
168.327 DRIVER AND VEHICLE RECORD FEES.​

Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section, the​
commissioner or full-service provider must furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction​
permit record, Minnesota identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or​
accident record.​

(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, and other than accident records governed under​
section 169.09, subdivision 13, the requester must pay a fee of $10 for each certified record specified in​
paragraph (a) or a fee of $9 for each record that is not certified.​

(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, in addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the​
fee for a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format is $1 for each page of the historical​
record.​

(d) Of the fee collected by the commissioner under paragraphs (b) and (c), 50 cents must be deposited​
in the general fund, and the remainder must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account​
under section 299A.705.​

(e) Of the fee collected by a full-service provider under paragraphs (b) and (c), the provider must transmit​
50 cents of each fee to the commissioner for deposit in the general fund, and the provider must retain the​
remainder.​

(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4, 5a, and 5b, the commissioner must permit a person to inquire​
into a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee​
may be charged when the requester is the subject of the data. Of the fee:​

(1) $2.70 must be deposited in the general fund; and​

(2) the remainder must be deposited in the driver and vehicle services operating account under section​
299A.705.​

(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section 169.09,​
subdivision 13.​

Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision​
3, the commissioner or full-service provider must impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged under​
section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration​
of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification​
card.​

(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person, by mail, or​
online. The surcharge does not apply to the request of an individual for information about that individual's​
driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in​
the individual's name.​

(c) The surcharges collected by the commissioner under this subdivision must be credited to the general​
fund. The surcharges collected by a full-service provider must be transmitted to the commissioner for deposit​
in the general fund.​

Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 13.03, a fee or​
surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about the registration of a​
vehicle if the commissioner or full-service provider is satisfied that:​
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(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated​
by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and​

(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law​
violators, or health code violators.​

(b) The commissioner or full-service provider must not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make​
a minimum number of data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.​

Subd. 4. Driver records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement a driver records​
subscription service to provide information concerning access to driver license, instruction permit, and​
identification card records, including regular notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:​

(1) pay applicable fees; and​

(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with sections 168.346 and 171.12, and United​
States Code, title 18, section 2721.​

(b) If a driver records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner shall establish a fee that​
does not exceed $3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees collected under this paragraph must​
be credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705, and are appropriated​
to the commissioner for the purposes in paragraph (a) and this paragraph.​

(c) If a driver records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner shall charge a fee of $0.02​
per driver record requested. Of the fees collected under this paragraph, 20 percent must be credited to the​
driver and vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705 and is appropriated to the commissioner​
for the purposes in this subdivision; 30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special​
revenue fund under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle​
services technology account under section 299A.705.​

Subd. 5. MS 2020 [Repealed, 1Sp2021 c 5 art 4 s 151]​

Subd. 5a. Vehicle records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement a vehicle records​
subscription service to provide information concerning access to motor vehicle records, including regular​
notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:​

(1) pay applicable fees; and​

(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with section 168.346 and United States Code, title​
18, section 2721.​

(b) If a vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner must establish a fee that​
does not exceed $3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees collected under this paragraph must​
be credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and​
are appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes in this paragraph and paragraph (a).​

(c) If a motor vehicle records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner must charge a fee​
of $0.02 per motor vehicle record requested. Of the fees collected, 20 percent must be credited to the driver​
and vehicle services operating account under section 299A.705, subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the​
commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision; 30 percent must be credited to the data security account​
in the special revenue fund under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver​
and vehicle services technology account under section 299A.705, subdivision 3.​
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Subd. 5b. Custom data request record fees. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, "custom data request​
records" means a total of 1,000 or more (1) vehicle title records, (2) vehicle registration records, or (3)​
driver's license records.​

(b) The commissioner must charge a fee of $0.02 per record for custom data request records.​

(c) Of the fees collected for custom data request records:​

(1) 20 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services operating account under section​
299A.705, subdivision 1, and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this subdivision;​

(2) 30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund under section​
3.9741, subdivision 5; and​

(3) 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account under section​
299A.705, subdivision 3.​

(d) The commissioner may impose an additional fee for technical staff to create a custom set of data​
under this subdivision.​

Subd. 6. Review and audit of subscription services. Each subscriber under subdivision 4 or 5a must​
annually engage an independent professional organization to audit its uses of data and its information​
technology security procedures, including: (1) the methods and practices employed in the processing and​
use of driver and vehicle services data; and (2) compliance with the certification required under section​
171.12, subdivision 7b, paragraph (d). Within 30 days of the date of the audit report, each subscriber must​
submit each report to the legislative auditor and the commissioner.​

Subd. 7. Monitoring and auditing. The commissioner must monitor and audit the furnishing of records​
by full-service providers under this section to ensure full-service providers are complying with this section,​
chapter 13, and United States Code, title 18, section 2721, et seq.​

History: 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 25; 2014 c 293 s 4-7; 1Sp2019 c 3 art 2 s 25,26; 1Sp2021 c 5 art 4 s 39-42;​
2023 c 13 art 2 s 2; 2023 c 68 art 4 s 128; art 6 s 2-5; art 7 s 7​
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