
504B.401 SUMMONS.​

Subdivision 1. Contents. (a) On receipt of the complaint in section 504B.395, the court administrator​
shall prepare a summons. The summons shall:​

(1) specify the time and place of the hearing to be held on the complaint; and​

(2) state that if at the time of the hearing a defense is not interposed and established by the landlord,​
judgment may be entered for the relief requested and authorized by sections 504B.381 and 504B.395 to​
504B.471.​

(b) The hearing must be scheduled not less than seven nor more than 14 days after receipt of the complaint​
by the court administrator.​

Subd. 2. Service. The summons and complaint must be served upon the landlord or the landlord's agent​
not less than seven nor more than 14 days before the hearing. Service shall be by personal service upon the​
defendant pursuant to the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure. If personal service cannot be made with due​
diligence, service may be made by affixing a copy of the summons and complaint prominently to the​
residential building involved, and mailing at the same time a copy of the summons and complaint by certified​
mail to the last known address of the landlord.​

History: 1999 c 199 art 1 s 60; 2003 c 114 s 1​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

504B.401​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022​1​


	Sec. 504B.401
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2


