
CHAPTER 62E​

COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH INSURANCE​
CITATION.​62E.01​
DEFINITIONS.​62E.02​
DUTIES OF INSURERS.​62E.04​
INFORMATION ON QUALIFIED PLANS.​62E.05​
MINIMUM BENEFITS OF QUALIFIED PLAN.​62E.06​
QUALIFIED MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT PLAN.​62E.07​
STATE PLAN PREMIUM.​62E.08​
DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​62E.09​
APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN PREMIUMS.​62E.091​
COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH ASSOCIATION.​62E.10​
MANAGED CARE DELIVERY METHOD.​62E.101​
OPERATION OF COMPREHENSIVE PLAN.​62E.11​
MINIMUM BENEFITS OF COMPREHENSIVE​
HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN.​

62E.12​

ADMINISTRATION OF PLAN.​62E.13​

ENROLLMENT BY AN ELIGIBLE PERSON.​62E.14​

INCLUSION IN EMPLOYER-SPONSORED PLAN.​62E.141​

SOLICITATION OF ELIGIBLE PERSONS.​62E.15​

HEALTH INSURANCE FOR RETIRED EMPLOYEES​
NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE.​

62E.18​

PAYMENTS FOR PREEXISTING CONDITIONS.​62E.19​

DEFINITIONS.​62E.21​

DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​62E.22​

MINNESOTA PREMIUM SECURITY PLAN.​62E.23​

ACCOUNTING, REPORTS, AND AUDITS OF THE​
ASSOCIATION.​

62E.24​

ACCOUNTS.​62E.25​

62E.01 CITATION.​

Sections 62E.01 to 62E.17 may be cited as the "Minnesota Comprehensive Health Insurance Act of​
1976."​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 1​

62E.02 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Application. For the purposes of sections 62E.01 to 62E.19, the terms and phrases defined​
in this section have the meanings given them.​

Subd. 2. Employer. "Employer" means any person, partnership, association, trust, estate or corporation,​
including the state of Minnesota or any agency, instrumentality or governmental subdivision thereof, which​
employs ten or more individuals who are residents of this state.​

Subd. 2a. Essential health benefits. "Essential health benefits" has the meaning given under section​
62Q.81, subdivision 4.​

Subd. 3. Health maintenance organization. "Health maintenance organization" means a corporation​
licensed and operated as provided in chapter 62D.​

Subd. 4. Qualified plan. "Qualified plan" means those health benefit plans which have been certified​
by the commissioner as providing the minimum benefits required by section 62E.06 or the actuarial equivalent​
of those benefits.​

Subd. 5. Qualified Medicare supplement plan. "Qualified Medicare supplement plan" means those​
health benefit plans which have been certified by the commissioner as providing the minimum benefits​
required by section 62E.07.​

Subd. 6. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2013 c 84 art 1 s 94]​
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Subd. 8. Employee. "Employee" means any Minnesota resident who has entered into the employment​
of or works under contract or service or apprenticeship with any employer. "Employee" does not include a​
person who has been employed for less than 30 days by that person's present employer, nor one who is​
employed less than 30 hours per week by that person's present employer, nor an independent contractor.​

Subd. 9. Plan of health coverage. "Plan of health coverage" means any plan or combination of plans​
of coverage, including combinations of self insurance, individual accident and health insurance policies,​
group accident and health insurance policies, coverage under a nonprofit health service plan, or coverage​
under a health maintenance organization subscriber contract.​

Subd. 10. Insurer. "Insurer" means those companies operating pursuant to chapter 62A or 62C and​
offering, selling, issuing, or renewing policies or contracts of accident and health insurance. "Insurer" does​
not include health maintenance organizations or community integrated service networks.​

Subd. 11. Accident and health insurance policy or policy. "Accident and health insurance policy" or​
"policy" means insurance or nonprofit health service plan contracts providing benefits for hospital, surgical​
and medical care. "Policy" does not include coverage which is (1) limited to disability or income protection​
coverage, (2) automobile medical payment coverage, (3) supplemental to liability insurance, (4) designed​
solely to provide payments on a per diem, fixed indemnity or nonexpense incurred basis, (5) credit accident​
and health insurance issued pursuant to chapter 62B, (6) designed solely to provide dental or vision care,​
(7) blanket accident and sickness insurance as defined in section 62A.11, or (8) accident only coverage​
issued by licensed and tested insurance agents or solicitors which provides reasonable benefits in relation​
to the cost of covered services. The provisions of clause (4) shall not apply to hospital indemnity coverage​
which is sold by an insurer to an applicant who is not then currently covered by a qualified plan.​

Subd. 12. Health benefits. "Health benefits" means benefits offered to employees on an indemnity or​
prepaid basis which pay the costs of or provide medical, surgical or hospital care.​

Subd. 13. Eligible person. (a) "Eligible person" means an individual who:​

(1) is currently and has been a resident of Minnesota for the six months immediately preceding the date​
of receipt by the association or its writing carrier of a completed certificate of eligibility;​

(2) meets the enrollment requirements of section 62E.14; and​

(3) is not otherwise ineligible under this subdivision.​

For purposes of eligibility under section 62E.14, subdivision 4c, paragraph (b), this definition is modified​
as provided in that paragraph.​

(b) No individual is eligible for coverage under a qualified or a Medicare supplement plan issued by the​
association for whom a premium is paid or reimbursed by the medical assistance program as of the first day​
of any term for which a premium amount is paid or reimbursed.​

Subd. 14. Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association or association. "Minnesota Comprehensive​
Health Association" or "association" means the association created by section 62E.10.​

Subd. 15. Medicare. "Medicare" means the Health Insurance for the Aged Act, title XVIII of the Social​
Security Amendments of 1965, United States Code, title 42, sections 1395 to 1395hhh, as amended, or title​
I, part I, of Public Law 89-97, as amended.​
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Subd. 16. Medicare supplement plan. "Medicare supplement plan" means any plan of insurance​
protection which provides benefits for the costs of medical, surgical or hospital care and which is marketed​
as providing benefits which complement or supplement the benefits provided by Medicare.​

Subd. 17. State plan premium. "State plan premium" means the premium determined pursuant to​
section 62E.08.​

Subd. 18. Writing carrier. "Writing carrier" means the insurer or insurers, health maintenance​
organization or organizations, community integrated service network or networks, or other entity selected​
by the association and approved by the commissioner to administer the comprehensive health insurance​
plan.​

Subd. 19. Fraternal benefit society or fraternal. "Fraternal benefit society" or "fraternal" means a​
corporation, society, order, or voluntary association without capital stock which sells health and accident​
insurance in accordance with chapter 64B.​

Subd. 20. Comprehensive health insurance plan or state plan. "Comprehensive health insurance​
plan" or "state plan" means policies of insurance and contracts of health maintenance organization or​
community integrated service network coverage offered by the association through the writing carrier.​

Subd. 21. Self-insurer. "Self-insurer" means an employer or an employee welfare benefit fund or plan​
which directly or indirectly provides a plan of health coverage to its employees and administers the plan of​
health coverage itself or through an insurer, trust or agent except to the extent of accident and health insurance​
premium, subscriber contract charges or health maintenance organization contract charges. "Self-insurer"​
does not include an employer engaged in the business of providing health care services to the public which​
provides health care services directly to its employees at no charge to them.​

Subd. 22. Self-insurance. "Self-insurance" means a plan of health coverage offered by a self-insurer.​

Subd. 23. Contributing member. "Contributing member" means those companies regulated under​
chapter 62A and offering, selling, issuing, or renewing policies or contracts of accident and health insurance;​
health maintenance organizations regulated under chapter 62D; nonprofit health service plan corporations​
regulated under chapter 62C; community integrated service networks regulated under chapter 62N; fraternal​
benefit societies regulated under chapter 64B; the Minnesota employees insurance program established in​
section 43A.317, effective July 1, 1993; and joint self-insurance plans regulated under chapter 62H. For the​
purposes of determining liability of contributing members pursuant to section 62E.11 payments received​
from or on behalf of Minnesota residents for coverage by a health maintenance organization or community​
integrated service network shall be considered to be accident and health insurance premiums.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 2; 1977 c 409 s 4-7; 1979 c 272 s 1,2; 1981 c 318 s 13; 1983 c 289 s 114​
subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 49 s 41; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 268 art 2 s 17; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; art​
3 s 47; 1988 c 612 s 27; 1992 c 549 art 3 s 13; 1992 c 564 art 1 s 34,54; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 7-10; art 10 s​
50; 1995 c 258 s 40; 1997 c 175 art 1 s 1; 1997 c 225 art 2 s 62; art 6 s 1,2; 1999 c 177 s 44; 1999 c 245​
art 10 s 10; 2007 c 147 art 12 s 2; 2010 c 384 s 21; 2013 c 84 art 1 s 37; 2016 c 158 art 2 s 12; 2017 c 2​
art 2 s 9​

62E.03 Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 2005 c 132 s 38]​

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 14 art 1 s 59]​

62E.035 [Repealed, 2005 c 77 s 8]​
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62E.04 DUTIES OF INSURERS.​

Subdivision 1. Individual policies. For each type of qualified plan described in section 62E.06, an​
insurer or fraternal issuing individual policies of accident and health insurance in this state, other than group​
conversion policies, shall develop and file with the commissioner an individual policy which meets the​
minimum standards of that type of qualified plan. An insurer or fraternal issuing individual policies of​
accident and health insurance in this state shall offer each type of qualified plan to each person who applies​
and is eligible for accident and health insurance from that insurer or fraternal.​

Subd. 2. Medicare supplement plan. An insurer or fraternal issuing Medicare supplement plans in this​
state shall develop and file with the commissioner a Medicare supplement policy which meets the minimum​
standards of a qualified Medicare supplement plan. An insurer or fraternal issuing Medicare supplement​
plans in this state shall offer a qualified medicare supplement plan to each person who is eligible for coverage​
and who applies for a Medicare supplement plan.​

Subd. 3. Group policies. For each type of qualified plan described in section 62E.06, an insurer or​
fraternal issuing group policies of accident and health insurance in this state shall develop and file with the​
commissioner a group policy which provides for each member of the group the minimum benefits required​
by that type of qualified plan. An insurer or fraternal issuing group policies of accident and health insurance​
in this state shall offer each type of qualified plan to each eligible applicant for group accident and health​
insurance.​

Subd. 4. Major medical coverage. Each insurer and fraternal shall affirmatively offer coverage of major​
medical expenses to every applicant who applies to the insurer or fraternal for a new unqualified policy,​
which has a lifetime benefit limit of less than $1,000,000, at the time of application and annually to every​
holder of such an unqualified policy of accident and health insurance renewed by the insurer or fraternal.​
The coverage shall provide that when a covered individual incurs out-of-pocket expenses of $5,000 or more​
within a calendar year for services covered in section 62E.06, subdivision 1, benefits shall be payable, subject​
to any co-payment authorized by the commissioner, and shall not contain a lifetime maximum on essential​
health benefits. The offer of coverage of major medical expenses may consist of the offer of a rider on an​
existing unqualified policy or a new policy which is a qualified plan.​

Subd. 5. Effect of noncompliance. No policy of accident and health insurance may be issued or renewed​
in this state 180 days after July 1, 1976 by an insurer or a fraternal which has not complied with the​
requirements of this section.​

Subd. 6. Reinsurance allowed. An insurer or fraternal may fulfill its obligations under this section by​
issuing the required coverages in their own name and reinsuring the risk and administration of the coverages​
with the association in accordance with section 62E.10, subdivision 7, clauses (e) and (f).​

Subd. 7. Underwriting standards may apply. Nothing in this section shall require an insurer or fraternal​
to offer or issue a policy to any person who does not meet the underwriting or membership requirements of​
the insurer or fraternal.​

Subd. 8. Reduction of benefits because of other services. No policy of accident and health insurance​
shall contain any provision denying or reducing benefits because services are rendered to an insured or​
dependent who is eligible for or receiving benefits pursuant to chapters 256B and 256D, or sections 252.27;​
260B.331, subdivision 2; 260C.331, subdivision 2; 393.07, subdivision 1 or 2.​

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1995 c 207 art 10 s 25]​

Subd. 10. [Repealed, 1995 c 207 art 10 s 25]​
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Subd. 11. Affordable Care Act compliant plans. For any policy of accident and health insurance​
subject to the requirements of the Affordable Care Act, as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a,​
that is offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after January 1, 2018, the requirements of this section do not​
apply.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 4; 1977 c 409 s 9,10; 1979 c 174 s 3; 1979 c 272 s 4; 1988 c 689 art 2 s​
14,15; 1988 c 704 s 1; 1996 c 305 art 1 s 21; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 2000 c 483 s 14; 2001 c 215 s 18; 2013​
c 84 art 1 s 38,39; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 5 s 5​

62E.05 INFORMATION ON QUALIFIED PLANS.​

Subdivision 1. Certification. Upon application by an insurer, fraternal, or employer for certification of​
a plan of health coverage as a qualified plan or a qualified Medicare supplement plan for the purposes of​
sections 62E.01 to 62E.19, the commissioner shall make a determination within 90 days as to whether the​
plan is qualified. All plans of health coverage, except Medicare supplement policies, shall be labeled as​
"qualified" or "nonqualified" on the front of the policy or contract, or on the schedule page. All qualified​
plans shall indicate whether they are number one, two, or three coverage plans. For any policy of accident​
and health insurance subject to the requirements of the Affordable Care Act, as defined under section​
62A.011, subdivision 1a, that is offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after January 1, 2018, the requirements​
of this section do not apply.​

Subd. 2. Annual report. The state of Minnesota or any of its departments, agencies, programs,​
instrumentalities, or political subdivisions, shall report in writing to the association and to the commissioner​
of commerce no later than September 15 of each year regarding the number of persons and the amount of​
premiums, deductibles, co-payments, or coinsurance that it paid for on behalf of enrollees in the​
Comprehensive Health Association. This report must contain only summary information and must not include​
any individually identifiable data. The report must cover the 12-month period ending the preceding June​
30.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 5; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1994 c 485 s 34; 1995 c 234 art 7 s 8; 1996 c 446​
art 1 s 41; 1999 c 177 s 45; 2000 c 398 s 1; 2005 c 77 s 2; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 5 s 6​

62E.06 MINIMUM BENEFITS OF QUALIFIED PLAN.​

Subdivision 1. Number three plan. A plan of health coverage shall be certified as a number three​
qualified plan if it otherwise meets the requirements established by chapters 62A, 62C, and 62Q, and the​
other laws of this state, whether or not the policy is issued in Minnesota, and meets or exceeds the following​
minimum standards:​

(a) The minimum benefits for a covered individual shall, subject to the other provisions of this subdivision,​
be equal to at least 80 percent of the cost of covered services in excess of an annual deductible which does​
not exceed $150 per person. The coverage shall include a limitation of $3,000 per person on total annual​
out-of-pocket expenses for services covered under this subdivision. The coverage shall not be subject to a​
lifetime maximum on essential health benefits.​

The prohibition on lifetime maximums for essential health benefits and $3,000 limitation on total annual​
out-of-pocket expenses shall not be subject to change or substitution by use of an actuarially equivalent​
benefit.​

(b) Covered expenses shall be the usual and customary charges for the following services and articles​
when prescribed by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant:​
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(1) hospital services;​

(2) professional services for the diagnosis or treatment of injuries, illnesses, or conditions, other than​
dental, which are rendered by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant or at​
the physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's direction;​

(3) drugs requiring a physician's, advanced practice registered nurse's, or physician assistant's prescription;​

(4) services of a nursing home for not more than 120 days in a year if the services would qualify as​
reimbursable services under Medicare;​

(5) services of a home health agency if the services would qualify as reimbursable services under​
Medicare;​

(6) use of radium or other radioactive materials;​

(7) oxygen;​

(8) anesthetics;​

(9) prostheses other than dental but including scalp hair prostheses worn for hair loss suffered as a result​
of alopecia areata;​

(10) rental or purchase, as appropriate, of durable medical equipment other than eyeglasses and hearing​
aids, unless coverage is required under section 62Q.675;​

(11) diagnostic x-rays and laboratory tests;​

(12) oral surgery for partially or completely unerupted impacted teeth, a tooth root without the extraction​
of the entire tooth, or the gums and tissues of the mouth when not performed in connection with the extraction​
or repair of teeth;​

(13) services of a physical therapist;​

(14) transportation provided by licensed ambulance service to the nearest facility qualified to treat the​
condition; or a reasonable mileage rate for transportation to a kidney dialysis center for treatment; and​

(15) services of an occupational therapist.​

(c) Covered expenses for the services and articles specified in this subdivision do not include the​
following:​

(1) any charge for care for injury or disease either (i) arising out of an injury in the course of employment​
and subject to a workers' compensation or similar law, (ii) for which benefits are payable without regard to​
fault under coverage statutorily required to be contained in any motor vehicle, or other liability insurance​
policy or equivalent self-insurance, or (iii) for which benefits are payable under another policy of accident​
and health insurance, Medicare, or any other governmental program except as otherwise provided by section​
62A.04, subdivision 3, clause (4);​

(2) any charge for treatment for cosmetic purposes other than for reconstructive surgery when such​
service is incidental to or follows surgery resulting from injury, sickness, or other diseases of the involved​
part or when such service is performed on a covered dependent child because of congenital disease or​
anomaly which has resulted in a functional defect as determined by the attending physician, advanced practice​
registered nurse, or physician assistant;​
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(3) care which is primarily for custodial or domiciliary purposes which would not qualify as eligible​
services under Medicare;​

(4) any charge for confinement in a private room to the extent it is in excess of the institution's charge​
for its most common semiprivate room, unless a private room is prescribed as medically necessary by a​
physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant, provided, however, that if the institution​
does not have semiprivate rooms, its most common semiprivate room charge shall be considered to be 90​
percent of its lowest private room charge;​

(5) that part of any charge for services or articles rendered or prescribed by a physician, advanced practice​
registered nurse, physician assistant, dentist, or other health care personnel which exceeds the prevailing​
charge in the locality where the service is provided; and​

(6) any charge for services or articles the provision of which is not within the scope of authorized practice​
of the institution or individual rendering the services or articles.​

(d) The minimum benefits for a qualified plan shall include, in addition to those benefits specified in​
paragraphs (a) and (e), benefits for well baby care, effective July 1, 1980, subject to applicable deductibles,​
coinsurance provisions, and maximum lifetime benefit limitations.​

(e) Effective July 1, 1979, the minimum benefits of a qualified plan shall include, in addition to those​
benefits specified in paragraph (a), a second opinion from a physician on all surgical procedures expected​
to cost a total of $500 or more in physician, laboratory, and hospital fees, provided that the coverage need​
not include the repetition of any diagnostic tests.​

(f) Effective August 1, 1985, the minimum benefits of a qualified plan must include, in addition to the​
benefits specified in paragraphs (a), (d), and (e), coverage for special dietary treatment for phenylketonuria​
when recommended by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant.​

(g) Outpatient mental health coverage is subject to section 62A.152, subdivision 2.​

Subd. 2. Number two plan. A plan of health coverage shall be certified as a number two qualified plan​
if it meets the requirements established by subdivision 1 except that the deductible shall not exceed $500​
per person.​

Subd. 3. Number one plan. A plan of health coverage shall be certified as a number one qualified plan​
if it meets the requirements established by subdivision 1 except that the deductible shall not exceed $1,000​
per person.​

Subd. 4. Health maintenance plans. A health maintenance organization which provides the services​
required by chapter 62D shall be deemed to be providing a number three qualified plan.​

Subd. 5. Affordable Care Act compliant plans. For any policy of accident and health insurance subject​
to the requirements of the Affordable Care Act, as defined under section 62A.011, subdivision 1a, that is​
offered, sold, issued, or renewed on or after January 1, 2018, the requirements of this section do not apply.​

History: 1975 c 359 s 23; 1976 c 296 art 1 s 6; 1977 c 409 s 11; 1979 c 272 s 5; 1980 c 496 s 3; 1981​
c 265 s 2; 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 202 s 2; 1987 c 337 s 66; 1988 c 704 s 2; 1989 c 330​
s 24; 2001 c 215 s 19; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 7 s 10; 2013 c 84 art 1 s 40; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 5 s 7; 2020 c 115 art​
4 s 2; 2022 c 58 s 6​
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62E.07 QUALIFIED MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT PLAN.​

(a) Any plan which provides benefits may be certified as a qualified Medicare supplement plan if the​
plan is designed to supplement Medicare and provides coverage of 100 percent of the deductibles required​
under Medicare, with exclusion under paragraph (b) for any part of the Medicare Part B deductible, and 80​
percent of the charges for covered services described in section 62E.06, subdivision 1, which charges are​
not paid by Medicare. The coverage shall include a limitation of $1,000 per person on total annual​
out-of-pocket expenses for the covered services.​

(b) Any plan sold or issued to a newly eligible individual, as defined in section 62A.3099, subdivision​
18a, that provides benefits may be certified as a qualified Medicare supplemental plan if the plan is designed​
to supplement Medicare and provides coverage of 100 percent of the deductibles, with the exception of​
coverage of:​

(1) 100 percent or any portion of the Medicare Part B deductible; and​

(2) 80 percent of the charges for covered services, as provided under section 62E.06, subdivision 6, that​
are charges not paid by Medicare.​

The coverage must include a $1,000 per person limitation on total annual out-of-pocket expenses for the​
covered services.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 7; 1989 c 258 s 12; 1992 c 554 art 1 s 14; 2019 c 26 art 5 s 12,13​

62E.08 STATE PLAN PREMIUM.​

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The association shall establish the following maximum premiums to be​
charged for membership in the comprehensive health insurance plan:​

(a) the premium for the number one qualified plan shall range from a minimum of 101 percent to a​
maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance​
organizations with individuals enrolled in:​

(1) $1,000 annual deductible individual plans of insurance in force in Minnesota;​

(2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a $1,000 annual deductible​
which are in force in Minnesota; and​

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted​
actuarial principles;​

(b) the premium for the number two qualified plan shall range from a minimum of 101 percent to a​
maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those insurers and health maintenance​
organizations with individuals enrolled in:​

(1) $500 annual deductible individual plans of insurance in force in Minnesota;​

(2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a $500 annual deductible​
which are in force in Minnesota; and​

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted​
actuarial principles;​
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(c) the premiums for the plans with a $2,000, $5,000, or $10,000 annual deductible shall range from a​
minimum of 101 percent to a maximum of 125 percent of the weighted average of rates charged by those​
insurers and health maintenance organizations with individuals enrolled in:​

(1) $2,000, $5,000, or $10,000 annual deductible individual plans, respectively, in force in Minnesota;​
and​

(2) individual health maintenance organization contracts of coverage with a $2,000, $5,000, or $10,000​
annual deductible, respectively, which are in force in Minnesota; or​

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted​
actuarial principles;​

(d) the premium for each type of Medicare supplement plan required to be offered by the association​
pursuant to section 62E.12 shall be determined by calculating and applying the weighted average of the rate​
increases approved for the period for which the association premiums are to be effective for the three insurers​
or health maintenance organizations with the most individuals enrolled in:​

(1) Medicare supplement plans in force in Minnesota;​

(2) health maintenance organization Medicare supplement contracts of coverage which are in force in​
Minnesota; or​

(3) other plans of coverage similar to plans offered by the association based on generally accepted​
actuarial principles; and​

(e) the charge for health maintenance organization coverage shall be based on generally accepted actuarial​
principles.​

The list of insurers and health maintenance organizations whose rates are used to establish the premium​
for coverage offered by the association pursuant to paragraphs (a) to (d) shall be established by the​
commissioner on the basis of information which shall be provided to the association by all insurers and​
health maintenance organizations annually at the commissioner's request. This information shall include the​
number of individuals covered by each type of plan or contract specified in paragraphs (a) to (d) that is sold,​
issued, and renewed by the insurers and health maintenance organizations, including those plans or contracts​
available only on a renewal basis. The information shall also include the rates charged for each type of plan​
or contract.​

In establishing premiums pursuant to this section, the association shall utilize generally accepted actuarial​
principles, provided that the association shall not discriminate in charging premiums based upon sex. In​
order to compute a weighted average for each type of plan or contract specified under paragraphs (a) to (d),​
the association shall, using the information collected pursuant to this subdivision, list insurers and health​
maintenance organizations in rank order of the total number of individuals covered by each insurer or health​
maintenance organization. The association shall then compute a weighted average of the rates charged for​
coverage by all the insurers and health maintenance organizations by:​

(1) multiplying the numbers of individuals covered by each insurer or health maintenance organization​
by the rates charged for coverage;​

(2) separately summing both the number of individuals covered by all the insurers and health maintenance​
organizations and all the products computed under clause (1); and​
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(3) dividing the total of the products computed under clause (1) by the total number of individuals​
covered.​

The association may elect to use a sample of information from the insurers and health maintenance​
organizations for purposes of computing a weighted average. In no case, however, may a sample used by​
the association to compute a weighted average include information from fewer than the two insurers or​
health maintenance organizations highest in rank order.​

(f) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, in calculating premiums to be effective January 1,​
2014, and thereafter, the association may utilize rates for individual plans of insurance, individual health​
maintenance organization contracts, and other individual plans of coverage that are similar to plans offered​
by the association based upon generally accepted actuarial principles, so long as such plans and contracts​
have been filed with the Department of Commerce and are reasonably anticipated to be in force and individuals​
are reasonably anticipated to be enrolled in them during the period for which the association premiums are​
to be effective, regardless of whether they are in force in Minnesota or have individuals enrolled in them at​
the time the association is engaged in the rate-setting process mandated by this section and section 62E.091.​
For purposes of determining a weighted average under paragraph (e), the association shall use generally​
accepted actuarial principles to project potential enrollment in plans of coverage for the period for which​
the association's premiums will be effective and for which no individuals have enrolled at the time the​
association engages in the premium setting process.​

Subd. 2. Self-supporting. Subject to subdivision 1, the schedule of premiums for coverage under the​
comprehensive health insurance plan shall be designed to be self-supporting and based on generally accepted​
actuarial principles.​

Subd. 3. Determination of rates. Premium rates under this section must be determined annually. These​
rates are effective July 1 of each year and must be based on a survey of approved rates of insurers and health​
maintenance organizations in effect, or to be in effect, on April 1 of the same calendar year. These rates may​
be trended to the midpoint of the period for which the premium rates will apply in order to reflect economic​
and inflationary changes. Notwithstanding the provisions of this subdivision, the association may set rates​
to be effective for the 18-month period July 1, 2012, through December 31, 2013. For calendar years​
beginning January 1, 2014, and thereafter, premium rates shall be determined annually and effective January​
1 of each year. Premium rates shall be prospective and trended forward to the midpoint of the period for​
which the premium rates apply to ensure that the association's rates are based upon individual market rates​
for insurers and health maintenance organizations that will be in effect during the period for which the​
association's rates will be effective.​

Subd. 4. Smoker's rates. The association may establish smoker and nonsmoker premium rates that are​
based on generally accepted actuarial principles.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 8; 1977 c 409 s 12; 1979 c 272 s 6; 1983 c 123 s 1; 1991 c 165 s 2; 1993​
c 324 s 1; 2000 c 398 s 2; 2003 c 109 s 2; 2012 c 170 s 1,2​

62E.081 [Repealed, 1987 c 384 art 3 s 34]​

62E.09 DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​

The commissioner may:​

(a) formulate general policies to advance the purposes of sections 62E.01 to 62E.19;​
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(b) supervise the creation of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association within the limits described​
in section 62E.10;​

(c) approve the selection of the writing carrier by the association, approve the association's contract with​
the writing carrier, and approve the state plan coverage;​

(d) appoint advisory committees;​

(e) conduct periodic audits to assure the general accuracy of the financial data submitted by the writing​
carrier and the association;​

(f) contract with the federal government or any other unit of government to ensure coordination of the​
state plan with other governmental assistance programs;​

(g) undertake directly or through contracts with other persons studies or demonstration programs to​
develop awareness of the benefits of sections 62E.01 to 62E.15, so that the residents of this state may best​
avail themselves of the health care benefits provided by these sections;​

(h) contract with insurers and others for administrative services; and​

(i) adopt, amend, suspend and repeal rules as reasonably necessary to carry out and make effective the​
provisions and purposes of sections 62E.01 to 62E.19.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 9; 1977 c 409 s 13; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1993 c 324 s 2; 1996 c 305 art 2​
s 7; 1999 c 177 s 46; 2013 c 84 art 1 s 41​

62E.091 APPROVAL OF STATE PLAN PREMIUMS.​

The association shall submit to the commissioner any premiums it proposes to become effective for​
coverage under the comprehensive health insurance plan, pursuant to section 62E.08, subdivision 3. No later​
than 45 days before the effective date for premiums specified in section 62E.08, subdivision 3, the​
commissioner shall approve, modify, or reject the proposed premiums on the basis of the following criteria:​

(a) whether the association has complied with the provisions of section 62E.11, subdivision 11;​

(b) whether the association has submitted the proposed premiums in a manner which provides sufficient​
time for individuals covered under the comprehensive insurance plan to receive notice of any premium​
increase no less than 30 days prior to the effective date of the increase;​

(c) the degree to which the association's computations and conclusions are consistent with section 62E.08;​

(d) the degree to which any sample used to compute a weighted average by the association pursuant to​
section 62E.08 reasonably reflects circumstances projected to exist in the private marketplace for individual​
coverage through the use of accepted actuarial principles during the period to which the association's rates​
will apply;​

(e) the degree to which a weighted average computed pursuant to section 62E.08 that uses information​
pertaining to individual coverage available only on a renewal basis reflects the circumstances projected to​
exist through the use of accepted actuarial principles, in the private marketplace for individual coverage​
during the period to which the association's rates will apply;​

(f) a comparison of the proposed increases with increases in the cost of medical care and increases​
projected to occur through the use of accepted actuarial principles in the private marketplace for individual​
coverage during the period to which the association's rates will apply;​
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(g) the financial consequences to enrollees of the proposed increase;​

(h) the actuarially projected effect of the proposed increase upon both total enrollment in, and the nature​
of the risks assumed by, the comprehensive health insurance plan;​

(i) the relative solvency of the contributing members; and​

(j) other factors deemed relevant by the commissioner.​

In no case, however, may the commissioner approve premiums for those plans of coverage described​
in section 62E.08, subdivision 1, paragraphs (a) to (d), that are lower than 101 percent or greater than 125​
percent of the weighted averages computed by the association pursuant to section 62E.08. The commissioner​
shall support a decision to approve, modify, or reject any premium proposed by the association with written​
findings and conclusions addressing each criterion specified in this section. If the commissioner does not​
approve, modify, or reject the premiums proposed by the association sooner than 45 days before the effective​
date for premiums specified in section 62E.08, subdivision 3, the premiums proposed by the association​
under this section become effective.​

History: 1993 c 324 s 3; 2003 c 109 s 3; 2012 c 170 s 3​

62E.10 COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH ASSOCIATION.​

Subdivision 1. Creation; tax exemption. There is established a Comprehensive Health Association to​
promote the public health and welfare of the state of Minnesota with membership consisting of all insurers;​
self-insurers; fraternals; joint self-insurance plans regulated under chapter 62H; the Minnesota employees​
insurance program established in section 43A.317, effective July 1, 1993; health maintenance organizations;​
and community integrated service networks licensed or authorized to do business in this state. The​
Comprehensive Health Association is exempt from the taxes imposed under chapter 297I and any other laws​
of this state and all property owned by the association is exempt from taxation.​

Subd. 2. Board of directors; organization. The board of directors of the association shall be made up​
of 13 members as follows: six directors selected by contributing members, subject to approval by the​
commissioner, one of which must be a health actuary; two directors selected by the commissioner of human​
services, one of whom must represent hospitals and one of whom must represent health care providers; five​
public directors selected by the commissioner, at least two of whom must be enrollees in the individual​
market and one of whom must be a licensed insurance agent. At least two of the public directors must reside​
outside of the seven-county metropolitan area. In determining voting rights at members' meetings, each​
member shall be entitled to vote in person or proxy. In approving directors of the board, the commissioner​
shall consider, among other things, whether all types of members are fairly represented. Directors selected​
by contributing members may be reimbursed from the money of the association for expenses incurred by​
them as directors, but shall not otherwise be compensated by the association for their services.​

Subd. 2a. Appeals. A person may appeal to the commissioner within 30 days after notice of an action,​
ruling, or decision by the board.​

A final action or order of the commissioner under this subdivision is subject to judicial review in the​
manner provided by chapter 14.​

In lieu of the appeal to the commissioner, a person may seek judicial review of the board's action.​

Subd. 3. Mandatory membership. All members shall maintain their membership in the association as​
a condition of doing accident and health insurance, self-insurance, health maintenance organization, or​
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community integrated service network business in this state. The association shall submit its articles, bylaws​
and operating rules to the commissioner for approval; provided that the adoption and amendment of articles,​
bylaws and operating rules by the association and the approval by the commissioner thereof shall be exempt​
from the provisions of sections 14.001 to 14.69.​

Subd. 4. Open meetings. All meetings of the association, its board, and any committees of the association​
shall comply with the provisions of chapter 13D, except that during any portion of a meeting during which​
an enrollee's appeal of an action of the writing carrier is being heard, that portion of the meeting must be​
closed at the enrollee's request.​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1979 c 272 s 11]​

Subd. 6. Antitrust exemption. In the performance of their duties as members of the association, the​
members shall be exempt from the provisions of sections 325D.49 to 325D.66.​

Subd. 7. General powers. The association may:​

(a) Exercise the powers granted to insurers under the laws of this state;​

(b) Sue or be sued;​

(c) Enter into contracts with insurers, similar associations in other states or with other persons for the​
performance of administrative functions including the functions provided for in clauses (e) and (f);​

(d) Establish administrative and accounting procedures for the operation of the association;​

(e) Provide for the reinsuring of risks incurred as a result of issuing the coverages required by section​
62E.04 by members of the association. Each member which elects to reinsure its required risks shall determine​
the categories of coverage it elects to reinsure in the association. The categories of coverage are:​

(1) individual qualified plans, excluding group conversions;​

(2) group conversions;​

(3) group qualified plans with fewer than 50 employees or members; and​

(4) major medical coverage.​

A separate election may be made for each category of coverage. If a member elects to reinsure the risks​
of a category of coverage, it must reinsure the risk of the coverage of every life covered under every policy​
issued in that category. A member electing to reinsure risks of a category of coverage shall enter into a​
contract with the association establishing a reinsurance plan for the risks. This contract may include provision​
for the pooling of members' risks reinsured through the association and it may provide for assessment of​
each member reinsuring risks for losses and operating and administrative expenses incurred, or estimated​
to be incurred in the operation of the reinsurance plan. This reinsurance plan shall be approved by the​
commissioner before it is effective. Members electing to administer the risks which are reinsured in the​
association shall comply with the benefit determination guidelines and accounting procedures established​
by the association. The fee charged by the association for the reinsurance of risks shall not be less than 110​
percent of the total anticipated expenses incurred by the association for the reinsurance; and​

(f) Provide for the administration by the association of policies which are reinsured pursuant to clause​
(e). Each member electing to reinsure one or more categories of coverage in the association may elect to​
have the association administer the categories of coverage on the member's behalf. If a member elects to​
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have the association administer the categories of coverage, it must do so for every life covered under every​
policy issued in that category. The fee for the administration shall not be less than 110 percent of the total​
anticipated expenses incurred by the association for the administration.​

Subd. 8. Department of state exemption. The association is exempt from the Administrative Procedure​
Act but, to the extent authorized by law to adopt rules, the association may use the provisions of section​
14.386, paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (3). Section 14.386, paragraph (b), does not apply to these rules.​

Subd. 9. Experimental delivery method. The association may petition the commissioner of commerce​
for a waiver to allow the experimental use of alternative means of health care delivery. The commissioner​
may approve the use of the alternative means the commissioner considers appropriate. The commissioner​
may waive any of the requirements of this chapter and chapters 60A, 62A, and 62D in granting the waiver.​
The commissioner may also grant to the association any additional powers as are necessary to facilitate the​
specific waiver, including the power to implement a provider payment schedule.​

Subd. 10. Cost containment goals. (a) By July 1, 2001, the association shall investigate managed care​
delivery systems, and if cost effective, enter into contracts with third-party entities as provided in section​
62E.101.​

(b) By July 1, 2001, the association shall establish a system to annually identify individuals insured by​
the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association who may be eligible for private health care coverage,​
medical assistance, state drug programs, or other state or federal programs and notify them about their​
eligibility for these programs.​

(c) The association shall endeavor to reduce health care costs using additional methods consistent with​
effective patient care. At a minimum, by July 1, 2001, the association shall:​

(1) develop a focused chronic disease management and case management program;​

(2) develop a comprehensive program of preventive care; and​

(3) implement a total drug formulary program.​

The association may establish an enrollee incentive based on enrollee participation in the chronic disease​
management and case management program developed under this section.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 10; 1977 c 409 s 14-16; 1979 c 272 s 7; 1981 c 253 s 23; 1982 c 424 s 130;​
1Sp1985 c 10 s 63; 1987 c 337 s 67-69; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1988 c 612 s 28; 1990 c 422 s 10; 1990 c 523​
s 2; 1991 c 165 s 3,4; 1991 c 264 s 1; 1992 c 549 art 3 s 14; 1992 c 554 art 1 s 15; 1992 c 564 art 1 s 35;​
art 4 s 11; 1993 c 324 s 4; 1994 c 426 s 12; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 11-13; art 10 s 50; 1997 c 187 art 5 s 10;​
1997 c 225 art 2 s 62; 2000 c 394 art 2 s 14; 2000 c 398 s 3; 2004 c 268 s 2,3; 2008 c 344 s 13; 2013 c 84​
art 1 s 42; 2017 c 13 art 1 s 1​

62E.101 MANAGED CARE DELIVERY METHOD.​

The association may form a preferred provider network or contract with an existing provider network,​
health maintenance organization, or nonprofit health service plan corporation to deliver the services and​
benefits provided for in the plans of health coverage offered. If the association does not contract with an​
existing provider network, health maintenance organization, or nonprofit health service plan corporation,​
the association may adopt a provider payment schedule and negotiate provider payment rates subject to the​
approval of the commissioner.​

History: 1991 c 165 s 5; 2000 c 398 s 4​
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62E.11 OPERATION OF COMPREHENSIVE PLAN.​

Subdivision 1. Enrollment. Upon certification as an eligible person in the manner provided by section​
62E.14, an eligible person may enroll in the comprehensive health insurance plan by payment of the state​
plan premium to the writing carrier.​

Subd. 2. Employer premium payment. Any employer which has in its employ one or more eligible​
persons enrolled in the comprehensive health insurance plan may make all or any portion of the state plan​
premium payment to the state plan directly to the writing carrier.​

Subd. 3. Claims payments. Not less than 85 percent of the state plan premium paid to the writing carrier​
shall be used to pay claims, and not more than 15 percent shall be used for the payment of agent referral​
fees as authorized in section 62E.15, subdivision 3 and for payment of the writing carrier's direct and indirect​
expenses, as specified in section 62E.13, subdivision 7.​

Subd. 4. Net income. Any income in excess of the costs incurred by the association in providing​
reinsurance or administrative services pursuant to section 62E.07, clauses (e) and (f) shall be held at interest​
and used by the association to offset losses due to claims expenses of the state plan or allocated to reduce​
state plan premiums.​

Subd. 5. Allocation of losses. Each contributing member of the association shall share the losses due​
to claims expenses of the comprehensive health insurance plan for plans issued or approved for issuance by​
the association, and shall share in the operating and administrative expenses incurred or estimated to be​
incurred by the association incident to the conduct of its affairs. Claims expenses of the state plan which​
exceed the premium payments allocated to the payment of benefits shall be the liability of the contributing​
members. Contributing members shall share in the claims expense of the state plan and operating and​
administrative expenses of the association in an amount equal to the ratio of the contributing member's total​
accident and health insurance premium, received from or on behalf of Minnesota residents as divided by​
the total accident and health insurance premium, received by all contributing members from or on behalf of​
Minnesota residents, as determined by the commissioner. Payments made by the state to a contributing​
member for medical assistance or MinnesotaCare services according to chapters 256 and 256B shall be​
excluded when determining a contributing member's total premium.​

Subd. 6. Member assessments. The association shall make an annual determination of each contributing​
member's liability, if any, and may make an annual fiscal year end assessment if necessary. The association​
may also, subject to the approval of the commissioner, provide for interim assessments against the contributing​
members whose aggregate assessments comprised a minimum of 90 percent of the most recent prior annual​
assessment, in the event that the association deems that methodology to be the most administratively efficient​
and cost-effective means of assessment, and as may be necessary to assure the financial capability of the​
association in meeting the incurred or estimated claims expenses of the state plan and operating and​
administrative expenses of the association until the association's next annual fiscal year end assessment.​
Payment of an assessment shall be due within 30 days of receipt by a contributing member of a written​
notice of a fiscal year end or interim assessment. Failure by a contributing member to tender to the association​
the assessment within 30 days shall be grounds for termination of the contributing member's membership.​
A contributing member which ceases to do accident and health insurance business within the state shall​
remain liable for assessments through the calendar year during which accident and health insurance business​
ceased. The association may decline to levy an assessment against a contributing member if the assessment,​
as determined herein, would not exceed ten dollars.​
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Subd. 7. Net gain. Net gains, if any, from the operation of the state plan shall be held at interest and​
used by the association to offset future losses due to claims expenses of the state plan or allocated to reduce​
state plan premiums.​

Subd. 8. [Repealed, 1987 c 268 art 2 s 38]​

Subd. 9. Special assessment upon termination of individual health coverage. Each contributing​
member that terminates individual health coverage for reasons other than (a) nonpayment of premium; (b)​
failure to make co-payments; (c) enrollee moving out of the area served; or (d) a materially false statement​
or misrepresentation by the enrollee in the application for membership; and does not provide or arrange for​
replacement coverage that meets the requirements of section 62D.121; shall pay a special assessment to the​
state plan based upon the number of terminated individuals who join the comprehensive health insurance​
plan as authorized under section 62E.14, subdivisions 1, paragraph (d), and 6. Such a contributing member​
shall pay the association an amount equal to the average cost of an enrollee in the state plan in the year in​
which the member terminated enrollees multiplied by the total number of terminated enrollees who enroll​
in the state plan.​

The average cost of an enrollee in the state comprehensive health insurance plan shall be determined​
by dividing the state plan's total annual losses by the total number of enrollees from that year. This cost will​
be assessed to the contributing member who has terminated health coverage before the association makes​
the annual determination of each contributing member's liability as required under this section.​

In the event that the contributing member is terminating health coverage because of a loss of health care​
providers, the commissioner may review whether or not the special assessment established under this​
subdivision will have an adverse impact on the contributing member or its enrollees or insureds, including​
but not limited to causing the contributing member to fall below statutory net worth requirements. If the​
commissioner determines that the special assessment would have an adverse impact on the contributing​
member or its enrollees or insureds, the commissioner may adjust the amount of the special assessment, or​
establish alternative payment arrangements to the state plan. For health maintenance organizations regulated​
under chapter 62D, the commissioner of health shall make the determination regarding any adjustment in​
the special assessment and shall transmit that determination to the commissioner of commerce.​

Subd. 10. Termination of individual plan without replacement coverage. Any contributing members​
who have terminated individual health plans and do not provide or arrange for replacement coverage that​
meets the requirements of section 62D.121, and whose former insureds or enrollees enroll in the state​
comprehensive health insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting conditions pursuant to section 62E.14,​
subdivisions 1, paragraph (d), and 6, will be liable for the costs of any preexisting conditions of their former​
enrollees or insureds treated during the first six months of coverage under the state plan. The liability for​
preexisting conditions will be assessed before the association makes the annual determination of each​
contributing member's liability as required under this section.​

Subd. 11. Rate increase or benefit change. The association must provide notice and solicit public​
comment at least two weeks before filing a rate increase or benefit change with the commissioner. This​
requirement may be satisfied by written notice, public meeting, or electronic means. If the association holds​
a public meeting, notice of the public meeting to hear public comment must be mailed at least two weeks​
before the meeting to all plan enrollees.​

Subd. 12. [Repealed, 1997 c 225 art 2 s 63]​

Subd. 13. State funding; effect on premium rates of members. In approving the premium rates as​
required in sections 62A.65, subdivision 3; and 62L.08, subdivision 8, the commissioners of health and​
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commerce shall ensure that any appropriation to reduce the annual assessment made on the contributing​
members to cover the costs of the Minnesota comprehensive health insurance plan as required under this​
section is reflected in the premium rates charged by each contributing member.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 11; 1977 c 409 s 17; 1979 c 272 s 8; 1982 c 426 s 1; 1984 c 514 art 2 s 2;​
1986 c 444; 1988 c 434 s 17,18; 1991 c 54 s 1; 1991 c 264 s 2; 1992 c 549 art 3 s 15,16; 1992 c 564 art 1​
s 36; 1993 c 345 art 8 s 5; 1997 c 225 art 2 s 8; 1999 c 245 art 10 s 1; 2002 c 330 s 13; 2010 c 363 s 1;​
2016 c 158 art 2 s 13​

62E.12 MINIMUM BENEFITS OF COMPREHENSIVE HEALTH INSURANCE PLAN.​

(a) The association through its comprehensive health insurance plan shall offer policies which provide​
the benefits of a number one qualified plan and a number two qualified plan, except that the maximum​
lifetime benefit on these plans shall be $5,000,000; and an extended basic Medicare supplement plan and a​
basic Medicare supplement plan as described in sections 62A.3099 to 62A.44. The association may also​
offer a plan that is identical to a number one and number two qualified plan except that it has a $2,000 annual​
deductible and a $5,000,000 maximum lifetime benefit. The association, subject to the approval of the​
commissioner, may also offer plans that are identical to the number one or number two qualified plan, except​
that they have annual deductibles of $5,000 and $10,000, respectively; have limitations on total annual​
out-of-pocket expenses equal to those annual deductibles and therefore cover 100 percent of the allowable​
cost of covered services in excess of those annual deductibles; and have a $5,000,000 maximum lifetime​
benefit. The association, subject to approval of the commissioner, may also offer plans that meet all other​
requirements of state law except those that are inconsistent with high deductible health plans as defined in​
sections 220 and 223 of the Internal Revenue Code and supporting regulations. As of January 1, 2006, the​
association shall no longer be required to offer an extended basic Medicare supplement plan.​

(b) The requirement that a policy issued by the association must be a qualified plan is satisfied if the​
association contracts with a preferred provider network and the level of benefits for services provided within​
the network satisfies the requirements of a qualified plan. If the association uses a preferred provider network,​
payments to nonparticipating providers must meet the minimum requirements of section 72A.20, subdivision​
15.​

(c) The association shall offer health maintenance organization contracts in those areas of the state where​
a health maintenance organization has agreed to make the coverage available and has been selected as a​
writing carrier.​

(d) Notwithstanding the provisions of section 62E.06 and unless those charges are billed by a provider​
that is part of the association's preferred provider network, the state plan shall exclude coverage of services​
of a home care nurse other than on an inpatient basis and any charges for treatment in a hospital or other​
inpatient facility located outside of the state of Minnesota in which the covered person is receiving treatment​
for a mental or nervous disorder, unless similar treatment for the mental or nervous disorder is medically​
necessary, unavailable in Minnesota and provided upon referral by a licensed Minnesota medical practitioner.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 12; 1980 c 565 s 1; 1Sp1985 c 10 s 64; 1991 c 165 s 6; 1992 c 554 art 1 s​
16; 1992 c 564 art 4 s 12; 1995 c 96 s 1; 1995 c 258 s 41; 1998 c 293 s 2; 1999 c 130 s 1; 2000 c 398 s 5;​
2003 c 109 s 4; 2004 c 268 s 4; 2005 c 17 art 1 s 14; 2005 c 132 s 13; 2007 c 104 s 16; 2010 c 363 s 2;​
2014 c 291 art 9 s 5​
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62E.13 ADMINISTRATION OF PLAN.​

Subdivision 1. Submission of plans of coverage. Any member of the association may submit to the​
commissioner the policies of accident and health insurance or the health maintenance organization contracts​
which are being proposed to serve in the comprehensive health insurance plan. The time and manner of the​
submission shall be prescribed by rule of the commissioner.​

Subd. 2. Selection of writing carrier. The association may select policies and contracts, or parts thereof,​
submitted by a member or members of the association, or by the association or others, to develop specifications​
for bids from any entity which wishes to be selected as a writing carrier to administer the state plan. The​
selection of the writing carrier shall be based upon criteria established by the board of directors of the​
association and approved by the commissioner. The criteria shall outline specific qualifications that an entity​
must satisfy in order to be selected and, at a minimum, shall include the entity's proven ability to handle​
large group accident and health insurance cases, efficient claim paying capacity, and the estimate of total​
charges for administering the plan. The association may select separate writing carriers for the two types of​
qualified plans and the $2,000, $5,000, and $10,000 deductible plans, the Medicare supplement plans, and​
the health maintenance organization contract.​

Subd. 3. Duties of writing carrier. The writing carrier shall perform all administrative and claims​
payment functions required by this section. The writing carrier shall provide these services for a period of​
five years, unless a request to terminate is approved by the commissioner. The commissioner shall approve​
or deny a request to terminate within 90 days of its receipt. A failure to make a final decision on a request​
to terminate within the specified period shall be deemed to be an approval. Six months prior to the expiration​
of each five-year period, the association shall invite submissions of policy forms from members of the​
association, including the writing carrier. The association shall follow the provisions of subdivision 2 in​
selecting a writing carrier for the subsequent five-year period.​

Subd. 3a. Extension of writing carrier contract. Subject to the approval of the commissioner, and​
subject to the consent of the writing carrier, the association may extend the effective writing carrier contract​
for a period not to exceed three years, if the association and the commissioner determine that it would be in​
the best interest of the association's enrollees and contributing members. This subdivision applies​
notwithstanding anything to the contrary in subdivisions 2 and 3.​

Subd. 4. Policy or certificate of coverage to enrollees. The writing carrier shall provide to all eligible​
persons enrolled in the plan an individual policy or certificate, setting forth a statement as to the insurance​
protection to which they are entitled, with whom claims are to be filed and to whom benefits are payable.​
The policy or certificate shall indicate that coverage was obtained through the association.​

Subd. 5. Monthly report on operation of state plan. The writing carrier shall submit to the association​
and the commissioner on a monthly basis a report on the operation of the state plan. Specific information​
to be contained in this report shall be determined by the association prior to the effective date of the state​
plan.​

Subd. 6. Claims payments. All claims shall be paid by the writing carrier pursuant to the provisions of​
sections 62E.01 to 62E.19, and shall indicate that the claim was paid by the state plan. Each claim payment​
shall include information specifying the procedure to be followed in the event of a dispute over the amount​
of payment.​

Subd. 7. Reimbursement of writing carriers expenses. The writing carrier shall be reimbursed from​
the state plan premiums received for its direct and indirect expenses. Direct and indirect expenses shall​
include, but need not be limited to, a pro rata reimbursement for that portion of the writing carrier's​
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administrative, printing, claims administration, management and building overhead expenses which are​
assignable to the maintenance and administration of the state plan. The association shall approve cost​
accounting methods to substantiate the writing carrier's cost reports consistent with generally accepted​
accounting principles. Direct and indirect expenses shall not include costs directly related to the original​
submission of policy forms prior to selection as the writing carrier.​

Subd. 8. Writing carrier as agent. The writing carrier shall at all times when carrying out its duties​
under sections 62E.01 to 62E.19 be considered an agent of the association and the commissioner with civil​
liability subject to the provisions of section 3.751.​

Subd. 9. [Repealed, 1987 c 268 art 2 s 38]​

Subd. 10. Premiums not subject to tax. Premiums received by the writing carrier for the comprehensive​
health insurance plan are exempt from the taxes imposed under chapter 297I.​

Subd. 11. Classification of PPO agreement data. If the writing carrier uses its own provider agreements​
for the association's preferred provider network in lieu of agreements exclusively between the association​
and the providers, then the terms and conditions of those agreements are nonpublic data as defined in section​
13.02, subdivision 9.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 13; 1977 c 409 s 18,19; 1979 c 272 s 9; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1;​
1988 c 719 art 2 s 3; 1991 c 165 s 7; 1997 c 225 art 6 s 3; 1999 c 177 s 47,48; 2000 c 394 art 2 s 15; 2000​
c 398 s 6; 2003 c 109 s 5,6; 2005 c 132 s 14; 2006 c 255 s 19​

62E.14 ENROLLMENT BY AN ELIGIBLE PERSON.​

Subdivision 1. Application, contents. The comprehensive health insurance plan shall be open for​
enrollment by eligible persons. An eligible person shall enroll by submission of an application to the writing​
carrier. The application must provide the following:​

(a) name, address, age, list of residences for the immediately preceding six months and length of time​
at current residence of the applicant;​

(b) name, address, and age of spouse and children if any, if they are to be insured;​

(c) evidence of rejection, a requirement of restrictive riders, a rate up, or a preexisting conditions limitation​
on a qualified plan, the effect of which is to substantially reduce coverage from that received by a person​
considered a standard risk, by at least one association member within six months of the date of the application,​
or other eligibility requirements adopted by rule by the commissioner which are not inconsistent with this​
chapter and which evidence that a person is unable to obtain coverage substantially similar to that which​
may be obtained by a person who is considered a standard risk;​

(d) if the applicant has been terminated from individual health coverage which does not provide​
replacement coverage, evidence that no replacement coverage that meets the requirements of section 62D.121​
was offered, and evidence of termination of individual health coverage by an insurer, nonprofit health service​
plan corporation, or health maintenance organization, provided that the contract or policy has been terminated​
for reasons other than (1) failure to pay the charge for health care coverage; (2) failure to make co-payments​
required by the health care plan; (3) enrollee moving out of the area served; or (4) a materially false statement​
or misrepresentation by the enrollee in the application for the terminated contract or policy; and​

(e) a designation of the coverage desired.​
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An eligible person may not purchase more than one policy from the state plan. Upon ceasing to be a​
resident of Minnesota a person is no longer eligible to purchase or renew coverage under the state plan,​
except as required by state or federal law with respect to renewal of Medicare supplement coverage.​

Subd. 2. Writing carrier's response. Within 30 days of receipt of the application described in subdivision​
1, the writing carrier shall either reject the application for failing to comply with the requirements in​
subdivision 1 or forward the eligible person a notice of acceptance and billing information. If the applicant​
otherwise complies with the requirements of sections 62E.01 to 62E.19, insurance shall be effective​
immediately upon receipt of the first month's state plan premium, and shall be retroactive to the date the​
application was received by the writing carrier, unless a different effective date is provided in this section.​

Subd. 3. Preexisting conditions. A person who obtains coverage pursuant to this section is not covered​
for any preexisting condition during the first six months of coverage under the state plan if the person was​
diagnosed or treated for that condition during the 90 days immediately preceding the date the application​
was received by the writing carrier, except as provided under subdivisions 3a, 4, 4a, 4b, 4c, 4d, 4e, 5, 6, and​
7 and section 62E.18.​

Subd. 3a. Waiver of preexisting condition. A person may enroll in the comprehensive health plan with​
a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation described in section 62E.14, subdivision 3, provided that​
the person meets the following requirements:​

(1) group coverage was provided through a rehabilitation facility defined in section 268A.01, subdivision​
6, and coverage was terminated;​

(2) all other eligibility requirements for enrollment in the comprehensive health plan are met; and​

(3) the person submitted an application that was received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days​
after termination of previous coverage.​

Subd. 4. Waiver of preexisting conditions for Medicare supplement plan enrollees. Notwithstanding​
the above, any Minnesota resident holder of a policy or certificate of Medicare supplement coverages pursuant​
to sections 62A.315 and 62A.316, or Medicare supplement plans previously approved by the commissioner,​
may enroll in the comprehensive health insurance plan as described in section 62E.07, with a waiver of the​
preexisting condition as described in subdivision 3, without interruption in coverage, provided that the policy​
or certificate has been terminated by the insurer for reasons other than nonpayment of premium and, provided​
further that the option to enroll in the plan is exercised through submitting an application received by the​
writing carrier no later than 90 days after termination of the existing contract or certificate.​

Coverage in the state plan for purposes of this section shall be effective on the date of termination upon​
receipt of the proper application by the writing carrier and payment of the required premium. The application​
must include evidence of termination of the existing policy or certificate.​

Subd. 4a. Waiver of preexisting conditions for Minnesota residents. A person may enroll in the​
comprehensive health plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation described in subdivision 3,​
provided that the following requirements are met:​

(1) the person is a Minnesota resident eligible to enroll in the comprehensive health plan;​

(2) the person:​

(a) would be eligible for continuation under federal or state law if continuation coverage were available​
or were required to be available;​
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(b) would be eligible for continuation under clause (a) except that the person was exercising continuation​
rights and the continuation period required under federal or state law has expired; or​

(c) is eligible for continuation of health coverage under federal or state law;​

(3) continuation coverage is not available; and​

(4) the person's application for coverage is received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days after​
termination of prior coverage from a policy or plan.​

Coverage in the comprehensive health plan is effective on the date of termination of prior coverage.​
The availability of conversion rights does not affect a person's rights under this subdivision.​

Subd. 4b. Waiver of preexisting conditions for persons covered by retiree plans. A person who was​
covered by a retiree health care plan may enroll in the comprehensive health plan with a waiver of the​
preexisting condition limitation described in subdivision 3, provided that the following requirements are​
met:​

(1) the person is a Minnesota resident eligible to enroll in the comprehensive health plan;​

(2) the person was covered by a retiree health care plan from an employer and the coverage is no longer​
available to the person; and​

(3) the person's application for coverage is received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days after​
termination of prior coverage.​

Coverage in the comprehensive health plan is effective on the date of termination of prior coverage.​
The availability of conversion rights does not affect a person's rights under this section.​

Subd. 4c. Waiver of preexisting conditions for persons whose coverage is terminated or who exceed​
the maximum lifetime benefit. (a) A Minnesota resident may enroll in the comprehensive health plan with​
a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation described in subdivision 3 if that persons's application for​
coverage is received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days after termination of prior coverage and if​
the termination is for reasons other than fraud or nonpayment of premiums.​

For purposes of this paragraph, termination of prior coverage includes exceeding the maximum lifetime​
benefit of existing coverage.​

Coverage in the comprehensive health plan is effective on the date of termination of prior coverage.​
The availability of conversion rights does not affect a person's rights under this paragraph.​

This section does not apply to prior coverage provided under policies designed primarily to provide​
coverage payable on a per diem, fixed indemnity, or nonexpense incurred basis, or policies providing only​
accident coverage.​

(b) An eligible individual, as defined under the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act​
(HIPAA), United States Code, chapter 42, section 300gg-41(b), may enroll in the comprehensive health​
insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation described in subdivision 3 and a waiver​
of the evidence of rejection or similar events described in subdivision 1, clause (c). The eligible individual​
must apply for enrollment under this paragraph by submitting a substantially complete application that is​
received by the writing carrier no later than 63 days after termination of prior coverage, and coverage under​
the comprehensive health insurance plan is effective as of the date of receipt of the complete application.​
The six-month durational residency requirement provided in section 62E.02, subdivision 13, does not apply​
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with respect to eligibility for enrollment under this paragraph, but the applicant must be a Minnesota resident​
as of the date that the application was received by the writing carrier. A person's eligibility to enroll under​
this paragraph does not affect the person's eligibility to enroll under any other provision.​

(c) A qualifying individual, as defined in the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, section 35(e)(2)(B), who​
is eligible under the federal Trade Act of 2002 for the Health Coverage Tax Credit (HCTC) for health​
insurance costs under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, section 35, may enroll in the comprehensive health​
insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation described in subdivision 3, and without​
presenting evidence of rejection or similar requirements described in subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The​
six-month durational residency requirement provided in section 62E.02, subdivision 13, does not apply with​
respect to eligibility for enrollment under this paragraph, but the applicant must be a Minnesota resident as​
of the date of application. A person's eligibility to enroll under this paragraph does not affect the person's​
eligibility to enroll under any other provision. This paragraph is intended solely to meet the minimum​
requirements necessary to qualify the comprehensive health insurance plan as qualified health coverage​
under the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, section 35(e)(2).​

Subd. 4d. Insurer insolvency; waiver of preexisting conditions. A Minnesota resident who is otherwise​
eligible may enroll in the comprehensive health insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition​
limitation described in subdivision 3, if that person submits an application for coverage that is received by​
the writing carrier no later than 90 days after termination of prior coverage due to the insolvency of the​
insurer.​

Coverage in the comprehensive insurance plan is effective on the date of termination of prior coverage.​
The availability of conversion rights does not affect a person's rights under this subdivision.​

Subd. 4e. Waiver of preexisting conditions; persons covered by publicly funded health programs. A​
person may enroll in the comprehensive plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation in​
subdivision 3, provided that:​

(1) the person was formerly enrolled in the medical assistance or MinnesotaCare program;​

(2) the person is a Minnesota resident; and​

(3) the person submits an application for coverage that is received by the writing carrier no later than​
90 days after termination from medical assistance or MinnesotaCare program.​

Subd. 4f. Waiver of preexisting conditions; persons covered by a community-based health care​
coverage program. A person may enroll in the comprehensive plan, with a waiver of preexisting condition​
limitation in subdivision 3, if the following requirements are met:​

(1) the person was formerly enrolled in a community-based health care coverage program under section​
62Q.80;​

(2) the person is a Minnesota resident; and​

(3) the person submits an application for coverage that is received by the writing carrier no later than​
90 days after coverage under the community-based health care program is terminated. For purposes of this​
clause, termination of coverage includes exceeding the maximum lifetime or annual benefit on existing​
coverage, or moving out of an area served by the program.​

Subd. 4g. Waiver of preexisting conditions for persons covered by healthy Minnesota contribution​
program. A person may enroll in the comprehensive plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation​
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in subdivision 3 if the person is eligible for the healthy Minnesota contribution program, and has been denied​
coverage. The six-month durational residency requirement specified in section 62E.02, subdivision 13, does​
not apply to individuals enrolled in the healthy Minnesota contribution program.​

Subd. 5. Terminated employees. An employee who is voluntarily or involuntarily terminated or laid​
off from employment and unable to exercise the option to continue coverage under section 62A.17, and who​
is a Minnesota resident and who is otherwise eligible, may enroll in the comprehensive health insurance​
plan, by submitting an application that is received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days after termination​
or layoff, with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation set forth in subdivision 3.​

Subd. 6. Termination of individual policy or contract. A Minnesota resident who holds an individual​
health maintenance contract, individual nonprofit health service corporation contract, or an individual​
insurance policy previously approved by the commissioners of health or commerce, may enroll in the​
comprehensive health insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition as described in subdivision​
3, without interruption in coverage, provided (1) no replacement coverage that meets the requirements of​
section 62D.121 was offered by the contributing member, and (2) the policy or contract has been terminated​
for reasons other than (a) nonpayment of premium; (b) failure to make co-payments required by the health​
care plan; (c) moving out of the area served; or (d) a materially false statement or misrepresentation by the​
enrollee in the application for the terminated policy or contract; and, provided further, that the option to​
enroll in the plan is exercised by submitting an application that is received by the writing carrier no later​
than 90 days after termination of the existing policy or contract.​

Coverage allowed under this section is effective when the contract or policy is terminated and the enrollee​
has submitted the proper application that is received within the time period stated in this subdivision and​
paid the required premium or fee.​

Expenses incurred from the preexisting conditions of individuals enrolled in the state plan under this​
subdivision must be paid by the contributing member canceling coverage as set forth in section 62E.11,​
subdivision 10.​

The application must include evidence of termination of the existing policy or certificate as required in​
subdivision 1.​

Subd. 7. Terminations of conversion policies. (a) A Minnesota resident who is covered by a conversion​
policy or contract of health coverage may enroll in the comprehensive health plan with a waiver of the​
preexisting condition limitation in subdivision 3 and a waiver of the evidence of rejection in subdivision 1,​
paragraph (c), at any time for any reason by submitting an application that is received by the writing carrier​
during the term of coverage.​

(b) A Minnesota resident who was covered by a conversion policy or contract of health coverage may​
enroll in the comprehensive health plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation in subdivision​
3 and a waiver of the evidence of rejection in subdivision 1, paragraph (c), if that person applies for coverage​
by submitting an application that is received by the writing carrier no later than 90 days after termination​
of the conversion policy or contract coverage regardless of: (1) the reasons for the termination; or (2) the​
party terminating coverage.​
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(c) Coverage under this subdivision is effective upon termination of prior coverage if the enrollee has​
submitted a completed application that is received within the time period stated in paragraph (a) or (b),​
whichever applies, and paid the required premium or fee.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 14; 1977 c 409 s 20; 1979 c 272 s 10; 1984 c 592 s 48; 1986 c 455 s 14;​
1986 c 458 s 2; 1987 c 337 s 70; 1987 c 384 art 2 s 1; 1988 c 434 s 19-21; 1988 c 612 s 29,31; 1989 c 258​
s 13; 1990 c 523 s 3-5; 1991 c 165 s 8; 1991 c 325 art 21 s 6; 1992 c 564 art 1 s 37; 1997 c 175 art 1 s 2,3;​
1997 c 203 art 7 s 1; 1999 c 177 s 49; 2002 c 330 s 14-16; 2003 c 109 s 7; 2006 c 255 s 20; 2010 c 384 s​
22; 2011 c 108 s 34,35; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 2; 2012 c 247 art 1 s 1; 2013 c 108 art 1 s 67; 2016 c 158 art​
2 s 14​

62E.141 INCLUSION IN EMPLOYER-SPONSORED PLAN.​

No employee of an employer that offers a health plan, under which the employee is eligible for coverage,​
is eligible to enroll, or continue to be enrolled, in the Comprehensive Health Association, except for enrollment​
or continued enrollment necessary to cover a condition that is subject to an unexpired preexisting condition​
limitation, preexisting condition exclusion, or exclusionary rider under the employer's health plan. This​
section does not apply to persons enrolled in the Comprehensive Health Association as of June 30, 1993.​
With respect to persons eligible to enroll in the health plan of an employer that has more than 29 current​
employees, as defined in section 62L.02, this section does not apply to persons enrolled in the Comprehensive​
Health Association as of December 31, 1994.​

History: 1992 c 549 art 3 s 17; 1994 c 625 art 10 s 14; 1995 c 234 art 7 s 9; 2010 c 363 s 3​

62E.15 SOLICITATION OF ELIGIBLE PERSONS.​

Subdivision 1. Commissioner's duty. The association pursuant to a plan approved by the commissioner​
shall disseminate appropriate information to the residents of this state regarding the existence of the​
comprehensive health insurance plan and the means of enrollment. Means of communication may include​
use of the press, radio and television, as well as publication in appropriate state offices and publications.​

Subd. 2. Association's duty. The association shall devise and implement means of maintaining public​
awareness of the provisions of sections 62E.01 to 62E.19 and shall administer these sections in a manner​
which facilitates public participation in the state plan.​

Subd. 2a. Annual verification. The association may annually verify the uninsurability of each​
policyholder to insure that only eligible persons are enrolled in the plan.​

Subd. 3. Agent's referral fee. The writing carrier shall pay an agent's referral fee of $50 to each insurance​
agent who refers an applicant to the state plan, if the application is accepted. Selling or marketing of qualified​
state plans shall not be limited to the writing carrier or its agents. The referral fees shall be paid by the writing​
carrier from money received as premiums for the state plan.​

Subd. 4. Rejection or underwriting restrictions. Every insurer and health maintenance organization​
which rejects or applies underwriting restrictions to an applicant for a plan of health coverage shall: (1)​
provide the applicant with a written notice of rejection or the underwriting restrictions applied to the applicant​
in a manner consistent with the requirements in section 72A.499; (2) notify the applicant of the existence​
of the state plan, the requirements for being accepted in it, and the procedure for applying to it; and (3)​
provide the applicant with written materials explaining the state plan in greater detail. This written material​
shall be provided by the association to every insurer at no charge.​
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Subd. 5. Initial notification. Every insurer and health maintenance organization before issuing a​
conversion policy or contract of health insurance shall:​

(1) notify the applicant of the existence of the state plan, the requirements for being accepted in it, the​
procedure for applying to it, and the plan rates; and​

(2) provide the applicant with written materials explaining the state plan in greater detail. This written​
material shall be provided by the association to every insurer and health maintenance organization at no​
charge.​

Subd. 6. Annual notification. Every insurer and health maintenance organization which provides health​
coverage to an insured through a conversion plan shall annually:​

(1) notify the insured of the existence of the state plan, the requirements for being accepted in it, the​
procedure for applying to it, and the plan rates; and​

(2) provide the applicant with written materials explaining the state plan in greater detail. This written​
material shall be provided by the association to every insurer and health maintenance organization at no​
charge.​

Subd. 7. Conversion rates. For Medicare supplement conversion policies issued prior to August 1,​
1992, the requirements of subdivisions 5 and 6 apply only when the conversion rates offered to the applicant​
by the insurer or health maintenance organization exceed the association rates.​

History: 1976 c 296 art 1 s 15; 1984 c 592 s 49; 1990 c 523 s 6; 1992 c 564 art 1 s 38-41; 1999 c 177​
s 50; 2000 c 398 s 7​

62E.16 [Repealed, 2013 c 84 art 1 s 94]​

62E.17 [Repealed, 1Sp1985 c 9 art 2 s 104]​

62E.18 HEALTH INSURANCE FOR RETIRED EMPLOYEES NOT ELIGIBLE FOR MEDICARE.​

A Minnesota resident who is age 65 or over and is not eligible for the health insurance benefits of the​
federal Medicare program is entitled to purchase the benefits of a qualified plan, one or two, or the $2,000,​
$5,000, or $10,000 annual deductible plan if available, offered by the Minnesota Comprehensive Health​
Association without any of the limitations set forth in section 62E.14, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), and​
subdivision 3.​

History: 1987 c 337 s 71; 2000 c 398 s 8; 2003 c 109 s 8​

62E.19 PAYMENTS FOR PREEXISTING CONDITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Employer liability. An employer is liable to the association for the costs of any preexisting​
conditions of the employer's former employees or their dependents during the first six months of coverage​
under the state comprehensive health insurance plan under the following conditions:​

(1)(i) the employer has terminated or laid off employees and is required to meet the notice requirements​
under section 116L.976, subdivision 2;​

(ii) the employer has failed to provide, arrange for, or make available continuation health insurance​
coverage required to be provided under federal or state law to employees or their dependents; and​
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(iii) the employer's former employees or their dependents enroll in the state comprehensive health​
insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation under section 62E.14, subdivision 4a​
or 5; or​

(2)(i) the employer has terminated or allowed the employer's plan of health insurance coverage to lapse​
within 90 days prior to the date of termination or layoff of an employee; and​

(ii) the employer's former employees or their dependents enroll in the state comprehensive health​
insurance plan with a waiver of the preexisting condition limitation under section 62E.14, subdivision 4a​
or 5.​

The employer shall pay a special assessment to the association for the costs of the preexisting conditions.​
The special assessment may be assessed before the association makes the annual determination of each​
contributing member's liability as required under this chapter. The association may enforce the obligation​
to pay the special assessment by action, as a claim in an insolvency proceeding, or by any other method not​
prohibited by law.​

If the association makes the special assessment permitted by this subdivision, the association may also​
make any assessment of contributing members otherwise permitted by law, without regard to the special​
assessment permitted by this subdivision. Contributing members must pay the assessment, subject to refund​
or adjustment in the event of receipt by the association of any portion of the special assessment.​

Subd. 2. Exemption. Subdivision 1 does not apply to a termination of or failure to implement an employee​
health benefit plan which results from or occurs during a strike or lockout, nor does it apply to employee​
health benefit plans separately provided by an employee organization or bargaining agent, regardless of any​
financial contribution to the plan by the employer.​

History: 1990 c 523 s 7; 1991 c 199 art 1 s 11; 1994 c 485 s 35; 2004 c 206 s 52​

62E.20 [Repealed, 2013 c 84 art 1 s 94]​

62E.21 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Application. For the purposes of sections 62E.21 to 62E.25, the terms defined in this​
section have the meanings given them.​

Subd. 2. Affordable Care Act. "Affordable Care Act" means the federal act as defined in section​
62A.011, subdivision 1a.​

Subd. 3. Attachment point. "Attachment point" means an amount as provided in section 62E.23,​
subdivision 2, paragraph (b).​

Subd. 4. Benefit year. "Benefit year" means the calendar year for which an eligible health carrier provides​
coverage through an individual health plan.​

Subd. 5. Board. "Board" means the board of directors of the Minnesota Comprehensive Health​
Association created under section 62E.10.​

Subd. 6. Coinsurance rate. "Coinsurance rate" means the rate as provided in section 62E.23, subdivision​
2, paragraph (c).​

Subd. 7. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.​
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Subd. 8. Eligible health carrier. "Eligible health carrier" means all of the following that offer individual​
health plans and incur claims costs for an individual enrollee's covered benefits in the applicable benefit​
year:​

(1) an insurance company licensed under chapter 60A to offer, sell, or issue a policy of accident and​
sickness insurance as defined in section 62A.01;​

(2) a nonprofit health service plan corporation operating under chapter 62C; or​

(3) a health maintenance organization operating under chapter 62D.​

Subd. 9. Individual health plan. "Individual health plan" means a health plan as defined in section​
62A.011, subdivision 4, that is not a grandfathered plan as defined in section 62A.011, subdivision 1b.​

Subd. 10. Individual market. "Individual market" has the meaning given in section 62A.011, subdivision​
5.​

Subd. 11. Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association or association. "Minnesota Comprehensive​
Health Association" or "association" has the meaning given in section 62E.02, subdivision 14.​

Subd. 12. Minnesota premium security plan or plan. "Minnesota premium security plan" or "plan"​
means the state-based reinsurance program authorized under section 62E.23.​

Subd. 13. Payment parameters. "Payment parameters" means the attachment point, reinsurance cap,​
and coinsurance rate for the plan.​

Subd. 14. Reinsurance cap. "Reinsurance cap" means the threshold amount as provided in section​
62E.23, subdivision 2, paragraph (d).​

Subd. 15. Reinsurance payments. "Reinsurance payments" means an amount paid by the association​
to an eligible health carrier under the plan.​

History: 2017 c 13 art 1 s 2​

62E.22 DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.​

The commissioner shall require eligible health carriers to calculate the premium amount the eligible​
health carrier would have charged for the benefit year if the Minnesota premium security plan had not been​
established. The eligible health carrier must submit this information as part of its rate filing. The commissioner​
must consider this information as part of the rate review.​

History: 2017 c 13 art 1 s 3​

62E.23 MINNESOTA PREMIUM SECURITY PLAN.​

Subdivision 1. Administration of plan. (a) The association is Minnesota's reinsurance entity to administer​
the state-based reinsurance program referred to as the Minnesota premium security plan.​

(b) The association may apply for any available federal funding for the plan. All funds received by or​
appropriated to the association shall be deposited in the premium security plan account in section 62E.25,​
subdivision 1. The association shall notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​
committees with jurisdiction over health and human services and insurance within ten days of receiving any​
federal funds.​
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(c) The association must collect or access data from an eligible health carrier that are necessary to​
determine reinsurance payments, according to the data requirements under subdivision 5, paragraph (c).​

(d) The board must not use any funds allocated to the plan for staff retreats, promotional giveaways,​
excessive executive compensation, or promotion of federal or state legislative or regulatory changes.​

(e) For each applicable benefit year, the association must notify eligible health carriers of reinsurance​
payments to be made for the applicable benefit year no later than June 30 of the year following the applicable​
benefit year.​

(f) On a quarterly basis during the applicable benefit year, the association must provide each eligible​
health carrier with the calculation of total reinsurance payment requests.​

(g) By August 15 of the year following the applicable benefit year, the association must disburse all​
applicable reinsurance payments to an eligible health carrier.​

Subd. 2. Payment parameters. (a) The board must design and adjust the payment parameters to ensure​
the payment parameters:​

(1) will stabilize or reduce premium rates in the individual market;​

(2) will increase participation in the individual market;​

(3) will improve access to health care providers and services for those in the individual market;​

(4) mitigate the impact high-risk individuals have on premium rates in the individual market;​

(5) take into account any federal funding available for the plan; and​

(6) take into account the total amount available to fund the plan.​

(b) The attachment point for the plan is the threshold amount for claims costs incurred by an eligible​
health carrier for an enrolled individual's covered benefits in a benefit year, beyond which the claims costs​
for benefits are eligible for reinsurance payments. The attachment point shall be set by the board at $50,000​
or more, but not exceeding the reinsurance cap.​

(c) The coinsurance rate for the plan is the rate at which the association will reimburse an eligible health​
carrier for claims incurred for an enrolled individual's covered benefits in a benefit year above the attachment​
point and below the reinsurance cap. The coinsurance rate shall be set by the board at a rate between 50 and​
80 percent.​

(d) The reinsurance cap is the threshold amount for claims costs incurred by an eligible health carrier​
for an enrolled individual's covered benefits, after which the claims costs for benefits are no longer eligible​
for reinsurance payments. The reinsurance cap shall be set by the board at $250,000 or less.​

(e) The board may adjust the payment parameters to the extent necessary to secure federal approval of​
the state innovation waiver request in Laws 2017, chapter 13, article 1, section 8.​

Subd. 3. Operation. (a) The board shall propose to the commissioner the payment parameters for the​
next benefit year by January 15 of the year before the applicable benefit year. The commissioner shall​
approve or reject the payment parameters no later than 14 days following the board's proposal. If the​
commissioner fails to approve or reject the payment parameters within 14 days following the board's proposal,​
the proposed payment parameters are final and effective.​
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(b) If the amount in the premium security plan account in section 62E.25, subdivision 1, is not anticipated​
to be adequate to fully fund the approved payment parameters as of July 1 of the year before the applicable​
benefit year, the board, in consultation with the commissioner and the commissioner of management and​
budget, shall propose payment parameters within the available appropriations. The commissioner must​
permit an eligible health carrier to revise an applicable rate filing based on the final payment parameters for​
the next benefit year.​

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the payment parameters for benefit years 2023 through 2027 are:​

(1) an attachment point of $50,000;​

(2) a coinsurance rate of 80 percent; and​

(3) a reinsurance cap of $250,000.​

Subd. 4. Calculation of reinsurance payments. (a) Each reinsurance payment must be calculated with​
respect to an eligible health carrier's incurred claims costs for an individual enrollee's covered benefits in​
the applicable benefit year. If the claims costs do not exceed the attachment point, the reinsurance payment​
is $0. If the claims costs exceed the attachment point, the reinsurance payment shall be calculated as the​
product of the coinsurance rate and the lesser of:​

(1) the claims costs minus the attachment point; or​

(2) the reinsurance cap minus the attachment point.​

(b) The board must ensure that reinsurance payments made to eligible health carriers do not exceed the​
total amount paid by the eligible health carrier for any eligible claim. "Total amount paid of an eligible​
claim" means the amount paid by the eligible health carrier based upon the allowed amount less any deductible,​
coinsurance, or co-payment, as of the time the data are submitted or made accessible under subdivision 5,​
paragraph (c).​

Subd. 5. Eligible carrier requests for reinsurance payments. (a) An eligible health carrier may request​
reinsurance payments from the association when the eligible health carrier meets the requirements of this​
subdivision and subdivision 4.​

(b) An eligible health carrier must make requests for reinsurance payments in accordance with any​
requirements established by the board.​

(c) An eligible health carrier must provide the association with access to the data within the dedicated​
data environment established by the eligible health carrier under the federal risk adjustment program under​
United States Code, title 42, section 18063. Eligible health carriers must submit an attestation to the board​
asserting compliance with the dedicated data environments, data requirements, establishment and usage of​
masked enrollee identification numbers, and data submission deadlines.​

(d) An eligible health carrier must provide the access described in paragraph (c) for the applicable benefit​
year by April 30 of each year of the year following the end of the applicable benefit year.​

(e) An eligible health carrier must maintain documents and records, whether paper, electronic, or in​
other media, sufficient to substantiate the requests for reinsurance payments made pursuant to this section​
for a period of at least six years. An eligible health carrier must also make those documents and records​
available upon request from the commissioner for purposes of verification, investigation, audit, or other​
review of reinsurance payment requests.​
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(f) An eligible health carrier may follow the appeals procedure under section 62E.10, subdivision 2a.​

(g) The association may have an eligible health carrier audited to assess the health carrier's compliance​
with the requirements of this section. The eligible health carrier must ensure that its contractors, subcontractors,​
or agents cooperate with any audit under this section. If an audit results in a proposed finding of material​
weakness or significant deficiency with respect to compliance with any requirement of this section, the​
eligible health carrier may provide a response to the proposed finding within 30 days. Within 30 days of the​
issuance of a final audit report that includes a finding of material weakness or significant deficiency, the​
eligible health carrier must:​

(1) provide a written corrective action plan to the association for approval;​

(2) implement the approved plan; and​

(3) provide the association with written documentation of the corrective action once taken.​

Subd. 6. Data. Government data of the association under this section are private data on individuals, or​
nonpublic data, as defined under section 13.02, subdivision 9 or 12.​

History: 2017 c 13 art 1 s 4; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 8 s 6; 2022 c 44 s 2​

62E.24 ACCOUNTING, REPORTS, AND AUDITS OF THE ASSOCIATION.​

Subdivision 1. Accounting. The board must keep an accounting for each benefit year of all:​

(1) funds appropriated for reinsurance payments and administrative and operational expenses;​

(2) requests for reinsurance payments received from eligible health carriers;​

(3) reinsurance payments made to eligible health carriers; and​

(4) administrative and operational expenses incurred for the plan.​

Subd. 2. Reports. (a) The board must submit to the commissioner and to the chairs and ranking minority​
members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over commerce and health and make available to​
the public quarterly reports on plan operations and an annual report summarizing the plan operations for​
each benefit year. All reports must be made public by posting the report on the Minnesota Comprehensive​
Health Association website. The annual summary must be made available by November 1 of the year​
following the applicable benefit year or 60 calendar days following the final disbursement of reinsurance​
payments for the applicable benefit year, whichever is later.​

(b) The reports must include information about:​

(1) the reinsurance parameters used;​

(2) the metal levels affected;​

(3) the number of claims payments estimated and submitted for payment per products offered on-exchange​
and off-exchange and per eligible health carrier;​

(4) the estimated reinsurance payments by plan type based on carrier-submitted templates;​

(5) funds appropriated for reinsurance payments and administrative and operational expenses for each​
year, including the federal and state contributions received, investment income, and any other revenue or​
funds received;​
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(6) the total amount of reinsurance payments made to each eligible health carrier; and​

(7) administrative and operational expenses incurred for the plan, including the total amount incurred​
and as a percentage of the plan's operational budget.​

Subd. 3. Legislative auditor. The Minnesota premium security plan is subject to audit by the legislative​
auditor. The board must ensure that its contractors, subcontractors, or agents cooperate with the audit.​

Subd. 4. Independent external audit. (a) The board must engage and cooperate with an independent​
certified public accountant or CPA firm licensed or permitted under chapter 326A to perform an audit for​
each benefit year of the plan, in accordance with generally accepted auditing standards. The audit must at​
a minimum:​

(1) assess compliance with the requirements of sections 62E.21 to 62E.25; and​

(2) identify any material weaknesses or significant deficiencies and address manners in which to correct​
any such material weaknesses or deficiencies.​

(b) The board, after receiving the completed audit, must:​

(1) provide the commissioner the results of the audit;​

(2) identify to the commissioner any material weakness or significant deficiency identified in the audit​
and address in writing to the commissioner how the board intends to correct any such material weakness or​
significant deficiency in compliance with subdivision 5; and​

(3) make public the results of the audit, to the extent the audit contains government data that is public,​
including any material weakness or significant deficiency and how the board intends to correct the material​
weakness or significant deficiency, by posting the audit results on the Minnesota Comprehensive Health​
Association website and making the audit results otherwise available.​

Subd. 5. Actions on audit findings. (a) If an audit results in a finding of material weakness or significant​
deficiency with respect to compliance by the association with any requirement under sections 62E.21 to​
62E.25, the board must:​

(1) provide a written corrective action plan to the commissioner for approval within 60 days of the​
completed audit;​

(2) implement the corrective action plan; and​

(3) provide the commissioner with written documentation of the corrective actions taken.​

(b) By December 1 of each year, the board must submit a report to the standing committees of the​
legislature having jurisdiction over health and human services and insurance regarding any finding of material​
weakness or significant deficiency found in an audit.​

History: 2017 c 13 art 1 s 5; 1Sp2019 c 9 art 8 s 7​

62E.25 ACCOUNTS.​

Subdivision 1. Premium security plan account. The premium security plan account is created in the​
special revenue fund of the state treasury. Funds in the account are appropriated annually to the commissioner​
of commerce for grants to the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association for the operational and​
administrative costs and reinsurance payments relating to the start-up and operation of the Minnesota premium​
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security plan. Notwithstanding section 11A.20, all investment income and all investment losses attributable​
to the investment of the premium security plan account shall be credited to the premium security plan account.​

Subd. 2. Deposits. Except as provided in subdivision 3, funds received by the commissioner of commerce​
or other state agency pursuant to the state innovation waiver request in Laws 2017, chapter 13, article 1,​
section 8, shall be deposited in the premium security plan account in subdivision 1.​

Subd. 3. Basic health plan trust account. Funds received by the commissioner of commerce or other​
state agency pursuant to the state innovation waiver request in Laws 2017, chapter 13, article 1, section 8,​
that are attributable to the basic health program shall be deposited in the basic health plan trust account in​
the federal fund.​

History: 2017 c 13 art 1 s 6​

62E.51 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​

62E.52 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​

62E.53 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​

62E.531 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​

62E.54 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​

62E.55 [Repealed, 1994 c 625 art 10 s 49]​
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