
80G.06 SURETY BOND.​

Subdivision 1. Surety bond requirement. (a) Every dealer shall maintain a current, valid surety bond​
issued by a surety company admitted to do business in Minnesota in an amount based on the Minnesota​
transactions during the 12-month period prior to registration, or renewal, whichever is applicable.​

(b) The amount of the surety bond shall be as specified in the table below:​

Surety Bond Required​Transaction Amount in Preceding​
12-month Period​

$25,000​$25,000 to $200,000​

$50,000​$200,000.01 to $500,000​

$100,000​$500,000.01 to $1,000,000​

$150,000​$1,000,000.01 to $2,000,000​

$200,000​Over $2,000,000​

Subd. 2. Action on bond permitted. A consumer involved in a Minnesota transaction who is injured​
in money or property by a dealer's or dealer representative's failure to comply with this chapter may file a​
claim with the surety and if the claim is not paid, is authorized to bring an action based on the bond and​
recover against the surety. The commissioner or attorney general may also file a claim and bring an action​
on the bond and recover against the surety on behalf of a consumer so injured.​

History: 2013 c 120 s 6; 2016 c 134 s 6; 1Sp2021 c 4 art 3 s 19; 2022 c 75 s 8,9​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

80G.06​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022​1​


	Sec. 80G.06
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2


