
297F.24 FEE IN LIEU OF SETTLEMENT.​

Subdivision 1. Fee imposed. (a) A fee is imposed upon the sale of nonsettlement cigarettes in this state,​
upon having nonsettlement cigarettes in possession in this state with intent to sell, upon any person engaged​
in business as a distributor, and upon the use or storage by consumers of nonsettlement cigarettes. The fee​
equals a rate of 2.5 cents per cigarette.​

(b) The purpose of this fee is to:​

(1) ensure that manufacturers of nonsettlement cigarettes pay fees to the state that are comparable to​
costs attributable to the use of the cigarettes;​

(2) prevent manufacturers of nonsettlement cigarettes from undermining the state's policy of discouraging​
underage smoking by offering nonsettlement cigarettes at prices substantially below the cigarettes of other​
manufacturers; and​

(3) fund such other purposes as the legislature determines appropriate.​

Subd. 2. Nonsettlement cigarettes. For purposes of this section, a "nonsettlement cigarette" means a​
cigarette manufactured by a person other than a manufacturer that:​

(1) is making annual payments to the state of Minnesota under a settlement of the lawsuit styled as State​
v. Philip Morris Inc., No. C1-94-8565 (Minnesota District Court, Second Judicial District), if the style of​
cigarettes is included in computation of the payments under the agreement; or​

(2) has voluntarily entered into an agreement with the state of Minnesota, approved by the attorney​
general, agreeing to terms similar to those contained in the settlement agreement, identified in clause (1)​
including making annual payments to the state, with respect to its national sales of the style of cigarettes,​
equal to at least 75 percent of the payments that would apply if the manufacturer was one of the four original​
parties to the settlement agreement required to make annual payments to the state.​

Subd. 3. Collection and administration. The commissioner shall administer the fee under this section​
in the same manner as the excise tax imposed under section 297F.05 and all of the provisions of this chapter​
apply as if the fee were a tax imposed under section 297F.05. The commissioner shall deposit the proceeds​
of the fee in the general fund.​

History: 2003 c 127 art 14 s 9; 2013 c 143 art 5 s 16​
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