
256L.15 PREMIUMS.​

Subdivision 1. Premium determination for MinnesotaCare. (a) Families with children and individuals​
shall pay a premium determined according to subdivision 2.​

(b) Members of the military and their families who meet the eligibility criteria for MinnesotaCare upon​
eligibility approval made within 24 months following the end of the member's tour of active duty shall have​
their premiums paid by the commissioner. The effective date of coverage for an individual or family who​
meets the criteria of this paragraph shall be the first day of the month following the month in which eligibility​
is approved. This exemption applies for 12 months.​

(c) Beginning July 1, 2009, American Indians enrolled in MinnesotaCare and their families shall have​
their premiums waived by the commissioner in accordance with section 5006 of the American Recovery​
and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5. An individual must indicate status as an American Indian,​
as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50, to qualify for the waiver of premiums.​
The commissioner shall accept attestation of an individual's status as an American Indian as verification​
until the United States Department of Health and Human Services approves an electronic data source for​
this purpose.​

Subd. 1a. Payment options. The commissioner may offer the following payment options to an enrollee:​

(1) payment by check;​

(2) payment by credit card;​

(3) payment by recurring automatic checking withdrawal;​

(4) payment by onetime electronic transfer of funds;​

(5) payment by wage withholding with the consent of the employer and the employee; or​

(6) payment by using state tax refund payments.​

At application or reapplication, a MinnesotaCare applicant or enrollee may authorize the commissioner​
to use the Revenue Recapture Act in chapter 270A to collect funds from the applicant's or enrollee's refund​
for the purposes of meeting all or part of the applicant's or enrollee's MinnesotaCare premium obligation.​
The applicant or enrollee may authorize the commissioner to apply for the state working family tax credit​
on behalf of the applicant or enrollee. The setoff due under this subdivision shall not be subject to the $10​
fee under section 270A.07, subdivision 1.​

Subd. 1b. Payments nonrefundable. Only MinnesotaCare premiums paid for future months of coverage​
for which a health plan capitation fee has not been paid may be refunded.​

Subd. 2. Sliding fee scale; monthly individual or family income. (a) The commissioner shall establish​
a sliding fee scale to determine the percentage of monthly individual or family income that households at​
different income levels must pay to obtain coverage through the MinnesotaCare program. The sliding fee​
scale must be based on the enrollee's monthly individual or family income.​

(b) Beginning January 1, 2014, MinnesotaCare enrollees shall pay premiums according to the premium​
scale specified in paragraph (d).​

(c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to:​

(1) children 20 years of age or younger; and​
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(2) individuals with household incomes below 35 percent of the federal poverty guidelines.​

(d) The following premium scale is established for each individual in the household who is 21 years of​
age or older and enrolled in MinnesotaCare:​

Individual Premium​
Amount​

Less than​Federal Poverty Guideline​
Greater than or Equal to​

$4​55%​35%​

$6​80%​55%​

$8​90%​80%​

$10​100%​90%​

$12​110%​100%​

$14​120%​110%​

$15​130%​120%​

$16​140%​130%​

$25​150%​140%​

$37​160%​150%​

$44​170%​160%​

$52​180%​170%​

$61​190%​180%​

$71​200%​190%​

$80​200%​

(e) Beginning January 1, 2021, the commissioner shall adjust the premium scale established under​
paragraph (d) to ensure that premiums do not exceed the amount that an individual would have been required​
to pay if the individual was enrolled in an applicable benchmark plan in accordance with the Code of Federal​
Regulations, title 42, section 600.505 (a)(1).​

Subd. 3. MS 2010 [Repealed, 2008 c 358 art 3 s 14]​

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]​

History: 1995 c 234 art 6 s 20; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 39; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 99-101; 2001 c 203 s 16;​
1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 65; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 24,25; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 83-85;​
2005 c 10 art 1 s 57; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 74-76; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 32-34; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 11; 2008 c​
358 art 3 s 11,14; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 68,69; 2009 c 173 art 3 s 20,25; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 24 s 7; 1Sp2011 c 9​
art 6 s 82; 2012 c 216 art 13 s 18; 2013 c 108 art 1 s 62,63; 2015 c 71 art 11 s 57,58; 2016 c 189 art 19 s​
29; 1Sp2017 c 6 art 4 s 60; 2020 c 115 art 3 s 34; 1Sp2021 c 7 art 1 s 30​
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