Skip to main content Skip to office menu Skip to footer
Capital IconMinnesota Legislature

SF 1600

as introduced - 79th Legislature (1995 - 1996) Posted on 12/15/2009 12:00am

KEY: stricken = removed, old language.
underscored = added, new language.

Current Version - as introduced

  1.1                          A bill for an act 
  1.2             relating to courts; increasing the number of judges 
  1.3             authorized in Ramsey county; amending Minnesota 
  1.4             Statutes 1994, section 2.722, subdivision 1. 
  1.6      Section 1.  Minnesota Statutes 1994, section 2.722, 
  1.7   subdivision 1, is amended to read: 
  1.8      Subdivision 1.  [DESCRIPTION.] Effective July 1, 1959, the 
  1.9   state is divided into ten judicial districts composed of the 
  1.10  following named counties, respectively, in each of which 
  1.11  districts judges shall be chosen as hereinafter specified: 
  1.12     1.  Goodhue, Dakota, Carver, Le Sueur, McLeod, Scott, and 
  1.13  Sibley; 28 judges; and four permanent chambers shall be 
  1.14  maintained in Red Wing, Hastings, Shakopee, and Glencoe and one 
  1.15  other shall be maintained at the place designated by the chief 
  1.16  judge of the district; 
  1.17     2.  Ramsey; 24 25 judges; 
  1.18     3.  Wabasha, Winona, Houston, Rice, Olmsted, Dodge, Steele, 
  1.19  Waseca, Freeborn, Mower, and Fillmore; 22 judges; and permanent 
  1.20  chambers shall be maintained in Faribault, Albert Lea, Austin, 
  1.21  Rochester, and Winona; 
  1.22     4.  Hennepin; 57 judges; 
  1.23     5.  Blue Earth, Watonwan, Lyon, Redwood, Brown, Nicollet, 
  1.24  Lincoln, Cottonwood, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Faribault, 
  1.25  Martin, and Jackson; 17 judges; and permanent chambers shall be 
  2.1   maintained in Marshall, Windom, Fairmont, New Ulm, and Mankato; 
  2.2      6.  Carlton, St. Louis, Lake, and Cook; 15 judges; 
  2.3      7.  Benton, Douglas, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, 
  2.4   Stearns, Todd, Clay, Becker, and Wadena; 22 judges; and 
  2.5   permanent chambers shall be maintained in Moorhead, Fergus 
  2.6   Falls, Little Falls, and St. Cloud; 
  2.7      8.  Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Meeker, Renville, 
  2.8   Swift, Yellow Medicine, Big Stone, Grant, Pope, Stevens, 
  2.9   Traverse, and Wilkin; 11 judges; and permanent chambers shall be 
  2.10  maintained in Morris, Montevideo, and Willmar; 
  2.11     9.  Norman, Polk, Marshall, Kittson, Red Lake, Roseau, 
  2.12  Mahnomen, Pennington, Aitkin, Itasca, Crow Wing, Hubbard, 
  2.13  Beltrami, Lake of the Woods, Clearwater, Cass and Koochiching; 
  2.14  20 judges; and permanent chambers shall be maintained in 
  2.15  Crookston, Thief River Falls, Bemidji, Brainerd, Grand Rapids, 
  2.16  and International Falls; 
  2.17     10.  Anoka, Isanti, Wright, Sherburne, Kanabec, Pine, 
  2.18  Chisago, and Washington; 34 judges; and permanent chambers shall 
  2.19  be maintained in Anoka, Stillwater, and other places designated 
  2.20  by the chief judge of the district.