299K.03 EMERGENCY RESPONSE COMMISSION.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Emergency Response Commission is established to comply with and administer the federal act.

Subd. 2. Agency members. The commission consists of the commissioners of the Department of Public Safety, the Pollution Control Agency, the Department of Health, and the Department of Agriculture.

Subd. 3. Appointed members. (a) The governor shall appoint 18 additional members to the commission.

(b) The 18 appointed members must include one representative each of fire chiefs, professional firefighters, volunteer firefighters, fire marshals, law enforcement personnel, emergency medical personnel, health professionals, wastewater treatment operators, labor, emergency managers, and local elected officials, three representatives of community groups or the public, and four representatives from business and industry, at least one of whom must represent small business.

(c) At least four of the appointed members must reside outside the metropolitan area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2.

(d) The appointed members must be appointed, serve, and be compensated in the manner provided in section 15.059.

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2001 c 161 s 58]

Subd. 5. **Duties of commission.** The commission shall carry out all requirements of a commission under the federal act and may adopt rules to do so. The commission shall encourage use of and shall utilize existing emergency planning systems under section 299K.05 whenever practical.

Subd. 6. Agreements. The commission may cooperate and enter into necessary agreements with other state departments and agencies, political subdivisions of the state, or the federal government to perform its duties.

Subd. 7. Cooperation. State departments, agencies, and political subdivisions shall cooperate with the commission and its director and shall assist in the performance of the commission's duties.

History: 1989 c 315 s 3; 1994 c 584 s 1