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92.01 STATE PUBLIC LANDS OR STATE LANDS.​

"State public lands" or "state lands" means school, swamp, university, internal improvement, and other​
lands granted to the state by acts of Congress.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​
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92.02 AUTHORITY.​

Sales under this chapter must be conducted by the commissioner, a deputy of the commissioner, or a​
competent person employed by the commissioner.​

History: (6282) 1911 c 123 s 4; 1919 c 199 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 11​

92.025 SCHOOL TRUST LAND DEFINITION.​

For purposes of this chapter and chapter 94, "school trust land" means land granted by the United States​
for use of schools within each township, swampland granted to the state, and internal improvement land that​
are reserved for permanent school fund purposes under the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 8,​
and land exchanged, purchased, or granted to the permanent school fund.​

History: 1988 c 628 s 5​

92.03 MINIMUM PRICE OF LANDS.​

Subdivision 1. School lands. The price of school lands must be at least $5 an acre, including the value​
of timber reproduction. No more than 100,000 acres of school lands may be sold in one year. If a patent has​
been issued by the federal government to school land before 1864 and the taxes on it have been paid for at​
least 35 years, the commissioner of management and budget may reduce the minimum price of $5 an acre​
by the taxes paid to make the land salable.​

Subd. 2. University lands. The price of lands donated to the state by the United States by Act of Congress​
entitled "An act donating to the states of Minnesota and Oregon certain lands reserved by Congress for the​
territories of Minnesota and Oregon, for university purposes," approved March 2, 1861, and by an Act of​
Congress entitled "An act donating public lands to the several states and territories which may provide​
colleges for the benefit of agriculture and mechanic arts," approved July 2, 1862, must be at least $5 an acre,​
including the value of timber reproduction. The commissioner shall sell them in accordance with this chapter.​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1965 c 45 s 73]​

Subd. 4. Internal improvement lands. When lands donated to the state under the eighth section of an​
Act of Congress entitled "An act to appropriate the proceeds of the sales of the public lands, and to grant​
preemption rights," approved September 4, 1841, are sold, the money derived from its sale must be invested,​
as provided by the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 8.​

History: (6261, 6262, 6264, 6265) RL s 2404,2405,2407,2408; 1917 c 76 s 1; 1919 c 258 s 1; 1961 c​
657 s 1; 1963 c 202 s 1,2; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1982 c 424 s 16; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1991 c 219 s 1; 2004 c​
262 art 1 s 12; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 75; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​

92.04 MINIMUM PRICE OF CERTAIN STATE LANDS.​

Lands selected for state institutions under an act of the legislature entitled "An act to appropriate swamp​
lands to certain educational and charitable institutions and for the purpose of creating a state prison," approved​
February 13, 1865, and lands known as State Capitol lands, must be sold as school lands are sold. The price​
of lands belonging to the state by virtue of the Congressional acts in this section and section 92.03 must be​
at least $5 an acre, including the value of timber reproduction. The terms of payment and conditions of sale​
must be the same as provided by law. When state lands have been benefited by and assessments paid for​
drainage, the drainage improvements must be considered by the state land examiner in making appraisals.​
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When the drained lands are sold, the principal and interest paid on it must be credited by the commissioner​
to the proper fund to which the land belongs.​

History: (6266) RL s 2409; 1907 c 366 s 1; 1909 c 118 s 1; 1963 c 202 s 3; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 2004​
c 262 art 1 s 13​

92.05 SALT LANDS.​

(a) The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota shall have charge of the state salt lands donated​
by the United States to aid in the development of the brines in the state. The Board of Regents may sell these​
lands. The university may execute, in its name, deeds of conveyance of these lands. The proceeds of the​
sale of the lands when invested constitute a permanent fund, called the university salt land fund. The University​
Board of Regents shall control and manage the university salt land fund.​

(b) The university salt land fund is considered a nonstate source for purposes of section 137.022,​
subdivision 3. The Board of Regents may use the income from the fund to match income from the permanent​
university fund for use by the university campuses at Crookston, Duluth, Morris, and Waseca for the purposes​
set forth in section 137.022, subdivision 3.​

History: (6263) RL s 2406; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 703 art 1 s 8​

92.06 PAYMENTS; INTEREST.​

Subdivision 1. Terms for land sales held before July 1, 2004. (a) The terms of payment on the sale​
of state public lands held before July 1, 2004, must be as follows: The purchaser shall pay in cash at the​
time of sale the appraised value of all timber and costs determined by the commissioner to be associated​
with the sale including survey, appraisal, publication, deed tax, filing fee, and similar costs. At least 15​
percent of the purchase price of the land exclusive of timber and associated costs must be paid in cash at​
the time of sale. The balance of the purchase price must be paid in no more than 20 equal annual installments.​
Payments must be made by June 1 each year following the year in which the purchase was made, with​
interest at the rate in effect at the time of sale, calculated under this subdivision, on the unpaid balances.​
Any installment of principal or interest may be paid in advance, but part payment of an installment will not​
be accepted. For the purpose of computing interest, any installment of principal not paid on June 1 shall be​
credited on the following June 1. The purchaser may pay the balance due on a sale within 30 days of the​
sale with no interest due.​

(b) Interest on unpaid balances must be computed as annual simple interest. The rate of interest must​
be based on average effective interest rates on mortgage loans as provided in paragraph (c).​

(c) On or before December 31 of each year, the commissioner of natural resources shall determine the​
rate from the average effective interest rate on loans closed using the Office of Thrift Supervision series,​
formerly the Federal Home Loan Bank Board series, or its successor agency, for the most recent calendar​
month, reported on a monthly basis in the latest statistical release of the Board of Governors of the Federal​
Reserve System. This yield, rounded to the nearest quarter of one percent, is the annual interest rate for sales​
of state land during the succeeding calendar year.​

(d) For state land sales in calendar year 1993 after July 1, 1993, the rate is eight percent, which is the​
September 1992 average from the Office of Thrift Supervision series, rounded to the nearest quarter of one​
percent.​

Subd. 1a. Terms for land sales after July 1, 2004. Notwithstanding subdivision 1, for state land sales​
on or after July 1, 2004, the purchaser must pay at the time of sale ten percent of the total amount bid and​
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the remainder of the payment is due within 90 days of the sale date. A person who fails to make final payment​
within 90 days of the sale date is in default. On default, all right, title, and interest of the purchaser or heirs,​
representatives, or assigns of the purchaser in the premises shall terminate without the state doing any act​
or thing. A record of the default must be made in the state land records of the commissioner.​

Subd. 2. Buildings or improvements. If there are buildings or other improvements upon the land, their​
value must be determined separately and included in the purchase price. A person must not remove, injure,​
or destroy a building or other improvement until an amount equal to its determined value has been paid on​
the purchase price of the premises, in addition to any payment required for timber. Violation of this provision​
is a gross misdemeanor.​

Subd. 3. Default. A person who fails to make a payment required under a certificate of sale within 60​
days from the date it becomes due is in default. On default, the certificate of sale shall be deemed canceled,​
and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser, in the​
premises shall terminate without the doing by the state of any act or thing. A record of the default must be​
made in the state land records of the commissioner. The commissioner may prepare a certificate of default​
and file it with the county treasurer or record it in the office of the county recorder of the county containing​
the property. The record or certificate is prima facie evidence of the facts stated in it, but the cancellation​
and termination are effective without it. This subdivision does not apply to a sale made before May 1, 1941.​

Subd. 4. Improvements; when payment not necessary. (a) If a person has made improvements to the​
land and if: (1) the commissioner believes that person settled the land in good faith as homestead land under​
the laws of the United States before it was certified to the state, (2) the improvements were lawfully made​
by that person as a lessee of the state, or (3) the commissioner determines, based on clear and convincing​
evidence provided by the person, that the improvements were made by the person as an inadvertent trespasser,​
then the value of the improvements must be separately determined and, if the settler, lessee, or inadvertent​
trespasser purchases the land, the settler, lessee, or inadvertent trespasser is not required to pay for the​
improvements. If another person purchases the land, that person must pay the owner of the improvements,​
in addition to all other required payments, the determined amount for the improvements.​

(b) Payment for improvements must be made within 15 days of the auction sale, either in cash or upon​
terms and conditions agreeable to the owner of the improvements. If payment for improvements is not made​
in cash, and if there is no agreement between the parties within 15 days of the auction sale, the commissioner​
may:​

(1) sell the property to the second highest qualified bidder if that bidder submitted to the commissioner's​
representative, at the auction sale, a written request to buy the property at a specified price; or​

(2) void the sale and reoffer the property at a subsequent sale.​

(c) This subdivision does not apply unless the owner of the improvements makes a verified application​
to the commissioner showing entitlement to the improvements before the first state public sale at which the​
land is offered for sale. The applicant must appear at the sale and offer to purchase the land for at least its​
determined value including all timber on it, and make the purchase if no higher bid is received. Actions or​
other proceedings involving the land in question begun before the sale must have been completed.​
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Subd. 5. Further security. The commissioner may require of the purchaser security for the payment of​
the deferred installments. The commissioner may recover the money and enforce any security by action​
brought in the director's name.​

History: (6267, 6268) RL s 2410,2411; 1915 c 13 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 2; 1973 c 492 s 14; 1976 c 181 s​
2; 1982 c 531 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1988 c 718 art 7 s 1; 1993 c 285 s 6; 1997 c 216 s​
71,72; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 14-18​

92.07 SALES BY SUBDIVISIONS.​

Sales of land by the commissioner must be made according to the subdivisions by the United States​
surveys, unless the land has been subdivided into smaller parcels or lots, as provided in this chapter. The​
land may not be sold in larger quantity than one quarter section.​

History: (6269) RL s 2412; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.08 SURVEYS AND RESURVEYS.​

(a) The commissioner may have surveys made to determine the correct boundaries or description of the​
land or to dispose of it in convenient parcels. When the commissioner determines that the interest of the​
state will be promoted, the commissioner may subdivide land controlled by the commissioner into smaller​
parcels or city lots.​

(b) When the commissioner believes that an injustice has been done the purchaser because of an incorrect​
United States survey, the commissioner may have a resurvey made by a competent surveyor. The surveyor​
shall prepare a plat showing the correct acreage of each subdivision resurveyed and file it with the​
commissioner and with the county recorder of the proper county. The commissioner may call in the land​
certificates affected by the resurvey and issue new ones. The certificates must show the correct acreage and​
give full credit for all payments of principal and interest made.​

History: (6274, 6275) RL s 2417; 1917 c 197 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444;​
2004 c 262 art 1 s 19​

92.09 [Repealed, 2004 c 262 art 1 s 41]​

92.10 MAPS AND PLATS.​

Subdivision 1. Map recorded. When the commissioner subdivides land into small parcels or city lots,​
a map of the subdivision shall be recorded with the county recorder of the county containing the land.​

Subd. 2. Preparation. The commissioner shall prepare suitable maps or plats designating school or​
other state lands owned by the state that are subject to sale. The maps or plats must be printed and distributed​
with other printed matter in sufficient quantities to properly advertise the sales provided by this chapter.​

History: (6273, 6283) RL s 2416; 1911 c 123 s 5; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1985 c 265 art​
3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 20​

92.11 [Repealed, 2004 c 262 art 1 s 41]​

92.115 VALUATION OF STATE LANDS; MINIMUM BID.​

Subdivision 1. Land valuation required. Before offering any state land for sale under this chapter, the​
commissioner must establish the value of the land. The commissioner shall have the land appraised if the​
estimated market value is in excess of $100,000.​
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Subd. 2. Minimum bid. The minimum bid for a parcel of land must include the estimated value or​
appraised value of the land and any improvements and, if any of the land is valuable for merchantable timber,​
the value of the merchantable timber. The minimum bid may include expenses incurred by the commissioner​
in rendering the property salable, including survey, appraisal, legal, advertising, and other expenses.​

Subd. 3. Closing costs. The purchaser of state land must pay recording fees and the state deed tax.​

History: 2004 c 262 art 1 s 21; 2016 c 154 s 3; 1Sp2019 c 4 art 4 s 2​

92.12 APPRAISAL OF SCHOOL AND OTHER STATE LANDS.​

Subdivision 1. Appraisers. The commissioner may have any school trust or other state lands appraised.​
The appraisals must be made by regularly appointed and qualified state appraisers. To be qualified, an​
appraiser must hold a state appraiser license issued by the Department of Commerce. The appraisal must​
be in conformity with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice of the Appraisal Foundation.​

Subd. 2. Valuation and appraisal. The appraiser shall view and appraise the lands, including the​
merchantable timber and improvements on them, and make a report to the commissioner. The valuation of​
the lands and the merchantable timber and improvements on them must each be made. The minimum price​
established by the appraisal is the minimum price for the lands until changed by later appraisal. The price​
may not be less than $5 an acre.​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1961 c 657 s 3]​

Subd. 4. Sales. The commissioner shall hold frequent sales of school trust and other state lands. The​
commissioner shall sell lands the commissioner considers best for the public interest.​

Subd. 5. Sale of land and timber. When the appraisal or other reports show that the land is mainly​
valuable for agricultural purposes and contains only small quantities of timber, the commissioner may either​
sell the timber separately as provided by law for state timber sales or sell the land as agricultural land. If the​
land is sold as agricultural land the purchaser must pay down as first payment an amount equal to the value​
of the timber, in addition to the first payment required on the land. If the appraisal and other reports show​
land should be sold for continuous forest production or other conservation purpose, the commissioner may​
require that the full appraised value of land and timber must be paid by the purchaser at the time of purchase.​

Subd. 6. Drainage. The appraisers must report to the commissioner lands that they believe should be​
drained. After the state has constructed or has been assessed for a public ditch or drain, the lands assessed​
or improved must be reappraised before being offered for sale.​

History: (6277, 6438) 1911 c 90 s 5; 1911 c 196 s 1; Ex1919 c 17 s 1; 1927 c 332 s 1; Ex1933 c 22 s​
1; 1941 c 374 s 3; 1959 c 589 s 1; 1963 c 171 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1991 c 219 s 2; 2004​
c 262 art 1 s 22-25​

92.121 MS 2018 [Repealed, 1Sp2019 c 4 art 3 s 119]​

92.122 COMPENSATING PERMANENT SCHOOL FUND.​

Subdivision 1. Compensation requirements. (a) When the revenue generated from school trust land​
and associated resources is diminished by management practices applied to the land and resources as​
determined by the commissioner of natural resources, the commissioner must compensate the permanent​
school fund.​
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(b) When generating revenue from school trust land and associated resources will be prohibited by a​
policy or designation applied to the land and resources as determined by the commissioner, the commissioner​
must compensate the permanent school fund before the policy or designation is applied.​

Subd. 2. Compensation methods. To compensate the permanent school fund under subdivision 1, the​
commissioner may use compensation methods that include:​

(1) exchanging other land that is compatible with the goal of the permanent school fund under section​
127A.31, as allowed under sections 94.343, subdivision 1, and 94.3495, and the Minnesota Constitution,​
article XI, section 10;​

(2) leasing under section 92.50 and according to subdivision 3, with rental payments as compensation;​
and​

(3) condemning the land under section 92.83, with payment of the amount of the award and judgment​
as compensation.​

Subd. 3. Lease terms for compensating fund. With advice from the school trust lands director according​
to section 127A.353, subdivision 4, the commissioner may lease school trust land to compensate the permanent​
school fund. Rental payments received under this subdivision:​

(1) must be credited to the forest suspense account as nonqualifying revenue and not subject to cost​
certification under section 16A.125;​

(2) must be paid in full upon executing the lease; and​

(3) are determined by the commissioner and subject to review by a licensed appraiser.​

History: 1Sp2019 c 4 art 3 s 41​

92.13 STATE LANDS; DATE OF SALE.​

The commissioner shall hold public sales of school and other state lands when it is advantageous to the​
state and to intending buyers and settlers.​

History: (6279) 1911 c 123 s 1; 1913 c 8 s 1; 1923 c 6 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1991 c 219 s 3​

92.14 SALE; NOTICE.​

Subdivision 1. Time. At least 30 days before a sale, the commissioner shall give published notice of the​
sale in each county containing land to be sold, and in the county where the sale will be held. If there is no​
newspaper published in the county, posted notice in the county courthouse must be given. The commissioner​
shall also provide electronic notice of sale. On or before the day of sale, the commissioner may withdraw​
any lands.​

Subd. 2. Contents. The notice must contain the following information:​

(1) the time and place for the holding of the sales;​

(2) a general statement of the terms of sale; and​

(3) the place where lists of lands to be offered for sale may be obtained.​
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Subd. 3. Additional advertising of land sales. In addition to notice of land sales required by subdivision​
1, the commissioner shall publicize land sales in Minnesota and elsewhere to the greatest extent possible,​
consistent with appropriations available for that purpose.​

History: (6278, 6280) RL s 2419; 1911 c 123 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 718 art 7 s 2; 1991 c​
219 s 4; 1993 c 285 s 7; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 26​

92.145 UNSOLD LANDS.​

Except for school trust lands, parcels remaining unsold after the public sale offering may be sold to​
anyone agreeing to pay the minimum bid established for the public sale. The sale shall continue until all​
eligible parcels have been sold or the commissioner withdraws the remaining parcels from sale.​

History: 2004 c 262 art 1 s 27​

92.15 APPLICATION.​

All other requirements and provisions relating to the sale of school and other state lands apply to sales​
made under sections 92.02, 92.10, 92.13, and 92.14.​

History: (6281) 1911 c 123 s 3; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.16 CERTIFICATE OF SALE.​

Subdivision 1. Contents; default; resale. At the time of the sale the commissioner shall execute,​
acknowledge, and deliver to the purchaser a certificate of sale, numbered and made assignable, certifying​
the description of the land sold, its quantity, the price per acre, the consideration paid and to be paid, and​
the time and terms of payment. A certificate must not be delivered until the sum required by law to be paid​
at the time of the sale is paid. If the purchaser fails to pay the sum, the commissioner may reoffer the land​
for sale, but a bid may not be accepted from the person failing to pay the original offer. If the purchaser pays​
in full at the time of sale, the commissioner is not required to issue a certificate of sale.​

Subd. 2. Default in paying interest; resale. Upon cancellation of any certificate of sale the commissioner​
may without notice take possession of the lands described in the certificate and resell them at public auction​
in the same manner and under the same rules as provided for the first sale. When the commissioner has​
reappraised, advertised, and publicly offered the lands for sale, the state is deemed to have reentered the​
lands without any other act, but this is not essential to cancellation of the certificate of sale and does not​
extend any rights of any person claiming under the certificate. The purchaser at the sale is entitled to immediate​
possession. If the land is not sold after cancellation of a certificate of sale, it is unsold land of the state, free​
of rights claimed by any person under the certificate whether in actual or constructive possession.​

Subd. 3. Application. Mason's Supplement 1940, section 6285, as it existed before the passage of Laws​
1941, chapter 374, applies to all state lands of any kind referred to in it sold after the passage of Extra Session​
Laws 1933-1934, chapter 39, January 5, 1934, and before May 1, 1941. Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927,​
section 6285, as it existed before the passage of chapter 39, applies to all state lands sold before the passage​
of chapter 39, as if chapter 39 and Laws 1941, chapter 374, had not been enacted. Section 6285, as amended​
by Laws 1941, chapter 374, applies to all state lands sold after April 30, 1941.​

Subd. 4. Lands repossessed or reentered. If state lands sold before the passage of Extra Session Laws​
1933-1934, chapter 39, January 5, 1934, have been repossessed or reentered before the passage of Laws​
1941, chapter 374, in accordance with Mason's Minnesota Statutes of 1927, section 6285, as it existed before​
the passage of chapter 39, the reentry or repossession is valid for all purposes.​
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Subd. 5. Lands sales after July 1, 2004. Notwithstanding subdivisions 1 to 4, no certificate of sale shall​
be issued for land sold on or after July 1, 2004. The terms of payment for land sales on or after July 1, 2004,​
are as provided in section 92.06, subdivision 1a.​

History: (6284, 6285) RL s 2420,2421; Ex1933 c 39 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 4; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c​
628 s 6; 1997 c 216 s 73; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 28​

92.163 EXTENSION FOR PAYMENT ON STATE LAND CERTIFICATES.​

Subdivision 1. Limitation. The time for payment of the principal of any certificate of sale of state public​
land sold before May 1, 1941, which has expired or will expire, is extended as provided in this section.​

Subd. 2. Certificate holder to file application. Before the expiration of the time for the payment of​
principal specified in the original certificate of sale, or any lawful extension, the holder of the certificate​
shall file with the commissioner of natural resources an application for an extension of time of payment in​
the form prescribed by the commissioner. The applicant shall submit to the commissioner the certificate of​
sale or an affidavit of the circumstances if it has been lost or destroyed, or cannot be produced for any other​
reason, together with other proof of the applicant's rights required by the commissioner. At least 15 percent​
of the unpaid principal must be paid with the application, together with all unpaid interest and penalties​
accrued. The remaining unpaid principal, with interest, is payable as provided by Mason's Minnesota Statutes​
1927, section 6267, as amended by Laws 1941, chapter 374. The rights of the certificate holder and all other​
proceedings in the matter are subject to that section and other applicable laws, as if the land has been sold​
under them on the date of the filing of the application for extension.​

Subd. 3. Certificate of extension. Thereupon the time for payment is extended. The commissioner shall​
issue a certificate of extension in form approved by the attorney general, and the original certificate shall​
be deemed modified in accordance with it. The duplicate of the certificate must be attached to the duplicate​
original certificate of sale on record in the office of the commissioner of natural resources.​

Subd. 4. Applicability. This section does not apply if the certificate of sale has been absolutely terminated​
and made void, without right of redemption, or if the land has become forfeited to the state for delinquent​
taxes.​

History: 1943 c 469 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.165 CERTIFICATE OF RELEASE.​

Subdivision 1. Release by commissioner. Whenever it appears (1) that the terms of a certificate of sale​
of state public lands have been fully complied with entitling the owner to a patent under the terms of the​
certificate; (2) that the patent has not been issued; and (3) that after compliance, the lands were forfeited to​
the state for nonpayment of taxes accruing after compliance, the commissioner shall, upon resolution of the​
county board of the county in which the lands lie, issue a certificate reciting that there was compliance with​
the terms of the certificate of sale before the forfeiture, and releasing the lands from the trust attached before​
their sale as state public lands.​

Subd. 2. Delivery of certificate. The certificate must be delivered to the county auditor. The county​
auditor must record it with the county recorder without payment of any recording fee.​

Subd. 3. Status of tax-forfeited lands. From the date of forfeiture, the title and status of the lands is​
the same as that of other tax-forfeited lands.​

History: 1945 c 169 s 1-3; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​
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92.17 EFFECT OF CERTIFICATE; RECORD.​

A certificate of sale entitles the holder to possession of the land described in it, but the fee remains in​
the state until a patent is issued. The certificates, assignments, and patents may be recorded with the county​
recorder.​

History: (6287) RL s 2423; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 2005 c 4 s 19​

92.18 DIVIDED CERTIFICATES.​

When the holder of a certificate surrenders it to the commissioner with a request to divide the land​
described in it, the commissioner may issue two or more certificates. No new certificate may be issued while​
any interest is delinquent or if the commissioner believes that the security of the state would be impaired or​
endangered. An applicant who requests a division by boundaries other than regular government or state​
subdivisions must file with the application a plat and survey showing the lines of, and the quantity of land​
in, each subdivision.​

History: (6288) RL s 2424; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.19 ASSIGNMENT; EXTENSIONS OF PAYMENT.​

(a) When a certificate or partial interest in a certificate is assigned, the assignment must be made on a​
form prescribed by the commissioner, executed by the assignor and assignee, and consented to by the​
commissioner. An assignment of a partial interest shall recite that payment in full has been made to the​
commissioner.​

(b) When the assignee satisfies the terms of the assignment and corresponding terms of the certificate,​
the commissioner shall issue a deed or patent to the assignee.​

History: (6286) RL s 2422; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1989 c 335 art 1 s 79; 1993 c 285 s 8​

92.20 VOID SALES; REFUND.​

A sale made by mistake, or not in accordance with law, or obtained by fraud, is void, and the certificate​
issued on it is void. The holder of a void certificate must surrender it to the commissioner who, except in​
cases of fraud on the part of the purchaser, shall refund to the holder the money paid on the sale.​

History: (6290) RL s 2425; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.21 REDEMPTION OF FORFEITED STATE LANDS.​

Subdivision 1. Conditions of redemption. If the holder of a certificate of sale of state land sold before​
January 6, 1934, forfeits rights for failure to pay the interest due under the certificate, the holder may redeem​
the rights as follows. Before resale at public auction of the lands described in the certificate, the holder shall​
pay the commissioner of management and budget the amount of interest then due and payable on the​
certificate, with interest at four percent from the time when it became due. The payment is a redemption of​
the rights of the certificate holder, and the certificate is reinstated, if the following conditions are met:​

(1) If the default in payment occurred before July 1, 1941, the amount required for redemption must be​
paid not later than December 31, 1941.​

(2) If the default in payment occurred on or after July 1, 1941, the amount required for redemption must​
be paid within six months after the default.​
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(3) If the time for payment of the principal specified in the certificate has expired but an extension of​
time by law has not expired, the amount due on the principal with interest and all other sums due the state​
on the land must be paid. After payment, a patent for the land must be issued to the certificate holder as​
provided by law.​

(4) No redemption is permitted if the time for payment of the principal as specified in the certificate and​
its lawful extensions have expired, or if the certificate of sale has been absolutely terminated and made void​
without right of redemption under any prior or existing law, or if the land has become absolutely forfeited​
to the state for delinquent taxes.​

(5) This section does not affect any proceedings for the resale of state public land unless redemption is​
made before sale of the land to an actual purchaser.​

Subd. 2. Certificate void when land not redeemed. If a certificate of sale of state public land sold​
before January 6, 1934, is canceled after default by reappraisal and reoffer of the land for sale, and the default​
is not redeemed and the certificate reinstated as provided by this section, the certificate is absolutely canceled​
and void, and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser,​
in the land terminate without further act of the state. This subdivision does not preclude any other method​
of termination prescribed by law.​

History: (6291) RL s 2426; Ex1933 c 39 s 2; 1939 c 353 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 5; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986​
c 444; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​

92.211 TIME OF PAYMENT EXTENDED.​

Subdivision 1. Extension on certificates expiring before July 1, 1943. The time for payment of the​
principal on every certificate of sale of state public land which has expired before July 1, 1943, is extended​
to December 31, 1943, subject to payment of interest as provided by law and to all other conditions of the​
certificate. Upon payment of the principal and interest and all other sums due the state upon the land within​
the extended time, a patent for the land must be issued to the holder of the certificate as provided by law.​

Subd. 2. Extension on certificates expiring after June 30, 1943. The time for payment of the principal​
on every certificate of sale of state public land sold before May 1, 1941, which expires after June 30, 1943,​
is extended for six months after the time specified in the certificate, subject to payment of interest as provided​
by law and to all other conditions of the certificate. Upon payment of the principal and interest and all other​
sums due the state upon the land within the extended time, a patent for the land must be issued to the holder​
of the certificate as provided by law.​

Subd. 3. No extensions on void certificates. This section does not apply if the certificate of sale has​
been absolutely terminated and made void without right of redemption under any prior or existing law, or​
if the land has become absolutely forfeited to the state for delinquent taxes.​

Subd. 4. Failure to pay when due. If the full amount of principal with interest and all other sums​
required to obtain a patent under a certificate of sale of state public land sold before May 1, 1941, is not​
paid before the expiration of the time allowed by law for payment of the principal, the certificate is absolutely​
canceled and void, and all right, title, and interest of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of​
the purchaser, in the land terminate without further act of the state. This subdivision does not preclude any​
other method of termination provided by law.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 6; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444​
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92.212 CERTAIN LANDS PRESUMED ABANDONED.​

If full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before May 1, 1941, is not​
made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate for full payment of the principal or any​
extension of time provided by law, it is presumed that the purchaser and all persons claiming under the​
purchaser abandoned the land and all right, title, interest in and claim to it, and have released it absolutely​
to the state and its assigns.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 7; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.213 LIMITATION OF ACTIONS.​

If full payment of the amount due the state for any state public land sold before May 1, 1941, is not​
made before the expiration of the time prescribed in the certificate for full payment of the principal or any​
lawful extension of time, no action for the recovery or possession of the land or for the enforcement of any​
right, title, interest in, or claim to it may be maintained by the purchaser or any one claiming under the​
purchaser unless the action is commenced within one year after the expiration of the time or extension.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 8; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.214 CERTIFICATES DEEMED CANCELED IN CERTAIN CASES.​

If the interest of the purchaser of a tract of state public land becomes forfeited to the state for delinquent​
taxes, the certificates are canceled and terminated, and the land shall be held by the state as unsold public​
land, free from right, title, interest, or claim of the purchaser or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the​
purchaser, and free from any trust in favor of a taxing district.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 9; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444​

92.215 TAXES CANCELED.​

If the rights of a purchaser of state public land or heirs, representatives, or assigns of the purchaser, have​
been absolutely terminated, all unpaid taxes and assessments against the land at the date of the termination​
are canceled and the county auditor must record the termination.​

History: 1941 c 374 s 10; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444​

92.22 [Repealed, 1999 c 243 art 13 s 21]​

92.23 PAYMENTS; RECEIPTS.​

The holder of a certificate of sale may pay the commissioner any amount due on the certificate. The​
commissioner shall issue duplicate receipts specifying the date, the name and address of the person making​
the payment, the amount paid, whether for principal or interest, the fund to which it is applicable, and the​
number of the certificate. The receipt has the same effect as if given by the commissioner of management​
and budget. The commissioner shall deliver one copy to the holder of the certificate and retain one copy.​

History: (6296, 6296-1) RL s 2428; 1929 c 200 s 1; 1941 c 374 s 11; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 628​
s 7; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​
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92.24 MONEY PAID TO COMMISSIONER OF MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET.​

The commissioner shall pay over all money received on account of certificates of sale to the commissioner​
of management and budget for deposit as required by section 92.28 and other applicable laws.​

History: (6298) RL s 2430; 1945 c 382 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 628 s 8; 2003 c 112 art 2 s​
50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​

92.25 [Repealed, 1988 c 628 s 24]​

92.26 STATEMENT OF SALES.​

Before May 2 each year the commissioner shall prepare a statement showing the lands sold in each​
county, the classes to which they belong, the numbers of the certificates of sale, the name of the persons to​
whom each was issued, and the amount of principal and interest due on each certificate on June 1. The​
commissioner shall forward copies of the statement to the governor and to the commissioner of management​
and budget.​

History: (6300) RL s 2432; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 628 s 9; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109​

92.27 COMMISSIONER'S REPORT ON CLOSE OF SALE.​

The commissioner or the commissioner's designated agent shall act as clerk of land sales made by the​
commissioner. Immediately after the close of all sales, the commissioner shall prepare a report describing​
each tract sold, the amount for which it was sold, and the amount paid.​

History: (6301) RL s 2433; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1988 c 628 s 10​

92.28 PROCEEDS OF SALES; DISTRIBUTION.​

(a) A portion of the proceeds from the sale, equal in amount to the survey, appraisal, legal, advertising,​
and other expenses incurred by the commissioner in rendering the property salable and included in the​
minimum bid amount, shall be remitted to the account from which the expenses were paid and is appropriated​
and immediately available for expenditure in the same manner as other money in the account.​

(b) The remainder of the proceeds accruing from all sales by the commissioner of school, university,​
internal improvement, or other state lands, or of pine timber upon state lands must be deposited in the several​
permanent funds to which they, respectively, belong.​

(c) Money received as interest on the funds, as penalties, or as rents of the lands, must be deposited in​
the current or general funds to which they belong. Interest and penalties on the internal improvement land​
fund, and rents of the land, must be compounded with the permanent fund.​

History: (6302) RL s 2434; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 29​

92.29 LAND PATENTS.​

The commissioner of natural resources shall sign and issue in the name of the state and under the seal​
of the state a patent for the land described in any certificate of sale when the principal and interest specified​
in the certificate of sale and all delinquent taxes due on the land have been paid. The patent shall be issued​
to the purchaser named in the certificate of sale, or the purchaser's successor in interest by execution, judicial,​
mortgage or tax sale, or the assignee, vendee, heir or devisee of the purchaser, as shown by a properly​
certified abstract of title or other evidence if the purchaser's successor is a person other than the purchaser​
named in the certificate of sale. If the certificate of sale has become lost or destroyed, an affidavit stating​
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that fact or a certified copy of the certificate must be submitted by the applicant for a patent. When total​
payment is made within 90 days of the sale, the commissioner shall sign and issue, in the name of the state​
and under the seal of the state, a patent for the land sold.​

History: (6295) RL s 2427; 1935 c 368 s 1; 1963 c 216 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1988 c​
628 s 11; 1993 c 285 s 9; 2004 c 262 art 1 s 30​

92.30 STATE TO SELL CERTAIN LANDS.​

The department may sell any state-owned lands, including lands set apart as school forests or other state​
forests, lying within the general boundaries of the Superior National Forest and the Chippewa National​
Forest as the boundaries now exist or may hereafter be extended, to the United States to be included as a​
part of either of these forests. The lands must be designated by the Executive Council, upon the​
recommendation of the commissioner, for disposal to the United States for that purpose. The purchase price​
paid at the sale by the commissioner for the state may not exceed a maximum fixed by the Executive Council.​
All laws relating to the sale of state swamp lands and state school lands apply to sales under this section.​

History: (6302-1) 1929 c 246 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.31 STATE MAY EXCHANGE LAND.​

The Executive Council may exchange lands acquired by the state by purchase, as set forth in section​
92.30, for lands of the United States of the same general character and of substantially the same value that​
in its judgment will promote the best interests of the state. The council may set the terms of the sale. It may​
accept or pay out of any available funds any cash differences needed to effect an equitable exchange of​
lands. The Executive Council may have any lands acquired under this section appraised by competent​
authority.​

History: (6302-2) 1929 c 246 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.32 GOVERNOR TO EXECUTE CONVEYANCES.​

To carry out sections 92.30 and 92.31 the governor may execute proper instruments of conveyance in​
the name and under the seal of the state.​

History: (6302-3) 1929 c 246 s 3; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.321 SALE FOR FORESTRY PURPOSES.​

Subdivision 1. Commissioner may sell lands. The commissioner of natural resources may sell any​
unreserved state public land which in the commissioner's opinion is suitable for private forest management.​

Subd. 2. Conditions of sale. Sales under this section must be public in the same manner as other state​
land, after approval by the Executive Council. Land sold under this section must be used exclusively for​
growing continuous forest crops in accordance with accepted sustained yield practice. Not more than 1,280​
acres of land may be offered in one parcel. The sale must be for cash.​

History: 1961 c 658 s 1,2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 262 art 1​
s 31​

92.33 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 12]​
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92.34 COUNTY LAND CLASSIFICATION COMMITTEE.​

There must be a land classification committee in each county having 25 percent or more of its land area​
delinquent for nonpayment of taxes, or where 25 percent or more of its land area is owned by the state or​
the United States. The committee is composed of the county auditor, the chair of the board of county​
commissioners, the county treasurer, the county surveyor, and the county superintendent of schools. The​
chair of the board of county commissioners is chair of the county land classification committee. In any​
county having a county agricultural agent, the agent shall meet and advise with the committee. The committee​
must meet at the office of the county auditor upon call of the county auditor.​

History: (6302-6) 1933 c 436 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.35 DUTIES AND POWERS.​

The commissioner of natural resources must classify all public and private lands in the state by the use​
to which the lands are adapted, but principally as to adaptability to present known uses, such as agriculture​
and forestry. This classification must be based on consideration of the known physical and economic factors​
affecting use of the land. The commissioner must consult private, state, and federal agencies concerned with​
land use. The classification must be done first in the counties having land classification committees. In​
determining the land classification, the commissioner must consult and cooperate with the land classification​
committee. The determination of the land classification committee is final.​

History: (6302-7) 1933 c 436 s 3; 1969 c 9 s 13; 1981 c 356 s 110; 1983 c 289 s 115 subd 1; 1985 c​
265 art 3 s 1; 1987 c 312 art 1 s 26 subd 2; 1993 c 163 art 1 s 9; 2014 c 286 art 2 s 1​

92.36 LANDS CLASSIFIED.​

Upon the basis of all of the facts concerning land use now obtainable and as provided in sections 92.34​
to 92.37 the commissioner of natural resources shall temporarily classify land areas with reference to the​
known uses to which the areas are adapted or adaptable. A certified copy of the temporary classification,​
together with a brief statement of the reasons for it, must be recorded in the office of the county recorder in​
each county containing the lands classified. No fees need be paid for this recording. After the temporary​
classification has been adopted by the commissioner, none of the lands classified as nonagricultural may be​
sold or leased by the state for agricultural purposes.​

History: (6302-8) 1933 c 436 s 4; 1969 c 9 s 14; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1981 c 356 s 111; 1Sp1981 c 4 art 1​
s 65; 1983 c 289 s 115 subd 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1987 c 312 art 1 s 26 subd 2; 1993 c 163 art 1 s 10​

92.37 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE.​

The commissioner shall report the results of the land classification to the legislature with any​
recommendations deemed advisable.​

History: (6302-9) 1933 c 436 s 5; 1969 c 9 s 15; 1981 c 356 s 112; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.38 [Renumbered 94.341]​

92.39 [Renumbered 94.342]​

92.40 [Renumbered 94.343]​

92.41 [Renumbered 94.344]​

92.42 [Renumbered 94.345]​
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92.43 [Renumbered 94.346]​

92.44 [Renumbered 94.347]​

92.45 STATE LAND ON MEANDERED LAKES WITHDRAWN FROM SALE.​

(a) All state lands, excluding school trust lands, bordering on or adjacent to meandered lakes and other​
public waters and watercourses, with the live timber growing on them, are withdrawn from sale except as​
provided in this section. The commissioner of natural resources may sell the timber as otherwise provided​
by law for cutting and removal under conditions the commissioner prescribes. The conditions must be in​
accordance with approved, sustained-yield forestry practices. The commissioner must reserve the timber​
and impose other conditions the commissioner deems necessary to protect watersheds, wildlife habitat,​
shorelines, and scenic features. Within the area in Cook, Lake, and St. Louis Counties described in the Act​
of Congress approved July 10, 1930, (Statutes at Large, volume 46, page 1020), the timber on state lands​
is subject to restrictions like those now imposed by the act on federal lands.​

(b) The following land is reserved for public travel: of all land bordering on or adjacent to meandered​
lakes and other public waters and watercourses and withdrawn from sale, a strip two rods wide, the ordinary​
high-water mark being its waterside boundary, and its landside boundary a line drawn parallel to the ordinary​
high-water mark and two rods distant landward from it. Wherever the conformation of the shore line or​
conditions require, the commissioner must reserve a wider strip.​

(c) Except for sales under section 282.018, subdivision 1, when a state agency or any other unit of​
government requests the legislature to authorize the sale of state lands bordering on or adjacent to meandered​
lakes and other public waters and watercourses, the commissioner shall evaluate the lands and their public​
benefits and make recommendations on the proposed dispositions to the committees of the legislature with​
jurisdiction over natural resources. The commissioner shall include any recommendations of the commissioner​
for disposition of lands withdrawn from sale under this section over which the commissioner has jurisdiction.​
The commissioner's recommendations may include a public sale, sale to a private party, acquisition by the​
commissioner for public purposes, retention of a conservation easement for shoreland preservation by the​
commissioner under chapter 84C, or a cooperative management agreement with, or transfer to, another unit​
of government.​

(d) The commissioner may sell state lands bordering on or adjacent to the Mississippi River or any lakes,​
waters, and watercourses in its bottom lands, desired or needed by the United States government for, or in​
connection with, any project heretofore authorized by Congress, to improve navigation in the Mississippi​
River at public sale according to law, as in other cases, upon application by an authorized United States​
official. The application must describe the land and include a map showing its location with reference to​
adjoining properties.​

History: (6463) 1923 c 430 s 11; 1927 c 330 s 1; 1929 c 21 s 1; 1951 c 20 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2;​
1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1999 c 231 s 123; 2012 c 249 s 5,12​

92.46 LANDS AS CAMPGROUNDS.​

Subdivision 1. Public campgrounds. (a) The director may designate suitable portions of the state lands​
withdrawn from sale and not reserved, as provided in section 92.45, as permanent state public campgrounds.​
The director may have the land surveyed and platted into lots of convenient size, and lease them for cottage​
and camp purposes under terms and conditions the director prescribes, subject to the provisions of this​
section.​
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(b) A lease may not be for a term more than 20 years. The lease may allow renewal, from time to time,​
for additional terms of no longer than 20 years each. The lease may be canceled by the commissioner 90​
days after giving the person leasing the land written notice of violation of lease conditions. The lease rate​
shall be based on the appraised value of leased land as determined by the commissioner of natural resources​
and shall be adjusted by the commissioner at the fifth, tenth, and 15th anniversary of the lease, if the appraised​
value has increased or decreased. For leases that are renewed in 1991 and following years, the lease rate​
shall be five percent of the appraised value of the leased land. The appraised value shall be the value of the​
leased land without any private improvements and must be comparable to similar land without any​
improvements within the same county. The minimum appraised value that the commissioner assigns to the​
leased land must be substantially equal to the county assessor's estimated market value of similar land​
adjusted by the assessment/sales ratio as determined by the Department of Revenue.​

(c) By July 1, 1986, the commissioner of natural resources shall adopt rules under chapter 14 to establish​
procedures for leasing land under this section. The rules shall be subject to review and approval by the​
commissioners of revenue and administration prior to the initial publication pursuant to chapter 14 and prior​
to their final adoption. The rules must address at least the following:​

(1) method of appraising the property; and​

(2) an appeal procedure for both the appraised values and lease rates.​

(d) All money received from these leases must be credited to the fund to which the proceeds of the land​
belong.​

(e) Notwithstanding section 16A.125 or any other law to the contrary, for fiscal years 1999 and 2000,​
100 percent, and thereafter, 50 percent, of the money received from the lease of permanent school fund lands​
leased pursuant to this subdivision must be credited to the lakeshore leasing and sales account in the permanent​
school fund and is appropriated for use to survey, appraise, and pay associated selling, leasing, or exchange​
costs of lots as required in this section and Minnesota Statutes 1992, section 92.67, subdivision 3. Any​
money designated for deposit in the permanent school fund that is not needed to survey, appraise, and pay​
associated selling, leasing, or exchange costs of lots, as required in this section, shall be deposited in the​
permanent school fund. The commissioner shall add to the appraised value of any lot offered for sale or​
exchange the costs of surveying, appraising, and disposing of the lot, and shall first deposit into the permanent​
school fund an amount equal to the costs of surveying, appraising, and disposing of any lot paid out of the​
permanent school fund. Any remaining money shall be deposited into any other contributing funds in​
proportion to the contribution from each fund. In no case may the commissioner add to the appraised value​
of any lot offered for sale or exchange an amount more than the actual contract service costs of surveying,​
appraising, and disposing of the lot.​

Subd. 1a. Termination of leasing. Effective May 22, 1973, no new leases may be made pursuant to​
subdivision 1. If substantial improvements have been made to land leased pursuant to subdivision 1, the​
commissioner must require the lessee to comply with applicable county ordinances for management of​
shoreland areas and must cancel any lease for noncompliance with these standards unless the substandard​
use is authorized by the county ordinance.​

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1975 c 353 s 41]​

Subd. 3. Lease rate increases. State land leased under subdivision 1, that have increased lease rates​
effective on or after January 1, 1986, shall phase in the increased lease rates by three equal annual increments,​
except that the lease rates shall be adjusted to reflect changes in the lease rates resulting from rules adopted​
under subdivision 1.​
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Subd. 4. Road expenditures. A county where state lands are leased under this section, may spend money​
raised from the levy of property taxes for the maintenance and upgrading of roads serving the leased property​
regardless of whether the roads are part of the county highway system.​

History: (6464, 6465) 1923 c 430 s 12,13; 1973 c 479 s 3; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 14 art 17​
s 1,3,5; 1986 c 444; 1986 c 449 s 1; 1987 c 404 s 110; 1988 c 718 art 7 s 3; 1990 c 452 s 1; 1992 c 363 art​
1 s 14; 1993 c 172 s 48; 1995 c 186 s 26; 1995 c 220 s 89; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 21,22; 1999 c 231 s 124​

92.461 PEAT LANDS.​

Subdivision 1. Peat lands withdrawn from sale. All lands now or hereafter owned by the state which​
are chiefly valuable by reason of deposits of peat in commercial quantities are withdrawn from sale.​

Subd. 2. Examination by commissioner. Before any state land is offered for sale the commissioner of​
natural resources must examine it to determine whether the land is chiefly valuable by reason of deposits​
of peat in commercial quantities.​

History: (6433-1, 2) 1935 c 322; 1949 c 453 s 1,2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1​

92.47 [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]​

92.48 [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]​

92.49 [Repealed, 1963 c 567 s 6]​

92.50 UNSOLD LANDS SUBJECT TO SALE MAY BE LEASED.​

Subdivision 1. Lease terms. (a) The commissioner of natural resources may lease land under the​
commissioner's jurisdiction and control:​

(1) to remove sand, gravel, clay, rock, marl, peat, and black dirt;​

(2) to store ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore milling plants;​

(3) for roads or railroads;​

(4) to compensate the permanent school fund according to section 92.122; or​

(5) for other uses consistent with the interests of the state.​

(b) The commissioner shall offer the lease at public or private sale for an amount and under terms and​
conditions prescribed by the commissioner. Commercial leases for more than ten years and leases for removal​
of peat that cover 320 or more acres must be approved by the Executive Council.​

(c) The lease term may not exceed 21 years except:​

(1) leases of lands for storage sites for ore, waste materials from mines, or rock and tailings from ore​
milling plants or for the removal of peat for nonagricultural purposes may not exceed a term of 25 years;​
and​

(2) leases for commercial purposes, including major resort, convention center, or recreational area​
purposes, may not exceed a term of 40 years.​

(d) Leases must be subject to sale and leasing of the land for mineral purposes and contain a provision​
for cancellation for just cause at any time by the commissioner upon six months' written notice. A longer​
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notice period, not exceeding three years, may be provided in leases for storing ore, waste materials from​
mines, or rock or tailings from ore milling plants. The commissioner may determine the terms and conditions,​
including the notice period, for cancellation of a lease for the removal of peat and commercial leases.​

(e) Money received from leases under this section must be credited to the fund to which the land belongs.​

Subd. 2. Leases for tailings deposits. (a) The commissioner may grant leases and licenses to deposit​
tailings from any iron ore beneficiation plant in any public lake not exceeding 160 acres in area after holding​
a public hearing in the manner and under the procedure provided in Laws 1937, chapter 468, as amended​
and finding in pursuance of the hearing:​

(1) that such use of each lake is necessary and in the best interests of the public; and​

(2) that the proposed use will not result in pollution or sedimentation of any outlet stream.​

(b) The lease or license may not exceed a term of 25 years and must be subject to cancellation on three​
years' notice. The commissioner may further restrict use of the lake to safeguard the public interest, and may​
require that the lessee or licensee acquire suitable permits or easements from the owners of lands riparian​
to the lake. Money received from the leases or licenses must be deposited in the permanent school fund.​

Subd. 3. Security requirement. The commissioner may require a performance bond, security deposit,​
or other form of security for removing any improvements or personal property left on the leased premises​
by the lessee upon termination or cancellation of the lease.​

Subd. 4. Reimbursing costs. In addition to other payments required by this section, the applicant must​
reimburse the state for costs incurred for cultural resources review, monitoring, or other services provided​
by the Minnesota Historical Society under contract with the commissioner of natural resources or the State​
Historic Preservation Office of the Department of Administration in connection with reviewing the lease​
request, preparing the lease terms, or constructing improvements on the leased premises.​

History: (6328) 1915 c 192 s 1; 1917 c 31; 1919 c 405 s 1; 1945 c 321 s 1; 1947 c 323 s 1; 1953 c 328​
s 1; 1959 c 473 s 2; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1981 c 328 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 398 art 18 s 1;​
1986 c 444; 1988 c 628 s 12; 1993 c 113 art 1 s 1; 2012 c 236 s 3; 2018 c 186 s 2; 1Sp2019 c 4 art 3 s 42;​
1Sp2021 c 6 art 2 s 46​

92.501 LEASING LANDS TO FARM WILD RICE.​

Subdivision 1. Authority to lease. The commissioner of natural resources in consultation with the​
commissioner of agriculture may, at a public or private lease sale and at the prices and under the terms and​
conditions the commissioners may prescribe, lease any state-owned lands under the commissioner's jurisdiction​
and control for the purpose of farming of wild rice. Priority must be given to lands which are accessible and​
adjacent to existing wild rice production areas and requested for leasing by wild rice producers. The term​
of a lease under this section must be offered for a minimum of 20 years but may be for a shorter period at​
the option of the lessee. If a lease is issued prior to the adoption of the rules for the implementation of this​
section and for a period of less than 20 years, the lease must be converted to a minimum 20-year lease after​
the rules have been adopted, at the option of the lessee. Leases must be accepted or denied within 60 days​
of application. If a lease is denied, written notice must be given stating reasons for denial. The lease rate​
must be adjusted every five years to reflect market values. The money received from the leases under this​
section must be credited to the account that receives the proceeds of a sale of the land.​

Subd. 2. Land designation and development. The commissioner of natural resources and the​
commissioner of agriculture shall prepare a plan that designates state land for wild rice production including​
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an inventory of the number of acres of land appropriate and suitable for wild rice development and leasing​
in each county. Proposed mineral exploration does not exempt land from being designated for wild rice​
development.​

Subd. 3. Rules. The commissioner of natural resources may adopt rules to implement this section.​

History: 1985 c 276 s 8; 1986 c 398 art 18 s 2,3​

92.502 LEASING TAX-FORFEITED AND STATE LANDS.​

(a) Notwithstanding section 282.04 or other law to the contrary, St. Louis County may enter a 30-year​
lease of tax-forfeited land for a wind energy project.​

(b) The commissioner of natural resources may enter a 30-year lease of land administered by the​
commissioner for a wind energy project.​

(c) The commissioner of natural resources may enter a 30-year lease of land administered by the​
commissioner for recreational trails or facilities. The commissioner may assess the lease applicant a monitoring​
fee to cover the projected reasonable costs of monitoring construction of the recreational trail or facility and​
preparing special terms and conditions of the license to ensure proper construction. The commissioner must​
give the applicant an estimate of the monitoring fee before the applicant is required to submit the fee. Upon​
completion of construction of the trail or facility, the commissioner must refund the unobligated balance​
from the monitoring fee revenue.​

(d) Notwithstanding section 282.04 or other law to the contrary, Lake and St. Louis Counties may enter​
into 30-year leases of tax-forfeited land for recreational trails and facilities.​

History: 2008 c 368 art 1 s 24; 2018 c 186 s 3; 1Sp2021 c 6 art 2 s 47; 2023 c 9 s 4​

92.503 CONSERVATION PLANNING LEASES.​

The commissioner of natural resources may lease state-owned lands as defined in section 92.01 for a​
term not to exceed 21 years for the purpose of investigating, analyzing, and developing conservation easements​
that provide ecosystem services benefits. Leases granted under this section are not subject to section 92.50,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (b), with respect to Executive Council approval for commercial leases or section​
92.50, subdivision 1, paragraph (d).​

History: 1Sp2021 c 6 art 2 s 48​

92.51 TAXATION; REDEMPTION; SPECIAL CERTIFICATE.​

State lands sold by the director become taxable. A description of the tract sold, with the name of the​
purchaser, must be transmitted to the proper county auditor. The auditor must extend the land for taxation​
like other land. Only the interest in the land vested by the land sale certificate in its holder may be sold for​
delinquent taxes.​

History: (6323) RL s 2439; 1909 c 114 s 1; 1985 c 265 art 3 s 1; 1986 c 444; 1999 c 243 art 13 s 1​

92.52 [Renumbered 94.351]​

92.53 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.54 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.55 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​
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92.56 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.57 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.59 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.62 [Repealed, 1969 c 9 s 95]​

92.67 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 1a. [Repealed, 2007 c 13 art 2 s 4]​

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 5a. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1987 c 404 s 191; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

92.68 [Repealed, 1986 c 449 s 6; 1991 c 219 s 6]​

92.685 LAND MANAGEMENT ACCOUNT.​

The land management account is created in the natural resources fund. Money credited to the account​
is appropriated annually to the commissioner of natural resources to administer the utility easement program​
under section 84.415, the easement program under section 84.63, the road easement program under section​
84.631, the easement release program under section 84.632, and the trail easement program under section​
85.015, subdivision 1b.​

History: 1Sp2005 c 1 art 2 s 76; 2009 c 37 art 1 s 26​

92.69 ENDOWMENT ACCOUNT.​

Subdivision 1. Proceeds of land acquisition account. To ensure educational opportunities provided​
by Minnesota scientific and natural areas as described in section 86A.05, subdivision 5, are adequately​
available for present and future generations, the proceeds received under Laws 1986, chapter 449, sections​
1 to 3 that are credited to the land acquisition account under section 94.165 must be spent on scientific and​
natural areas.​

Subd. 2. Account. (a) A natural areas legacy endowment account is established in the state treasury.​
The commissioner of natural resources shall accept private contributions for educational opportunities​
provided by scientific and natural areas and deposit the contributions in the account. The principal deposited​
in the account shall be retained in the endowment account.​

(b) The interest from the principal may be spent by the commissioner of natural resources for the​
protection, management, and inventory of lands with rare and endangered species or undisturbed plant​
communities that qualify as state scientific and natural areas under section 86A.05, subdivision 5.​

History: 1986 c 449 s 4​
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92.70 LAND USE TRESPASS.​

Subdivision 1. Public land definition. "Public land" means publicly owned land or interests in land​
including land and interests in land that are owned by the state, counties, or road authorities, administered​
by the commissioner of natural resources, owned by the state as beds of navigable waters, acquired as​
conservation easements with benefits running to the state, a county, or the public under the reinvest in​
Minnesota reserve program, water bank program, or other state or county programs.​

Subd. 2. Casual trespass. (a) A person who uses public land for personal use or personal economic​
gain where the use is prohibited is guilty of trespass and a petty misdemeanor and shall be subject to a penalty​
not to exceed $50 per occurrence and is subject to a civil penalty for twice the amount of actual damages.​

(b) A person violating paragraph (a) may be issued a ticket by a sheriff, conservation officer, or personnel​
of the department designated by the commissioner. The ticket must identify the trespass, where the trespass​
occurred, and the official observing the trespass. A copy of the ticket must be sent to the public agency​
responsible for managing the land.​

(c) The civil penalty shall be paid to the public agency responsible for managing the public land. A civil​
penalty paid to the state is appropriated to the state agency responsible for managing the land to restore the​
damage and improve state land.​

(d) Within 60 days after a ticket is issued, the public agency responsible for managing the public land​
where the trespass occurred must make a determination of whether a civil penalty will be sought for the​
trespass and notify the person.​

Subd. 3. Willful trespass. (a) A person who willfully and knowingly uses public land for personal use​
or personal economic gain where the use is prohibited is guilty of trespass and a misdemeanor and is liable​
to the state or county for a civil penalty three times the amount of the damage.​

(b) A person violating paragraph (a) may be issued a ticket and summons for a court appearance. The​
prosecuting authority shall prosecute the misdemeanor and shall bring an action for the civil penalty or, on​
failure to do so, the attorney general at the request of the public agency responsible for managing the land​
may prosecute the misdemeanor and shall bring an action for the civil penalty.​

(c) Damages must be determined as the greater of:​

(1) the cost to restore the public land to the condition it was in before the trespass occurred plus an​
amount to compensate the public for the loss of use; or​

(2) the economic gain realized by the person committing the trespass.​

(d) The civil penalty shall be paid to the court and the court administrator shall pay:​

(1) for a trespass on county land, the entire amount to the county to be used for restoration of the trespass​
and county land improvement purposes; and​

(2) for a trespass on state land, the civil penalty to the state agency responsible for managing the public​
land which is appropriated for restoration of the trespass and state land improvement purposes.​
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Subd. 4. Separate actions. The prosecution for criminal trespass and the civil penalty are separate​
criminal and civil actions. If a trespass occurs, an action may be commenced for the criminal penalty, the​
civil penalty, or the civil penalty and the criminal penalty.​

History: 1989 c 353 s 12; 2009 c 176 art 1 s 50; 2023 c 25 s 19​

92.71 DIRECT SALE TO DEPARTMENT EMPLOYEE PROHIBITED.​

An employee of the Department of Natural Resources is prohibited from purchasing land owned or​
formerly owned by the state and administered by the department for six months following the transfer of​
title from the state to an organization or person not an employee of the department.​

History: 1991 c 176 s 1​

92.72 PAYMENT OF TAXES AND ASSESSMENTS.​

Subdivision 1. Cancellation of certificate of sale. If the state acquires an interest in real property prior​
to the cancellation of a certificate of sale or upon completion of the cancellation process by advertisement​
or court order, the state must make provision to pay all taxes, interests, costs, penalties, and assessments.​
The commissioner of natural resources must request the certificate of sale vendee to make a good faith​
attempt to pay the debt. If the commissioner determines that the vendee is unwilling or unable to pay the​
debt, the commissioner may pay the debt and seek redress against the vendee.​

Subd. 2. Voluntary and involuntary reversions. (a) If a grantee on a certificate of sale or state deed​
desires the state to exercise its reversionary interest in real property, the grantee must pay all real estate​
taxes, costs, interest, penalties, and assessments on the property prior to reversion.​

(b) If a grantee on a certificate of sale or state deed breaches the contractual terms of the certificate or​
deed, the commissioner of natural resources must request the grantee to make a good faith attempt to pay​
all real estate taxes, costs, interest, penalties, and assessments on the property prior to reversion. If the​
commissioner determines that the grantee is unwilling or unable to pay the debt, the commissioner may pay​
the debt and seek redress against the grantee.​

History: 1997 c 216 s 74​

92.80 EXPEDITED EXCHANGE OF LAND WITHIN BOUNDARY WATERS CANOE AREA​
WILDERNESS FOR FEDERALLY OWNED LANDS.​

Subdivision 1. Purpose and scope. (a) The purpose of this section is to expedite the exchange of a​
portion of the state-owned lands located within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness. The state​
owns 116,559 acres of land within the wilderness area, 86,295 acres of which are school trust land.​

(b) Exchange of school trust lands within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness for federally​
owned lands located outside the wilderness area will preserve the spectacular wild areas while producing​
economic benefits for Minnesota's public schools.​

(c) For land exchanges under this section, sections 94.342 to 94.347 apply only to the extent specified​
in this section.​

Subd. 2. Classes of land; definitions. The classes of state land that may be involved in an expedited​
exchange under this section are:​

(1) school trust land as defined in section 92.025;​
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(2) university land granted to the state by acts of Congress;​

(3) all other lands acquired by the state in any manner and under the control of the commissioner of​
natural resources; and​

(4) all lands acquired by the state through tax forfeiture, held subject to a trust in favor of the taxing​
districts, and under the control of county authorities for classification, appraisal, and sale.​

Subd. 3. Priority. An exchange of state land under this section shall give priority to exchanges that​
provide the most opportunity for revenue generation for the permanent school fund, and priority shall be​
given to lands within the Superior National Forest in the Mesabi Purchase Unit in St. Louis County and in​
the following townships in St. Louis County:​

(1) Township 59 North, Range 14 West;​

(2) Township 59 North, Range 13 West;​

(3) Township 60 North, Range 13 West; and​

(4) Township 60 North, Range 12 West.​

Subd. 4. Valuation of land; goals. (a) In an exchange of school trust land, university land, or other land​
under the control of the commissioner of natural resources for land owned by the United States, the​
examination and value determination of the land shall be done in a manner as agreed to between the​
commissioner and the authorized representative of the United States.​

(b) In an exchange of tax-forfeited land for land owned by the United States, the examination and value​
determination shall be done in a manner as agreed to between the county board and the authorized​
representative of the United States.​

(c) All lands exchanged under this section shall be exchanged only for lands of at least substantially​
equal value. For the purposes of this subdivision, "substantially equal value" has the meaning given under​
section 94.343, subdivision 3, paragraph (b). No payment is due either party if the lands are of substantially​
equal value but are not of the same value.​

(d) The goals of the exchange shall be:​

(1) the state receiving at least as many acres as the number given in exchange by the state; and​

(2) reuniting mineral and surface rights.​

Subd. 5. Title. Title to the land must be examined to the extent necessary for the parties to determine​
that the title is good, with any encumbrances identified. The parties to the exchange may use title insurance​
to aid in the determination.​

Subd. 6. Approval by Land Exchange Board. In accordance with the Minnesota Constitution, article​
XI, section 10, all expedited land exchanges under this section require the unanimous approval of the Land​
Exchange Board.​

Subd. 7. Conveyance. (a) Conveyance of school trust land, university land, or other land under the​
control of the commissioner of natural resources shall be made by deed executed by the commissioner in​
the name of the state. Conveyance of tax-forfeited land shall be by a deed executed by the commissioner of​
revenue in the name of the state.​
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(b) School trust land, university land, and other land under the control of the commissioner of natural​
resources and given in exchange is subject to reservations under section 94.343, subdivision 4, and the​
Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 10. Tax-forfeited land given in exchange is subject to reservations​
under section 94.344, subdivision 4, and the Minnesota Constitution, article XI, section 10.​

(c) All deeds shall be recorded or registered in the county in which the lands lie.​

Subd. 8. Land status. Land received in exchange for school trust land, university land, or other land​
under the control of the commissioner of natural resources is subject to the same trust, if any, and otherwise​
has the same status as the land given in exchange. Land received in exchange for tax-forfeited land is subject​
to a trust in favor of the governmental subdivision in which it lies and all laws relating to tax-forfeited land.​

History: 2012 c 236 s 4​

92.82 PRIVATE SALE OF SURPLUS STATE LAND WITHIN BOUNDARY WATERS CANOE​
AREA WILDERNESS; COOK, LAKE, AND ST. LOUIS COUNTIES.​

(a) Notwithstanding sections 92.06, 92.13, 92.14, 92.45, 94.09, and 94.10, the commissioner of natural​
resources may sell to the United States by private sale the surplus land, including the land bordering public​
water, that is described in paragraph (d).​

(b) The conveyance must be in a form approved by the attorney general. The attorney general may make​
necessary changes to the legal description to correct errors and ensure accuracy.​

(c) Notwithstanding sections 92.115, 92.12, and 94.10, an appraisal of the lands is not required, and the​
value of the lands shall be determined in the same manner as the exchange with the United States of other​
state-owned lands within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness.​

(d) The land that may be sold is state-owned land under the control of the commissioner of natural​
resources and located within the boundary of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness in Cook, Lake,​
and St. Louis Counties. The state-owned lands may include the state land for which the school trust interest​
was extinguished through condemnation, university lands granted to the state by acts of Congress, and all​
other lands acquired by the state in any manner and under the control of the commissioner of natural resources.​

(e) Conveyance of state lands within the Boundary Waters Canoe Area Wilderness to the United States​
will preserve the spectacular wild areas while producing economic benefits for the state.​

(f) Payment for state lands for which the school trust interest was extinguished through condemnation​
shall be used to pay the award under the condemnation action.​

History: 2012 c 236 s 5​

92.83 CONDEMNATION OF SCHOOL TRUST LAND.​

Subdivision 1. Purpose. The purpose of this section is to extinguish the school trust interest in school​
trust lands where long-term economic return is prohibited by designation or policy while producing economic​
benefits for Minnesota's public schools. For the purposes of satisfying the Minnesota Constitution, article​
XI, section 8, which limits the sale of school trust lands to a public sale, the commissioner of natural resources​
shall acquire school trust lands through condemnation, as provided in subdivision 2.​

Subd. 2. Condemnation proceedings. When the commissioner of natural resources has determined​
sufficient money is available to acquire any of the lands identified under section 84.027, subdivision 18,​
paragraph (c), the commissioner shall proceed to extinguish the school trust interest by condemnation action.​
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When requested by the commissioner, the attorney general shall commence condemnation of the identified​
school trust lands.​

Subd. 3. Payment. The portion of the payment of the award and judgment that is for the value of the​
land shall be deposited into the permanent school fund. The remainder of the award and judgment payment​
shall first be remitted for reimbursement to the accounts from which expenses were paid, with any remainder​
deposited into the permanent school fund.​

Subd. 4. Account. The school trust lands account is created in the state treasury. Money credited to the​
account is appropriated to the commissioner of natural resources for the purposes of this section.​

History: 1Sp2015 c 4 art 4 s 65​
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