to the following within 30 days of receipt of the request:​

(1) exchange of medical reports;​

(2) medical authorizations directed to all medical providers consulted by the claimant in the​
seven years prior to the accident;​

(3) employment records and authorizations for two years prior to the accident, when wage loss​
is in dispute;​

(4) supporting documentation required under No-Fault Arbitration Rule 5; and​

(5) other exhibits to be offered at the hearing.​

However, upon application and good cause shown by any party, the arbitrator may permit any​
discovery allowable under the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts. Any​
medical examination for which the respondent can establish good cause shall be completed within​
90 days following the commencement of the case unless extended by the arbitrator for good cause.​

The Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure shall apply to claims for comprehensive or collision​
damage coverage.​

(b) Motions and Applications​

Motions and Applications are discouraged. No prehearing motion or application may be​
submitted by any party for consideration until:​

(1) The parties have conferred either in person, or by telephone, or in writing in an attempt to​
resolve their differences. The moving/applying party shall initiate the conference. The​
moving/applying party shall include with its moving/application papers a certification that the​
movant/applicant has conferred with the other party and which states the outcome of that conference;​

(2) An arbitrator has been appointed in accordance with Rule 8; and​

(3) The fees required by Rule 40(a) have been deposited with the arbitration organization.​

If a party, or an officer, director, employee, or managing agent of a party fails to obey an order​
issued by the arbitrator, the arbitrator may issue such orders in regard to the failure as are just, and​
among others, those authorized by Minn. R. Civ. P. 37.02(b)(1)-(3). However, where the failure to​
comply is with an order for a medical examination that requires a party to produce another for the​
examination, orders authorized by Minn. R. Civ. P. 37.02(b)(1)-(3) shall not be available if the​
party failing to comply shows that the party is unable to produce such person for examination.​

Consistent with Rule 32, an arbitrator shall not award attorney's fees to any party.​

(Amended effective March 1, 2016; amended effective February 1, 2020.)​

Standing Committee Comments (2019)​

No-Fault Arbitration is intended to be a "speedy, informal and relatively inexpensive procedure​
for resolving controversies." Western National Ins. Co. v. Thompson, 797 N.W.2d 201, 205 (Minn.​
2011); Weaver v. State Farm Ins. Companies, 609 N.W.2d 878, 884 (Minn. 2000). However,​
prehearing motion practice has been increasing. This has increased administrative work for the​
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arbitration organization, bogged down the efficient processing of filed arbitrations, and has caused​
arbitrators to expend extra time and resources to analyze the motions and submissions, conduct​
prehearing legal research and file review, and issue rulings. It has also increased the work and​
time of the parties to the arbitration. The addition of the part (b) language to the Rule will reaffirm​
that motion practice is discouraged and stem prehearing motion practice by requiring conditions​
be met before submitting a prehearing motion, other than for postponement. The conditions are 1)​
a meet and confer requirement consistent with Minn. R. Civ. P. 37.01(b) and Minn. Gen. R. Pract.​
115.10; 2) the deposit of a motion fee by all parties to the motion from which the arbitration​
organization and the arbitrator will be compensated; and 3) preventing the filing of any motion​
prior to the appointment of an arbitrator. The additional language also provides the arbitrator​
with authority to enforce the arbitrator's orders, consistent with Minn. R. Civ. P. 37.02(b)(1)-(3)​
and the authorities interpreting the same. However, consistent with No-Fault Rule 32, attorney's​
fees shall not be awarded to any party. Added to part (a) of the Rule is language that parties are​
entitled to the five Rule 12 items within 30 days of a receipt of a request.​
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