
303.17 LICENSE REVOCATION.​

Subdivision 1. Grounds. The certificate of authority of a foreign corporation to transact business in this​
state shall be revoked by the secretary of state if it fails:​

(1) to pay any fee due under the provisions of this chapter;​

(2) to designate a registered agent when a vacancy occurs in that office, or when the appointed registered​
agent becomes disqualified or incapacitated;​

(3) to file certificates of merger or name change, as required in section 303.11;​

(4) to file an annual report; or​

(5) to comply with the provisions of Minnesota Statutes 1949, section 303.04, and acts amendatory​
thereof and supplementary thereto, insofar as it relates to the limits of territory in which a savings association​
organized under the laws of another state may carry on the business of making real estate mortgages.​

Subd. 2. Notice to corporation. On finding that a default has occurred under subdivision 1, clauses (1)​
to (3) or (5), the secretary of state shall attempt to provide notice to the corporation that the default exists​
and that its certificate of authority will be revoked unless the default shall be cured within 30 days after the​
mailing of the notice.​

Subd. 3. Revocation. (a) The secretary of state shall revoke the certificate of authority of a corporation​
that is in default under subdivision 1, clause (4), for failure to file an annual registration form under section​
303.14.​

(b) The secretary of state shall revoke the certificate of authority of a corporation that is in default under​
subdivision 1, clauses (1) to (3) or (5), if the default is not cured within 30 days after attempting to provide​
notice under subdivision 2; provided that for good cause shown the secretary of state may extend the 30-day​
period from time to time, but in no event may the aggregate of all extensions granted exceed 180 days or​
the period of time of any applicable extension granted by the Department of Revenue for filing the income​
tax return of the corporation, whichever is greater.​

Subd. 4. Certificate of revocation. (a) Upon revoking the certificate of authority of a corporation​
because of a default under subdivision 1, clauses (1) to (3) or (5), the secretary of state shall:​

(1) issue a certificate of revocation; and​

(2) attempt to provide notice of the revocation to the corporation.​

(b) Upon revoking the certificate of authority of a corporation because of a default under subdivision​
1, clause (4), the secretary of state shall issue a certificate of revocation, and the certificate must be filed in​
the Office of the Secretary of State. No further notice to the corporation is required.​

(c) The secretary of state shall also make the names of the revoked corporations available in an electronic​
format.​

Subd. 5. Cessation of authority. Upon the issuance of such certificate of revocation, the authority of​
the corporation to transact business in this state shall cease.​

History: (7495-17) 1935 c 200 s 17; 1951 c 220 s 1; 1976 c 181 s 2; 1978 c 674 s 60; 3Sp1981 c 2 art​
1 s 43; 1984 c 618 s 23; 1986 c 444; 1989 c 236 s 10; 1991 c 205 s 11; 1994 c 438 s 6,7; 1995 c 202 art 1​
s 25; 2001 c 64 s 1-3; 2008 c 203 s 5; 2011 c 106 s 9-11​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

303.17​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​1​


	Sec. 303.17
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4
	Subd. 5


