
504B.321 COMPLAINT AND SUMMONS.​

Subdivision 1. Procedure. (a) To bring an eviction action, the person complaining shall file a complaint​
with the court, stating the full name and date of birth of the person against whom the complaint is made,​
unless it is not known, describing the premises of which possession is claimed, stating the facts which​
authorize the recovery of possession, and asking for recovery thereof.​

(b) The lack of the full name and date of birth of the person against whom the complaint is made does​
not deprive the court of jurisdiction or make the complaint invalid.​

(c) The appearance shall be not less than seven nor more than 14 days from the day of issuing the​
summons, except as provided by subdivision 2.​

(d) If applicable, the person filing a complaint must attach a copy of the written notice described in​
subdivision 1a. The court shall dismiss an action without prejudice for failure to provide a notice as described​
in subdivision 1a and grant an expungement of the eviction case court file.​

Subd. 1a. Written notice. (a) Before bringing an eviction action alleging nonpayment of rent or other​
unpaid financial obligation in violation of the lease, a landlord must provide written notice to the residential​
tenant specifying the basis for future eviction action. The notice must include:​

(1) the total amount due;​

(2) a specific accounting of the amount of the total due from unpaid rent, late fees, and other charges​
under the lease;​

(3) the name and address of the person authorized to receive rent and fees on behalf of the landlord;​

(4) the following statement: "You have the right to seek legal help. If you can't afford a lawyer, free​
legal help may be available. Contact Legal Aid or visit www.LawHelpMN.org to know your rights and find​
your local Legal Aid office.";​

(5) the following statement: "To apply for financial help, contact your local county or Tribal social​
services office, apply online at MNBenefits.mn.gov or call the United Way toll-free information line by​
dialing 2-1-1 or 800-543-7709."; and​

(6) the following statement: "Your landlord can file an eviction case if you do not pay the total amount​
due or move out within 14 days from the date of this notice. Some local governments may have an eviction​
notice period longer than 14 days."​

(b) The landlord or an agent of the landlord must deliver the notice personally or by first class mail to​
the residential tenant at the address of the leased premises.​

(c) If the residential tenant fails to correct the rent delinquency within 14 days of the delivery or mailing​
of the notice, or the number of days required by a local government rule or law if the notice period prior to​
an eviction required by the local government is longer than 14 days, or fails to vacate, then the landlord may​
bring an eviction action under subdivision 1 based on nonpayment of rent.​

Subd. 1b. Notice constitutes verification of emergency. (a) Receipt of the notice under subdivision 1a​
shall be deemed by a county or other agency requiring verification of emergency to qualify a tenant for​
assistance to be sufficient demonstration of an emergency situation under section 256D.06, subdivision 2,​
and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9500. For purposes of chapter 256J and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9500, a​
county agency verifies an emergency situation by receiving and reviewing a notice under this section.​
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(b) When it receives a copy of the notice required by this section, the county must not:​

(1) require a tenant to provide additional verification of the emergency; or​

(2) require additional verification that the landlord will accept the funds demanded in the notice required​
by this section to resolve the emergency.​

Subd. 2. Expedited procedure. (a) In an eviction action brought under section 504B.171 or on the basis​
that the residential tenant engages in behavior that seriously endangers the safety of other residents, or​
intentionally and seriously damages the property of the landlord or a tenant, the person filing the complaint​
shall file an affidavit stating specific facts and instances in support of why an expedited hearing is required.​

(b) The complaint and affidavit shall be reviewed by a referee or judge and scheduled for an expedited​
hearing only if sufficient supporting facts are stated and they meet the requirements of this paragraph.​

(c) The appearance in an expedited hearing shall be not less than five days nor more than seven days​
from the date the summons is issued. The summons, in an expedited hearing, shall be served upon the​
residential tenant within 24 hours of issuance unless the court orders otherwise for good cause shown.​

(d) If the court determines that the person seeking an expedited hearing did so without sufficient basis​
under the requirements of this subdivision, the court shall impose a civil penalty of up to $500 for abuse of​
the expedited hearing process.​

(e) The court may only consider allegations under paragraph (a) during an expedited hearing. The court​
may not consolidate claims heard under the expedited procedure with any additional claims, including but​
not limited to breach of lease, holding over under section 504B.285, or nonpayment of rent under section​
504B.291.​

Subd. 3. Contents of complaint. The person bringing a complaint under this section must:​

(1) attach the current written lease, if any, or most recent written lease in existence, and any relevant​
lease addenda;​

(2) if alleging nonpayment of rent, attach a detailed, itemized accounting or statement listing the amounts;​

(3) if alleging a breach of lease, identify the clause of the lease which is the basis of the allegation, the​
nature of the conduct constituting the alleged breach of lease, the dates on which the alleged conduct took​
place, and the clause granting the right to evict based on the alleged conduct;​

(4) if alleging a violation of section 504B.171, specify the nature of the conduct constituting the alleged​
violation and the dates on which the alleged conduct took place;​

(5) if alleging a violation of section 504B.285, subdivision 1, attach a copy of any notice to vacate or​
notice to quit; and​

(6) state in the complaint whether the tenancy is affected by a federal or state housing subsidy program​
through project-based federal assistance payments; the Section 8 program, as defined in section 469.002,​
subdivision 24; the low-income housing tax credit program; or any other similar program, and include the​
name of the agency that administers the housing subsidy program.​

Subd. 4. Summons. The court shall issue a summons, commanding the person against whom the​
complaint is made to appear before the court on the day and at the place stated in the summons. A copy of​
the complaint must be attached to the summons. The summons must include, at a minimum:​
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(1) the full name of the person against whom the complaint is brought;​

(2) the date, time, and location of the hearing;​

(3) information about the methods for participating in the court appearance, including, if applicable,​
information for appearing by telephone or computer and contact information for the court regarding remote​
participation;​

(4) the following statement: "You have the right to seek legal help or request a reasonable accommodation​
from the court for your hearing. Contact the court as soon as possible if you need an accommodation. If you​
can't afford a lawyer, free legal help may be available. Contact Legal Aid or visit www.LawHelpMN.org​
to know your rights and find your local Legal Aid office.";​

(5) the following statement: "To apply for financial help, contact your local county or Tribal social​
services office, apply online at MNBenefits.mn.gov, or call the United Way toll-free information line by​
dialing 2-1-1 or 800-543-7709."; and​

(6) notification that a copy of the complaint is attached and has been filed with the court.​

Subd. 5. Defective filing or service. The court must dismiss and expunge the record of any action if​
the person bringing the action fails to comply with this section.​

Subd. 6. Nonpublic record. An eviction action is not accessible to the public until the court enters a​
final judgment, except that parties to the case and licensed attorneys assisting a party in the case, regardless​
of whether or not they are the attorney of record, shall have access to the eviction action file.​

History: 1999 c 199 art 1 s 44; 2007 c 13 art 3 s 30; 2023 c 52 art 19 s 105,119​
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