1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2020 62M.03

62M.03 COMPLIANCE WITH STANDARDS.

Subdivision 1. Licensed utilization review organization. Beginning January 1, 1993, any organization
that meets the definition of utilization review organization in section 62M.02, subdivision 21, must be
licensed under chapter 60A, 62C, 62D, 62N, 62T, or 64B, or registered under this chapter and must comply
with this chapter and section 72A.201, subdivisions 8 and 8a. Each licensed community integrated service
network or health maintenance organization that has an employed staff model of providing health care
services shall comply with this chapter and section 72A.201, subdivisions 8 and 8a, for any services provided
by providers under contract.

Subd. 2. Nonlicensed utilization review organization. An organization that meets the definition of a
utilization review organization under section 62M.02, subdivision 21, that is not licensed in this state that
performs utilization review services for Minnesota residents must register with the commissioner of commerce
and must certify compliance with this chapter.

Initial registration must occur no later than January 1, 1993. The registration is effective for two years
and may be renewed. Applications for initial and renewal registrations must be made on forms prescribed
by the commissioner. Each utilization review organization registered under this chapter shall notify the
commissioner of commerce within 30 days of any change in the name, address, or ownership of the
organization. The organization shall pay to the commissioner of commerce a fee of $1,000 for the initial
registration application and $1,000 for each two-year renewal.

Subd. 3. Penalties and enforcements. If a utilization review organization fails to comply with this
chapter, the organization may not provide utilization review services for any Minnesota resident. The
commissioner of commerce may issue a cease and desist order under section 45.027, subdivision 5, to enforce
this provision. The cease and desist order is subject to appeal under chapter 14. A nonlicensed utilization
review organization that fails to comply with the provisions of this chapter is subject to all applicable penalty
and enforcement provisions of section 72A.201. Each utilization review organization licensed under chapter
60A, 62C, 62D, 62N, 62T, or 64B shall comply with this chapter as a condition of licensure.

History: 1992 ¢ 574 s 3; 1994 ¢ 625 art 2.5 9-11; 1997 ¢ 225 art 2 5 62; 1999 ¢ 239 s 17,18; 2001 ¢
215524, 2002 ¢ 3305 27; 2020 ¢ 114 art 2 s 20
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