MINNESOTA COURT RULES
1 GENERAL RULES OF PRACTICE

Rule 378. Appeal to Court of Appeals
Rule 378.01 Generally

An appeal may be taken to the court of appeals from a final order or judgment of a child support
magistrate or from a final order deciding a motion for review under Rule 376. Such an appeal shall
be taken in accordance with the procedures set forth in the Minnesota Rules of Civil Appellate
Procedure within 60 days of the date the court administrator serves upon the parties the notice of
filing of order or notice of entry of judgment. If any party brings a timely motion to correct clerical
mistakes under Rule 375 or a timely motion for review under Rule 376, the time for appeal is
extended for all parties while that motion is pending. Once the last such pending motion is decided
by the child support magistrate or district court judge, the 60 days to appeal from the final order or
judgment of a child support magistrate or from a final order deciding a motion to correct clerical
mistakes or a motion for review runs for all parties from the date the court administrator serves
upon the parties the notice of filing of order or notice of entry of judgment disposing of that motion.
A notice of appeal filed before the disposition of a timely motion to correct clerical mistakes or for
review is premature and of no effect, and it does not divest the child support magistrate of jurisdiction
to dispose of the motion. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the Minnesota Rules of Civil
Appellate Procedure shall govern the taking and processing of such appeals.

(Amended effective January 1, 2020.)
Advisory Committee Comment

Timing. Under Minn. R. Civ. App. P. 104.01, the sixty (60) days in which to bring an appeal
to the court of appeals begins to run on the date of service by any party of written notice of filing
of an appealable order or on the date on which an appealable judgment is entered. The Advisory
Commiittee intends that Rule 378 supersede the appellate rule to provide that the sixty (60) days to
appeal begins to run from the time the court administrator serves the written notice of filing of
order or notice of entry of judgment.

Scope of Review. A party may choose to bring a motion to correct clerical mistakes, or a motion
for review, or to appeal directly to the court of appeals thus bypassing the first two options. However,
if a party chooses the option of appealing directly to the court of appeals without first bringing a
motion for review, such an appeal will be limited to determining whether the evidence sustains the
findings of fact (to which the "clearly erroneous"” standard of review applies) and whether the
findings support the conclusions of law and the judgment. Kahn v. Tronnier, 547 N.W.2d at 428,
rev. denied (Minn. July 10, 1996). Thus, although a motion for review is very important to obtaining
the broadest possible appellate review, it is not an absolute prerequisite to appeal -- a litigant can
choose to file a direct appeal from the order of the child support magistrate, but the appeal will be
limited to issues within that narrower scope of review.
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