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256P.07 REPORTING OF INCOME AND CHANGES.

Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Participants who receive Supplemental Security Income and
qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under chapter 256D or for housing support under chapter 2561 are
exempt from reporting income under this chapter.

[See Note.]

Subd. 1a. Child care assistance programs. Participants who qualify for child care assistance programs
under chapter 119B are exempt from this section except the reporting requirements in subdivision 6.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. An applicant or participant must provide information on an application
and any subsequent reporting forms about the assistance unit's circumstances that affect eligibility or benefits.
An applicant or assistance unit must report changes that affect eligibility or benefits as identified in
subdivisions 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, and 9 during the application period or by the tenth of the month following the
month that the assistance unit's circumstances changed. When information is not accurately reported, both
an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investigation may result. When information or documentation is
not provided, the receipt of any benefit may be delayed or denied, depending on the type of information
required and its effect on eligibility.

[See Note.]

Subd. 3. Changes that must be reported. (a) An assistance unit must report changes or anticipated
changes as described in this section.

(b) An assistance unit must report:

(1) a change in eligibility for Supplemental Security Income, Retirement Survivors Disability Insurance,
or another federal income support;

(2) a change in address or residence;
(3) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter 2561,

(4) cash prizes and winnings according to guidance provided for the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance
Program;

(5) a change in citizenship or immigration status;
(6) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 2561; and
(7) a change that makes the value of the assistance unit's assets at or above the asset limit.

(c) When an agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months if a
delay in reporting a change specified under paragraph (b) had not occurred, the agency must determine
whether the agency could have issued a timely notice on the day that the change occurred. When a timely
notice could have been issued, each month's overpayment subsequent to the notice must be considered a
client error overpayment under section 256P.08.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. MFIP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit under chapter 256]
must report:

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota
Revisor of Statutes



256P.07 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023 2

(1) a pregnancy not resulting in birth when there are no other minor children;
(2) a change in school attendance of a parent under 20 years of age; and

(3) an individual in the household who is 18 or 19 years of age attending high school who graduates or
drops out of school.

[See Note.]

Subd. 5. DWP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivisions 3 and 4, an assistance unit participating
in the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 must report on an application:

(1) shelter expenses; and
(2) utility expenses.
[See Note.]

Subd. 6. Child care assistance programs-specific reporting. (a) An assistance unit under chapter
119B, within ten days of the change, must report:

(1) a change in a parentally responsible individual's custody schedule for any child receiving child care
assistance program benefits;

(2) a permanent end in a parentally responsible individual's authorized activity;

(3) if the unit's family's annual included income exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted
for family size;

(4) a change in address or residence;

(5) a change in household composition;

(6) a change in citizenship or immigration status; and
(7) a change in family status.

(b) An assistance unit subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must report a change
in the unit's authorized activity status.

(c) An assistance unit must notify the county when the unit wants to reduce the number of authorized
hours for children in the unit.

[See Note.]

Subd. 7. Minnesota supplemental aid-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance
unit participating in the Minnesota supplemental aid program under chapter 256D and not receiving
Supplemental Security Income must report:

(1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and
(2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater.

(b) An assistance unit receiving housing assistance under section 256D.44, subdivision 5, paragraph
(g), including an assistance unit that also receives Supplemental Security Income, must report:
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(1) a change in shelter expenses; and
(2) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy.
[See Note.]

Subd. 8. Housing support-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit
participating in the housing support program under chapter 2561 and not receiving Supplemental Security
Income must report:

(1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater; and

(2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit is already subject
to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10.

(b) Notwithstanding the exemptions in subdivisions 1 and 3, an assistance unit receiving housing support
under chapter 2561, including an assistance unit that receives Supplemental Security Income, must report:

(1) a new rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy;
(2) a change in the disability status of a unit member; and

(3) a change in household composition if the assistance unit is a participant in housing support under
section 2561.04, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (3).

[See Note.]

Subd. 9. General assistance-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit
participating in the general assistance program under chapter 256D must report:

(1) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater;

(2) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater, unless the assistance unit is already subject
to six-month reporting requirements in section 256P.10; and

(3) changes in any condition that would result in the loss of basis for eligibility in section 256D.05,
subdivision 1, paragraph (a).

[See Note.]

History: 2015 c 71 art 5 s 32,35, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 25 39; art 75 30,31, 2018 c 182 art I s 61, 2023 ¢
70 art 10 s 82-90

NOTE: The amendments to subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 6, and 7 by Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, sections
82, 84, and 86 to 88, are effective March 1, 2025. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, sections 82, 84, and
86 to 88, the effective dates.

NOTE: Subdivisions 1a, 8, and 9, as added by Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, sections 83, 89, and
90, are effective March 1, 2025. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, sections 83, 89, and 90, the effective
dates.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, section 85, is effective
March 1, 2025, except that the amendment striking clause (6) is effective July 1, 2024. Laws 2023, chapter
70, article 10, section 85, the effective date.
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NOTE: Subdivision 5 is repealed by Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, section 98, effective March 1,
2026. Laws 2023, chapter 70, article 10, section 98, the effective date.
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