Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

SF 3136

as introduced - 91st Legislature (2019 - 2020) Posted on 02/13/2020 04:27pm

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.

Current Version - as introduced

Line numbers 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 1.6 1.7 1.8 1.9 1.10 1.11 1.12 1.13 1.14 1.15 1.16 1.17 1.18 1.19 1.20 1.21 1.22 1.23

A resolution
memorializing Congress to protect the lives of individuals who live in public housing.

WHEREAS, on November 27, 2019, a fire broke out on the 14th floor of the Minneapolis
Public Housing Authority (MPHA) Cedar High apartments that killed five residents and injured
four others. This fire highlights the life-or-death consequences of underfunding public housing;

WHEREAS, Minnesota public housing authorities have an estimated $354.9 million in
deferred critical maintenance and repairs, while nationally funding for public housing capital needs
declined 31 percent from 2001 to 2017; and

WHEREAS, the Minneapolis Public Housing Authority alone has an estimated $152 million
in deferred maintenance and renovations, including $69 million for plumbing and fire systems; and

WHEREAS, the federal government has an obligation to ensure its buildings are safe for the
public by providing appropriate resources to protect the lives and safety of each of its building's
tenants; and

WHEREAS, the critical lack of federal funding is putting public housing tenants at unnecessary
risk across Minnesota and the country; NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED by the Legislature of the State of Minnesota that it urges the President
and the Congress of the United States to immediately recognize and pay for its obligation to protect
the lives and safety of the individuals residing in public housing and pay for its deferred public
housing obligations to limit future tragedies.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary of State of the State of Minnesota is directed
to prepare copies of this memorial and transmit them to the President of the United States and
Minnesota's Senators and Representatives in Congress.