This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

1.2

1.19

## State of Minnesota

A bill for an act

relating to public safety; expanding definition of metropolitan area for purposes

Printed Page No.

**320** 

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

H. F. No. 3820 NINETY-FIRST SESSION

02/26/2020 Authored by Mekeland, Neu, Johnson, Novotny, Erickson and others

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations
By motion, recalled and re-referred to the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Finance and Policy Division 03/04/2020 03/11/2020

Adoption of Report: Placed on the General Register

Read for the Second Time

| 1.3<br>1.4<br>1.5 | subdivision 16; 403.07, subdivision 2; 403.21, subdivisions 3, 12; 403.36, subdivision 1. |
|-------------------|---|
| 1.6               | BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:                               |
| 1.7               | Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.02, subdivision 16, is amended to read:   |
| 1.8               | Subd. 16. Metropolitan area. "Metropolitan area" means the counties of Anoka, Carver,     |
| 1.9               | Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Scott, Sherburne, and Washington.              |
| 1.10              | Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:       |
| 1.11              | Subd. 2. <b>Design standards for metropolitan area.</b> The Metropolitan 911 Emergency    |
| 1.12              | Services Board shall establish and adopt design standards for the metropolitan area 911   |
| 1.13              | system and transmit them to the commissioner for incorporation into the rules adopted     |
| 1.14              | pursuant to this section.   |
|                   |   |
| 1.15              | Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.21, subdivision 3, is amended to read:       |
| 1.16              | Subd. 3. First phase. "First phase" or "first phase of the regionwide public safety radio |
| 1.17              | communication system" means the initial backbone which serves the following nine-county   |
| 1.18              | ten-county metropolitan area: Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey,   |

Sec. 3. 1

Scott, Sherburne, and Washington Counties.

02/12/20 REVISOR KRB/SA 20-6982

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.21, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

- Subd. 12. **Greater Minnesota.** "Greater Minnesota" means the area of the state outside the nine-county ten-county metropolitan area served by the first phase.
- Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 403.36, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- 2.5 Subdivision 1. **Membership.** (a) The commissioner of public safety shall convene and chair the Statewide Radio Board to develop a project plan for a statewide, shared, trunked public safety radio communication system. The system may be referred to as "Allied Radio Matrix for Emergency Response," or "ARMER."
- (b) The board consists of the following members or their designees:
- 2.10 (1) the commissioner of public safety;
- 2.11 (2) the commissioner of transportation;
- 2.12 (3) the state chief information officer;
- 2.13 (4) the commissioner of natural resources;
- 2.14 (5) the chief of the Minnesota State Patrol;
- 2.15 (6) the chair of the Metropolitan Council;

2.22

2.23

- 2.16 (7) two elected city officials, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area 2.17 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the League of 2.18 Minnesota Cities:
- 2.19 (8) two elected county officials, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area 2.20 and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Association of 2.21 Minnesota Counties;
  - (9) two sheriffs, one from the <u>nine-county</u> ten-county metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governing body of the Minnesota Sheriffs' Association;
- 2.24 (10) two chiefs of police, one from the nine-county ten-county metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations made by the Minnesota Chiefs' of Police Association;
- 2.27 (11) two fire chiefs, one from the <u>nine-county ten-county</u> metropolitan area and one 2.28 from Greater Minnesota, appointed by the governor after considering recommendations 2.29 made by the Minnesota Fire Chiefs' Association;

Sec. 5. 2

| 02/12/20    | REVISOR         | TABB /C A | 20-6982  |
|-------------|-----------------|-----------|----------|
| 177/177/711 | DEVISIO         |           | 70 6097  |
| 1/1 1/1/11  | 18.17.8.18.0.18 | KRB/SA    | /.U=U70/ |
|             |                 |           |          |

| (12) two representatives of emergency medical service providers, one from the         |
|---|
| nine-county ten-county metropolitan area and one from Greater Minnesota, appointed by |
| the governor after considering recommendations made by the Minnesota Ambulance        |
| Association;  |

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

- (13) the chair of the regional radio board for the metropolitan area Metropolitan Emergency Services Board; and
- (14) a representative of Greater Minnesota elected by those units of government in phase three and any subsequent phase of development as defined in the statewide, shared radio and communication plan, who have submitted a plan to the Statewide Radio Board and where development has been initiated.
- (c) The Statewide Radio Board shall coordinate the appointment of board members representing Greater Minnesota with the appointing authorities and may designate the geographic region or regions from which an appointed board member is selected where necessary to provide representation from throughout the state.

Sec. 5. 3