This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

1.21

pain;

State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

NINETY-FIRST SESSION

H. F. No. 3993

03/02/2020 Authored by Munson and Bierman
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Commerce

1.2 1.3	relating to human services; adding two members to the opioid prescribing work group; amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0638, subdivision 3.
1.4	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
1.5	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 256B.0638, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
1.6	Subd. 3. Opioid prescribing work group. (a) The commissioner of human services, in
1.7	consultation with the commissioner of health, shall appoint the following voting members
1.8	to an opioid prescribing work group:
1.9	(1) two consumer members who have been impacted by an opioid abuse disorder or
1.10	opioid dependence disorder, either personally or with family members;
1.11	(2) one member who is a licensed physician actively practicing in Minnesota and
1.12	registered as a practitioner with the DEA;
1.13	(3) one member who is a licensed pharmacist actively practicing in Minnesota and
1.14	registered as a practitioner with the DEA;
1.15	(4) one member who is a licensed nurse practitioner actively practicing in Minnesota
1.16	and registered as a practitioner with the DEA;
1.17	(5) one member who is a licensed dentist actively practicing in Minnesota and registered
1.18	as a practitioner with the DEA;
1.19	(6) two members who are nonphysician licensed health care professionals actively
1.20	engaged in the practice of their profession in Minnesota, and their practice includes treating

Section 1.

2.1	(7) one member who is a mental health professional who is licensed or registered in a
2.2	mental health profession, who is actively engaged in the practice of that profession in
2.3	Minnesota, and whose practice includes treating patients with chemical dependency or
2.4	substance abuse;
2.5	(8) one member who is a medical examiner for a Minnesota county;
2.6	(9) one member of the Health Services Policy Committee established under section
2.7	256B.0625, subdivisions 3c to 3e;
2.8	(10) one member who is a medical director of a health plan company doing business in
2.9	Minnesota;
2.10	(11) one member who is a pharmacy director of a health plan company doing business
2.11	in Minnesota; and
2.12	(12) one member representing Minnesota law enforcement-; and
2.13	(13) two consumer members who are suffering from chronic pain, intractable pain, or
2.14	a rare disease or condition.
2.15	(b) In addition, the work group shall include the following nonvoting members:
2.16	(1) the medical director for the medical assistance program;
2.17	(2) a member representing the Department of Human Services pharmacy unit; and

(3) the medical director for the Department of Labor and Industry.

shall be paid to each voting member in attendance.

(c) An honorarium of \$200 per meeting and reimbursement for mileage and parking

2.18

2.19

2.20

Section 1. 2