1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2018 256P.07

256P.07 REPORTING OF INCOME AND CHANGES.

Subdivision 1. Exempted programs. Participants who qualify for Minnesota supplemental aid under
chapter 256D and for housing support under chapter 2561 on the basis of eligibility for Supplemental Security
Income are exempt from this section.

Subd. 2. Reporting requirements. An applicant or participant must provide information on an application
and any subsequent reporting forms about the assistance unit's circumstances that affect eligibility or benefits.
An applicant or assistance unit must report changes identified in subdivision 3. When information is not
accurately reported, both an overpayment and a referral for a fraud investigation may result. When information
or documentation is not provided, the receipt of any benefit may be delayed or denied, depending on the
type of information required and its effect on eligibility.

Subd. 3. Changes that must be reported. An assistance unit must report the changes or anticipated
changes specified in clauses (1) to (12) within ten days of the date they occur, at the time of recertification
of eligibility under section 256P.04, subdivisions 8 and 9, or within eight calendar days of a reporting period,
whichever occurs first. An assistance unit must report other changes at the time of recertification of eligibility
under section 256P.04, subdivisions 8 and 9, or at the end of a reporting period, as applicable. When an
agency could have reduced or terminated assistance for one or more payment months if a delay in reporting
a change specified under clauses (1) to (12) had not occurred, the agency must determine whether a timely
notice could have been issued on the day that the change occurred. When a timely notice could have been
issued, each month's overpayment subsequent to that notice must be considered a client error overpayment
under section 119B.11, subdivision 2a, or 256P.08. Changes in circumstances that must be reported within
ten days must also be reported for the reporting period in which those changes occurred. Within ten days,
an assistance unit must report:

(1) a change in earned income of $100 per month or greater with the exception of a program under
chapter 119B;

(2) a change in unearned income of $50 per month or greater with the exception of a program under
chapter 119B;

(3) a change in employment status and hours with the exception of a program under chapter 119B;

(4) a change in address or residence;

(5) a change in household composition with the exception of programs under chapter 256I;

(6) a receipt of a lump-sum payment with the exception of a program under chapter 119B;

(7) an increase in assets if over $9,000 with the exception of programs under chapter 119B;

(8) a change in citizenship or immigration status;

(9) a change in family status with the exception of programs under chapter 256I;

(10) a change in disability status of a unit member, with the exception of programs under chapter 119B;

(11) anew rent subsidy or a change in rent subsidy with the exception of a program under chapter 119B;
and

(12) a sale, purchase, or transfer of real property with the exception of a program under chapter 119B.

Copyright © 2018 by the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



256P.07 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2018 2

Subd. 4. MFIP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance unit under chapter 256/,
within ten days of the change, must report:

(1) a pregnancy not resulting in birth when there are no other minor children; and
(2) a change in school attendance of a parent under 20 years of age or of an employed child.

Subd. 5. DWP-specific reporting. In addition to subdivisions 3 and 4, an assistance unit participating
in the diversionary work program under section 256J.95 must report on an application:

(1) shelter expenses; and
(2) utility expenses.

Subd. 6. Child care assistance programs-specific reporting. (a) In addition to subdivision 3, an
assistance unit under chapter 119B, within ten days of the change, must report:

(1) a change in a parentally responsible individual's custody schedule for any child receiving child care
assistance program benefits;

(2) a permanent end in a parentally responsible individual's authorized activity; and

(3) if the unit's family's annual included income exceeds 85 percent of the state median income, adjusted
for family size.

(b) An assistance unit subject to section 119B.095, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), must report a change
in the unit's authorized activity status.

(c) An assistance unit must notify the county when the unit wants to reduce the number of authorized
hours for children in the unit.

Subd. 7. Minnesota supplemental aid-specific reporting. In addition to subdivision 3, an assistance
unit participating in the Minnesota supplemental aid program under section 256D.44, subdivision 5, paragraph
(g), within ten days of the change, must report shelter expenses.

History: 2015 c 71 art 55 32,35, 1Sp2017 c 6 art 2 s 39; art 7 s 30,31, 2018 c 182 art I s 61
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