
168.327 DRIVER AND VEHICLE RECORD FEES.​

Subdivision 1. Records and fees. (a) Upon request by any person authorized in this section, the​
commissioner shall furnish a certified copy of any driver's license record, instruction permit record, Minnesota​
identification card record, vehicle registration record, vehicle title record, or accident record.​

(b) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, and other than accident records governed under section​
169.09, subdivision 13, the requester shall pay a fee of $10 for each certified record specified in paragraph​
(a) or a fee of $9 for each record that is not certified.​

(c) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, in addition to the record fee in paragraph (b), the fee for​
a copy of the history of any vehicle title not in electronic format is $1 for each page of the historical record.​

(d) Fees collected under paragraph (b) for driver's license, instruction permit, and Minnesota identification​
card records must be paid into the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund. The​
remainder of the fees collected must be credited to the driver services operating account in the special revenue​
fund under section 299A.705.​

(e) Fees collected under paragraphs (b) and (c) for vehicle registration or title records must be paid into​
the state treasury with 50 cents of each fee credited to the general fund. The remainder of the fees collected​
must be credited to the vehicle services operating account in the special revenue fund specified in section​
299A.705.​

(f) Except as provided in subdivisions 4 and 5, the commissioner shall permit a person to inquire into​
a record by the person's own electronic means for a fee of $4.50 for each inquiry, except that no fee may be​
charged when the requester is the subject of the data.​

(1) Of the $4.50 fee, $2.70 must be deposited in the general fund.​

(2) For driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification card records, the remainder must​
be deposited in the driver services operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.​

(3) For vehicle title or registration records, the remainder must be deposited in the vehicle services​
operating account in the special revenue fund under section 299A.705.​

(g) Fees and the deposit of the fees for accident records and reports are governed by section 169.09,​
subdivision 13.​

Subd. 2. Requests for information; surcharge on fee. (a) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision​
3, the commissioner shall impose a surcharge of 50 cents on each fee charged by the commissioner under​
section 13.03, subdivision 3, for copies or electronic transmittals of public information about the registration​
of a vehicle or an applicant, or holder of a driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota identification​
card.​

(b) The surcharge only applies to a fee imposed in response to a request made in person or by mail, or​
to a request for transmittal through a computer modem. The surcharge does not apply to the request of an​
individual for information about that individual's driver's license, instruction permit, or Minnesota​
identification card or about vehicles registered or titled in the individual's name.​

(c) The surcharges collected under this subdivision must be credited to the general fund.​

Copyright © 2019 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.​

168.327​MINNESOTA STATUTES 2019​1​



Subd. 3. Exception to fee and surcharge. (a) Notwithstanding subdivision 2 or section 13.03, a fee or​
surcharge may not be imposed in response to a request for public information about the registration of a​
vehicle if the commissioner is satisfied that:​

(1) the requester seeks the information on behalf of a community-based, nonprofit organization designated​
by a local law enforcement agency to be a requester; and​

(2) the information is needed to identify suspected prostitution law violators, controlled substance law​
violators, or health code violators.​

(b) The commissioner shall not require a requester under paragraph (a) to make a minimum number of​
data requests or limit the requester to a maximum number of data requests.​

Subd. 4. Driver records subscription service. (a) The commissioner may implement a driver records​
subscription service to provide information concerning access to driver license, instruction permit, and​
identification card records, including regular notice of records that have changed, to subscribers who:​

(1) pay applicable fees; and​

(2) are approved by the commissioner in accordance with sections 168.346 and 171.12, and United​
States Code, title 18, section 2721.​

(b) If a driver records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner shall establish a fee that​
does not exceed $3,680 per month for a subscription to the service. Fees collected under this paragraph must​
be credited to the driver services operating account under section 299A.705, and are appropriated to the​
commissioner for the purposes in paragraph (a) and this paragraph.​

(c) If a driver records subscription service is implemented, the commissioner shall charge a fee of $0.02​
per driver record requested. Of the fees collected under this paragraph, 20 percent must be credited to the​
driver services operating account under section 299A.705 and is appropriated to the commissioner for the​
purposes in this subdivision; 30 percent must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue​
fund under section 3.9741, subdivision 5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services​
technology account under section 299A.705.​

Subd. 5. Bulk vehicle records requests. (a) "Bulk vehicle records" in this section is a total of 1,000 or​
more vehicle title records and vehicle registration records.​

(b) The commissioner shall charge a fee of $0.02 per record for a request of bulk vehicle records.​

(c) Of the fees collected, 20 percent must be credited to the vehicle services operating account under​
section 299A.705 and is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes in this subdivision; 30 percent​
must be credited to the data security account in the special revenue fund under section 3.9741, subdivision​
5; and 50 percent must be credited to the driver and vehicle services technology account under section​
299A.705.​

Subd. 6. Review and audit of purchases of bulk driver and motor vehicle records. Each subscriber​
and each requester of bulk vehicle records shall engage an independent professional organization to audit​
its uses of bulk data and its information technology security procedures, including the methods and practices​
employed in the processing and use of driver and vehicle services data. Within 30 days of the date of the​
audit report, each subscriber and requester must submit each report to the legislative auditor and the​
commissioner.​

History: 1Sp2005 c 6 art 2 s 25; 2014 c 293 s 4-7; 1Sp2019 c 3 art 2 s 25,26​
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