
171.20 MINNESOTA LICENSE REQUIRED; CONDITIONS, FEES.​

Subdivision 1. [Repealed, 1993 c 266 s 34]​

Subd. 2. Operation after revocation, suspension, cancellation, or disqualification. (a) A resident or​
nonresident whose driver's license or right or privilege to operate a motor vehicle in this state has been​
suspended, revoked, or canceled, shall not operate a motor vehicle in this state under license, permit, or​
registration certificate issued by any other jurisdiction or otherwise during the suspension, or after the​
revocation until Minnesota driving privileges are reinstated.​

(b) A resident or nonresident who has been disqualified from holding a commercial driver's license or​
been denied the privilege to operate a commercial motor vehicle in this state shall not operate a commercial​
motor vehicle in this state under license, permit, or registration certificate issued by any other jurisdiction​
or otherwise during the disqualification period until Minnesota commercial driving privileges are reinstated.​

Subd. 3. Driver improvement clinic. The commissioner may require, before reissuing a license which​
has been revoked or suspended, that the licensee complete a course of study at an approved driver improvement​
clinic or, in the case of a licensee who is age 18 or younger, a youth-oriented driver improvement clinic.​
The commissioner may not require the licensee to complete such a course unless an approved driver​
improvement clinic or youth-oriented driver improvement clinic is located within 35 miles of the licensee's​
residence. For purposes of this section "an approved driver improvement clinic" means a clinic whose​
curriculum and mode of instruction conform to standards promulgated by the commissioner.​

Subd. 4. Reinstatement fee. (a) Before the license is reinstated, (1) an individual whose driver's license​
has been suspended under section 171.16, subdivisions 2 and 3; 171.175; 171.18; or 171.182, or who has​
been disqualified from holding a commercial driver's license under section 171.165, and (2) an individual​
whose driver's license has been suspended under section 171.186 and who is not exempt from such a fee,​
must pay a fee of $20.​

(b) Before the license is reinstated, an individual whose license has been suspended under sections​
169.791 to 169.798 must pay a $20 reinstatement fee.​

(c) When fees are collected by a licensing agent appointed under section 171.061, a handling charge is​
imposed in the amount specified under section 171.061, subdivision 4. The reinstatement fee and surcharge​
must be deposited in an approved state depository as directed under section 171.061, subdivision 4.​

(d) Reinstatement fees collected under paragraph (a) for suspensions under sections 171.16, subdivision​
3, and 171.18, subdivision 1, clause (10), must be deposited in the general fund.​

(e) A suspension may be rescinded without fee for good cause.​

History: (2720-145e) 1939 c 401 s 20; 1961 c 44 s 1; 1965 c 711 s 6; 1969 c 9 s 32; 1969 c 118 s 2;​
1980 c 520 s 3; 1983 c 127 s 1; 1985 c 291 s 22; 1989 c 228 s 3; 1989 c 307 s 31; 1995 c 265 art 2 s 20;​
1Sp1997 c 2 s 55; 1998 c 388 s 27; 1998 c 405 s 7; 2000 c 426 s 28; 2002 c 344 s 4; 1Sp2003 c 19 art 2 s​
39; 2004 c 295 art 1 s 13; 2005 c 136 art 18 s 12; 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 42; 2007 c 143 art 3 s 7; 1Sp2019 c​
5 art 2 s 4​

Copyright © 2019 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.​

171.20​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2019​1​


	Sec. 171.20
	Subd. 1
	Subd. 2
	Subd. 3
	Subd. 4


