
Rule 506. Fees; Affidavit in Lieu of Fees​

Except as otherwise provided by law, the court administrator shall charge and collect a filing​
fee in the amount established by law and the law library fee, from every plaintiff and from every​
defendant when the first document for that party is filed in any conciliation court action. If the​
plaintiff or defendant who is a natural person signs and files with the court administrator an affidavit​
claiming an inability to pay the applicable fees, no fees are required. If the affiant prevails on a​
claim or counterclaim, the amount of the fees which would have been payable by the affiant must​
be included in the order for judgment and paid to the administrator of conciliation court by the​
affiant out of any money recovered by the affiant on the judgment.​

(Amended effective July 1, 2015; amended effective November 22, 2023.)​

1993 Committee Comment​

Statewide conciliation court filing fees are established by the legislature (see Minnesota Statutes,​
section 357.022). The law library fee is established by the local law library board, and these fees​
typically range from $0 to $10. Minnesota Statutes 1990, section 134A.09, and Minnesota Statutes​
1991 Supplement, section 134A.10. The fee waiver procedure under Rule 506 is essentially a clerical​
process, and the waiver applies to the conciliation court filing and law library fees only. The​
procedure for waiver of other fees [e.g. service fees under Rule 508(d)(3), subpoena fees under​
Rule 512(a), and removal/appeal fees under Rule 521(b)(4)] is set forth in Minnesota Statutes 1990,​
section 563.01, which requires a formal application to, and decision by, the court. Only a party​
who is a natural person may utilize the fee waiver procedures under section 563.01 and Rule 506.​

Advisory Committee Comment - 2023 Amendments​

Rule 506 is modified in 2023 to accommodate fee waivers including statutory fee waivers under​
Minnesota Statutes, sections 169A.63, subdivision 8, paragraph (e), and 609.5314, subdivision 3,​
paragraph (a).​
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