
18B.31 PESTICIDE DEALER LICENSE.​

Subdivision 1. Requirement. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), no fixed location may offer for​
sale or sell a restricted use or bulk pesticide to a pesticide end user without a pesticide dealer license.​

(b) A pesticide dealer license is not required for:​

(1) a licensed commercial applicator, noncommercial applicator, or structural pest control applicator​
who uses restricted use pesticides only as an integral part of a pesticide application service;​

(2) a federal, state, county, or municipal agency using restricted use pesticides for its own programs;​

(3) a licensed pharmacist, physician, dentist, or veterinarian when administering or dispensing a restricted​
use pesticide for use in the pharmacist's, physician's, dentist's, or veterinarian's practice; or​

(4) a person at a fixed location that is not used to offer for sale or sell restricted use or bulk pesticides​
including, but not limited to, warehouses or other storage sites.​

(c) A licensed pesticide dealer may sell restricted use pesticides only to an applicator licensed or certified​
by the commissioner, unless a sale is allowed by rule.​

(d) A pesticide dealer license is required for an individual not located in Minnesota who offers for sale​
or sells a restricted use or bulk pesticide to a pesticide end user located in Minnesota.​

(e) Only one pesticide dealer license is required per fixed location from which a restricted use or bulk​
pesticide is offered for sale or sold to a pesticide end user.​

Subd. 2. Responsibility. A pesticide dealer is responsible for the acts of a person who assists the dealer​
in the solicitation and sale of restricted use pesticides.​

Subd. 3. License. A pesticide dealer license:​

(1) is issued by the commissioner upon receipt and review of a complete initial or renewal application;​

(2) is valid for one year and expires on January 31 of each year unless it is suspended or revoked before​
that date;​

(3) is not transferable to another location; and​

(4) must be prominently displayed to the public in the pesticide dealer's place of business.​

Subd. 4. Application. (a) A person must apply to the commissioner for a pesticide dealer license on the​
forms and in the manner required by the commissioner.​

(b) The commissioner may require an additional demonstration of dealer qualification if the dealer has​
had a license suspended or revoked, or has otherwise had a history of violations of this chapter.​

(c) An application for renewal of a pesticide dealer license is not complete until the commissioner​
receives the report and applicable fees required under section 18B.316, subdivision 8.​

Subd. 5. Application fee. (a) An application for a pesticide dealer license must be accompanied by a​
nonrefundable application fee of $150.​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

18B.31​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2023​1​



(b) If an application for renewal of a pesticide dealer license is not filed before the license expires, an​
additional fee of 50 percent of the application fee must be paid by the applicant before the commissioner​
may issue the license.​

History: 1987 c 358 s 73; 1989 c 326 art 5 s 35-37; 1993 c 367 s 8; 1995 c 95 s 2; 1Sp2005 c 1 art 1​
s 18; 2009 c 94 art 1 s 57,58; 2010 c 333 art 1 s 6​
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