
299F.46 HOTEL INSPECTIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Hotel inspection. (a) It shall be the duty of the commissioner of public safety to inspect,​
or cause to be inspected, at least once every three years, every hotel in this state; and, for that purpose, the​
commissioner, or the commissioner's deputies or designated alternates or agents, shall have the right to enter​
or have access thereto at any reasonable hour; and, when, upon such inspection, it shall be found that the​
hotel so inspected does not conform to or is not being operated in accordance with the provisions of sections​
157.011 and 157.15 to 157.22, in so far as the same relate to fire prevention or fire protection of hotels, or​
the rules promulgated thereunder, or is being maintained or operated in such manner as to violate the​
Minnesota State Fire Code promulgated pursuant to section 326B.02, subdivision 6, 299F.51, or any other​
law of this state relating to fire prevention and fire protection of hotels, the commissioner and the deputies​
or designated alternates or agents shall report such a situation to the hotel inspector who shall proceed as​
provided for in chapter 157.​

(b) The word "hotel", as used in this subdivision, has the meaning given in section 299F.391.​

[See Note.]​

Subd. 2. Inspection agreement with local government. (a) The commissioner of public safety may​
enter into an agreement with any county, two or more contiguous counties, or city or other municipality,​
hereafter called the designated agent, under which agreement the designated agent may agree to perform all​
or part of the inspection duties authorized in subdivision 1. The agreement shall also set forth criteria by​
which the commissioner will determine that performance by the designated agent complies with state​
standards and is sufficient to replace inspection by the commissioner. The agreement may specify minimum​
staff requirements and qualifications and provide for termination procedures if the commissioner finds that​
the designated agent fails to comply with the terms and requirements of the agreement.​

(b) No designated agent may perform any inspection duties pursuant to the agreement in any territory​
outside its jurisdiction.​

(c) The scope of the agreement shall be limited to duties and responsibilities agreed upon by the parties​
and may provide a basis for automatic renewal and provisions for notice of intent to terminate by either​
party.​

(d) During the life of the agreement the commissioner shall not perform any inspection which the​
designated agent is required to perform under the agreement, except for inspection necessary to determine​
compliance with the agreement and this section. The commissioner shall consult with, advise and assist a​
designated agent in the performance of its duties under the agreement.​

(e) No agreement shall be effective to transfer any tort liability attributable to any inspection or lack of​
inspection from the state of Minnesota to the local unit contracting to perform the inspection.​

Subd. 3. Inspection fees. (a) For each hotel required to have a fire inspection according to subdivision​
1, the commissioner of public safety may charge each hotel a triennial inspection fee of $435 and a per-room​
charge of $5 for one to 18 units, $6 for 19 to 35 units, $7 for 36 to 100 units, and $8 for 100 or more units.​
The fee includes one follow-up inspection. The commissioner shall charge each resort a triennial inspection​
fee of $435 and a per room charge of $5 for one to ten units, $6 for 11 to 25 units, and $7 for 26 or more​
units.​

(b) The commissioner shall charge a fee of $225 for each additional follow-up inspection for hotels and​
resorts, conducted in each three-year cycle that is necessary to bring the hotel or resort into compliance with​
the State Fire Code.​
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(c) Nothing in this subdivision prevents the designated agent from continuing to charge an inspection​
fee or from establishing a new inspection fee.​

(d) Hotels and motels with fewer than 35 rooms and resorts classified as 1c under section 273.13 are​
exempt from the fee requirements of this subdivision.​

Subd. 4. Special account; appropriation. Money received by the State Fire Marshal Division for this​
program must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a state fire marshal hotel inspection dedicated​
account in the special revenue fund. All money in the state fire marshal hotel inspection dedicated account​
is annually appropriated to the commissioner of public safety to operate and administer this program.​

History: (3288, 5950) 1911 c 386 s 2; 1913 c 564 s 2; 1949 c 469 s 1; 1969 c 1129 art 10 s 2; 1978 c​
777 s 9; 1981 c 106 s 15; 1986 c 444; 1995 c 207 art 9 s 60; 1996 c 451 art 4 s 70; 1997 c 7 art 1 s 123;​
1Sp2003 c 2 art 4 s 10-12; 2007 c 140 art 3 s 6; art 13 s 4; 2023 c 52 art 5 s 37​

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2023, chapter 52, article 5, section 37, is effective​
August 1, 2024. Laws 2023, chapter 52, article 5, section 37, the effective date.​
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