179A.051 APPEALS OF COMMISSIONER'S DECISIONS.

- (a) Decisions of the commissioner relating to supervisory, confidential, essential, and professional employees, appropriateness of a unit, or fair share fee challenges may be reviewed on certiorari by the court of appeals. A petition for a writ of certiorari must be filed and served on the other party or parties and the commissioner within 30 days from the date of the mailing of the commissioner's decision. The petition must be served on the other party or parties at the party's or parties' last known address.
- (b) Decisions of the commissioner relating to unfair labor practices under section 179A.12, subdivision 11, may be appealed to the board if the appeal is filed with the board and served on all other parties no later than 30 days after service of the commissioner's decision.

History: 1992 c 582 s 7; 2014 c 211 s 6,13; 1Sp2015 c 1 art 7 s 1; 1Sp2021 c 10 art 3 s 19

NOTE: The amendment to this section by Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 6, is effective July 1, 2020, to June 30, 2021, and on July 1, 2023. Any investigation and proceedings related to an unfair labor practice charge currently pending before the Public Employee Relations Board as of July 1, 2021, shall be conducted according to the process in place under Minnesota Statutes, sections 179A.052 and 179A.13, as of July 1, 2020, and the board shall retain jurisdiction over any pending charge. From July 1, 2021, until July 1, 2023, any employee, employer, employee or employer organization, exclusive representative, or any other person or organization aggrieved by an unfair labor practice as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.13, may bring an action for injunctive relief and for damages caused by the unfair labor practice in the district court of the county in which the practice is alleged to have occurred. Laws 2014, chapter 211, section 13, as amended by Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 1, article 7, section 1; Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 7, section 42; Laws 2017, chapter 94, article 12, section 1; and Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 10, article 3, section 19.