This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1 11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1 16

1 17

1.18

1 19

1.20

1.21

State of Minnesota

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

EIGHTY-NINTH SESSION

H. F. No.

1971

03/17/2015 Authored by Nash, Pugh, Uglem, Scott, Lucero and others

The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations and Elections Policy

1.1 A bill for an act
1.2 relating to the Metropolitan Council; requiring approval before implementation
1.3 of the Thrive MSP 2040 metropolitan development guide; requiring revision
1.4 after local government input.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:

Section 1. THRIVE MSP 2040, REVISION REQUIRED.

- (a) The Metropolitan Council must not implement the policy statements, goals, standards, programs, and maps prescribing guides for the orderly and economical development, public and private, of the metropolitan area, including specifically the transportation, parks and open space, and housing policy plans and programs, in the metropolitan development guide adopted by the Metropolitan Council on May 28, 2014, known as Thrive MSP 2040, until a law is enacted approving a revised guide prepared as required in paragraph (b).
- (b) The Metropolitan Council must revise the metropolitan development guide so it reflects a balance of regional and local goals for the orderly and economical development, public and private, of the metropolitan area. The guide must be developed in close, ongoing consultation and cooperation with the local governments in the region, and the guide may not be submitted to the legislature for approval until at least 50 percent of the counties and 50 percent of the statutory and home rule charter cities in the region have adopted and submitted to the council resolutions in support of the proposed metropolitan development guide.
- EFFECTIVE DATE; APPLICATION. This section is effective the day following
 final enactment and applies in the counties of Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey,
 Scott, and Washington.

Section 1.