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FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT
177.21 CITATION; FAIR LABOR STANDARDS ACT.
Sections 177.21 to 177.35 may be cited as the "Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act."
History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 1; 1984 c 628 art4 s 1
177.22 STATEMENT OF PURPOSE.

The purpose of the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act is (1) to establish minimum wage and overtime
compensation standards that maintain workers' health, efficiency, and general well-being; (2) to safeguard
existing minimum wage and overtime compensation standards that maintain workers' health, efficiency, and
general well-being against the unfair competition of wage and hour standards that do not; and (3) to sustain
purchasing power and increase employment opportunities.

History: 1973 ¢ 7215 2; 1984 c 628 art4 s 1
177.23 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. Unless the language or context clearly indicates that a different meaning is
intended, the following terms, for the purposes of sections 177.21 to 177.35, have the meanings given to
them in this section.

Subd. 2. Department. "Department" means the Department of Labor and Industry.
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Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry or authorized
designee or representative.

Subd. 4. Wage. "Wage" means compensation due to an employee by reason of employment, payable in:
(1) legal tender of the United States;
(2) check on banks convertible into cash on demand at full face value;

(3) except for instances of written objection to the employer by the employee, direct deposit to the
employee's choice of demand deposit account; or

(4) an electronic fund transfer to a payroll card account that meets all of the requirements of section
177.255, subject to allowances permitted by rules of the department under section 177.28.

Subd. 5. Employ. "Employ" means to permit to work.

Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means any individual, partnership, association, corporation, business
trust, or any person or group of persons acting directly or indirectly in the interest of an employer in relation
to an employee.

Subd. 7. Employee. "Employee" means any individual employed by an employer but does not include:

(1) two or fewer specified individuals employed at any given time in agriculture on a farming unit or
operation who are paid a salary;

(2) any individual employed in agriculture on a farming unit or operation who is paid a salary greater
than the individual would be paid if the individual worked 48 hours at the state minimum wage plus 17
hours at 1-1/2 times the state minimum wage per week;

(3) an individual under 18 who is employed in agriculture on a farm to perform services other than
corn detasseling or hand field work when one or both of that minor hand field worker's parents or physical
custodians are also hand field workers;

(4) for purposes of section 177.24, an individual under 18 who is employed as a corn detasseler;

(5) any staff member employed on a seasonal basis by an organization for work in an organized resident
or day camp operating under a permit issued under section 144.72;

(6) any individual employed in a bona fide executive, administrative, or professional capacity, or a
salesperson who conducts no more than 20 percent of sales on the premises of the employer;

(7) any individual who renders service gratuitously for a nonprofit organization;

(8) any individual who serves as an elected official for a political subdivision or who serves on any
governmental board, commission, committee or other similar body, or who renders service gratuitously for
a political subdivision;

(9) any individual employed by a political subdivision to provide police or fire protection services or
employed by an entity whose principal purpose is to provide police or fire protection services to a political
subdivision;
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(10) any individual employed by a political subdivision who is ineligible for membership in the Public
Employees Retirement Association under section 353.01, subdivision 2b, clause (1), (2), (4), or (9), item (i);

(11) any driver employed by an employer engaged in the business of operating taxicabs;
(12) any individual engaged in babysitting as a sole practitioner;

(13) for the purpose of section 177.25, any individual employed on a seasonal basis in a carnival, circus,
fair, or ski facility;

(14) any individual under 18 working less than 20 hours per workweek for a municipality as part of
a recreational program;

(15) any individual employed by the state as a natural resource manager 1, 2, or 3 (conservation officer);

(16) any individual in a position for which the United States Department of Transportation has power
to establish qualifications and maximum hours of service under United States Code, title 49, section 31502;

(17) any individual employed as a seafarer. The term "seafarer" means a master of a vessel or any person
subject to the authority, direction, and control of the master who is exempt from federal overtime standards
under United States Code, title 29, section 213(b)(6), including but not limited to pilots, sailors, engineers,
radio operators, firefighters, security guards, pursers, surgeons, cooks, and stewards;

(18) any individual employed by a county in a single-family residence owned by a county home school
as authorized under section 260B.060 if the residence is an extension facility of that county home school,
and if the individual as part of the employment duties resides at the residence for the purpose of supervising
children as defined by section 260C.007, subdivision 4; or

(19) nuns, monks, priests, lay brothers, lay sisters, ministers, deacons, and other members of religious
orders who serve pursuant to their religious obligations in schools, hospitals, and other nonprofit institutions
operated by the church or religious order.

Subd. 8. Occupation. "Occupation" means any occupation, service, trade, business, industry, or branch
or group of industries or employment or class of employment in which employees are gainfully employed.

Subd. 9. Gratuities. "Gratuities" means monetary contributions received directly or indirectly by an
employee from a guest, patron, or customer for services rendered and includes an obligatory charge assessed
to customers, guests or patrons which might reasonably be construed by the guest, customer, or patron as
being a payment for personal services rendered by an employee and for which no clear and conspicuous
notice is given by the employer to the customer, guest, or patron that the charge is not the property of the
employee.

Subd. 10. On-site employee; hours worked. With respect to any caretaker, manager, or other on-
site employee of a residential building or buildings whose principal place of residence is in the residential
building, including a caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee who receives a principal place of
residence as full or partial compensation for duties performed for an employer, the term "hours worked"
includes time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee is performing any duties of em-
ployment, but does not mean time when the caretaker, manager, or other on-site employee is on the premises
and available to perform duties of employment and is not performing duties of employment.

Subd. 11. Companionship services; hours. With respect to an individual who is (1) employed to
provide companionship services to individuals who, because of age or infirmity, are unable to care for their
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own needs; (2) employed to stay overnight in the home of such an aged or infirm individual; and (3) paid
the minimum wage or more for at least four hours associated with the overnight stay, the term "hours" for
the purposes of requiring the payment of minimum wages and overtime premiums under sections 177.24
and 177.25, shall not include nighttime hours, from 10:00 p.m. to 9:00 a.m., up to a total of eight hours per
night, during which the employee is available to perform duties for the aged or infirm individual, but is not
in fact performing such duties and is free to sleep and otherwise engage in normal private pursuits in the
aged or infirm individual's home. For the purposes of this subdivision, the term "companionship services"
is defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, sections 552.6 and 552.106 as of March 1, 1984.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 3; 1974 ¢ 406 s 88; 1975 ¢ 399 s 1; 1977 ¢ 3695 1; 1978 ¢ 5865 1, 1978 ¢ 731
§1;1979¢ 281 s 1; 1980 c 4155 1; 1982 ¢ 424 5 46-48; 1982 ¢ 625 5 14, 1983 c 605 1; 1983 c 1225 1;
1984 c 614 s 1; 1984 c 628 art 45 1; 1Sp1985 ¢ 13 s 274,275, 1986 ¢ 390 s 2; 1986 c 444; 1990 ¢ 418 s
1; 1992 c 464 art 1 s 24, 1999 c 139 art 45 2; 2001 c 178 art 1 s 44; 2005 ¢ 10 art 1 s 33; 2005 ¢ 158 s
1,4, 2007 ¢ 87 s 1; 2008 ¢ 168 s 1; 2015 c 21 art I s 109

177.24 PAYMENT OF MINIMUM WAGES.

Subdivision 1. Amount. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the terms defined in this paragraph have
the meanings given them.

(1) "Large employer" means an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done
is not less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) and covered
by the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.

(2) "Small employer" means an enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done
is less than $500,000 (exclusive of excise taxes at the retail level that are separately stated) and covered by
the Minnesota Fair Labor Standards Act, sections 177.21 to 177.35.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in sections 177.21 to 177.35:

(1) every large employer must pay each employee wages at a rate of at least:
(1) $8.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

(ii) $9.00 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

(ii1) $9.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018; and
(2) every small employer must pay each employee at a rate of at least:

(1) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

(i) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

(iii) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

(iv) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), during the first 90 consecutive days of employment, an employer
may pay an employee under the age of 20 years a wage of at least:
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(1) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

(2) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.

No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a
reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized
in this paragraph.

(d) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), an employer that is a "hotel or motel," "lodging establishment,"
or "resort" as defined in Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 157.15, subdivisions 7, 8, and 11, must pay an
employee working under a contract with the employer that includes the provision by the employer of a food
or lodging benefit, if the employee is working under authority of a summer work travel exchange visitor
program (J) nonimmigrant visa, a wage of at least:

(1) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

(2) $7.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.

No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a
reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized
in this paragraph.

(e) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a large employer must pay an employee under the age of 18 at a
rate of at least:

(1) $6.50 per hour beginning August 1, 2014;

(2) $7.25 per hour beginning August 1, 2015;

(3) $7.75 per hour beginning August 1, 2016; and

(4) the rate established under paragraph (f) beginning January 1, 2018.

No employer may take any action to displace an employee, including a partial displacement through a
reduction in hours, wages, or employment benefits, in order to hire an employee at the wage authorized
in this paragraph.

(f) No later than August 31 of each year, beginning in 2017, the commissioner shall determine the
percentage increase in the rate of inflation, as measured by the implicit price deflator, national data for
personal consumption expenditures as determined by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau
of Economic Analysis during the 12-month period immediately preceding that August or, if that data is
unavailable, during the most recent 12-month period for which data is available. The minimum wage rates
in paragraphs (b), (c), (d), and (e) are increased by the lesser of: (1) 2.5 percent, rounded to the nearest cent;
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or (2) the percentage calculated by the commissioner, rounded to the nearest cent. A minimum wage rate
shall not be reduced under this paragraph. The new minimum wage rates determined under this paragraph
take effect on the next January 1.

(g)(1) No later than September 30 of each year, beginning in 2017, the commissioner may issue an
order that an increase calculated under paragraph (f) not take effect. The commissioner may issue the order
only if the commissioner, after consultation with the commissioner of management and budget, finds that
leading economic indicators, including but not limited to projections of gross domestic product calculated
by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis; the Consumer Confidence
Index issued by the Conference Board; and seasonally adjusted Minnesota unemployment rates, indicate the
potential for a substantial downturn in the state's economy. Prior to issuing an order, the commissioner shall
also calculate and consider the ratio of the rate of the calculated change in the minimum wage rate to the
rate of change in state median income over the same time period used to calculate the change in wage rate.
Prior to issuing the order, the commissioner shall hold a public hearing, notice of which must be published
in the State Register, on the department's Web site, in newspapers of general circulation, and by other means
likely to inform interested persons of the hearing, at least ten days prior to the hearing. The commissioner
must allow interested persons to submit written comments to the commissioner before the public hearing
and for 20 days after the public hearing.

(2) The commissioner may in a year subsequent to issuing an order under clause (1), make a sup-
plemental increase in the minimum wage rate in addition to the increase for a year calculated under paragraph
(f). The supplemental increase may be in an amount up to the full amount of the increase not put into
effect because of the order. If the supplemental increase is not the full amount, the commissioner may make
a supplemental increase of the difference, or any part of a difference, in a subsequent year until the full
amount of the increase ordered not to take effect has been included in a supplemental increase. In making
a determination to award a supplemental increase under this clause, the commissioner shall use the same
considerations and use the same process as for an order under clause (1). A supplemental wage increase is
not subject to and shall not be considered in determining whether a wage rate increase exceeds the limits
for annual wage rate increases allowed under paragraph (f).

Subd. 1a. [Expired]

Subd. 2. Gratuities not applied. No employer may directly or indirectly credit, apply, or utilize
gratuities towards payment of the minimum wage set by this section or federal law.

Subd. 3. Sharing of gratuities. For purposes of this chapter, any gratuity received by an employee or
deposited in or about a place of business for personal services rendered by an employee is the sole property
of the employee. No employer may require an employee to contribute or share a gratuity received by the
employee with the employer or other employees or to contribute any or all of the gratuity to a fund or pool
operated for the benefit of the employer or employees. This section does not prevent an employee from
voluntarily sharing gratuities with other employees. The agreement to share gratuities must be made by the
employees without employer coercion or participation, except that an employer may:

(1) upon the request of employees, safeguard gratuities to be shared by employees and disburse shared
gratuities to employees participating in the agreement;

(2) report the amounts received as required for tax purposes; and

(3) post a copy of this section for the information of employees.
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The commissioner may require the employer to pay restitution in the amount of the gratuities diverted. If
the records maintained by the employer do not provide sufficient information to determine the exact amount
of gratuities diverted, the commissioner may make a determination of gratuities diverted based on available
evidence and mediate a settlement with the employer.

Subd. 4. Unreimbursed expenses deducted. Deductions, direct or indirect, from wages or gratuities not
authorized by this subdivision may only be taken as authorized by sections 177.28, subdivision 3, 181.06,
and 181.79. Deductions, direct or indirect, for up to the full cost of the uniform or equipment as listed
below, may not exceed $50 or, if a motor vehicle dealer licensed under section 168.27 furnishes uniforms or
clothing described in clause (1) on an ongoing basis, may not exceed the lesser of 50 percent of the dealer's
reasonable expense or $25 per month, including nonhome maintenance. No deductions, direct or indirect,
may be made for the items listed below which when subtracted from wages would reduce the wages below
the minimum wage:

(1) purchased or rented uniforms or specially designed clothing required by the employer, by the nature
of the employment, or by statute as a condition of employment, which is not generally appropriate for use
except in that employment;

(2) purchased or rented equipment used in employment, except tools of a trade, a motor vehicle, or any
other equipment which may be used outside the employment;

(3) consumable supplies required in the course of that employment;

(4) travel expenses in the course of employment except those incurred in traveling to and from the
employee's residence and place of employment.

Subd. 5. Expense reimbursement. An employer, at the termination of an employee's employment,
must reimburse the full amount deducted, directly or indirectly, for any of the items listed in subdivision
4, except for a motor vehicle dealer's rental and maintenance deduction for uniforms or clothing. When
reimbursement is made, the employer may require the employee to surrender any existing items for which
the employer provided reimbursement.

History: 1973 ¢ 72154, 1976c 1655 1; 1977 c 18351, 1977¢369s2; 1979c¢281s52; 1981 c875s1,2;
1984 c628art4s 1; 1Sp1985c 135 276-278; 1986 c 444; 1987 ¢ 324 s 1; 1987 ¢ 384 art 25 45; 1990 c 418
§2-4;, 1996 c 305 art 1 s49,50; 2Sp1997 c1s1;2005¢c44s1;,2009c 695 1,2; 2011 c 1055 1;2014c 16652

177.25 OVERTIME.

Subdivision 1. Compensation required. No employer may employ an employee for a workweek longer
than 48 hours, unless the employee receives compensation for employment in excess of 48 hours in a
workweek at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times the regular rate at which the employee is employed. The state of
Minnesota or a political subdivision may grant time off at the rate of 1-1/2 hours for each hour worked in
excess of 48 hours in a week in lieu of monetary compensation. An employer does not violate the overtime
pay provisions of this section by employing any employees for a workweek in excess of 48 hours without
paying the compensation for overtime employment prescribed (1) if the employee is employed under an
agreement meeting the requirement of section 7(b)(2) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, as amended,
or (2) if the employee is employed as a sugar beet hand laborer on a piece rate basis, provided that the regular
rate of pay received per hour of work exceeds the applicable wage provided in section 177.24, subdivision
1 by at least 40 cents.
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Subd. 2. Health care exception. An employer who operates a health care facility does not violate
subdivision 1 if the employer and employee agree before performance of the work to accept a work period
of 14 consecutive days in lieu of the workweek of seven consecutive days for the purpose of overtime
compensation and if for the employment in excess of eight hours in any workday and in excess of 80 hours
in the 14-day period the employee receives compensation at a rate not less than 1-1/2 times the regular rate
at which the employee is employed.

Subd. 3. Motor vehicle salespeople; mechanics. Subdivision 1 does not apply to any salesperson,
parts person, or mechanic primarily engaged in selling or servicing automobiles, trailers, trucks, or farm
implements and paid on a commission or incentive basis, if employed by a nonmanufacturing establishment
primarily engaged in selling the vehicles to ultimate purchasers.

Subd. 4. Constructors of on-farm silos. Subdivision 1 does not apply if the employee is employed in
the construction of on-farm silos or the installation of appurtenant equipment on a unit or piece rate basis,
if the regular rate of pay received per hour of work exceeds the applicable wage provided in section 177.24,
subdivision 1.

Subd. 5. Air carrier employees. Subdivision 1 does not apply to employees of air carriers subject to
the provisions of title II of the Railway Labor Act, when the hours worked by an employee in excess of
48 in a workweek are not required by the carrier, but are arranged through a voluntary agreement among
employees to trade scheduled work hours.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 5; 1981 ¢ 289 s 1,3; 1Sp1981 ¢ 4 art 4 5 30; 1983 ¢ 60 s 2,3; 1983 c 95 s I;
1984 c 628 art4s 1; 1986 c 444, 2011 c 11 s 1

177.251 RIDE SHARING NOT OVERTIME.

The provisions of this chapter relating to compensation for overtime and payment of a minimum wage do
not apply to employees' time spent in ride-sharing arrangements as defined in section 169.011, subdivision
65.

History: 1983 ¢ 3115 10; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1
177.253 MANDATORY WORK BREAKS.

Subdivision 1. Rest breaks. An employer must allow each employee adequate time from work within
each four consecutive hours of work to utilize the nearest convenient restroom.

Subd. 2. Collective bargaining agreement. Nothing in this section prohibits employers and employees
from establishing rest breaks different from those provided in this section pursuant to a collective bargaining
agreement.

History: /1988 ¢ 559 s 1
177.254 MANDATORY MEAL BREAK.

Subdivision 1. Meal break. An employer must permit each employee who is working for eight or more
consecutive hours sufficient time to eat a meal.

Subd. 2. Payment not required. Nothing in this section requires the employer to pay the employee
during the meal break.
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Subd. 3. Collective bargaining agreement. Nothing in this section prohibits employers and employees
from establishing meal periods different from those provided in this section pursuant to a collective
bargaining agreement.

History: 1989 c 167 s 1
177.255 PAYROLL CARD ACCOUNTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given them in this subdivision.

(a) "Payroll card" means a card issued to an employee by an employer or other payroll card issuer to
access funds from the employee's employee payroll card account.

(b) "Payroll card account" means an agreement providing that an employer pays each participating
employee's wages by making an electronic fund transfer to an account, and participating employees receive
a payroll card to access their funds.

(c) "Payroll card issuer" means an employer that issues a payroll card to an employee or a bank or other
entity that issues a payroll card to an employee on behalf of the employer.

(d) "Offers a payroll card" includes both the direct offers by the employer and the employer distribution
to employees of material describing a payroll card program prepared by a payroll card issuer other than
the employer.

(e) "Free" means no fee is deducted from an employee's payroll card account or charged to the employee
by the employer or the payroll card issuer.

(f) "Fee" means any and all fees, charges, surcharges, or costs.

Subd. 2. Filing. A payroll card issuer must file with the commissioner a notice containing:
(1) the entity's true name;

(2) any other names under which the entity conducts business;

(3) the entity's address, which may not be a post office box; and

(4) the entity's telephone number.

Subd. 3. Ownership of wages. Wages paid by electronic funds transferred to an employee's payroll
card account must be owned by the employee.

Subd. 4. Availability of wages. An employee who chooses to be paid wages by electronic fund transfer
to a payroll card account must be permitted to withdraw by a free transaction from the employee's payroll
card account, an amount up to and including the total amount of the employee's entire net pay, as stated
on the employee's earnings statement. The free transaction must be available to the employee on and after
the employee's regular payday.

Subd. 5. Written disclosure. When offering an employee the option of being paid wages by electronic
fund transfer to a payroll card account, the employer shall provide to the employee written disclosure in
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plain language of all the employee's wage payment options. The written disclosure shall state the terms
and conditions of the payroll card account option, including, but not limited to, the requirements set forth
in this section and a complete itemized list of all fees that may be deducted from the employee's payroll
card account by the employer or card issuer. The disclosure must also state that third parties may assess
transaction fees in addition to the fees assessed by the employee's payroll card issuer or issuers. For fees
that may be deducted or charged by the employer or payroll card issuer, the dollar amount of each fee must
be stated. A copy of the written disclosure must be provided to the employee.

Subd. 6. Written consent. The employer may initiate payment of wages to an employee by electronic
fund transfer to a payroll card account only after the employee has voluntarily consented in writing to that
method of payment. Consent to payment of wages by electronic fund transfer to a payroll card account shall
not be a condition of hire or of continued employment. The written consent signed by the employee must
include the terms and conditions of the payroll card account option as provided in subdivision 5. A copy of
the signed written consent must be provided to the employee and be retained by the employer.

Subd. 7. Transactions; statements; fees. The employer shall provide to the employee, upon the
employee's written or oral request, one free transaction history each month that includes all deposits,
withdrawals, deductions, or charges by any entity from or to the employee's payroll card account.

Subd. 8. No link to credit. The payroll card or payroll card account shall not be linked to any form of
credit including, but not limited to, a loan against future pay or a cash advance on future pay.

Subd. 9. Personal information. Unless the employee consents in writing to the use, information
generated by the employee's possession or use of a payroll card or payroll card account may only be used
to process transactions and administer the payroll card and the payroll card account.

Subd. 10. Languages other than English. An employer who offers a payroll card account option to an
employee using materials in a language other than English, shall provide the written disclosure and written
consent required by subdivisions 5 and 6, and all payroll card account agreements in that other language.

Subd. 11. Change of wage payment method. An employee who is being paid wages by electronic fund
transfer to a payroll card account may request to be paid wages by another method that is allowed by law.
Upon the employee's request to change the wage payment method, the employer shall provide a form on
which the employee shall indicate the change. The employer shall, within 14 days of the employee's request,
begin payment by a different allowable method.

Subd. 12. Limitation on employer fees. An employer may not charge an employee initiation, par-
ticipation, loading, or other fees to receive wages payable in an electronic fund transfer to a payroll card
account.

Subd. 13. Prohibited deductions and charges. Fees imposed by the employer or payroll card issuer
that were not disclosed to the employee shall not be deducted from the employee's payroll card account or
charged to the employee. Inactivity or dormancy fees shall not be deducted from an employee's payroll card
account or charged to the employee.

Subd. 14. Violations; penalty. A violation of this section is subject to the penalty provided in section
177.32, subdivision 1.

History: 2005 ¢ 158 s 2,4; 2007 ¢ 87 s 1; 2008 ¢ 168 s 1
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177.26 DIVISION OF LABOR STANDARDS.

Subdivision 1. Creation. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship in the Department of
Labor and Industry is supervised and controlled by the commissioner of labor and industry.

Subd. 2. Powers and duties. The Division of Labor Standards and Apprenticeship shall administer this
chapter and chapters 178, 181, 181A, and 184.

Subd. 3. Employees; transfer from Division of Women and Children. All persons employed by the
department in the Division of Women and Children are transferred to the Division of Labor Standards. A
transferred person does not lose rights acquired by reason of employment at the time of transfer.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 6; 1984 c 628 art 45 1; 1986 c 444, 1992 c 438 s 1, 2003 c 128 art 11 s 2,3
177.27 POWERS AND DUTIES OF COMMISSIONER.

Subdivision 1. Examination of records. The commissioner may enter during reasonable office hours
or upon request and inspect the place of business or employment of any employer of employees working in
the state, to examine and inspect books, registers, payrolls, and other records of any employer that in any
way relate to wages, hours, and other conditions of employment of any employees. The commissioner may
transcribe any or all of the books, registers, payrolls, and other records as the commissioner deems necessary
or appropriate and may question the employees to ascertain compliance with sections 177.21 to 177.435.
The commissioner may investigate wage claims or complaints by an employee against an employer if the
failure to pay a wage may violate Minnesota law or an order or rule of the department.

Subd. 2. Submission of records; penalty. The commissioner may require the employer of employees
working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified copies, or, if necessary, the
originals of employment records which the commissioner deems necessary or appropriate. The records
which may be required include full and correct statements in writing, including sworn statements by the
employer, containing information relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information
pertaining to the employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems
necessary or appropriate.

The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail delivery or, if necessary,
by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employer, as authorized by the employer
in writing.

The commissioner may fine the employer up to $1,000 for each failure to submit or deliver records
as required by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, sub-
division 1. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such
penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

Subd. 3. Adequacy of records. If the records maintained by the employer do not provide sufficient
information to determine the exact amount of back wages due an employee, the commissioner may make a
determination of wages due based on available evidence and mediate a settlement with the employer.

Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply
with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14,
181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939
to 181.943, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order
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requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes
of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date
of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435
and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that
required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department
shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified
mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written
notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the
order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within
15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection
with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

Subd. 5. Civil actions. The commissioner may bring an action in the district court where an employer
resides or where the commissioner maintains an office to enforce or require compliance with orders issued
under subdivision 4.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 386 s 13]

Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have violated a section
identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28, and the commissioner issues an order
to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative
practice and to take such affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the
purposes of the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved
parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee by
the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer who is found by the
commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall
be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount
of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's
business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order the
employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate litigation and hearing
costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested case proceeding, unless payment of costs
would impose extreme financial hardship on the employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme
financial hardship, then the commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that
will not cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services rendered
by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department, administrative law judges, court
reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to,
the unpaid balance of a commissioner's order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it
is paid, at an annual rate provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may
establish escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.

Subd. 8. Court actions; suits brought by private parties. An employee may bring a civil action
seeking redress for a violation or violations of sections 177.21 to 177.44 directly to district court. An
employer who pays an employee less than the wages and overtime compensation to which the employee is
entitled under sections 177.21 to 177.44 is liable to the employee for the full amount of the wages, gratuities,
and overtime compensation, less any amount the employer is able to establish was actually paid to the
employee and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. In addition, in an action under this
subdivision the employee may seek damages and other appropriate relief provided by subdivision 7 and
otherwise provided by law. An agreement between the employee and the employer to work for less than the
applicable wage is not a defense to the action.
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Subd. 9. District court jurisdiction. Any action brought under subdivision 8 may be filed in the district
court of the county wherein a violation or violations of sections 177.21 to 177.44 are alleged to have been
committed, where the respondent resides or has a principal place of business, or any other court of competent
jurisdiction. The action may be brought by one or more employees.

Subd. 10. Attorney fees and costs. In any action brought pursuant to subdivision 8, the court shall order
an employer who is found to have committed a violation or violations of sections 177.21 to 177.44 to pay
to the employee or employees reasonable costs, disbursements, witness fees, and attorney fees.

History: 1973 ¢ 7215 7; 1982 ¢ 424 s 49,130, 1983 ¢ 209 s 1; 1984 ¢ 628 art 45 1; 1Sp1985 c 13 s
279; 1986 ¢ 444; 1987 ¢ 3295 21; 1987 ¢ 384 art 2 s 1; 1996 ¢ 386 s 1-6; 2007 ¢ 46 s 1; 2007 ¢ 135 art 3
s4-82009c78art5s2;2013c¢c85art2s2;2014c239art4s1;2015¢c54art6s 1

177.28 POWER TO MAKE RULES.

Subdivision 1. General authority. The commissioner may adopt rules, including definitions of terms,
to carry out the purposes of sections 177.21 to 177.44, to prevent the circumvention or evasion of those
sections, and to safeguard the minimum wage and overtime rates established by sections 177.24 and 177.25.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1988 ¢ 629 s 64]

Subd. 3. Rules required. The commissioner shall adopt rules under sections 177.21 to 177.35 defining
and governing:

(1) salespeople who conduct no more than 20 percent of their sales on the premises of the employer;

(2) allowances as part of the wage rates for board, lodging, and other facilities or services furnished by
the employer and used by the employees;

(3) bonuses;

(4) part-time rates;

(5) special pay for special or extra work;

(6) procedures in contested cases;

(7) other facilities or services furnished by employers and used by employees; and
(8) other special items usual in a particular employer-employee relationship.
Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 305 art 1 s 52]

Subd. 5. Rules regarding people with disabilities. In order to prevent curtailment of opportunities
for employment, avoid undue hardship, and safeguard the minimum wage rates under sections 177.24 and
177.25, the department shall also issue rules providing for the employment of disabled workers at wages
lower than the wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and for periods of time
as specified therein. The rules must provide for the employment of learners and apprentices at wages lower
than the wage rates applicable under sections 177.24 and 177.25, under permits and subject to limitations
on number, proportion, length of learning period, occupations, and other conditions as the department may
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prescribe. The rules must provide that where a disabled person is performing or is being considered for
employment where work must be performed which is equal to work performed by a nondisabled person,
the disabled person must be paid the same wage as a nondisabled person with similar experience and skill.

Subd. 6. Administrative Procedure Act to apply. The rules are subject to the provisions of chapter 14.

History: 1973 ¢c 7215 8; 1976 ¢ 165 s 2; 1977 ¢ 369 s 3, 1982 ¢ 424 5 50; 1984 c 628 art 4 s 1; 1984
c636s 1, 1Spl1985 c 135 280; 1986 c 444; 2005 ¢ 56 s 1, 2007 c 135 art 35 9

177.29 JUDICIAL REVIEW.

Subdivision 1. Appeal. A person aggrieved by an administrative rule issued under section 177.28 may
appeal in accordance with chapter 14.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1983 ¢ 247 s 219]
Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1983 ¢ 247 s 219]
History: 1973 ¢ 7215 9; 1982 c 424 5 51; 1983 c 247 s 75; 1984 c 628 art 4 5 1
177.295 [Repealed, 1985 ¢ 248 s 35]
177.30 KEEPING RECORDS; PENALTY.
(a) Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.44 must make and keep a record of:
(1) the name, address, and occupation of each employee;
(2) the rate of pay, and the amount paid each pay period to each employee;
(3) the hours worked each day and each workweek by the employee;

(4) for each employer subject to sections 177.41 to 177.44, and while performing work on public works
projects funded in whole or in part with state funds, the employer shall furnish under oath signed by an
owner or officer of an employer to the contracting authority and the project owner every two weeks, a
certified payroll report with respect to the wages and benefits paid each employee during the preceding
weeks specifying for each employee: name; identifying number; prevailing wage master job classification;
hours worked each day; total hours; rate of pay; gross amount earned; each deduction for taxes; total de-
ductions; net pay for week; dollars contributed per hour for each benefit, including name and address of
administrator; benefit account number; and telephone number for health and welfare, vacation or holiday,
apprenticeship training, pension, and other benefit programs; and

(5) other information the commissioner finds necessary and appropriate to enforce sections 177.21 to
177.435. The records must be kept for three years in or near the premises where an employee works except
each employer subject to sections 177.41 to 177.44, and while performing work on public works projects
funded in whole or in part with state funds, the records must be kept for three years after the contracting
authority has made final payment on the public works project.

(b) The commissioner may fine an employer up to $1,000 for each failure to maintain records as required
by this section. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In
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determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the
size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 10; 1982 c 424 s 52; 1983 ¢c 2095 2; 1984 c 628 art4 s 1; 1987 ¢ 3295 21, 1996
c386s7;2007 c135art3s10;,2009c78art5s3

177.31 POSTING OF LAW AND RULES; PENALTY.

Every employer subject to sections 177.21 to 177.44 must obtain and keep a summary of those sections,
approved by the department, and copies of any applicable rules adopted under those sections, or a summary
of the rules. The employer must post the summaries in a conspicuous and accessible place in or about the
premises in which any person covered by sections 177.21 to 177.44 is employed. The department shall
furnish copies of the summaries and rules to employers without charge.

The commissioner may fine an employer up to $200 for each failure to comply with this section. This
penalty is in addition to any penalties provided by section 177.32, subdivision 1.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 11; 1982 ¢ 424 s 53; 1983 ¢ 209 s 3; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1; 1987 ¢ 329 s 21;
2009 c 78 art5s 4

177.32 PENALTIES.
Subdivision 1. Misdemeanors. An employer who does any of the following is guilty of a misdemeanor:

(1) hinders or delays the commissioner in the performance of duties required under sections 177.21 to
177.435;

(2) refuses to admit the commissioner to the place of business or employment of the employer, as
required by section 177.27, subdivision 1;

(3) repeatedly fails to make, keep, and preserve records as required by section 177.30;
(4) falsifies any record;

(5) refuses to make any record available, or to furnish a sworn statement of the record or any other
information as required by section 177.27;

(6) repeatedly fails to post a summary of sections 177.21 to 177.44 or a copy or summary of the ap-
plicable rules as required by section 177.31;

(7) pays or agrees to pay wages at a rate less than the rate required under sections 177.21 to 177.44;
(8) refuses to allow adequate time from work as required by section 177.253; or
(9) otherwise violates any provision of sections 177.21 to 177.44.

Subd. 2. Fine. An employer shall be fined not less than $700 nor more than $3,000 if convicted of
discharging or otherwise discriminating against any employee because:

(1) the employee has complained to the employer or to the department that wages have not been paid
in accordance with sections 177.21 to 177.435;
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(2) the employee has instituted or will institute a proceeding under or related to sections 177.21 to
177.435; or

(3) the employee has testified or will testify in any proceeding.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 12; 1982 ¢ 424 s 54; 1983 ¢ 209 s 4; 1984 c 628 art 3 s 11; art 4 s 1; 1Sp1985
c13s5281; 1986 c 444; 1988 ¢ 55952, 2009 c 78 art5s 5

177.33 [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 386 s 13]
177.34 [Repealed, 1996 ¢ 310 s 1]
177.35 RIGHT OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING.

Nothing in sections 177.21 to 177.35 limits the right of employees to bargain collectively with their
employers through representatives of their own choosing to establish wages or other conditions of work
more favorable to the employees than those required by sections 177.21 to 177.35.

History: 1973 ¢ 721 s 15; 1982 ¢ 424 s 57; 1984 ¢ 628 art 4 s 1

PREVAILING WAGES
177.41 STATE PROJECTS AND STATE HIGHWAY CONSTRUCTION; PUBLIC POLICY.

It is in the public interest that public buildings and other public works be constructed and maintained by
the best means and highest quality of labor reasonably available and that persons working on public works
be compensated according to the real value of the services they perform. It is therefore the policy of this
state that wages of laborers, workers, and mechanics on projects financed in whole or part by state funds
should be comparable to wages paid for similar work in the community as a whole.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 s 1; 1975¢c 1915 1; 1984 c 628 art4 s 1
177.42 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Scope. As used in sections 177.41 to 177.44 the terms defined in this section have the
meanings given them except where the context indicates otherwise.

Subd. 2. Project. "Project" means erection, construction, remodeling, or repairing of a public building
or other public work financed in whole or part by state funds.

Subd. 3. Area. "Area" means the county or other locality from which labor for any project is normally
secured.

Subd. 4. Prevailing hours of labor. "Prevailing hours of labor" means the hours of labor per day and
per week worked within the area by a larger number of workers of the same class than are employed within
the area for any other number of hours per day and per week. The prevailing hours of labor may not be more
than eight hours per day or more than 40 hours per week.

Subd. 5. Hourly basic rate. "Hourly basic rate" means the hourly wage paid to any employee.
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Subd. 6. Prevailing wage rate. "Prevailing wage rate" means the hourly basic rate of pay plus the con-
tribution paid to or for the largest number of workers engaged in the same class of labor within the area
for medical or hospital care, pensions on retirement or death, compensation for injuries or illness resulting
from occupational activity, or insurance to provide any of the foregoing, for unemployment benefits,
life insurance, disability and sickness insurance, or accident insurance, for vacation and holiday pay, for
defraying the costs of apprenticeship or other similar programs, or for other bona fide fringe benefits, but
only where the contractor or subcontractor is not required by other federal, state, or local law to provide
any of those benefits, the amount of:

(1) the rate of contribution irrevocably made by a contractor or subcontractor to a trustee or to a third
person under a fund, plan, or program; and

(2) the rate of costs to the contractor or subcontractor that may be reasonably anticipated in providing
benefits to laborers and mechanics pursuant to an enforceable commitment to carry out a financially re-
sponsible plan or program which was communicated in writing to the laborers and mechanics affected.

"Prevailing wage rate" includes, for the purposes of section 177.44, rental rates for truck hire paid to
those who own and operate the truck.

The prevailing wage rate may not be less than a reasonable and living wage.

Subd. 7. Employer. "Employer" means an individual, partnership, association, corporation, business
trust, or other business entity that hires a laborer, worker, or mechanic.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 s 2; 1975¢ 191 s 2; 1984 c 628 art4s 1, 2009 c 78 art 5 5 6,7
177.43 CONTRACTS FOR STATE PROJECTS; PENALTY.
Subdivision 1. Hours of labor. Any contract which provides for a project must state that:

(1) no laborer or mechanic employed directly on the project work site by the contractor or any sub-
contractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do all or a part of the work of the project, is
permitted or required to work more hours than the prevailing hours of labor unless paid for all hours in
excess of the prevailing hours at a rate of at least 1-1/2 times the hourly basic rate of pay; and

(2) a laborer or mechanic may not be paid a lesser rate of wages than the prevailing wage rate in the
same or most similar trade or occupation in the area.

Subd. 2. Exceptions. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours of employment of laborers or
mechanics who process or manufacture materials or products or to the delivery of materials or products by
or for commercial establishments which have a fixed place of business from which they regularly supply
processed or manufactured materials or products. This section applies to laborers or mechanics who deliver
mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel, or stone which is incorporated into the work under the contract by
depositing the material substantially in place, directly or through spreaders, from the transporting vehicle.

Subd. 3. Contract requirements. The contract must specifically state the prevailing wage rates,
prevailing hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay. The contracting authority shall incorporate into its
proposals and all contracts the applicable wage determinations for the contract along with contract language
provided by the commissioner of labor and industry to notify the contractor and all subcontractors of the
applicability of sections 177.41 to 177.44. Failure to incorporate the determination or provided contract
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language into the contracts shall make the contracting authority liable for making whole the contractor
or subcontractor for any increases in the wages paid, including employment taxes and reasonable admin-
istrative costs based on the appropriate prevailing wage due to the laborers or mechanics working on the
project. The contract must also provide that the contracting agency shall demand, and the contractor and
subcontractor shall furnish to the contracting agency, copies of any or all payrolls not more than 14 days
after the end of each pay period. The payrolls must contain all the data required by section 177.30. The
contracting authority may examine all records relating to wages paid laborers or mechanics on work to
which sections 177.41 to 177.44 apply.

Subd. 4. Determination by commissioner; posting; petition for reconsideration. The prevailing
wage rates, prevailing hours of labor, and hourly basic rates of pay for all trades and occupations required
in any project must be ascertained before the state asks for bids. The commissioner of labor and industry
shall investigate as necessary to ascertain the information. Each contractor and subcontractor performing
work on a public project shall keep the information posted on the project in at least one conspicuous place
for the information of the employees working on the project. A person aggrieved by a final determination
of the commissioner may petition the commissioner for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved by
a decision of the commissioner after reconsideration may, within 20 days after the decision, petition the
commissioner for a public hearing in the manner of a contested case under sections 14.57 to 14.61.

Subd. 5. Penalty. It is a misdemeanor for an officer or employee of the state to execute a contract for a
project without complying with this section, or for a contractor, subcontractor, or agent to pay any laborer,
worker, or mechanic employed directly on the project site a lesser wage for work done under the contract
than the prevailing wage rate as stated in the contract. This misdemeanor is punishable by a fine of not more
than $700, or imprisonment for not more than 90 days, or both. Each agent or subcontractor shall furnish
to the contractor evidence of compliance with this section. Each day a violation of this section continues
is a separate offense.

Subd. 6. Examination of records; investigation by the department. The Department of Labor and
Industry shall enforce this section. The department may demand, and the contractor and subcontractor shall
furnish to the department, copies of any or all payrolls. The department may examine all records relating to
wages paid laborers or mechanics on work to which sections 177.41 to 177.44 apply. The department shall
employ at least three investigators to perform on-site project reviews, receive and investigate complaints of
violations of this section, and conduct training and outreach to contractors and contracting authorities for
public works projects financed in whole or in part with state funds.

Subd. 6a. Prevailing wage violations. Upon issuing a compliance order to an employer pursuant to
section 177.27, subdivision 4, for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.44, the commissioner shall issue
a withholding order to the contracting authority ordering the contracting authority to withhold payment
of sufficient sum to the prime or general contractor on the project to satisfy the back wages assessed
or otherwise cure the violation, and the contracting authority must withhold the sum ordered until the
compliance order has become a final order of the commissioner and has been fully paid or otherwise resolved
by the employer.

During an investigation of a violation of sections 177.41 to 177.44 which the commissioner reasonably
determines is likely to result in the finding of a violation of sections 177.41 to 177.44 and the issuance of
a compliance order pursuant to section 177.27, subdivision 4, the commissioner may notify the contracting
authority of the determination and the amount expected to be assessed and the contracting authority shall
give the commissioner 90 days' prior notice of the date the contracting authority intends to make final
payment.
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Subd. 7. Applicability. This section does not apply to a contract, or work under a contract, under which:

(1) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $2,500 and only one trade or occupation
is required to complete it, or

(2) the estimated total cost of completing the project is less than $25,000 and more than one trade or
occupation is required to complete it.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 5 3; 1975 ¢ 191 s 3,4, 1976 ¢ 331 5 37; 1982 ¢ 424 5 130, 1984 ¢ 628 art 3 s 11;
art4s 1; 2007 c 135 art3s 11-14; 2009 c 78 art 5s 8

177.435 FACILITY CONSTRUCTION; PREVAILING WAGE.

Construction of value-added agricultural product processing facility financed in whole or in part with
a loan or grant provided under section 41A.035, 41B.044, or 41B.046 is a "project" as that term is defined
in section 177.42, subdivision 2. Contracts for the construction or expansion of a value-added agricultural
product processing facility that is a project under this section must comply with section 177.43 if the loan
or grant agreement was entered into on or after December 31, 1995.

History: /995 ¢ 220s 113

177.44 HIGHWAY CONTRACTS; HOURS OF LABOR; WAGE RATES; PENALTY.

Subdivision 1. Hours, wages permitted. A laborer or mechanic employed by a contractor, sub-
contractor, agent, or other person doing or contracting to do all or part of the work under a contract based
on bids as provided in Minnesota Statutes 1971, section 161.32, to which the state is a party, for the con-
struction or maintenance of a highway, may not be permitted or required to work longer than the prevailing
hours of labor unless the laborer or mechanic is paid for all hours in excess of the prevailing hours at a rate
of at least 1-1/2 times the hourly basic rate of pay of the laborer or mechanic. The laborer or mechanic must
be paid at least the prevailing wage rate in the same or most similar trade or occupation in the area.

Subd. 2. Applicability. This section does not apply to wage rates and hours of employment of laborers or
mechanics engaged in the processing or manufacture of materials or products, or to the delivery of materials
or products by or for commercial establishments which have a fixed place of business from which they
regularly supply the processed or manufactured materials or products. This section applies to laborers or
mechanics who deliver mineral aggregate such as sand, gravel, or stone which is incorporated into the work
under the contract by depositing the material substantially in place, directly or through spreaders, from the
transporting vehicle.

Subd. 3. Investigations by Department of Labor and Industry. The Department of Labor and Industry
shall conduct investigations and hold public hearings necessary to define classes of laborers and mechanics
and to determine the hours of labor and wage rates prevailing in all areas of the state for all classes of labor
and mechanics commonly employed in highway construction work, so as to determine prevailing hours of
labor, prevailing wage rates, and hourly basic rates of pay.

The department shall determine the nature of the equipment furnished by truck drivers who own and
operate trucks on contract work to determine minimum rates for the equipment, and shall establish by rule
minimum rates to be computed into the prevailing wage rate.

Subd. 4. Certification of hours and rate. The commissioner of labor and industry shall at least once
a year certify the prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rate, and the hourly basic rate of pay for
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all classes of laborers and mechanics referred to in subdivision 3 in each area. The certification must also
include future hours and rates when they can be determined for classes of laborers and mechanics in an area.
The certification must specifically state the effective dates of future hours and rates when they are certified.
If a construction project extends into more than one area there shall be only one standard of hours of labor
and wage rates for the entire project. A person aggrieved by a final determination of the commissioner
may petition the commissioner for reconsideration of findings. A person aggrieved by a decision of the
commissioner after reconsideration may within 20 days after the decision petition the commissioner for a
public hearing as in a contested case under sections 14.57 to 14.61. If the commissioner finds that a change
in the certified prevailing hours of labor, prevailing wage rate, and the hourly basic rate of pay for a class
of laborers or mechanics in any area is required, the commissioner may at any time certify that change.

Subd. 5. Hours and rates to be posted. The prevailing hours of labor, the prevailing wage rates,
the hourly basic rates of pay, and classifications for all labor as certified by the commissioner must be
specifically stated in the proposals and contracts for each highway construction contract to which the state
is a party. These hours, rates, and classifications, together with the provisions of subdivision 6, must be kept
posted on the project by the employer in at least one conspicuous place for the information of employees
working on the project.

Subd. 6. Penalties. A contractor, subcontractor, or agent who violates this section is guilty of a mis-
demeanor and may be fined not more than $300 or imprisoned not more than 90 days or both. Each day
that the violation continues is a separate offense.

Whoever induces a job applicant or employee on any project subject to this section to give up or forgo
any part of the wages to which entitled under the contract governing the project by threat not to employ,
by threat of dismissal from employment, or by any other means may be fined not exceeding $1,000 or
imprisoned not more than one year or both.

Any employee under this section who knowingly permits the contractor or subcontractor to pay less
than the prevailing wage rate set forth in the contract, or who gives up any part of the compensation to which
entitled under the contract, may be fined not exceeding $40 or imprisoned not more than 30 days or both.
Each day any violation of this paragraph continues is a separate offense.

Subd. 7. Department of Transportation to enforce. The Department of Transportation shall require
adherence to this section. The commissioner of transportation may demand and every contractor and sub-
contractor shall furnish copies of payrolls. The commissioner of transportation may examine all records
relating to hours of work and the wages paid laborers and mechanics on work to which this section applies.
Upon request of the Department of Transportation or upon complaint of alleged violation, the county
attorney of the county in which the work is located shall investigate and prosecute violations in a court of
competent jurisdiction.

History: 1973 ¢ 724 s 4, 1975 ¢ 191 5 5,6, 1976 ¢ 166 s 7; 1976 ¢ 331 s 38; 1982 ¢ 424 s 130; 1984
cO28art4s 1; 1986 c 444
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