14-4688

SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTY-EIGHTH SESSION

EAP/DM

S.F. No. 2774

(SENATE AUTHORS: SCALZE, Metzen, Housley, Wiger and Kent)

DATE	D-PG	OFFICIAL STATUS
03/19/2014	6378	Introduction and first reading Referred to Taxes
03/24/2014	6803	Withdrawn and re-referred to Finance

1.1	A bill for an act
1.2	relating to transportation; sales and use tax; amending allocation requirements
1.3	for the metropolitan area transportation sales tax; amending Minnesota Statutes
1.4	2012, section 297A.992, subdivision 6.
1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 297A.992, subdivision 6, is amended to
1.7	read:
1.8	Subd. 6. Allocation <u>and use of grant awards.</u> (a) The board must allocate grant
1.9	awards only for the following transit purposes:
1.10	(i) capital improvements to transit ways, including, but not limited to, commuter
1.11	rail rolling stock, light rail vehicles, and transit way buses;
1.12	(ii) capital costs for park-and-ride facilities, as defined in section 174.256,
1.13	subdivision 2;
1.14	(iii) feasibility studies, planning, alternatives analyses, environmental studies,
1.15	engineering, property acquisition for transit way purposes, and construction of transit
1.16	ways; and
1.17	(iv) operating assistance for transit ways.
1.18	(b) The joint powers board must annually award grants to each minimum guarantee
1.19	county in an amount no less than the amount of sales tax revenue collected within that
1.20	county.
1.21	(c) The joint powers board must annually award grants in an amount totaling no
1.22	less than 40 percent of sales tax revenue collected for the year for projects in Dakota,
1.23	Ramsey, or Washington County.

1

2.1	(d) No more than 1.25 percent of the total awards may be annually allocated for
2.2	planning, studies, design, construction, maintenance, and operation of pedestrian programs
2.3	and bicycle programs and pathways.

2.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment
2.5 and applies to grant awards for calendar year 2015 and after.