1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2022 18G.07

18G.07 TREE CARE AND TREE TRIMMING COMPANY REGISTRATION.

Subdivision 1. Creation of registry. (a) The commissioner shall maintain a list of all persons, businesses,
and companies that employ persons who provide tree care or tree trimming services in Minnesota. All
commercial tree care providers, tree trimmers, and employers that direct employees to remove trees, limbs,
branches, brush, or shrubs for hire must be registered with the commissioner.

(b) Persons or companies who are required to be registered under paragraph (a) must register annually
by providing the following to the commissioner:

(1) accurate and up-to-date business name, address, and telephone number;
(2) a complete list of all Minnesota counties in which they work; and
(3) a nonrefundable fee of $25 for initial application or renewing the registration.

(c) All persons and companies required to be registered under paragraph (a) must register before
conducting the activities specified in paragraph (a). Annual registration expires December 31, must be
renewed annually, and the renewal fee remitted by January 1 of the year for which it is issued. In addition,
a penalty of ten percent of the renewal fee due must be charged for each month, or portion of a month, that
the fee is delinquent up to a maximum of 30 percent for any application for renewal postmarked after
December 31.

Subd. 2. Information dissemination. The commissioner shall provide registered tree care companies
with information and data regarding any existing or potential regulated forest pest infestations within the
state.

Subd. 3. Violation. It is unlawful for a person to advertise tree care or tree trimming services in Minnesota
without being registered with the commissioner.

History: 2003 c 128 art 4 s 7, 2010 c 333 art 1 s 10, 2012 c 244 art 1 s 8
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