
326B.921 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.​

Subdivision 1. License required; rules; time credit. No individual shall engage in or work at the​
business of a master high pressure pipefitter unless issued a master high pressure pipefitter license to do so​
by the department under rules adopted by the board. No license shall be required for repairs on existing​
installations. No individual shall engage in or work at the business of journeyworker high pressure pipefitter​
unless issued a journeyworker high pressure pipefitter competency license to do so by the department under​
rules adopted by the board. An individual possessing a master high pressure pipefitter competency license​
may also work as a journeyworker high pressure pipefitter.​

No person shall construct or install high pressure piping, nor install high pressure piping in connection​
with the dealing in and selling of high pressure pipe material and supplies, unless, at all times, an individual​
possessing a master high pressure pipefitter competency license or a journeyworker high pressure pipefitter​
competency license is responsible for ensuring that the high pressure pipefitting work is in conformity with​
Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.​

The board shall prescribe rules, not inconsistent herewith, for the examination and competency licensing​
of master high pressure pipefitters and journeyworker high pressure pipefitters.​

An employee performing the duties of inspector for the department in regulating pipefitting shall not​
receive time credit for the inspection duties when making an application for a license required by this section.​

Subd. 2. High pressure pipefitting contractor license. Before obtaining a permit for high pressure​
piping work, a person must obtain or utilize a contractor with a high pressure piping contractor license.​

A person must have at all times as a full-time employee at least one individual holding a master high​
pressure pipefitter competency license. Only full-time employees who hold master high pressure pipefitter​
licenses are authorized to obtain high pressure piping permits in the name of the contractor. The master high​
pressure pipefitter competency license holder can be the employee of only one high pressure piping contractor​
at a time. An application for a high pressure piping contractor license shall include a verified statement that​
the applicant or licensee has complied with this subdivision.​

To retain its contractor license without reapplication, a person holding a high pressure piping contractor​
license that ceases to employ an individual holding a master high pressure pipefitter competency license​
shall have 60 days from the last day of employment of its previous master high pressure pipefitter competency​
license holder to employ another license holder. The department must be notified no later than five days​
after the last day of employment of the previous license holder.​

No high pressure pipefitting work may be performed during any period when the high pressure pipefitting​
contractor does not have a master high pressure pipefitter competency license holder on staff. If a license​
holder is not employed within 60 days after the last day of employment of the previous license holder, the​
pipefitting contractor license shall lapse.​

The board shall prescribe by rule procedures for application for and issuance of contractor licenses.​

Subd. 3. Registration requirement. All unlicensed individuals, other than pipefitter apprentices, must​
be registered under subdivision 4. No licensed high pressure piping contractor shall employ an unlicensed​
individual to assist in the practical construction and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances​
unless the unlicensed individual is registered with the department. A pipefitter apprentice or registered​
unlicensed individual employed by a high pressure piping contractor may assist in the practical construction​
and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances only while under direct supervision of a licensed​
master high pressure pipefitter or licensed journeyworker high pressure pipefitter employed by the same​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

326B.921​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​1​



high pressure piping contractor. The licensed master high pressure pipefitter or licensed journeyworker high​
pressure pipefitter shall supervise no more than two pipefitter apprentices or registered unlicensed individuals.​
The licensed master high pressure pipefitter or journeyworker high pressure pipefitter is responsible for​
ensuring that all high pressure piping work performed by the pipefitter apprentice or registered unlicensed​
individual complies with Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules.​

Subd. 4. Registration with commissioner. An unlicensed individual may register to assist in the practical​
construction and installation of high pressure piping and appurtenances while in the employ of a licensed​
high pressure piping contractor by completing and submitting to the commissioner a registration form​
provided by the commissioner, with all fees required by section 326B.092. The board may prescribe rules,​
not inconsistent with this section, for the registration of unlicensed individuals.​

Applications for initial registration may be submitted at any time. Registration must be renewed annually​
and shall be valid for one calendar year beginning January 1.​

Subd. 5. Bond. As a condition of licensing, each applicant for a high pressure piping contractor license​
shall give and maintain a bond to the state in the total sum of $15,000 conditioned upon the faithful and​
lawful performance of all work contracted for or performed within the state. The bond shall run to and be​
for the benefit of persons injured or suffering financial loss by reason of failure of payment or performance.​
Claims and actions on the bond may be brought according to sections 574.26 to 574.38.​

The term of the bond must be concurrent with the term of the high pressure pipefitting contractor license​
and run without interruption from the date of the issuance of the license to the end of the calendar year. All​
high pressure pipefitting contractor licenses must be annually renewed on a calendar year basis.​

The bond must be filed with the department and shall be in lieu of any other contractor license bonds​
required by any political subdivision for high pressure pipefitting. The bond must be written by a corporate​
surety licensed to do business in the state.​

Subd. 6. Insurance. In addition to the bond described in subdivision 5, each applicant for a high pressure​
pipefitting contractor license or renewal shall have in force public liability insurance, including products​
liability insurance, with limits of at least $100,000 per person and $300,000 per occurrence and property​
damage insurance with limits of at least $50,000.​

The insurance must be kept in force for the entire term of the high pressure pipefitting contractor license,​
and the license shall be suspended by the department if at any time the insurance is not in force.​

The insurance must be written by an insurer licensed to do business in the state and shall be in lieu of​
any other insurance required by any subdivision of government for high pressure pipefitting. Each person​
holding a high pressure pipefitting contractor license shall maintain on file with the department a certificate​
evidencing the insurance. In the event of a policy cancellation, the insurer shall send written notice to the​
commissioner at the same time that a cancellation request is received from or a notice is sent to the insured.​

Subd. 7. License, registration, and renewal fees. For purposes of calculating license, registration, and​
renewal fees required under section 326B.092:​

(1) the registration of an unlicensed individual under subdivision 4 is an entry level license;​

(2) a journeyworker high pressure pipefitter license is a journeyworker license;​

(3) a master high pressure pipefitter license is a master license; and​

(4) a high pressure piping contractor license is a business license.​
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Subd. 8. Reciprocity with other states. (a) The commissioner may enter into reciprocity agreements​
for personal licenses with another state if approved by the board. Once approved by the board, the​
commissioner may issue a personal license without requiring the applicant to pass an examination provided​
the applicant:​

(1) submits an application under this section;​

(2) pays the application and examination fee and license fee required under section 326B.092; and​

(3) holds a valid comparable license in the state participating in the agreement.​

(b) Reciprocity agreements are subject to the following:​

(1) the parties to the agreement must administer a statewide licensing program that includes examination​
and qualifying experience or training comparable to Minnesota's licensing program;​

(2) the experience and training requirements under which an individual applicant qualified for examination​
in the qualifying state must be deemed equal to or greater than required for an applicant making application​
in Minnesota at the time the applicant acquired the license in the qualifying state;​

(3) the applicant must have acquired the license in the qualifying state through an examination deemed​
equivalent to the same class of license examination in Minnesota;​

(4) at the time of application, the applicant must hold a valid license in the qualifying state and have​
held the license continuously for at least one year before making application in Minnesota;​

(5) an applicant is not eligible for a license under this subdivision if the applicant has failed the same​
or greater class of license examination in Minnesota, or if the applicant's license of the same or greater class​
has been revoked or suspended; and​

(6) an applicant who has failed to renew a personal license for two years or more after its expiration is​
not eligible for a license under this subdivision.​

History: (5887-30d) 1937 c 367 s 5; Ex1967 c 1 s 6; 1978 c 604 s 2; 1979 c 50 s 40; 1981 c 72 s 1;​
1984 c 481 s 4; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 132 s 3; 1995 c 123 s 1-5; 2004 c 251 s 13; 2007 c 135 art 4 s 4-6; 2007​
c 140 art 10 s 8,11; art 13 s 4; 2008 c 337 s 26-30; 2010 c 183 s 19; 2010 c 280 s 38; 2010 c 347 art 3 s​
49-51,76; 2010 c 384 s 91; 2010 c 385 s 6; 2015 c 54 art 1 s 22; 2017 c 68 art 1 s 16-22,26; 1Sp2017 c 7​
s 7,8; 2023 c 53 art 11 s 54​
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