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Subdivision 1. Seizure. The commissioner or authorized agents may seize gasoline or special fuel being​
transported for delivery in violation of section 296A.03, subdivision 1, and any vehicle or other method of​
conveyance used for transporting the gasoline or special fuel. Any untaxed motor vehicle fuel that is received​
by a person other than a licensee is subject to seizure along with the vehicle or other means of transportation​
used to transport the motor vehicle fuel. Any motor vehicle fuel, along with the transporting vehicle, brought​
into the state of Minnesota by a transporter for use, distribution, storage, or sale that is not supported by a​
manifest, bill of lading, or invoice, reflecting the licensed distributor responsible for the tax and/or fees is​
subject to seizure by the Minnesota Department of Revenue. Property seized under this subdivision is subject​
to forfeiture as provided in subdivision 2.​

Subd. 2. Forfeiture. (a) Within ten days after the seizure, the person making the seizure shall serve by​
certified mail an inventory of the vehicle or property seized on the person from whom the seizure was made,​
if known, and on any person known or believed to have any right, title, interest, or lien on the vehicle or​
property, at the last known address, and file a copy with the commissioner. The notice must include an​
explanation of the right to demand a judicial forfeiture determination.​

(b) Within 60 days after the date of service of the inventory, which is the date of mailing, the person​
from whom the vehicle or property was seized or any person claiming an interest in it may file a demand​
for a judicial determination of whether the vehicle or property was lawfully subject to seizure and forfeiture.​
The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court administrator in the​
county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the​
commissioner of revenue, and the standard filing fee for civil actions unless the petitioner has the right to​
sue in forma pauperis under section 563.01. If the value of the seized property or vehicle is $15,000 or less,​
the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for its recovery. If the value of the seized property or​
vehicle is less than $500, the claimant does not have to pay the conciliation court filing fee.​

(c) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the seized property or​
vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant alleges the property​
or vehicle was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property or vehicle seized. No responsive​
pleading is required of the commissioner and no court fees may be charged for the commissioner's appearance​
in the matter. The proceedings are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure. Notwithstanding any law to​
the contrary, an action for the return of property or a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained​
by or on behalf of any person who has been served with an inventory unless the person has complied with​
this subdivision. The court shall hear the action without a jury and shall try and determine the issues of fact​
and law involved.​

(d) When a judgment of forfeiture is entered, the commissioner may, unless the judgment is stayed​
pending an appeal, either:​

(1) cause the forfeited gasoline or special fuel to be destroyed; or​

(2) cause the forfeited property in clause (1) or vehicle to be sold at public auction as provided by law.​
After deducting the expense of keeping the property and vehicle and the costs of the sale, the commissioner​
shall pay from the funds collected all liens according to their priority, which are established as being bona​
fide and as existing without the lienor having any notice or knowledge that the property or vehicle was being​
used or was intended to be used for or in connection with any violation, and shall pay the balance of the​
proceeds into the general fund.​
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(e) If no demand for judicial determination is made, the property or vehicle seized must be considered​
forfeited to the state by operation of law and may be disposed of by the commissioner as provided where​
there has been a judgment of forfeiture.​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1Sp2001 c 5 art 18 s 11]​

History: 1998 c 299 s 24; 1Sp2001 c 5 art 18 s 1,2; 2012 c 283 s 3; 2018 c 182 art 1 s 83​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

2​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​296A.24​


	Sec. 296A.24
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3


