
169.451 INSPECTING SCHOOL AND HEAD START BUSES; RULES; MISDEMEANOR.​

Subdivision 1. Annual requirement. The Minnesota State Patrol shall inspect every school bus and​
every Head Start bus annually to ascertain whether its construction, design, equipment, and color comply​
with all provisions of law.​

Subd. 2. Inspection certificate. Except as provided in subdivision 2a, no person shall drive, or no owner​
shall knowingly permit or cause to be driven, any school bus or Head Start bus unless there is displayed​
thereon a certificate issued by the commissioner of public safety stating that, in the month specified on the​
certificate, a member of the Minnesota State Patrol inspected the bus and found that on the date of inspection​
the bus complied with the applicable provisions of state law relating to construction, design, equipment, and​
color. The certificate is valid for 12 months after the month specified on the certificate.​

Subd. 2a. Interim inspection; certificate. In lieu of the certificate required in subdivision 2, a new or​
used school bus being sold by a dealer in this state may display an interim inspection certificate. The school​
bus dealer completing the preregistration certificate required in section 168.102 may inspect the bus to​
determine if the bus complies with the applicable provisions of state law relating to construction, design,​
equipment, and color. If the bus complies with the applicable provisions of state law, the dealer may affix​
the interim inspection certificate to the school bus, indicating that on the date of the inspection, the bus​
complied with the applicable provisions of state law relating to construction, design, equipment, and color.​
The interim certificate must include the date of the inspection and must be valid until the owner's next​
scheduled annual inspection, but must not be valid for more than 12 months following the month of the​
initial inspection. The commissioner must provide the prescribed interim inspection certificates at no cost​
to the dealer.​

Subd. 3. Inspection criteria. (a) The commissioner of public safety must inspect school buses in​
accordance with the School Bus Inspection Manual as prescribed in section 169.4501, subdivision 3. Upon​
completion of an inspection, the commissioner must provide a printed or electronic vehicle examination​
report to the carrier or school district.​

(b) A school bus displaying a defect as defined in the "School Bus Recommended Out-of-Service​
Criteria" in the most recent edition of the "National School Transportation Specification and Procedures"​
adopted by the National Congress on School Transportation is deemed unsafe for student transportation. A​
member of the State Patrol must affix a rejection sticker to the lower left corner of the windshield. A person​
may remove the rejection sticker only upon authorization from a member of the State Patrol who has​
determined that all defects have been corrected. Pending reinspection and certification of the vehicle by a​
member of the State Patrol, a bus bearing a rejection sticker may be used to transport students for up to 30​
days provided the defects have been corrected and the vehicle examination report is signed by the owner or​
a designee certifying that all defects have been corrected. The signed report must be carried in the first aid​
kit on the bus.​

(c) A school bus that has had an inspection completed in which no out-of-service defects were identified​
has passed the inspection and a member of the State Patrol must affix an inspection certificate to the lower​
left corner of the windshield. All defects identified must be repaired within 14 days of the inspection. The​
person completing the repairs must sign and date the inspection report indicating the repairs were made.​
The inspection report must be retained at the principal place of business of the carrier or school district for​
12 months following the inspection and must be available for review by a representative of the commissioner​
of public safety.​
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(d) A defect discovered during an inspection that was identified by a member of the State Patrol during​
a previous inspection but has not been corrected results in a failed inspection. A member of the State Patrol​
must affix a rejection sticker to the lower left corner of the windshield.​

Subd. 4. Violations; penalties. (a) The State Patrol must enforce subdivisions 2 to 3.​

(b) A person who operates a school bus without a valid inspection certificate issued pursuant to​
subdivision 2 or an interim inspection certificate issued pursuant to subdivision 2a is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

(c) A person who operates, or an owner who knowingly permits the operation of, a school bus displaying​
a rejection sticker issued in accordance with subdivision 3, paragraph (b), and has not fulfilled all the​
requirements specified in subdivision 3, paragraph (b), is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

Subd. 5. Random spot inspection. In addition to the annual inspection, the Minnesota State Patrol has​
authority to conduct random, unannounced spot inspections of any school bus or Head Start bus being​
operated within the state to ascertain whether it is in compliance with provisions of law, including the​
Minnesota school bus equipment standards in sections 169.4501 to 169.4504, subject to the procedures​
approved by the commissioner.​

Subd. 6. Member of the State Patrol. For purposes of this section, a member of the State Patrol includes​
an employee of the Department of Public Safety described in section 299D.06.​

History: 1971 c 327 s 1; 1973 c 80 s 1; 1974 c 332 s 3; 1981 c 37 s 2; 1981 c 357 s 61; 1983 c 216 art​
1 s 28; 1991 c 277 s 12; 1994 c 603 s 12; 1Sp1995 c 3 art 2 s 35; 1998 c 398 art 6 s 31; 2020 c 100 s 8-10;​
1Sp2021 c 5 art 4 s 61,62; 2023 c 68 art 5 s 27-29​
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