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332.29 [Repealed, 2007 c 57 art 3 s 64]​

ACCELERATED MORTGAGE PAYMENT PROVIDERS​

332.30 ACCELERATED MORTGAGE PAYMENT PROVIDER; BOND REQUIREMENTS.​

(a) Before beginning business in this state, an accelerated mortgage payment provider, as defined in​
section 332A.02, subdivision 8, clause (9), shall submit to the commissioner of commerce an authorization​
fee of $250 and either:​

(1) a surety bond in which the accelerated mortgage payment provider is the obligor, in an amount​
determined by the commissioner; or​

(2) if the commissioner agrees to accept it, a deposit:​

(i) in cash in an amount equivalent to the bond amount; or​
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(ii) of authorized securities, as defined in section 50.14, with an aggregate market value equal to the​
bond amount. The cash or securities must be deposited with the commissioner of management and budget.​

(b) The amount of the bond required by the commissioner shall vary with the amount of Minnesota​
client funds held or to be held by the obligor. For new businesses, the bond must be no less than $100,000,​
except as provided in section 332.301. The commissioner may increase the required bond amount upon 30​
days' notice to the accelerated mortgage payment provider.​

(c) If a bond is submitted, it must name as surety an insurance company authorized to transact fidelity​
and surety business in this state. The bond must run to the state of Minnesota for the use of the state and of​
any person who may have a claim against the obligor arising out of the obligor's activities as an accelerated​
mortgage payment provider. The bond must be conditioned that the obligor will not commit any fraudulent​
act and will faithfully conform to and abide by the provisions of accelerated mortgage payment agreements​
with Minnesota residents.​

(d) If an accelerated mortgage payment provider has failed to account to a mortgagor or distribute funds​
to the mortgagee as required by an accelerated mortgage payment agreement, the mortgagor or the mortgagor's​
legal representative or receiver or the commissioner shall have, in addition to any other legal remedies, a​
right of action in the name of the debtor on the bond or the security given pursuant to this section.​

(e) Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply to this section.​

History: 1994 c 638 s 2; 1999 c 151 s 46; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2008 c 277 art 1 s 72; 2009 c 101 art​
2 s 109; 2020 c 80 art 1 s 23​

332.301 BOND; BACKGROUND CHECK.​

The commissioner may accept an initial surety bond or deposit in an amount less than $100,000 based​
upon the business plan of the accelerated mortgage payment provider, provided the commissioner obtains​
a third-party background check at the expense of the accelerated mortgage payment provider and from a​
source to be determined by the commissioner. The commissioner may require a third-party background​
check in connection with any accelerated mortgage payment provider at the expense of the accelerated​
mortgage payment provider, but no more often than annually.​

History: 1994 c 638 s 3​

332.302 CONTRACTS; NOTICE TO MORTGAGOR.​

A contract entered into between an accelerated mortgage payment provider and a mortgagor shall be in​
writing and include all applicable terms and conditions including, but not limited to, all fees, costs, and​
charges. A conforming copy must be provided to the mortgagor before any fees in connection with the​
accelerated mortgage payment services are received by the accelerated mortgage payment provider. A​
contract shall provide that the arrangement between the accelerated mortgage payment provider and lender​
or lenders requires:​

(1) that if the original terms of the mortgage, mortgage note, or escrow agreement are in default because​
of nonpayment by the accelerated mortgage payment provider, the lender or lenders mail or otherwise deliver​
to the mortgagor a written notice within 30 days of the default; and​

(2) that a written summary of payments received by the accelerated mortgage payment provider by date​
and amount, payments made to the lender or lenders on behalf of the mortgagor by date and amount, and​
unremitted balance held by the accelerated mortgage payment provider be provided to the mortgagor at least​
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annually or more frequently on a date or dates mutually agreed upon between the accelerated mortgage​
payment provider and mortgagor.​

History: 1994 c 638 s 4​

332.303 SEGREGATED ACCOUNTS.​

A payment received by an accelerated mortgage payment provider from or on behalf of a client shall​
be held by the accelerated mortgage payment provider in a separate trust account clearly designated for​
client funds. The account shall be in a bank or other depository institution authorized or chartered under the​
laws of any state or of the United States. The accelerated mortgage payment provider shall not commingle​
funds held for payment to lenders with its own property or funds.​

History: 1994 c 638 s 5​

COLLECTION AGENCIES​

332.31 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Terms. The terms in this section for the purposes of sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall have​
the meanings given them.​

Subd. 2. Person. "Person" means and includes individuals, partnerships, associations or corporations.​

Subd. 3. Collection agency. "Collection agency" or "licensee" means (1) a person engaged in the business​
of collection for others any account, bill, or other indebtedness, except as hereinafter provided; or (2) a debt​
buyer. It includes persons who furnish collection systems carrying a name which simulates the name of a​
collection agency and who supply forms or form letters to be used by the creditor, even though such forms​
direct the debtor to make payments directly to the creditor rather than to such fictitious agency.​

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]​

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]​

Subd. 6. Collector. "Collector" is a person acting under the authority of a collection agency under​
subdivision 3 or a debt buyer under subdivision 8, and on its behalf in the business of collection for an​
account, bill, or other indebtedness except as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2010 c 384 s 104]​

Subd. 8. Debt buyer. "Debt buyer" means a business engaged in the purchase of any charged-off account,​
bill, or other indebtedness for collection purposes, whether the business collects the account, bill, or other​
indebtedness, hires a third party for collection, or hires an attorney for litigation related to the collection.​

Subd. 9. Affiliated company. "Affiliated company" means a company that: (1) directly or indirectly​
controls, is controlled by, or is under common control with another company or companies; (2) has the same​
executive management team or owner that exerts control over the business operations of the company; (3)​
maintains a uniform network of corporate and compliance policies and procedures; and (4) does not engage​
in active collection of debts.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 1; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1987 c 37 s 1; 2000 c 389 s 1; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 18;​
1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 1-4​
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332.311 TRANSFER OF ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS.​

The powers, duties, and responsibilities of the consumer services section under sections 332.31 to 332.44​
relating to collection agencies and debt buyers are hereby transferred to and imposed upon the commissioner​
of commerce.​

History: 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 1; 1979 c 144 s 4; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655​
art 1 s 92; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 19; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 5​

332.32 EXCLUSIONS.​

(a) The term "collection agency" does not include banks when collecting accounts owed to the banks​
and when the bank will sustain any loss arising from uncollectible accounts, abstract companies doing an​
escrow business, real estate brokers, public officers, persons acting under order of a court, lawyers, trust​
companies, insurance companies, credit unions, savings associations, loan or finance companies unless they​
are engaged in asserting, enforcing or prosecuting unsecured claims which have been purchased from any​
person, firm, or association when there is recourse to the seller for all or part of the claim if the claim is not​
collected.​

(b) The term "collection agency" shall not include a trade association performing services authorized​
by section 604.15, subdivision 4a, but the trade association in performing the services may not engage in​
any conduct that would be prohibited for a collection agency under section 332.37.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 2; 1995 c 202 art 1 s 25; 2012 c 173 s 2; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 6​

332.33 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.​

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person shall conduct​
business in Minnesota as a collection agency or debt buyer, as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.44, without​
having first applied for and obtained a collection agency license. A person acting under the authority of a​
collection agency, debt buyer, or as a collector must first register with the commissioner under this section.​
A registered collector may use one additional assumed name only if the assumed name is registered with​
and approved by the commissioner. A business that operates as a debt buyer must submit a completed license​
application no later than January 1, 2022. A debt buyer who has filed an application with the commissioner​
for a collection agency license prior to January 1, 2022, and whose application remains pending with the​
commissioner thereafter, may continue to operate without a license until the commissioner approves or​
denies the application.​

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person who carries on business as a collection agency or debt buyer without first​
having obtained a license or acts as a collector without first having registered with the commissioner pursuant​
to sections 332.31 to 332.44, or who carries on this business after the revocation, suspension, or expiration​
of a license or registration is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

Subd. 3. Term. Licenses issued or renewed and registrations received by the commissioner of commerce​
under sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall expire on June 30. Each collection agency license shall plainly state​
the name and business address of the licensee, and shall be posted in a conspicuous place in the office where​
the business is transacted. The fee for each collection agency license is $500, and renewal is $400. The fee​
for each collector registration and renewal is $10, which entitles the individual collector to work at a licensee's​
business location or in another location as provided under subdivision 5b. An additional branch license is​
not required for a location used under subdivision 5b. A collection agency licensee who desires to carry on​
business in more than one place shall procure a license for each place where the business is to be conducted.​
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Subd. 4. Investigations. The commissioner may require financial statements and references of all​
applicants for a license or registration as the commissioner considers necessary. The commissioner may​
make or cause to be made an independent investigation concerning the applicant's reputation, integrity,​
competence, and net worth, at the expense of the applicant for the initial investigation, not to exceed $500,​
and for that purpose may require a deposit against the cost of the investigation as the commissioner considers​
adequate. The investigation may cover all managerial personnel employed by or associated with the applicant.​

Subd. 5. License rejection. On finding that an applicant for a license is not qualified under sections​
332.31 to 332.44, the commissioner shall reject the application and shall give the applicant written notice​
of the rejection and the reasons for the rejection.​

Subd. 5a. Individual collector registration. A licensee, on behalf of an individual collector, must​
register with the state all individuals in the licensee's employ who are performing the duties of a collector​
as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.44. The licensee must apply for an individual collection registration in​
a form prescribed by the commissioner. The licensee shall verify on the form that the applicant has confirmed​
that the applicant meets the requirements to perform the duties of a collector as defined in sections 332.31​
to 332.44. Upon submission of the application to the department, the individual may begin to perform the​
duties of a collector and may continue to do so unless the licensee is informed by the commissioner that the​
individual is ineligible.​

Subd. 5b. Work from home. An employee of a licensed collection agency may work from a location​
other than the licensee's business location if the licensee and employee comply with all requirements under​
this section that would apply if the employee were working at the business location.​

Subd. 6. Deposit of fees. All money received by the commissioner under this section shall be deposited​
in the general fund of the state treasury.​

Subd. 7. Changes; notice to commissioner. (a) A licensee must give the commissioner written notice​
of a change in company name, address, or ownership not later than ten days after the change occurs. A​
registered individual collector must give written notice of a change of address, name, or assumed name no​
later than ten days after the change occurs.​

(b) Upon the death of any licensee, the license of the decedent may be transferred to the executor or​
administrator of the estate for the unexpired term of the license. The executor or administrator may be​
authorized to continue or discontinue the collection business of the decedent under the direction of the court​
having jurisdiction of the probate.​

Subd. 8. Screening process requirement. (a) Each licensee must establish procedures to follow when​
screening an individual collector applicant prior to submitting an applicant to the commissioner for initial​
registration and at renewal.​

(b) The screening process for initial registration must be done at the time of hiring. The process must​
include a national criminal history record search, an attorney licensing search, and a county criminal history​
search for all counties where the applicant has resided within the five years immediately preceding the initial​
registration, to determine whether the applicant is eligible to be registered under section 332.35. Each licensee​
shall use a vendor that is a member of the National Association of Professional Background Screeners, or​
an equivalent vendor, to conduct this background screening process.​

(c) Screening for renewal of individual collector registration must include a national criminal history​
record search and a county criminal history search for all counties where the individual has resided during​
the immediate preceding year. Screening for renewal of individual collector registrations must take place​
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no more than 60 days before the license expiration or renewal date. A renewal screening is not required if​
an individual collector has been subjected to an initial background screening within 12 months of the first​
registration renewal date. A renewal screening is required for all subsequent annual registration renewals.​

(d) The commissioner may review the procedures to ensure the integrity of the screening process. Failure​
by a licensee to establish these procedures is subject to action under section 332.40.​

Subd. 9. Affiliated companies. The commissioner must permit affiliated companies to operate under a​
single license and be subject to a single examination, provided that all of the affiliated company names are​
listed on the license.​

History: 1969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 766 s 3; 1971 c 23 s 22; 1971 c 576 s 1; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979​
c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 248 s 70; 1986 c 444;​
1987 c 37 s 2; 1987 c 358 s 118,119; 1997 c 222 s 50,51; 2004 c 208 s 1; 2012 c 225 s 1,2; 2014 c 222 art​
1 s 55-57; art 2 s 20-24; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 7-13; 2022 c 70 s 1,2​

332.335 [Repealed, 2010 c 384 s 104]​

332.3351 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE.​

A collection agency shall be exempt from the licensing and registration requirements of this chapter if​
all of the following conditions are met:​

(1) the agency is located in another state that regulates and licenses collection agencies, but does not​
require a Minnesota collection agency to obtain a license to collect debts in the agency's state if the agency's​
collection activities are limited in the same manner;​

(2) the agency's collection activities are limited to collecting debts not incurred in this state from​
consumers located in this state; and​

(3) the agency's collection activities in Minnesota are conducted by means of interstate communications,​
including telephone, mail, electronic mail, or facsimile transmission.​

History: 2010 c 384 s 93​

332.34 BOND.​

The commissioner of commerce shall require each licensee to file and maintain in force a corporate​
surety bond, in a form to be prescribed by, and acceptable to, the commissioner, and in a sum of at least​
$50,000 plus an additional $5,000 for each $100,000 received by the collection agency from debtors located​
in Minnesota during the previous calendar year, less commissions earned by the collection agency on those​
collections for the previous calendar year. The total amount of the bond shall not exceed $100,000. A licensee​
may deposit cash in and with a depository acceptable to the commissioner in an amount and in the manner​
prescribed and approved by the commissioner in lieu of a bond.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 4; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1981 c 229 s 1; 1983​
c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 3; 1996 c 439 art 1 s 16; 1997 c 222 s​
52; 2010 c 384 s 94; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 14​

332.345 SEGREGATED ACCOUNTS.​

A payment collected by a collector or collection agency on behalf of a customer shall be held by the​
collector or collection agency in a separate trust account clearly designated for customer funds. The account​
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must be in a bank or other depository institution authorized or chartered under the laws of any state or of​
the United States. This section does not apply to a debt buyer, except to the extent the debt buyer engages​
in third-party debt collection for others.​

History: 2008 c 344 s 55; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 15​

332.35 PRIOR CONVICTION OR JUDGMENT AS DISQUALIFICATION.​

No registration shall be accepted for, and no license shall be issued to, any person, firm, corporation or​
association who or which, or any of the officers of which have, within the past five years:​

(1) been convicted in any court of fraud or any felony;​

(2) been convicted of any misdemeanor or gross misdemeanor involving identity theft or any financial​
crime;​

(3) been unable to certify that they have no civil judgments against them for failure to account to a client​
or customer for money or property collected by them for the client or customer. A civil judgment does not​
disqualify an applicant for registration under this section, or under section 45.027, subdivision 7, clause (4),​
unless the civil judgment is for failure to account to a client or customer for money or property; or​

(4) had a license to practice law revoked or involuntarily suspended.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 5; 2004 c 208 s 3; 2012 c 225 s 3​

332.355 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY FOR COLLECTORS.​

The commissioner may take action against a licensee for any violations of debt collection laws by its​
debt collectors. The commissioner may also take action against the debt collectors themselves for these same​
violations.​

History: 2000 c 483 s 51; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 16​

332.36 [Repealed, 1975 c 61 s 26]​

332.365 CREDIT COUNSELING ORGANIZATIONS; DEBTORS.​

Subdivision 1. Duties of commissioner. (a) The commissioner shall develop and maintain a document​
that includes the contact information for nonprofit organizations domiciled in Minnesota that provide credit​
counseling services to debtors. Credit counseling services include but are not limited to (1) helping debtors​
understand their rights and responsibilities, and (2) working with debtors, creditors, and collection agencies​
to satisfy debts. Contact information for organizations that provide credit counseling services in languages​
other than English to individuals whose primary language is other than English must be included. The​
document shall include the following statement in English, Spanish, Somali, Hmong, Vietnamese, and​
Chinese:​

"There are resources available to help manage your debt. The following Minnesota organizations offer​
debt and credit counseling services. The Department of Commerce does not control or guarantee any of the​
services provided by these organizations. The provision of this list is not a referral to, or endorsement or​
recommendation of, any organization or the organization's services."​

(b) The document shall be no more than one 8-1/2 by 11-inch sheet of paper. The commissioner shall​
maintain the document and make it publicly available on the department's website in a printable format. The​
commissioner may update the document no more than once per year and must notify all licensed collection​
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agencies after an update occurs. A collection agency has 120 days from receiving notice from the​
commissioner of an update to apply the changes to the document.​

Subd. 2. Duties of collection agency. A collection agency must include the document described in​
subdivision 1, with the initial written communication sent to a debtor, if the initial communication is performed​
via United States mail, email, or text message.​

History: 2022 c 70 s 3​

NOTE: The document the commissioner is required to develop and maintain under subdivision 1,​
paragraph (a), must be completed on or before July 1, 2023. The document may be updated for the first time​
by the commissioner no earlier than September 1, 2024. A collection agency must meet the requirements​
of subdivision 2 on or after September 1, 2023. Laws 2022, chapter 70, section 3, the effective date.​

332.37 PROHIBITED PRACTICES.​

(a) No collection agency, debt buyer, or collector shall:​

(1) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written threaten wage​
garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless it has actually retained the lawyer;​

(2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in connection with the​
collection of a claim, except when performing their legally authorized duties;​

(3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;​

(4) furnish legal advice or otherwise engage in the practice of law or represent that it is competent to​
do so;​

(5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by using the stationery of a lawyer,​
forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare, or instruments which simulate the form​
and appearance of judicial process;​

(6) exercise authority on behalf of a client to employ the services of lawyers unless the client has​
specifically authorized the agency in writing to do so and the agency's course of conduct is at all times​
consistent with a true relationship of attorney and client between the lawyer and the client;​

(7) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors except for credit reporting purposes, use shame​
cards or shame automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale any claim as a means of forcing​
payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of intimidation;​

(8) refuse to return any claim or claims and all valuable papers deposited with a claim or claims upon​
written request of the client, claimant or forwarder after tender of the amounts due and owing to a collection​
agency within 30 days after the request; refuse or intentionally fail to account to its clients for all money​
collected within 30 days from the last day of the month in which the same is collected; or, refuse or fail to​
furnish at intervals of not less than 90 days upon written request of the claimant or forwarder, a written​
report upon claims received from the claimant or forwarder;​

(9) operate under a name or in a manner which implies that the collection agency or debt buyer is a​
branch of or associated with any department of federal, state, county or local government or an agency​
thereof;​
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(10) commingle money collected for a customer with the collection agency's operating funds or use any​
part of a customer's money in the conduct of the collection agency's business;​

(11) transact business or hold itself out as a debt settlement company, debt management company, debt​
adjuster, or any person who settles, adjusts, prorates, pools, liquidates or pays the indebtedness of a debtor,​
unless there is no charge to the debtor, or the pooling or liquidation is done pursuant to court order or under​
the supervision of a creditor's committee;​

(12) violate any of the provisions of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act of 1977, Public Law 95-109,​
while attempting to collect on any account, bill or other indebtedness;​

(13) communicate with a debtor by use of a recorded message utilizing an automatic dialing announcing​
device after the debtor expressly informs the agency or collector to cease communication utilizing an​
automatic dialing announcing device;​

(14) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written, imply or suggest that​
health care services will be withheld in an emergency situation;​

(15) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third party to request​
that the debtor contact the licensee or collector, except a person who resides with the debtor or a third party​
with whom the debtor has authorized the licensee or collector to place the request. This clause does not​
apply to a call back message left at the debtor's place of employment which is limited to the licensee's or​
collector's telephone number and name;​

(16) when attempting to collect a debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full name of the collection​
agency or debt buyer as it appears on its license or as listed on any "doing business as" or "d/b/a" registered​
with the Department of Commerce;​

(17) collect any money from a debtor that is not reported to a client;​

(18) fail to return any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state of Minnesota​
pursuant to the requirements of chapter 345;​

(19) accept currency or coin as payment for a debt without issuing an original receipt to the debtor and​
maintaining a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;​

(20) attempt to collect any amount, including any interest, fee, charge, or expense incidental to the​
charge-off obligation, from a debtor unless the amount is expressly authorized by the agreement creating​
the debt or is otherwise permitted by law;​

(21) charge a fee to a client that is not authorized by agreement with the client;​

(22) falsify any collection agency documents with the intent to deceive a debtor, creditor, or governmental​
agency;​

(23) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail, fail to include a disclosure on the contact​
notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger than the largest other type of type size or font used​
in the text of the notice. The disclosure must state: "This collection agency is licensed by the Minnesota​
Department of Commerce" or "This debt buyer is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Commerce" as​
applicable; or​

(24) commence legal action to collect a debt outside the limitations period set forth in section 541.053.​
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(b) Paragraph (a), clauses (6), (8), (10), (17), and (21), do not apply to debt buyers except to the extent​
the debt buyer engages in third-party debt collection for others.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 7; 1981 c 229 s 2; 1987 c 37 s 4; 1988 c 592 s 12; 1993 c 295 s 1; 1999 c 137 s​
10; 2004 c 208 s 4; 2005 c 10 art 2 s 4; 2010 c 382 s 66; 2019 c 59 s 7; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 17​

332.38 APPLICATION IN CASE OF PRETENDED PURCHASE, ASSIGNMENT OR USE OF A​
FICTITIOUS NAME.​

The provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.44 shall apply to any person who, by any device, subterfuge​
or pretense, makes a pretended purchase or takes a pretended assignment of accounts from another for the​
purpose of evading provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.44, or, uses a fictitious name or any name other​
than the person's own name which would indicate to the debtor that a third person is collecting or attempting​
to collect such account or claim.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 8; 1986 c 444; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 25​

332.385 NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.​

The collection agency or debt buyer licensee shall notify the commissioner of any employee termination​
within ten days of the termination if the termination is based in whole or in part on a violation of this chapter.​

History: 1993 c 295 s 2; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 18​

332.39 INJUNCTIONS.​

The attorney general or the county attorney of any county may apply for an injunction in district court​
to enjoin any violations of sections 332.31 to 332.44, or any practices prohibited in section 332.37, and any​
such court may issue temporary or permanent injunctions as the circumstances shall require. Such injunctive​
proceedings shall be in addition to and not in lieu of penalties and remedies otherwise provided in sections​
332.31 to 332.44.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 9; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 26​

332.395 COMMISSIONER'S POWER OVER INEFFECTIVE LICENSES AND REGISTRATIONS.​

If a license or registration lapses, is surrendered, withdrawn, terminated, or otherwise becomes ineffective,​
the commissioner of commerce may do either or both of the following: (1) institute a proceeding under​
section 45.027 within two years after the license or registration was last effective and enter a revocation or​
suspension order as of the last date on which the license or registration was in effect; (2) impose a civil​
penalty as provided for in section 45.027, subdivision 6.​

History: 1996 c 439 art 1 s 17; 2004 c 208 s 5​

332.40 INVESTIGATION, SUSPENSION, AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES OR​
REGISTRATIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Examination of licensee's or registered individual collector's records. The​
commissioner of commerce may make examinations of the collection records of a licensee or registered​
individual collector at a reasonable time and in a scope as is necessary to enforce the provisions of sections​
332.31 to 332.44, and for that purpose the commissioner shall have free access to the books and records of​
a licensee or registered individual collector relating thereto. If a licensee or registered individual collector​
violates any provision of sections 332.31 to 332.44, or any administrative rules issued pursuant to sections​
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332.31 to 332.44, fails to maintain its financial condition sufficient to qualify for licensure or registration​
on an original application, or, fails to maintain its registration or comply with all of the requirements of​
chapter 303, the commissioner may, after notice and hearing in accordance with the provisions of the laws​
of this state governing proceedings before administrative agencies, revoke a license or registration, or suspend​
a license or registration for a period as the commissioner deems proper.​

Subd. 2. Other examinations. The commissioner may investigate within or without this state as the​
commissioner deems necessary to determine whether any person has violated any provision of the Fair Debt​
Collection Practices Act of 1977, Public Law 95-109 or of sections 332.31 to 332.44, or any rule or order​
thereunder; to determine whether a license or registration should be issued, renewed, or revoked; to aid in​
the enforcement of sections 332.31 to 332.44; or in prescribing rules and forms thereunder. The commissioner​
may publish information concerning any violation of sections 332.31 to 332.44 or any rule or order thereunder.​

Subd. 3. Commissioner's powers. (a) For the purpose of any investigation or proceeding under sections​
332.31 to 332.44, the commissioner or any person designated by the commissioner may administer oaths​
and affirmations, subpoena collection agencies, debt buyers, or collectors and compel their attendance, take​
evidence and require the production of any books, papers, correspondence, memoranda, agreements or other​
documents or records which the commissioner deems relevant or material to the inquiry. The subpoena shall​
contain a written statement setting forth the circumstances which have reasonably caused the commissioner​
to believe that a violation of sections 332.31 to 332.44 may have occurred.​

(b) In the event that the collection agency, debt buyer, or collector refuses to obey the subpoena, or​
should the commissioner, upon completion of the examination of the collection agency, debt buyer, or​
collector, reasonably conclude that a violation has occurred, the commissioner may examine additional​
witnesses, including third parties, as may be necessary to complete the investigation.​

(c) Any subpoena issued pursuant to this section shall be served by certified mail or by personal service.​
Service shall be made at least 15 days prior to the date of appearance.​

Subd. 4. Court order to compel disclosures. In case of contumacy by or refusal to obey a subpoena​
by any person the district court upon application by the commissioner may issue to the person an order​
directing the person to appear before the commissioner or commissioner's designee to produce documentary​
evidence if so ordered or to give evidence touching the matter under investigation or in question. Failure to​
obey the order of the court may be punished by the court as a contempt of court.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 10; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1981 c 229 s 3; 1983​
c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 5; 2004 c 208 s 6; 2010 c 382 s 67; 2014​
c 222 art 2 s 27-29; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s 19​

332.41 APPEALS.​

Appeal from a denial, suspension, revocation, or censure of a license or registration must be made​
according to chapter 14.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 11; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114​
subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 2001 c 208 s 24; 2004 c 208 s 7​

332.42 REPORTS AND RECORDS.​

Subdivision 1. Verified financial statement. The commissioner of commerce may at any time require​
a licensee to submit a verified financial statement for examination by the commissioner to determine whether​
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the licensee is financially responsible to carry on a collection business within the intents and purposes of​
sections 332.31 to 332.44.​

Subd. 2. Record keeping. The commissioner shall require the collection agency or debt buyer licensee​
to keep such books and records in the licensee's place of business in this state as will enable the commissioner​
to determine whether there has been compliance with the provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.44, unless​
the agency is a foreign corporation duly authorized, admitted, and licensed to do business in this state and​
complies with all the requirements of chapter 303 and with all other requirements of sections 332.31 to​
332.44. Every collection agency licensee shall preserve the records of final entry used in such business for​
a period of five years after final remittance is made on any amount placed with the licensee for collection​
or after any account has been returned to the claimant on which one or more payments have been made.​
Every debt buyer licensee must preserve the records of final entry used in the business for a period of five​
years after final collection of any purchased account.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 12; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114​
subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 208 s 8; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 30,31; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 5 s​
20,21​

332.43 DELINQUENT COLLECTION AGENCIES.​

Subdivision 1. Appointment of receiver. If the commissioner shall determine that a collection agency​
licensee is insolvent or has collected accounts but has failed to remit money due to any claimant within 45​
days from the end of the month in which collection was made, or when the license of a collection agency​
has expired or terminated for any reason whatsoever, the commissioner, on determining such action necessary​
to protect the public interest, may apply to the district court for the county in which the main office of such​
agency is located for appointment of a receiver to receive the assets of the collection agency licensee for​
the purpose of liquidating or rehabilitating its business and or for such other relief as the nature of the case​
and the interest of the claimants may require. The reasonable and necessary expenses of the receivership​
shall constitute the first claim on the bond.​

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]​

History: 1969 c 766 s 13; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 5; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 208 s 9​

332.44 RULEMAKING POWER.​

The commissioner of commerce shall make and file in accordance with the provisions of chapter 14,​
all reasonable rules as shall be necessary for the administration of sections 332.31 to 332.44.​

History: 1969 c 766 s 14; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1982 c 424 s 130;​
1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 248 s 70; 2014 c 222 art 2 s 32​

332.45 [Repealed, 2014 c 222 art 1 s 58]​

332.50 MS 2001 Supp [Renumbered 604.113]​

332.505 MS 2001 Supp [Renumbered 604.15]​

332.51 MS 2000 [Renumbered 604.14]​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

332.51​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​13​



CREDIT SERVICES ORGANIZATIONS​

332.52 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions in this section apply to sections 332.52 to 332.60.​

Subd. 2. Buyer. "Buyer" means any individual who is solicited to purchase or who purchases the services​
of a credit services organization.​

Subd. 3. Credit services organization. (a) "Credit services organization" means any person that, with​
respect to the extension of credit by others, sells, provides, performs, or represents that the person will sell,​
provide, or perform, in return for the payment of money or other valuable consideration, any of the following​
services:​

(1) improve a buyer's credit record, history, or rating;​

(2) obtain an extension of credit for a buyer; or​

(3) provide advice or assistance to a buyer with regard to either clause (1) or (2).​

(b) "Credit services organization" does not include:​

(1) any person authorized to make loans or extensions of credit under the laws of this state or the United​
States, if the person is subject to regulation and supervision by this state or the United States or a lender​
approved by the United States Secretary of Housing and Urban Development for participation in any mortgage​
insurance program under the National Housing Act, United States Code, title 12, section 1701 et seq.;​

(2) any bank, savings bank, or savings and loan institution whose deposits or accounts are eligible for​
insurance by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or a subsidiary of the bank, savings bank, or savings​
and loan institution;​

(3) any credit union, federal credit union, or out-of-state credit union doing business in this state;​

(4) any nonprofit organization exempt from taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue​
Code of 1986, as amended through December 31, 1990;​

(5) any person licensed as a prorating agency under the laws of this state if the person is acting within​
the course and scope of that license;​

(6) any person licensed as a real estate broker by this state if the person is acting within the course and​
scope of that license;​

(7) any person licensed as a collection agency under the laws of this state if the person is acting within​
the course and scope of that license;​

(8) any person licensed to practice law in this state if the person renders services within the course and​
scope of practice as an attorney;​

(9) any broker-dealer registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission or the Commodity Futures​
Trading Commission if the broker-dealer is acting within the course and scope of that regulation; or​

(10) any consumer reporting agency as defined in the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, United States​
Code, title 15, sections 1681 to 1681t, as amended through December 31, 1990.​
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Subd. 4. Extension of credit. "Extension of credit" means the right, offered or granted primarily for​
personal, family, or household purposes, to defer payment of debt or to incur debt and defer its payment.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 1; 2010 c 382 s 68​

332.53 WAIVER OF RIGHTS.​

Any waiver by a buyer of sections 332.52 to 332.60 is void. Any attempt by a credit services organization​
to have a buyer waive rights provided under sections 332.52 to 332.60 is a violation of sections 332.52 to​
332.60. In any proceeding involving sections 332.52 to 332.60, the burden of proving an exemption or an​
exception from a definition is upon the person claiming it.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 2​

332.54 REGISTRATION.​

Subdivision 1. Filing. It is unlawful for any credit services organization to offer, advertise, or execute​
or cause to be executed by a consumer any contract in this state unless the credit services organization at​
the time of the offer, advertisement, sale, or execution of a contract has been properly registered with the​
commissioner.​

Subd. 2. Disclosure. The registration must contain the following information:​

(1) the name and address of the credit services organization;​

(2) the name and address of the registered agent authorized to accept service of process on behalf of the​
credit services organization;​

(3) the name and address of any person who directly or indirectly owns or controls a ten percent or​
greater interest in the credit services organization;​

(4) the name and address of the surety company that issued the bond required under section 332.55; and​

(5) full disclosure of any litigation or unresolved complaint filed within the preceding five years with​
the state, any other state, or the United States relating to the operation of the credit services organization,​
or a notarized statement that there has been no litigation or unresolved complaint filed within the preceding​
five years with the state, any other state, or the United States relating to the operation of the credit services​
organization.​

Subd. 3. Additional information. The credit services organization must attach to the registration​
statement a copy of the contract which the credit services organization intends to execute with its consumers​
and evidence of the required bond.​

Subd. 4. Update of information. The credit services organization must update the registration statement​
required under this section not later than 30 days after the date from which a change in the information​
required in the statement occurs.​

Subd. 5. Buyer inspection. Each credit services organization registering under this section must maintain​
a copy of the registration statement in its files. The credit services organization must allow a buyer to inspect​
the registration statement on request.​

Subd. 6. Term. Registration issued or renewed by the commissioner of commerce under sections 332.52​
to 332.60 expires on June 30 of each year.​
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Subd. 7. Fees. The fee for a credit services organization's registration is $1,000 for issuance or renewal​
for each location of business.​

Subd. 8. Records and fees; maintenance and processing. Section 58A.04, subdivisions 2 and 3, apply​
to this section.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 3; 1993 c 295 s 3-5; 2007 c 44 s 8; 2007 c 57 art 3 s 44; 2020 c 80 art 1 s 24,25​

332.55 BOND.​

A credit services organization must submit to the commissioner at the time of registration, an annual​
surety bond of $10,000, expiring on June 30 of each year, by an insurance company which is authorized by​
the state of Minnesota to transact the business of fidelity and surety insurance. The credit services organization​
must be the obligor. The bond must benefit the state of Minnesota and any person who may have a cause​
of action against the obligor arising out of the obligor's activities as a credit services organization. The​
commissioner may accept a deposit in cash, or securities that may be legally purchased by savings banks or​
for trust funds of an aggregate market value equal to the bond requirement, in lieu of the surety bond. The​
cash or securities must be deposited with the commissioner of management and budget.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 4; 1992 c 564 art 4 s 16; 1993 c 295 s 6; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2009 c 101 art​
2 s 109​

332.56 PROHIBITED ACTS.​

Subdivision 1. Requirements; prohibitions. A credit services organization, its salespersons, agents,​
and representatives, and independent contractors who sell or attempt to sell the services of a credit services​
organization may not do any of the following:​

(1) charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration prior to full and complete performance​
of the services the credit services organization has agreed to perform for the buyer;​

(2) charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration solely for referral of the buyer to a​
retail seller who will or may extend credit to the buyer if the credit that is or will be extended to the buyer​
is upon substantially the same terms as those available to the general public;​

(3) make, counsel, or advise any buyer to make, any statement with respect to a buyer's credit worthiness,​
credit standing, or credit capacity that is untrue or misleading or that should be known by the exercise of​
reasonable care to be untrue or misleading to a credit reporting agency or to any person who has extended​
credit to a buyer or to whom a buyer is applying for an extension of credit; or​

(4) make or use any untrue or misleading representations in the offer or sale of the services of a credit​
services organization or engage, directly or indirectly, in any act, practice, or course of business that operates​
or would operate as fraud or deception upon any person in connection with the offer or sale of the services​
of a credit services organization.​

Subd. 2. Salespersons; agents. If a credit services organization is in compliance with subdivision 1,​
clause (1), the salesperson, agent, or representative who sells the services of that organization is not required​
to obtain a surety bond.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 5​
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332.57 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT.​

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Before the execution of a contract or agreement between the buyer and​
a credit services organization or before the receipt by the credit services organization of any money or other​
valuable consideration, whichever occurs first, the credit services organization shall provide the buyer with​
a statement in writing containing all of the information required by subdivision 2. The credit services​
organization shall maintain on file for a period of two years an exact copy of the statement, personally signed​
by the buyer, acknowledging receipt of a copy of the statement.​

Subd. 2. Contents. The disclosure statement required under subdivision 1 must be printed in boldface​
and in at least 10-point type and must include the following statement:​

"CONSUMER CREDIT FILE RIGHTS UNDER MINNESOTA AND FEDERAL LAW​

You have a right to dispute inaccurate information in your credit report by contacting the credit bureau​
directly. However, neither you nor any credit repair company or credit repair organization has the right to​
have accurate, current, and verifiable information removed from your credit report. The credit bureau must​
remove accurate, negative information from your report only if it is over seven years old. Bankruptcy​
information can be reported for ten years.​

You have a right to obtain a copy of your credit report from a credit bureau. You may be charged a​
reasonable fee. There is no fee, however, if you have been turned down for credit, employment, insurance,​
or a rental dwelling because of information in your credit report within the preceding 60 days. The credit​
bureau must provide assistance to help you interpret the information in your credit file. You are entitled to​
receive a free copy of your credit report if you are unemployed and intend to apply for employment in the​
next 60 days, if you are a recipient of public welfare assistance, or if you have reason to believe that there​
is inaccurate information in your credit report due to fraud.​

You have a right to sue a credit repair ORGANIZATION that violates the Credit Repair Organization​
Act. This law prohibits deceptive practices by credit repair organizations.​

You have the right to cancel your contract with any credit repair organization for any reason within​
three business days of the date you signed it.​

Credit bureaus are required to follow reasonable procedures to ensure that the information they report​
is accurate. However, mistakes may occur.​

You may, on your own, notify a credit bureau in writing that you dispute the accuracy of information​
in your credit file. The credit bureau must then reinvestigate and modify or remove inaccurate or incomplete​
information. The credit bureau is prohibited from charging any fee for this service. Any pertinent information​
and copies of all documents you have concerning an error should be given to the credit bureau.​

If the credit bureau's reinvestigation does not resolve the dispute to your satisfaction, you may send a​
brief statement to the credit bureau, to be kept in your file, explaining why you think the record is inaccurate.​
The credit bureau must include a summary of your statement about disputed information with any report it​
issues about you."​

History: 1991 c 314 s 6; 2020 c 80 art 1 s 26​
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332.58 CONTRACT.​

Subdivision 1. Requirements. Each contract between the buyer and a credit services organization for​
the purchase of the services of the credit services organization must be in writing, dated, and signed by the​
buyer and must include the following:​

(1) a conspicuous statement in boldface type, in immediate proximity to the space reserved for the​
signature of the buyer, as follows: "If you, the buyer, have been denied credit within the last 30 days, you​
may obtain a free copy of the consumer credit report from the consumer reporting agency. You also have​
the right to dispute inaccurate information in a report. You may cancel this contract at any time prior to​
midnight of the fifth day after the date of the transaction. See the attached notice of cancellation form for​
an explanation of this right";​

(2) the terms and conditions of payment, including the total of all payments to be made by the buyer,​
whether to the credit services organization or to some other person;​

(3) a full and detailed description of the services to be performed by the credit services organization for​
the buyer, including all guarantees and all promises of full or partial refunds, and the estimated date by​
which the services are to be performed or the estimated length of time for performing the services;​

(4) the credit services organization's principal business address and the name and address of its agent​
in this state authorized to receive service of process; and​

(5) with respect to the previous calendar year or the time period the credit services organization has​
been in business, whichever is shorter, the percentage of the credit services organization's customers for​
whom the credit services organization has fully and completely performed the services the credit services​
organization agreed to perform for the buyer.​

Subd. 2. Notice of cancellation. The contract must be accompanied by a completed form in duplicate,​
captioned "Notice of Cancellation" that must be attached to the contract, is easily detachable, and contains​
in boldface type the following statement written in the same language as used in the contract:​

"Notice of Cancellation​

You may cancel this contract without any penalty or obligation within five days from the date the contract​
is signed.​

If you cancel this contract, any payment made by you under this contract will be returned within ten​
days following receipt by the seller of your cancellation notice.​

To cancel this contract, mail or deliver a signed dated copy of this cancellation notice, or any other​
written notice to ......(name of seller)...... at ......(address of seller)......, ......(place of business)...... not later​
than midnight ......(date)......​

I hereby cancel this transaction,​

......(date)......​

...(purchaser's signature)..."​
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Subd. 3. Buyer's copy. The credit services organization shall give to the buyer a copy of the completed​
contract and all other documents the credit services organization requires the buyer to sign at the time that​
they are signed.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 7​

332.59 VIOLATIONS.​

Any person who violates sections 332.52 to 332.58 is guilty of a misdemeanor. A violation of sections​
332.52 to 332.58 is a violation of section 325F.69, subdivision 1, and the provisions of section 8.31 apply.​
Sections 332.52 to 332.58 do not limit or restrict the right of any person to pursue any appropriate remedy​
for a violation of sections 332.52 to 332.58. The provisions of section 45.027 apply to the enforcement of​
sections 332.52 to 332.58.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 8; 1993 c 295 s 7​

332.60 DAMAGES.​

A buyer suffering damages as a result of a violation of sections 332.52 to 332.58 by a credit services​
organization may bring an action for recovery of damages. Judgment must be entered for actual damages,​
but in no case shall the amount be less than the amount paid by the buyer to the credit services organization,​
plus reasonable attorney fees and costs. An award may also be entered for punitive damages. The remedies​
provided under sections 332.52 to 332.60 are in addition to any other procedures or remedies for any violation​
or conduct otherwise provided by law.​

History: 1991 c 314 s 9​

BUSINESS SCREENING SERVICES​

332.70 BUSINESS SCREENING SERVICES; DATA PRACTICES.​

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section:​

(a) "Business screening service" means a person regularly engaged in the business of collecting,​
assembling, evaluating, or disseminating criminal records on individuals for a fee. Business screening service​
does not include a government entity, as defined in section 13.02, or the news media.​

(b) "Conviction" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 5.​

(c) "Criminal record" means a record of an arrest, citation, prosecution, criminal proceeding, or conviction.​

Subd. 2. Criminal records. A business screening service must only disseminate a criminal record that​
reflects the complete and accurate record provided by the source of the data. A complete and accurate record​
is a record that has:​

(1) been updated within 30 days of its receipt; or​

(2) been verified with the source of the data within the previous 90 days as being up-to-date.​

Subd. 3. Correction and deletion of records. (a) If the completeness or accuracy of a criminal record​
maintained by a business screening service is disputed by the individual who is the subject of the record,​
the screening service shall, without charge, investigate the disputed record. In conducting an investigation,​
the business screening service shall review and consider all relevant information submitted by the subject​
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of the record with respect to the disputed record to determine whether the record maintained by the screening​
service accurately reflects the content of the official record, as maintained by the official government​
custodian.​

(b) If, upon investigation, the screening service determines that the record does not accurately reflect​
the content of the official record, the screening service shall correct the disputed record so as to accurately​
reflect the content of the official record. If the disputed record is found to be sealed, expunged, or the subject​
of a pardon, the business screening service shall promptly delete the record. A business screening service​
that complies with this subdivision is not in violation of this section.​

(c) A business screening service may terminate an investigation of a disputed record if the business​
screening agency reasonably determines that the dispute is frivolous, which may be based on the failure of​
the subject of the record to provide sufficient information to investigate the disputed record. Upon making​
a determination that the dispute is frivolous, the business screening service shall inform the subject of the​
record of the specific reasons why it has determined that the dispute is frivolous and provide a description​
of any information required to investigate the disputed record.​

(d) The business screening service shall notify the subject of the disputed record of the correction or​
deletion of the record or of the termination or completion of the investigation related to the record within​
30 days of the date when the agency receives notice of the dispute from the subject of the record.​

Subd. 3a. Deletion of expunged records. If a business screening service knows that a criminal record​
has been sealed, expunged, or is the subject of a pardon, the screening service shall promptly delete the​
record.​

Subd. 4. Date and notice required. A business screening service that disseminates a criminal record​
that was collected on or after July 1, 2010, must include the date when the record was collected by the​
business screening service and a notice that the information may include criminal records that have been​
expunged, sealed, or otherwise have become inaccessible to the public since that date.​

Subd. 5. Remedies; relationship to FCRA. (a) A business screening service that violates this section​
is liable to the individual who is the subject of the record for a penalty of $1,000 or actual damages caused​
by the violation, whichever is greater, plus costs and disbursements and reasonable attorney fees.​

(b) A business screening service in compliance with the applicable provisions of the Fair Credit Reporting​
Act, United States Code, title 15, section 1681, et seq., is considered to be in compliance with this section.​
Those entities are subject to the state remedies under this subdivision when their actions would violate this​
section and federal law.​

Subd. 6. Service of process; jurisdiction. A business screening service that disseminates criminal record​
information in this state or that obtains a criminal record from a government entity, as defined in section​
13.02, or a court in this state is deemed to have consented to service of process in this state for purposes of​
section 5.25, subdivision 4, or other applicable law and to the jurisdiction of courts in this state for actions​
involving a violation of this section or for the recovery of remedies under this section.​

History: 2008 c 315 s 19; 2009 c 178 art 1 s 68; 2010 c 240 s 1-4; 2010 c 385 s 5; 2014 c 246 s 4​

332.71 DEFINITIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Scope. For the purposes of sections 332.71 to 332.75, the definitions in this section have​
the meanings given them.​
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Subd. 2. Coerced debt. (a) "Coerced debt" means all or a portion of debt in a debtor's name that has​
been incurred as a result of:​

(1) the use of the debtor's personal information without the debtor's knowledge, authorization, or consent;​

(2) the use or threat of force, intimidation, undue influence, harassment, fraud, deception, coercion, or​
other similar means against the debtor; or​

(3) economic abuse perpetrated against the debtor.​

(b) Coerced debt does not include secured debt.​

Subd. 3. Creditor. "Creditor" means a person, or the person's successor, assignee, or agent, claiming​
to own or have the right to collect a debt owed by the debtor.​

Subd. 4. Debtor. "Debtor" means a person who (1) is a victim of domestic abuse, harassment, or sex or​
labor trafficking, and (2) owes coerced debt.​

Subd. 5. Documentation. "Documentation" means a writing that identifies a debt or a portion of a debt​
as coerced debt, describes the circumstances under which the coerced debt was incurred, and takes the form​
of:​

(1) a police report;​

(2) a Federal Trade Commission identity theft report;​

(3) an order in a dissolution proceeding under chapter 518 that declares that one or more debts are​
coerced; or​

(4) a sworn written certification.​

Subd. 6. Domestic abuse. "Domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision 2.​

Subd. 7. Economic abuse. "Economic abuse" means behavior in the context of a domestic relationship​
that controls, restrains, restricts, impairs, or interferes with the ability of a victim of domestic abuse,​
harassment, or sex or labor trafficking to acquire, use, or maintain economic resources, including but not​
limited to:​

(1) withholding or restricting access to, or the acquisition of, money, assets, credit, or financial​
information;​

(2) interfering with the victim's ability to work and earn wages; or​

(3) exerting undue influence over a person's financial and economic behavior or decisions.​

Subd. 8. Harassment. "Harassment" has the meaning given in section 609.748.​

Subd. 9. Labor trafficking. "Labor trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.281, subdivision​
5.​

Subd. 10. Qualified third-party professional. "Qualified third-party professional" means:​

(1) a domestic abuse advocate, as defined under section 595.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (l);​

(2) a sexual assault counselor, as defined under section 595.02, subdivision 1, paragraph (k);​
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(3) a licensed health care provider, mental health care provider, social worker, or marriage and family​
therapist; or​

(4) a nonprofit organization in Minnesota that provides direct assistance to victims of domestic abuse,​
sexual assault, or sex or labor trafficking.​

Subd. 11. Sex trafficking. "Sex trafficking" has the meaning given in section 609.321, subdivision 7a.​

Subd. 12. Sworn written certification. "Sworn written certification" means a statement by a qualified​
third-party professional in the following form:​

"CERTIFICATION OF QUALIFIED THIRD-PARTY PROFESSIONAL​

I, .................... (name of qualified third-party professional), do hereby certify under penalty of perjury​
as follows:​

1. I am a licensed health care provider, mental health care provider, social worker, marriage and family​
therapist, domestic abuse advocate, as that term is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 595.02, subdivision​
1, paragraph (l), or sexual assault counselor, as that term is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 595.02,​
subdivision 1, paragraph (k), or a staff member of a nonprofit organization that provides direct assistance​
to victims of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or sex or labor trafficking, who has had in-person contact or​
face-to-face contact through an electronic medium with .................... (name of debtor).​

2. Based on my professional interactions with the debtor and information presented to me in my​
professional capacity, I have a reasonable basis to believe .................... (name of debtor) is a victim of​
domestic abuse, harassment, sex trafficking, or labor trafficking, and has incurred all or a portion of debt​
that is coerced debt, as that term is defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 332.71, subdivision 2.​

3. Based on my professional interactions with the debtor and on information presented to me, I have​
reason to believe that the circumstances under which the coerced debt was incurred are as follows:​

4. The following debts or portions of the debts have been identified to me as coerced:​

I attest that the foregoing is true and correct.​

(Printed name of qualified third party)​

(Signature of qualified third party)​

(Business address and business telephone)​

(Date)"​

History: 2023 c 57 art 3 s 69​

332.72 COERCED DEBT PROHIBITED.​

A person is prohibited from causing another person to incur coerced debt.​

History: 2023 c 57 art 3 s 70​

332.73 NOTICE TO CREDITOR OF COERCED DEBT.​

Subdivision 1. Notification. (a) Before taking an affirmative action under section 332.74, a debtor must,​
by certified mail, notify a creditor that the debt or a portion of a debt on which the creditor demands payment​
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is coerced debt and request that the creditor cease all collection activity on the coerced debt. The notification​
and request must be in writing and include documentation. The creditor, within 30 days of the date the​
notification and request is received, must notify the debtor in writing of the creditor's decision to either​
immediately cease all collection activity or continue to pursue collection.​

(b) If a creditor ceases collection but subsequently decides to resume collection activity, the creditor​
must notify the debtor ten days prior to the date the collection activity resumes.​

(c) A debtor must not proceed with an action under section 332.74 until the 30-day period provided​
under paragraph (a) has expired.​

Subd. 2. Sale or assignment of coerced debt. A creditor may sell or assign a debt for which the creditor​
has been notified is coerced debt to another party if the creditor selling or assigning the debt includes​
notification to the buyer or assignee that the debtor has asserted the debt is coerced debt.​

Subd. 3. No inference upon cessation of collection activity. The fact that a creditor ceases collection​
activity under this section or section 332.74 does not create an inference or presumption regarding the validity​
or invalidity of a debt for which a debtor is liable or not liable. The exercise or nonexercise of rights under​
this section is not a waiver of any other debtor or creditor rights or defenses.​

History: 2023 c 57 art 3 s 71​

332.74 DEBTOR REMEDIES.​

Subdivision 1. Right to petition for declaration and injunction. A debtor alleging violation of section​
332.72 may petition for equitable relief in the district court in the county where the debtor lives or where​
the coerced debt was incurred. The petition must include:​

(1) the notice to the creditor required under section 332.73, subdivision 1;​

(2) consistent with Rule 11 of the Minnesota Rules of General Practice, information identifying (i) the​
account or accounts associated with the coerced debt, and (ii) the person in whose name the debt was incurred;​
and​

(3) the identity and, if known, contact information of the person who caused the debtor to incur coerced​
debt, unless the debtor signs a sworn statement that disclosing the information is likely to result in domestic​
abuse or other harm to the debtor, the debtor's children, parents, other relatives, or a family pet.​

Subd. 2. Procedural safeguards. The court must take appropriate steps necessary to prevent abuse of​
the debtor or to the debtor, the debtor's children, parents, other relatives, or a family pet. For purposes of​
this subdivision, appropriate steps include but are not limited to sealing the file, marking the file as​
confidential, redacting personally identifiable information about the debtor, and directing that any deposition​
or evidentiary hearing be conducted remotely.​

Subd. 3. Relief. (a) If a debtor shows by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor has been​
aggrieved by a violation of section 332.72 and the debtor has incurred coerced debt, the debtor is entitled​
to one or more of the following:​

(1) a declaratory judgment that the debt or portion of a debt is coerced debt;​

(2) an injunction prohibiting the creditor from (i) holding or attempting to hold the debtor liable for the​
debt or portion of a debt, or (ii) enforcing a judgment related to the coerced debt; and​
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(3) an order dismissing any cause of action brought by the creditor to enforce or collect the coerced debt​
from the debtor or, if only a portion of the debt is established as coerced debt, an order directing that the​
judgment, if any, in the action be amended to reflect only the portion of the debt that is not coerced debt.​

(b) If the court orders relief for the debtor under paragraph (a), the court, after the creditor's motion has​
been served by United States mail to the last known address of the person who violated section 332.72, shall​
issue a judgment in favor of the creditor against the person in the amount of the debt or a portion thereof.​

(c) This subdivision applies regardless of the judicial district in which the creditor's action or the debtor's​
petition was filed.​

Subd. 4. Affirmative defense. In an action against a debtor to satisfy a debt, it is an affirmative defense​
that the debtor incurred coerced debt.​

Subd. 5. Burden. In any affirmative action taken under subdivision 1 or any affirmative defense asserted​
in subdivision 4, the debtor bears the burden to show by a preponderance of the evidence that the debtor​
incurred coerced debt. There is a presumption that the debtor has incurred coerced debt if the person alleged​
to have caused the debtor to incur the coerced debt has been criminally convicted, entered a guilty plea, or​
entered an Alford plea under section 609.27, 609.282, 609.322, or 609.527.​

Subd. 6. Statute of limitations tolled. (a) The statute of limitations under section 541.05 is tolled during​
the pendency of a proceeding instituted under this section.​

(b) A creditor is prohibited from filing a collection action regarding a debt that is the subject of a​
proceeding instituted under this section while the proceeding is pending.​

(c) If a debtor commences a proceeding under this section while a collection action is pending against​
the debtor regarding a debt that is subject to the proceeding, the court must immediately stay the collection​
action pending the disposition of the proceeding under this section.​

History: 2023 c 57 art 3 s 72​

332.75 CREDITOR REMEDIES.​

Nothing in sections 332.71 to 332.74 diminishes the rights of a creditor to seek payment recovery for a​
coerced debt from the person who caused the debtor to incur the coerced debt.​

History: 2023 c 57 art 3 s 73​
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