
609.6855 SALE OF NICOTINE DELIVERY PRODUCTS TO PERSONS UNDER AGE 21.​

Subdivision 1. Penalty to sell or furnish. (a) Any person 21 years of age or older who sells, gives, or​
otherwise furnishes to a person under the age of 21 years a product containing or delivering nicotine or​
lobelia, whether natural or synthetic, intended for human consumption, or any part of such a product, that​
is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, is guilty of a petty misdemeanor​
for the first violation. Whoever violates this subdivision a subsequent time within five years of a previous​
conviction under this subdivision is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

(b) It is an affirmative defense to a charge under this subdivision if the defendant proves by a​
preponderance of the evidence that the defendant reasonably and in good faith relied on proof of age as​
described in section 340A.503, subdivision 6.​

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for​
human consumption, whether natural or synthetic, or any part of such a product, that is not tobacco or an​
electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, may be sold to persons under the age of 21 if the​
product is a drug, device, or combination product, as those terms are defined in the Federal Food, Drug, and​
Cosmetic Act, that is authorized for sale by the United States Food and Drug Administration.​

Subd. 2. Use of false identification. A person under the age of 21 years who purchases or attempts to​
purchase a product containing or delivering nicotine or lobelia intended for human consumption, or any part​
of such a product, that is not tobacco or an electronic delivery device as defined by section 609.685, and​
who uses a driver's license, permit, Minnesota identification card, or any type of false identification to​
misrepresent the person's age, shall only be subject to an alternative civil penalty in accordance with​
subdivision 3. No penalty shall apply to a person under the age of 21 years who purchases or attempts to​
purchase these products while under the direct supervision of a responsible adult for training, education,​
research, or enforcement purposes.​

Subd. 3. Alternative penalties. Law enforcement and court system representatives shall consult, as​
applicable, with interested persons, including but not limited to parents, guardians, educators, and persons​
under the age of 21 years, to develop alternative civil penalties for persons under the age of 21 years who​
violate this section. Consulting participants shall consider a variety of alternative civil penalties including​
but not limited to tobacco-free education programs, community service, court diversion programs, and​
tobacco cessation programs, and for persons under the age of 18 years, notice to schools and to parents or​
guardians. Alternative civil penalties developed under this subdivision shall not include fines or monetary​
penalties.​

History: 2010 c 305 s 12; 2014 c 291 art 6 s 34; 2020 c 88 s 12​

Official Publication of the State of Minnesota​
Revisor of Statutes​

609.6855​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2021​1​


	Sec. 609.6855
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3


