
Rule 355. Methods of Service; Filing​
Rule 355.01 Generally​

Subdivision 1.  Service Required. Except for ex parte motions allowed by statute or these​
rules, every document filed with the court shall be served on all parties and the county agency.​

Subd. 2. Service Upon Attorney for Party. If a party, other than the county agency, is​
represented by an attorney as shown by a certificate of representation in the court file, service shall​
be made upon the party's attorney, unless personal service upon the represented party is required​
under these rules. Except where personal service upon the county agency is required under these​
rules, service upon the county agency shall be accomplished by serving the county attorney.​

(Amended effective July 1, 2015.)​
Rule 355.02 Types of Service​

Subdivision 1.  Personal Service.​

(a) Upon Whom.​

(1) Upon an Individual. Personal service upon an individual in the state shall be​
accomplished by delivering a copy of the summons and complaint, notice, motion, or other document​
to the individual personally or by leaving a copy at the individual's house or usual place of residence​
with some person of suitable age and discretion who presently lives at that location. If the individual​
has, pursuant to statute, consented to any other method of service or appointed an agent to receive​
service, or if a statute designates a state official to receive service, service may be made in the​
manner provided by such statute. If the individual is confined to a state institution, personal service​
shall be accomplished by also serving a copy of the document upon the chief executive officer at​
the institution. Personal service upon an individual outside the state shall be accomplished according​
to the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 2000, chapter 518C, and Minnesota Statutes 2000, section​
543.19. Personal service may not be made on a legal holiday or election day.​

(2) Upon the County Agency. Personal service upon the county agency shall be​
accomplished by serving the director of the county human services department or the director's​
designee.​

(b) By Whom Served. Unless otherwise ordered by the child support magistrate, personal​
service shall be made only by the sheriff or by any other person who is at least 18 years of age who​
is not a party to the proceeding. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 2006, section 518A.46, subdivision​
2, paragraph (c), clause (4), an employee of the county agency may serve documents on parties.​

(c) Alternative Personal Service.​

(1) Admission or Acknowledgment or Waiver of Service. Service may be​
accomplished when the party to be served signs an admission or waives service as provided in​
Minn. R. Civ. P. 4.05.​

(2) Service by Publication.​

(A) Service. Service by publication means the publication of the entire summons​
or notice in the regular issue of a qualified newspaper, once each week for 3 weeks. Service by​
publication shall be permitted only upon order of a child support magistrate. The child support​
magistrate may order service by publication upon the filing of an affidavit by the serving party or​
the serving party's attorney stating that the person to be served is not a resident of the state or cannot​
be found within the state, the efforts that have been made to locate the other party, and either that​
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the serving party has mailed a copy of the summons or notice to the other party's place of residence​
or that such residence is not known to the serving party. When the person to be served is not a​
resident of the state, statutory requirements regarding long-arm jurisdiction shall be met.​

(B) Defense by Noninitiating Party. If the summons or notice is served by​
publication and the noninitiating party receives no actual notification of the proceeding, either​
before judgment or within one year of entry of judgment the noninitiating party may seek relief​
pursuant to Minn. R. Civ. P. 4.043.​

Subd. 2. Service by U.S. Mail. Service by U.S. mail means mailing a copy of the document​
by first-class mail, postage prepaid, addressed to the person to be served at the person's last known​
address. Service by mail shall be made only by the sheriff or by any other person who is at least​
18 years of age who is not a party to the proceeding. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 2006, section​
518A.46, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), clause (4), an employee of the county agency may serve​
documents on the parties.​

Subd. 3. Service by Electronic Means. Unless these rules require personal service, any​
document may be served by electronic means under Rule 14 upon any party who has agreed to or​
is required to accept service by electronic means.​

(Amended effective January 1, 2006; amended effective June 1, 2009; amended effective July 1,​
2015; amended effective July 1, 2019.)​

Advisory Committee Comment - 2008 Amendment​

Rule 355.02, subdivisions 1 and 2, are amended to reflect the recodification, effective on January​
1, 2007, of portions of the relevant statutes, that became part of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 518A.​

Advisory Committee Comment - 2019 Amendment​

Rule 355, subdivision (c)(1), is amended to reflect the amendment of Rule 4.05 of the Rules of​
Civil Procedure, effective July 1, 2018, to create a new means of obtaining consent to service under​
the rule. The former rule's reference to "service by mail" is potentially misleading, as the procedure​
set forth in the rule only accomplished service if the party to be served returned the acknowledgement​
of service.​
Rule 355.03 Completion of Service​

Personal service is complete upon delivery of the document. Service by U.S. mail is complete​
upon mailing. Service by publication is complete 21 days after the first publication. Completion of​
service by electronic means under Rule 14 is governed by Rule 14 of these rules.​

(Amended effective July 1, 2015.)​
Rule 355.04 Proof of Service​

Subdivision 1.  Parties. All documents filed with the court shall be accompanied by an affidavit​
of service, an acknowledgment of service by the party or party's attorney if served by alternative​
service, or, if served by publication, by the affidavit of the printer or the printer's designee. An​
affidavit of service shall describe what was served, state how the document was served, upon whom​
it was served, and the date, time, and place of service. When a document has been served through​
the E-Filing System in accordance with Rule 14, the record of service on the E-Filing System shall​
constitute proof of service.​

Subd. 2. Court Administrator. If the court administrator is required or permitted under these​
rules to serve a document, service may be proved by filing an affidavit of service, by filing a copy​
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of the written notice, or by making a notation in the court's computerized records that service was​
made.​

(Amended effective July 1, 2015.)​

Advisory Committee Comment - 2015 Amendments​

Rule 355.03 is amended to provide a cross-reference to Rule 14, governing electronic service​
generally. Additionally, the former provision relating to the time of completion of service by facsimile​
is deleted because that subject is now governed by Rule 14. The E-Filing System provides proof of​
service for any service made with it; if a document is served by other means, such as personally,​
by mail, or other agreed-upon means, separate proof of service must be prepared and filed.​
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