
119B.252 EARLY CHILDHOOD REGISTERED APPRENTICESHIP GRANT PROGRAM.​

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services shall, in coordination with the​
commissioner of labor and industry, establish an apprenticeship grant program to provide employment-based​
training and mentoring opportunities for early childhood workers.​

Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.​

(b) "Apprentice" means an employee participating in an early childhood registered apprenticeship​
program.​

(c) "Early childhood registered apprenticeship program" means an organization holding the TEACH​
license with the Department of Human Services that is registered with the Department of Labor and Industry​
under chapter 178.​

(d) "Early childhood signatory employer" means an employer that participates in an early childhood​
registered apprenticeship program and employs an apprentice and that is:​

(1) a licensed child care center under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9503;​

(2) a licensed family and group family child care provider under Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502;​

(3) an early childhood family education program under section 124D.13; a school readiness program​
under section 124D.15; a voluntary prekindergarten program under section 124D.151; a special education​
program under chapter 125A; or a school readiness plus program under Laws 2017, First Special Session​
chapter 5, article 8, section 9;​

(4) a Head Start program under United States Code, title 42, section 9801, et seq.;​

(5) a certified license-exempt child care center under chapter 245H; or​

(6) a Tribally licensed child care program.​

(e) "Mentor" means an early childhood registered apprenticeship program journeyworker under section​
178.011, subdivision 9, who has a career lattice step of nine or higher.​

Subd. 3. Program components. The organization holding the TEACH license with the Department of​
Human Services shall distribute the grant and must use the grant for:​

(1) tuition scholarships for apprentices for courses leading to a higher education degree in early childhood;​

(2) stipends for mentors; or​

(3) stipends for early childhood signatory employers.​

Subd. 4. Grants to apprentices. An apprentice may receive a higher education scholarship of up to​
$10,000 for up to 24 months under this section, provided the apprentice:​

(1) enrolls in an early childhood registered apprenticeship program;​

(2) is a current participant in good standing in the TEACH scholarship program under section 119B.251;​

(3) participates in meetings and on-the-job learning with a mentor consistent with the requirements in​
the apprenticeship program standards;​
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(4) works toward meeting early childhood competencies identified in Minnesota's Knowledge and​
Competency Framework for early childhood professionals, as observed by a mentor; and​

(5) works toward the attainment of a higher education degree in early childhood.​

Subd. 5. Stipends for mentors. A mentor shall receive up to $4,000 for each apprentice mentored under​
this section, provided the mentor complies with the requirements in the apprenticeship program standard​
and completes eight weeks of mentor training and additional training on observation. Mentors may use​
money received through stipends for personal expenses. The training must be free of charge to mentors.​

Subd. 6. Stipends for early childhood signatory employers. (a) An early childhood signatory employer​
shall receive up to $5,000 for each apprentice employed under this section, provided the early childhood​
signatory employer complies with the requirements in the apprenticeship program standard and the following​
requirements:​

(1) sponsor each apprentice's TEACH scholarship under section 119B.251; and​

(2) provide each apprentice at least three hours a week of paid release time for coursework.​

(b) An early childhood signatory employer may not employ more than three apprentices at one site in​
a 12-month period.​

History: 2023 c 70 art 13 s 19​
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