1

Subdivision 1. **Membership.** The Legislative Commission on Cybersecurity consists of the following eight members:

- (1) four senators, including two senators appointed by the senate majority leader and two senators appointed by the senate minority leader; and
- (2) four members of the house of representatives, including two members appointed by the speaker of the house and two members appointed by the minority leader of the house.
- Subd. 2. **Terms; vacancies.** Members of the commission serve for a two-year term beginning on appointment and expiring on appointment of a successor after the opening of the next regular session of the legislature in the odd-numbered year. A vacancy in the membership of the commission must be filled for the unexpired term in a manner that will preserve the representation established by this section.
- Subd. 3. **Duties.** The commission shall provide oversight of the state's cybersecurity measures. The commission shall review the policies and practices of state agencies with regard to cybersecurity and may recommend changes in policy to adequately protect the state from cybersecurity threats. The commission may develop recommendations and draft legislation to support and strengthen the state's cybersecurity infrastructure.
- Subd. 4. **Chair.** The commission shall elect a chair by a majority vote of members present. If the commission is unable to elect a chair by a majority vote at its first meeting of a biennium, the ranking member of the majority party shall serve as chair. The officers shall alternate between a member of the senate and a member of the house of representatives. A chair shall serve a two-year term expiring upon election of a new chair after the opening of the next regular session of the legislature in the odd-numbered year.
- Subd. 5. **Meetings.** The commission must meet at least three times per calendar year. The meetings of the commission are subject to section 3.055, except that the commission may close a meeting when necessary to safeguard the state's cybersecurity. The minutes, recordings, and documents from a closed meeting under this subdivision shall be maintained by the Legislative Coordinating Commission and shall not be made available to the public until eight years after the date of the meeting.
- Subd. 6. **Administration.** The Legislative Coordinating Commission shall provide administrative services for the commission.
  - Subd. 7. Expiration. The commission expires December 31, 2028.

**History:** 1Sp2021 c 12 art 2 s 1