1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2020 119B.11

119B.11 COUNTY CONTRIBUTION.

Subdivision 1. County contributions required. (a) In addition to payments from basic sliding fee child
care program participants, each county shall contribute from county tax or other sources a fixed local match
equal to its calendar year 1996 required county contribution reduced by the administrative funding loss that
would have occurred in state fiscal year 1996 under section 119B.15. The commissioner shall recover funds
from the county as necessary to bring county expenditures into compliance with this subdivision. The
commissioner may accept county contributions, including contributions above the fixed local match, in order
to make state payments.

(b) The commissioner may accept payments from counties to:
(1) fulfill the county contribution as required under subdivision 1;

(2) pay for services authorized under this chapter beyond those paid for with federal or state funds or
with the required county contributions; or

(3) pay for child care services in addition to those authorized under this chapter, as authorized under
other federal, state, or local statutes or regulations.

(c) The county payments must be deposited in an account in the special revenue fund. Money in this
account is appropriated to the commissioner for child care assistance under this chapter and other applicable
statutes and regulations and is in addition to other state and federal appropriations.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1997 c 162 art 1 s 19]

Subd. 2a. Recovery of overpayments. (a) An amount of child care assistance paid to a recipient in
excess of the payment due is recoverable by the county agency under paragraphs (b) and (c), even when the
overpayment was caused by agency error or circumstances outside the responsibility and control of the
family or provider.

(b) An overpayment must be recouped or recovered from the family if the overpayment benefited the
family by causing the family to pay less for child care expenses than the family otherwise would have been
required to pay under child care assistance program requirements. If the family remains eligible for child
care assistance, the overpayment must be recovered through recoupment as identified in Minnesota Rules,
part 3400.0187, except that the overpayments must be calculated and collected on a service period basis. If
the family no longer remains eligible for child care assistance, the county may choose to initiate efforts to
recover overpayments from the family for overpayment less than $50. If the overpayment is greater than or
equal to $50, the county shall seek voluntary repayment of the overpayment from the family. If the county
is unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county shall initiate civil court
proceedings to recover the overpayment unless the county's costs to recover the overpayment will exceed
the amount of the overpayment. A family with an outstanding debt under this subdivision is not eligible for
child care assistance until: (1) the debt is paid in full; or (2) satisfactory arrangements are made with the
county to retire the debt consistent with the requirements of this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400,
and the family is in compliance with the arrangements.

(c) The county must recover an overpayment from a provider if the overpayment did not benefit the
family by causing it to receive more child care assistance or to pay less for child care expenses than the
family otherwise would have been eligible to receive or required to pay under child care assistance program
requirements, and benefited the provider by causing the provider to receive more child care assistance than
otherwise would have been paid on the family's behalf under child care assistance program requirements.
If the provider continues to care for children receiving child care assistance, the overpayment must be
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recovered through reductions in child care assistance payments for services as described in an agreement
with the county. The provider may not charge families using that provider more to cover the cost of recouping
the overpayment. If the provider no longer cares for children receiving child care assistance, the county may
choose to initiate efforts to recover overpayments of less than $50 from the provider. If the overpayment is
greater than or equal to $50, the county shall seek voluntary repayment of the overpayment from the provider.
If the county is unable to recoup the overpayment through voluntary repayment, the county shall initiate
civil court proceedings to recover the overpayment unless the county's costs to recover the overpayment
will exceed the amount of the overpayment. A provider with an outstanding debt under this subdivision is
not eligible to care for children receiving child care assistance until:

(1) the debt is paid in full; or

(2) satisfactory arrangements are made with the county to retire the debt consistent with the requirements
of this chapter and Minnesota Rules, chapter 3400, and the provider is in compliance with the arrangements.

(d) When both the family and the provider acted together to intentionally cause the overpayment, both
the family and the provider are jointly liable for the overpayment regardless of who benefited from the
overpayment. The county must recover the overpayment as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c). When the
family or the provider is in compliance with a repayment agreement, the party in compliance is eligible to
receive child care assistance or to care for children receiving child care assistance despite the other party's
noncompliance with repayment arrangements.

Subd. 3. Federal money; state recovery. The commissioner shall recover from counties any state or
federal money that was spent for persons found to be ineligible, except if the recovery is made by a county
agency using any method other than recoupment, the county may keep 25 percent of the recovery. If a federal
audit exception is taken based on a percentage of federal earnings, all counties shall pay a share proportional
to their respective federal earnings during the period in question.

Subd. 4. Maintenance of funding effort. To receive money through this program, each county shall
certify, in its annual plan to the commissioner, that the county has not reduced allocations from other federal
and state sources, which, in the absence of the child care fund, would have been available for child care
assistance. However, the county must continue contributions, as necessary, to maintain on the basic sliding
fee program, families who are receiving assistance on July 1, 1995, until the family loses eligibility for the
program or until a family voluntarily withdraws from the program. This subdivision does not affect the local
match required for this program under other sections of the law.

History: ISp1985c 14 art9s 72, 1987 ¢ 403 art 3s 70; 1989 ¢ 282 art 2 s 150, 1995 c 139 s 1, 1995
c207 art 4 s 33-35; 1997 ¢ 162 art 4 s 34-36,; 1999 ¢ 205 art 1 s 32; 1Sp2001 c 3 art I s 5; 1Sp2003 c 14
art9s 19
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