
340A.409 LIABILITY INSURANCE.​

Subdivision 1. Insurance required. (a) No retail license may be issued, maintained or renewed unless​
the applicant demonstrates proof of financial responsibility with regard to liability imposed by section​
340A.801. The issuing authority must submit to the commissioner the applicant's proof of financial​
responsibility. This subdivision does not prohibit a local unit of government from requiring higher insurance​
or bond coverages, or a larger deposit of cash or securities. The minimum requirement for proof of financial​
responsibility may be given by filing:​

(1) a certificate that there is in effect for the license period an insurance policy issued by an insurer​
required to be licensed under section 60A.07, subdivision 4, or by an insurer recognized as an eligible surplus​
lines carrier pursuant to section 60A.206 or pool providing at least $50,000 of coverage because of bodily​
injury to any one person in any one occurrence, $100,000 because of bodily injury to two or more persons​
in any one occurrence, $10,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one occurrence,​
$50,000 for loss of means of support of any one person in any one occurrence, $100,000 for loss of means​
of support of two or more persons in any one occurrence, $50,000 for other pecuniary loss of any one person​
in any one occurrence, and $100,000 for other pecuniary loss of two or more persons in any one occurrence;​

(2) a bond of a surety company with minimum coverages as provided in clause (1); or​

(3) a certificate of the commissioner of management and budget that the licensee has deposited with the​
commissioner of management and budget $100,000 in cash or securities which may legally be purchased​
by savings banks or for trust funds having a market value of $100,000.​

(b) This subdivision does not prohibit an insurer from providing the coverage required by this subdivision​
in combination with other insurance coverage.​

(c) An annual aggregate policy limit for dram shop insurance of not less than $310,000 per policy year​
may be included in the policy provisions.​

(d) A liability insurance policy required by this section must provide that it may not be canceled for:​

(1) any cause, except for nonpayment of premium, by either the insured or the insurer unless the canceling​
party has first given 60 days' notice in writing to the insured of intent to cancel the policy; and​

(2) nonpayment of premium unless the canceling party has first given ten days' notice in writing to the​
insured of intent to cancel the policy.​

(e) In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer will send notice to the issuing authority at the same​
time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.​

(f) All insurance policies which provide coverage with regard to any liability imposed by section​
340A.801 must contain at least the minimum coverage required by this section.​

Subd. 2. Market assistance. The market assistance plan of the Minnesota Joint Underwriting Association​
shall assist licensees in obtaining insurance coverage.​

Subd. 3. Minnesota Joint Underwriting Association. (a) The Minnesota Joint Underwriting Association​
shall provide coverage required by subdivision 1 to persons rejected under this subdivision.​

(b) A liquor vendor shall be denied or terminated from coverage through the Minnesota Joint Underwriting​
Association if the liquor vendor disregards safety standards, laws, rules, or ordinances pertaining to the​
offer, sale, or other distribution of liquor.​
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Subd. 3a. Notification by insurer of status of claim. Upon the request of the insured, an insurer who​
is providing coverage required by subdivision 1 shall inform the insured of the status of any claims made​
under the policy. The information must include:​

(1) the employees of the insured that may be involved and the nature of their involvement;​

(2) any amount the insurer is holding in reserve for payment of a claim or has paid in the disposition of​
the claim; and​

(3) any amount paid in the defense of the claim.​

This subdivision does not require disclosure of otherwise nondiscoverable information to an adverse​
party in litigation.​

Subd. 4. Insurance not required. Subdivision 1 does not apply to licensees who by affidavit establish​
that:​

(1) they are on-sale 3.2 percent malt liquor licensees with sales of less than $25,000 of 3.2 percent malt​
liquor for the preceding year;​

(2) they are off-sale 3.2 percent malt liquor licensees with sales of less than $50,000 of 3.2 percent malt​
liquor for the preceding year;​

(3) they are holders of on-sale wine licenses with sales of less than $25,000 for wine for the preceding​
year;​

(4) they are holders of temporary wine licenses issued under law; or​

(5) they are wholesalers who donate wine to an organization for a wine tasting conducted under section​
340A.418 or 340A.419.​

History: 1985 c 200 s 2; 1985 c 305 art 6 s 9; 1985 c 309 s 7-9; 1Sp1985 c 16 art 2 s 3 subd 1; 1Sp1986​
c 3 art 1 s 38; 1987 c 107 s 1; 1987 c 152 art 1 s 1; 1988 c 534 s 1; 1991 c 249 s 31; 1994 c 485 s 61,62;​
1997 c 129 art 1 s 5,6; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art 2 s 109; 2010 c 255 s 4,5; 2010 c 384 s 96;​
2017 c 40 art 1 s 110​
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