01/29/13 **REVISOR** KLL/MB 13-0825 as introduced

SENATE STATE OF MINNESOTA EIGHTY-EIGHTH LEGISLATURE

A bill for an act

district; appropriating money; amending Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 2.722,

relating to courts; increasing the number of trial court judgeships in the third

S.F. No. 199

(SENATE AUTHORS: NELSON)

subdivision 1.

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.22

DATE D-PG OFFICIAL STATUS Introduction and first reading Referred to Judiciary 01/31/2013 130

1.5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.6	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 2.722, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.7	Subdivision 1. Description. Effective July 1, 1959, the state is divided into ten
1.8	judicial districts composed of the following named counties, respectively, in each of which
1.9	districts judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified:
1.10	1. Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and Sibley; 36 judges; and
1.11	four permanent chambers shall be maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and
1.12	Glencoe and one other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief judge
1.13	of the district;
1.14	2. Ramsey; 26 judges;
1.15	3. Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, Waseca, Freeborn,
1.16	Mower, and Fillmore; 23 24 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in
1.17	Faribault, Albert Lea, Austin, Rochester, and Winona;
1.18	4. Hennepin; 60 judges;
1.19	5. Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, Lincoln, Cottonwood,
1.20	Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, Martin, and Jackson; 16 judges; and permanent
1.21	chambers shall be maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato;

Section 1. 1

6. Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges;

01/29/13	REVISOR	KLL/MB	13-0825	as introduced
0 1/ = 2/ 10	112 , 10 0 11	1122,1112	12 00=0	***************************************

2.1	7. Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker,
2.2	and Wadena; 28 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead,
2.3	Fergus Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud;
2.4	8. Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, Swift, Yellow Medicine,
2.5	Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent
2.6	chambers shall be maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar;
2.7	9. Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, Mahnomen, Pennington,
2.8	Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and
2.9	Koochiching; 23 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Crookston, Thie
2.10	River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, and International Falls; and
2.11	10. Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, Chisago, and Washington;
2.12	45 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other
2.13	places designated by the chief judge of the district.
2.14	Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION.
2.15	\$324,000 is appropriated from the general fund in fiscal year 2013 to the Third
2.16	District Court for the judge unit authorized in section 1. The judge unit shall be funded
2.17	through direct appropriation, other court appropriations, or other funding options. The
2.18	judge unit consists of a judge, law clerk, and court reporter. The appropriation is available
2.19	until expended.

Sec. 3. **EFFECTIVE DATE.**

This section is effective July 1, 2013.

Sec. 3. 2