
148E.100 LICENSED SOCIAL WORKERS; SUPERVISED PRACTICE.​

Subdivision 1. Supervision required after licensure. After receiving a license from the board as a​
licensed social worker, the licensed social worker must obtain at least 100 hours of supervision according​
to the requirements of this section.​

Subd. 2. Practice requirements. The supervision required by subdivision 1 must be obtained during​
the first 4,000 hours of postbaccalaureate social work practice authorized by law. At least four hours of​
supervision must be obtained during every 160 hours of practice.​

Subd. 2a. Supervised practice obtained prior to August 1, 2011. (a) Notwithstanding the requirements​
in subdivisions 1 and 2, the board shall approve hours of supervised practice completed prior to August 1,​
2011, which comply with Minnesota Statutes 2010, sections 148D.100 to 148D.125. These hours must apply​
to supervised practice requirements in effect as specified in this section.​

(b) Any additional hours of supervised practice obtained effective August 1, 2011, must comply with​
the increased requirements specified in this section.​

Subd. 3. Types of supervision. Of the 100 hours of supervision required under subdivision 1:​

(1) 50 hours must be provided through one-on-one supervision. The supervision must be provided either​
in person or via eye-to-eye electronic media, while maintaining visual contact. The board must allow a​
licensed social worker to satisfy the supervision requirement of this clause with all required hours of​
supervision provided via eye-to-eye electronic media, while maintaining visual contact; and​

(2) 50 hours must be provided through: (i) one-on-one supervision, or (ii) group supervision. The​
supervision may be in person, by telephone, or via eye-to-eye electronic media, while maintaining visual​
contact. The supervision must not be provided by email. Group supervision is limited to six supervisees.​

Subd. 4. Supervisor requirements. The supervision required by subdivision 1 must be provided by a​
supervisor who meets the requirements specified in section 148E.120. The supervision must be provided​
by a:​

(1) licensed social worker who has completed the supervised practice requirements;​

(2) licensed graduate social worker, licensed independent social worker, or licensed independent clinical​
social worker; or​

(3) supervisor who meets the requirements specified in section 148E.120, subdivision 2.​

Subd. 5. Supervisee requirements. The supervisee must:​

(1) to the satisfaction of the supervisor, practice competently and ethically according to professional​
social work knowledge, skills, and values;​

(2) receive supervision in the following content areas:​

(i) development of professional values and responsibilities;​

(ii) practice skills;​

(iii) authorized scope of practice;​

(iv) ensuring continuing competence; and​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

148E.100​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​1​



(v) ethical standards of practice;​

(3) submit a supervision plan according to section 148E.125, subdivision 1; and​

(4) submit verification of supervised practice according to section 148E.125, subdivision 3, when a​
licensed social worker applies for the renewal of a license.​

Subd. 6. After completion of supervision requirements. A licensed social worker who fulfills the​
supervision requirements specified in this section is not required to be supervised after completion of the​
supervision requirements.​

Subd. 7. Verification of supervised practice. The social worker and the social worker's supervisor​
must submit verification that the supervisee has met or has made progress on meeting the applicable​
supervision requirements according to section 148E.125, subdivision 3.​

History: 2007 c 123 s 82,138; 2009 c 157 art 3 s 9-14,49; 2012 c 187 art 3 s 5; 2022 c 98 art 3 s 3​
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