This Document can be made available in alternative formats upon request

1.1

1.2

## State of Minnesota

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

A bill for an act

relating to state government; establishing the Women's Suffrage 100th Anniversary

NINETIETH SESSION

H. F. No.

4132

03/21/2018 Authored by Clark, Kunesh-Podein, Loeffler, Moran, Ward and others
The bill was read for the first time and referred to the Committee on Government Operations and Elections Policy

Commemoration Commission; appropriating money.
BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MINNESOTA:
Section 1. WOMEN'S SUFFRAGE 100TH ANNIVERSARY COMMEMORATION
COMMISSION.
Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Women's Suffrage 100th Anniversary
Commemoration Commission (commission) is established to promote the commemoration
of the 19th Amendment to the United States Constitution statewide and to celebrate the role
of Minnesotans and the state in this national and international milestone.
Subd. 2. Legislative findings. The legislature finds that Minnesota women were on the
forefront of the women's suffrage movement. From Harriet Robinson Scott to Clara Ueland
and Coya Knutson, the women of Minnesota have shaped our local, state, and national
histories. The year 2020 marks the 100th anniversary of the passage of the 19th Amendment.
Notably, women in South St. Paul, Minnesota, were the first women to vote under the 19th
Amendment. St. Paul's Sarah T. Covin was arrested in front of the White House for
advocating votes for women. The women of Minnesota were paramount in this struggle to
shape the future and ensure a more just and equitable society for all persons.
Subd. 3. <b>Duties.</b> The commission has the authority to:
(1) coordinate the state's commemoration of the 100th anniversary of the passage of the
19th Amendment for the years 2019 to 2020;

Section 1.

2.1	(2) execute and publish in the State Register the request for proposals for a 2020 small grants initiative and to review submissions and award the grants; and
2.3	(3) plan and execute an organized series of events around women's suffrage.
2.4	Subd. 4. Membership. The commission shall consist of the following 17 members:
2.5	(1) the secretary of state or the secretary's designee;
2.6	(2) the commissioner of education or the commissioner's designee;
2.7	(3) the commissioner of economic development or the commissioner's designee;
2.8	(4) the executive director of the Minnesota Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans;
2.9	(5) the executive director of the Minnesota Historical Society;
2.10	(6) the president of the Minnesota Humanities Center;
2.11	(7) the executive director of the Indian Affairs Council;
2.12	(8) the executive director of the Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs;
2.13	(9) the executive director of the Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage;
2.14	(10) the president of the League of Women Voters of Minnesota;
2.15	(11) the director of the Minnesota Women's Consortium;
2.16	(12) a representative from Zeta Phi Beta sorority;
2.17	(13) one member appointed by the governor;
2.18	(14) one member appointed by the president of the senate;
2.19	(15) one member appointed by the minority leader in the senate;
2.20	(16) one member appointed by the speaker of the house; and
2.21	(17) one member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives.
2.22	Subd. 5. Organization; meetings. (a) The commission may meet and hold hearings and
2.23	events throughout the state. The first meeting shall be convened by the executive director
2.24	of the Minnesota Historical Society. The members shall elect a chair and other officers as
2.25	deemed necessary at the first meeting of the commission.
2.26	(b) The commission may request and shall receive assistance and data reasonably
2.27	available from any state agency, department, council, or commission of the state. The
2.28	Minnesota Historical Society shall provide office and meeting space and administrative
2.29	support as required by the commission.

Section 1. 2

32/14/10	DEMICOD		10 (75)
14/1/1/18	REVISOR		18 6/3/
03/14/18	REVISOR	SGS/SA	18-6754

3.1	(c) The commission may enter into agreements and contracts necessary to carry out the
3.2	objectives of the commission.
3.3	(d) The commission members shall receive no compensation but may be reimbursed for
3.4	actual and necessary expenses.
3.5	(e) The members of the commission appointed by the legislative leadership serve at the
3.6	pleasure of the appointing authority. Any other vacancies shall be filled in the manner
3.7	provided for original appointments.
3.8	Subd. 6. Expiration. The commission expires December 31, 2020.
3.9	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
3.10	Sec. 2. APPROPRIATION.
3.11	\$ in fiscal year 2019 is appropriated from the general fund to the Women's Suffrage

100th Anniversary Commemoration Commission for the purposes in section 1.

3.12

Sec. 2. 3