
551.04 GENERAL PROVISIONS.​

Subdivision 1. Rules of Civil Procedure. Unless this chapter specifically provides otherwise, the​
Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts shall apply in all proceedings under this chapter.​

Subd. 2. Property attachable. Subject to the exemptions provided by subdivision 3 and section 550.37,​
and any other applicable statute, the service of a writ of execution under this chapter attaches:​

(a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (c), all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing or​
to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor within the pay period in​
which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods whose paydays occur within the​
90 days after the date of service of the writ of execution. "Payday" means the day upon which the third party​
pays earnings to the judgment debtor in the ordinary course of business. If the judgment debtor has no regular​
paydays, payday means the 15th day and the last day of each month.​

(b) All other nonexempt indebtedness or money due or belonging to the judgment debtor and owing by​
the third party or in the possession or under the control of the third party at the time of service of the writ​
of execution, whether or not the same, has become payable. The third party shall not be compelled to pay​
or deliver the same before the time specified by any agreement unless the agreement was fraudulently​
contracted to defeat an execution levy or other collection remedy.​

(c) For an execution on a judgment for child support, all unpaid nonexempt disposable earnings owing​
or to be owed by the third party and earned or to be earned by the judgment debtor within the pay period in​
which the writ of execution is served and within all subsequent pay periods until the judgment is satisfied​
if the judgment creditor is a county and the third party is notified by the county when the judgment is satisfied.​

Subd. 3. Property not attachable. The following property is not subject to attachment by a writ of​
execution served pursuant to this chapter:​

(1) any indebtedness or money due to the judgment debtor, unless at the time of the service of the writ​
of execution the same is due absolutely or does not depend upon any contingency;​

(2) any judgment owing by the third party to the judgment debtor, if the third party or the third party's​
property is liable on an execution levy upon the judgment;​

(3) any debt owing by the third party to the judgment debtor for which any negotiable instrument has​
been issued or endorsed by the third party;​

(4) any indebtedness or money due to the judgment debtor where the judgment debtor is a bank, savings​
bank, trust company, credit union, savings association, or industrial loan and thrift company with deposit​
liabilities;​

(5) any indebtedness or money due to the judgment debtor with a cumulative value of less than $10;​
and​

(6) any disposable earnings, indebtedness, or money that is exempt under Minnesota or federal law.​

Subd. 4. Service of third-party levy; notice and disclosure forms. When levying upon money or​
earnings owed to the judgment debtor by a third party, the attorney for the judgment creditor shall serve a​
copy of the writ of execution upon the third party either by registered or certified mail, or by personal service.​
A third-party levy served by registered or certified mail is effective if served at the third party's regular place​
of business. Along with a copy of the writ of execution, the attorney shall serve upon the third party a notice​
of third-party levy and disclosure form that must be substantially in the form set forth below. If the levy is​
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upon earnings, the attorney shall serve upon the third party the notice of third party levy and disclosure form​
as set forth in section 551.06, subdivision 9.​

DISTRICT COURT​STATE OF MINNESOTA​

.................................JUDICIAL DISTRICT​COUNTY OF ........................................

File No. .................

(Judgment Creditor)​..................................................

NOTICE OF THIRD PARTY​against​

LEVY AND DISCLOSURE​(Judgment Debtor)​..................................................

(OTHER THAN EARNINGS)​and​

(Third Party)​..................................................

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, chapter 551, the undersigned, as attorney​
for the judgment creditor, hereby makes demand and levies execution upon all money due and owing by​
you (up to $10,000) to the judgment debtor for the amount of the judgment specified below. A copy of the​
writ of execution issued by the court is enclosed. The unpaid judgment balance is $.......​

In responding to this levy, you are to complete the attached disclosure form and mail it to the undersigned​
attorney for the judgment creditor, together with your check payable to the above-named judgment creditor,​
for the nonexempt amount owed by you to the judgment debtor or for which you are obligated to the judgment​
debtor, within the time limits set forth in chapter 551.​

If you are a financial institution and the judgment debtor is a natural person, two exemption notices are​
also enclosed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section 551.02. Only natural persons are entitled to exemptions​
under this statute.​

Attorney for the Judgment Creditor​

......................................................................Address:​

......................................................................

......................................................................Phone number:​

DISCLOSURE​

On the ..... day of ............., ......., the time of service of the execution levy herein, there was due and​
owing the judgment debtor from the third party the following:​

(1) Money. Enter on the line below any amounts due and owing the judgment debtor, except earnings,​
from the third party.​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(2) Setoff. Enter on the line below the amount of any setoff, defense, lien, or claim which the third party​
claims against the amount set forth on line (1). State the facts by which such setoff, defense, lien, or claim​
is claimed. (Any indebtedness to you incurred by the judgment debtor within ten days prior to the receipt​
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of the first execution levy on a debt may not be claimed as a setoff, defense, lien, or claim against the amount​
set forth on line (1).)​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(3) Exemption. Enter on the line below any amounts or property claimed by the judgment debtor to be​
exempt from execution.​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(4) Adverse Interest. Enter on the line below any amounts claimed by other persons by reason of​
ownership or interest in the judgment debtor's property.​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(5) Enter on the line below the total of lines (2), (3), and (4).​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(6) Enter on the line below the difference obtained (never less than zero when line (5) is subtracted from​
the amount on line (1)).​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(7) Enter on the line below 100 percent of the amount of the judgment creditor's claim which remains​
unpaid.​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

(8) Enter on the line below the lesser of line (6) and line (7). You are hereby instructed to remit this​
amount only if it is $10 or more.​

..........................................................................................................................................................................

AFFIRMATION​

I, ....................... (person signing Affirmation), am the third party or I am authorized by the third party​
to complete this nonearnings disclosure, and have done so truthfully and to the best of my knowledge.​

.............................................................................Dated: ....................................................

Signature​

.............................................................................

Title​

.............................................................................

Telephone Number​

Subd. 5. Third-party fees. If the levy is upon earnings or upon funds at a financial institution, the third​
party shall be paid a $15 fee at the time of the service of the writ of execution. Failure to pay the fee renders​
the levy void, and the third party shall take no action. The $15 shall not be paid where the funds being levied​
on are being held pursuant to a garnishment previously served in compliance with chapter 571. This fee may​
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be recovered by the judgment creditor as an allowable disbursement. If a third party is required to appear​
and submit to oral examination, the third party shall be tendered, in advance of the examination, fees and​
mileage for attendance at the rate allowed by law to a witness. These fees may be recovered by the judgment​
creditor as an allowable disbursement. In extraordinary cases, the third party may be allowed additional​
sums the court considers reasonable for attorney's fees and other necessary expenses. The court shall then​
determine which party bears the burden of this expense.​

Subd. 6. Third-party disclosure and remittance. Within 15 days after receipt of the writ of execution,​
unless governed by section 551.05 or 551.06, the third party shall disclose and remit to the judgment creditor's​
attorney as much of the amount due under section 550.04, but not more than $10,000, as the third party's​
own debt equals to the judgment debtor. The attorney for the judgment creditor shall proceed in all other​
respects like the sheriff making a similar execution levy. No more than $10,000 may be recovered by a​
single execution levy pursuant to this section.​

Subd. 7. Oral disclosure. Before or after the service of a written disclosure by a third party under​
subdivision 6, upon a showing by affidavit upon information and belief that an oral examination of the third​
party would provide a complete disclosure of relevant facts, any party to the execution proceedings may​
obtain an ex parte order requiring the third party, or a representative of the third party designated by name​
or by title, to appear for oral examination before the court or a referee appointed by the court. Notice of the​
examination must be given to all parties.​

Subd. 8. Supplemental complaint. If a third party holds property, money, earnings, or other indebtedness​
by a title that is void as to the judgment debtor's creditors, the property may be levied on although the​
judgment debtor would be barred from maintaining an action to recover the property, money, earnings, or​
other indebtedness. In this and all other cases where the third party denies liability, the judgment creditor​
may move the court at any time before the third party is discharged, on notice to both the judgment debtor​
and the third party for an order making the third party a party to the supplemental action and granting the​
judgment creditor leave to file a supplemental complaint against the third party and the judgment debtor.​
The supplemental complaint shall set forth the facts upon which the judgment creditor claims to charge the​
third party. If probable cause is shown, the motion shall be granted. The supplemental complaint shall be​
served upon the third party and the judgment debtor and any other parties. The parties served shall answer​
or respond pursuant to the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District Courts, and if they fail to do​
so, judgment by default may be entered against them.​

Subd. 9. Judgment against third party upon failure to disclose or remit. Judgment may be entered​
against a third party who has been served with a writ of execution and fails to disclose or remit the levied​
funds as required in this chapter. Upon order to show cause served on the third party and notice of motion​
supported by affidavit of facts and affidavit of service upon both the judgment debtor and third party, the​
court may render judgment against the third party for an amount not exceeding 100 percent of the amount​
claimed in the execution or $10,000, whichever is less. Judgment against the third party pursuant to this​
section shall not bar the judgment creditor from further remedies under this chapter as a result of any​
subsequent defaults by the third party. The court upon good cause shown may remove the default and permit​
the third party to disclose or remit on just terms.​

Subd. 10. Costs; satisfaction. Except as provided for in subdivision 5, neither the judgment creditor​
nor its attorney shall be allowed costs from any party other than the judgment creditor for a levy in accordance​
with this section. Upon expiration, the attorney making the execution shall endorse on the writ partial​
satisfaction by amount or the total satisfaction and return the original writ of execution to the court​
administrator of that court, pursuant to section 550.051, subdivision 2, for filing without charge.​
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Subd. 11. Forms. No judgment creditor shall use a form that contains alterations or changes from the​
statutory forms that mislead judgment debtors as to their rights and the execution procedure generally. If a​
court finds that a judgment creditor has used a misleading form, the judgment debtor shall be awarded actual​
damages, costs, reasonable attorney's fees resulting from additional proceedings, and an amount not to​
exceed $100. All forms must be clearly legible and printed in not less than the equivalent of 10-point type.​
A form that uses both sides of a sheet must clearly indicate on the front side that there is additional information​
on the back side of the sheet.​

Forms, including the statutory forms, used in executions upon earnings for the satisfaction of judgments​
for child support must be changed by the creditor to reflect the fact that the 90-day period of effectiveness​
does not apply to these executions if the judgment creditor is a county and the employer is notified by the​
county when the judgment is satisfied.​

Subd. 12. Third-party good faith requirement. The third party is not liable to the judgment debtor,​
judgment creditor, or other person for wrongful retention if the third party retains or remits disposable​
earnings, indebtedness, or money of the judgment debtor or any other person, pending the third party's​
disclosure or consistent with the disclosure the third party makes, if the third party has a good faith belief​
that the property retained or remitted is subject to the execution. In addition, the third party may, at any time​
before or after disclosure, proceed under Rule 67 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure for the District​
Courts to make deposit into court. No third party is liable for damages if the third party complies with the​
provisions of this chapter.​

Subd. 13. Bad faith claim. If, in a proceeding brought under section 551.05, subdivision 8, or a similar​
proceeding under this chapter to determine a claim of exemption, the claim of exemption is not upheld, and​
the court finds that it was asserted in bad faith, the judgment creditor shall be awarded actual damages, costs,​
reasonable attorney fees resulting from the additional proceedings, and an amount not to exceed $100. If​
the claim of exemption is upheld, and the court finds that the judgment creditor disregarded the claim of​
exemption in bad faith, the judgment debtor shall be awarded actual damages, costs, reasonable attorney​
fees resulting from the additional proceedings, and an amount not to exceed $100. The underlying judgment​
shall be modified to reflect assessment of damages, costs, and attorney fees. However, if the party in whose​
favor a penalty assessment is made is not actually indebted to that party's attorney for fees, the attorney fee​
award shall be made directly to the attorney, and if not paid, an appropriate judgment in favor of the attorney​
shall be entered. Any action by a judgment creditor made in bad faith and in violation of this chapter renders​
the execution levy void and the judgment creditor liable to the judgment debtor named in the execution levy​
in the amount of $100, actual damages, and reasonable attorney fees and costs.​

Subd. 14. Discharge of a third party. Subject to subdivisions 6 and 15, the third party, after disclosure,​
shall be discharged of any further obligation to the judgment creditor when one of the following conditions​
is met:​

(a) The third party discloses that the third party is not indebted to the judgment debtor or does not possess​
any earnings, property, money, or indebtedness belonging to the judgment debtor that is attachable as defined​
in subdivision 2. The disclosure is conclusive against the judgment creditor and discharges the third party​
from any further obligation to the judgment creditor other than to retain and remit all nonexempt disposable​
earnings, property, indebtedness, or money of the judgment debtor which was disclosed.​

(b) The third party discloses that the third party is indebted to the judgment debtor as indicated on the​
execution disclosure form. The disclosure is conclusive against the judgment creditor and discharges the​
third party from any further obligation to the judgment creditor other than to retain and remit all nonexempt​
disposable earnings, property, indebtedness, or money of the judgment debtor that was disclosed.​
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(c) The court may, upon motion of an interested person, discharge the third party as to any disposable​
earnings, money, property, or indebtedness in excess of the amount that may be required to satisfy the​
judgment creditor's claim.​

Subd. 15. Exceptions to discharge of third party. The third party is not discharged if:​

(a) Within 20 days of the service of the third party's disclosure, an interested person serves a motion​
relating to the execution levy. The hearing on the motion must be scheduled to be heard within 30 days of​
the service of the motion.​

(b) The judgment creditor moves the court for leave to file a supplemental complaint against the third​
party, as provided for in subdivision 8, and the court upon proper showing vacates the discharge of the third​
party.​

Subd. 16. Joinder and intervention by persons in interest. If it appears that a person, who is not a​
party to the action, has or claims an interest in any of the disposable earnings, other indebtedness, or money,​
the court shall permit that person to intervene or join in the execution proceeding under this chapter. If that​
person does not appear, the court may summon that person to appear or order the claim barred. The person​
so appearing or summoned shall be joined as a party and be bound by the judgment.​

Subd. 17. Appeal. A party to an execution proceeding aggrieved by an order or final judgment may​
appeal as in other civil cases.​

History: 1990 c 606 art 2 s 4; 1993 c 13 art 1 s 47; 1993 c 156 s 7,8; 1995 c 202 art 1 s 25; 1998 c 254​
art 1 s 107; 2000 c 405 s 7-9; 2020 c 86 art 4 s 7,8​
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