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Subdivision 1. Credit allowed. An individual is allowed a credit against the tax imposed by this chapter​
in an amount equal to 75 percent of the amount paid for education-related expenses for a qualifying child​
in kindergarten through grade 12. For purposes of this section, "education-related expenses" means:​

(1) fees or tuition for instruction by an instructor under section 120A.22, subdivision 10, clause (1), (2),​
(3), (4), or (5), or a member of the Minnesota Music Teachers Association, and who is not a lineal ancestor​
or sibling of the dependent for instruction outside the regular school day or school year, including tutoring,​
driver's education offered as part of school curriculum, regardless of whether it is taken from a public or​
private entity or summer camps, in grade or age appropriate curricula that supplement curricula and instruction​
available during the regular school year, that assists a dependent to improve knowledge of core curriculum​
areas or to expand knowledge and skills under the required academic standards under section 120B.021,​
subdivision 1, and the elective standard under section 120B.022, subdivision 1, clause (2), and that do not​
include the teaching of religious tenets, doctrines, or worship, the purpose of which is to instill such tenets,​
doctrines, or worship;​

(2) expenses for textbooks, including books and other instructional materials and equipment purchased​
or leased for use in elementary and secondary schools in teaching only those subjects legally and commonly​
taught in public elementary and secondary schools in this state. "Textbooks" does not include instructional​
books and materials used in the teaching of religious tenets, doctrines, or worship, the purpose of which is​
to instill such tenets, doctrines, or worship, nor does it include books or materials for extracurricular activities​
including sporting events, musical or dramatic events, speech activities, driver's education, or similar​
programs;​

(3) a maximum expense of $200 per family for personal computer hardware, excluding single purpose​
processors, and educational software that assists a dependent to improve knowledge of core curriculum areas​
or to expand knowledge and skills under the required academic standards under section 120B.021, subdivision​
1, and the elective standard under section 120B.022, subdivision 1, clause (2), purchased for use in the​
taxpayer's home and not used in a trade or business regardless of whether the computer is required by the​
dependent's school; and​

(4) the amount paid to others for transportation of a qualifying child attending an elementary or secondary​
school situated in Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, or Wisconsin, wherein a resident of this​
state may legally fulfill the state's compulsory attendance laws, which is not operated for profit, and which​
adheres to the provisions of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and chapter 363A. Amounts under this clause​
exclude any expense the taxpayer incurred in using the taxpayer's or the qualifying child's vehicle.​

For purposes of this section, "qualifying child" has the meaning given in section 32(c)(3) of the Internal​
Revenue Code.​

Subd. 2. Limitations. (a) For claimants with income not greater than $33,500, the maximum credit​
allowed for a family is $1,000 multiplied by the number of qualifying children in kindergarten through grade​
12 in the family. The maximum credit for families with one qualifying child in kindergarten through grade​
12 is reduced by $1 for each $4 of household income over $33,500, and the maximum credit for families​
with two or more qualifying children in kindergarten through grade 12 is reduced by $2 for each $4 of​
household income over $33,500, but in no case is the credit less than zero.​

For purposes of this section "income" has the meaning given in section 290.067, subdivision 2a. In the​
case of a married claimant, a credit is not allowed unless a joint income tax return is filed.​
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(b) For a nonresident or part-year resident, the credit determined under subdivision 1 and the maximum​
credit amount in paragraph (a) must be allocated using the percentage calculated in section 290.06, subdivision​
2c, paragraph (e).​

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 2014 c 308 art 9 s 94]​

Subd. 4. Credit to be refundable. If the amount of credit that the claimant is eligible to receive under​
this section exceeds the claimant's tax liability under this chapter, the commissioner shall refund the excess​
to the claimant.​

Subd. 5. Appropriation. An amount sufficient to pay the refunds required by this section is appropriated​
to the commissioner from the general fund.​

History: 1Sp1997 c 4 art 13 s 3; 1998 c 397 art 11 s 3; 1998 c 398 art 6 s 32; 1999 c 243 art 2 s 13,14;​
1Sp2001 c 5 art 9 s 11; 2005 c 151 art 6 s 17; 1Sp2005 c 3 art 3 s 10; 2016 c 158 art 3 s 16​
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