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256L.07 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.
Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original children's health

plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program after
September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and children
who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 and the four-month
requirement in subdivision 3, as long as they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare
program or medical assistance.

Parents enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose income
increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer eligible for the
program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January 1, 2008, individuals
enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above
200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines
on or after July 1, 2009, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by
the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage
terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the commissioner
determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income limits.

(b) Children may remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if their gross family income as defined
in section 256L.01, subdivision 4, is greater than 275 percent of federal poverty guidelines. The
premium for children remaining eligible under this paragraph shall be the maximum premium
determined under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare if gross
household income exceeds $57,500 for the 12-month period of eligibility.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2.Must not have access to employer-subsidized coverage. (a) To be eligible, a
family or individual must not have access to subsidized health coverage through an employer and
must not have had access to employer-subsidized coverage through a current employer for 18
months prior to application or reapplication. A family or individual whose employer-subsidized
coverage is lost due to an employer terminating health care coverage as an employee benefit
during the previous 18 months is not eligible.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to a family or individual who was enrolled
in MinnesotaCare within six months or less of reapplication and who no longer has
employer-subsidized coverage due to the employer terminating health care coverage as an
employee benefit. This subdivision does not apply to children with family gross incomes that are
equal to or less than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines.

(c) For purposes of this requirement, subsidized health coverage means health coverage
for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for the employee or
dependent, or a higher percentage as specified by the commissioner. Children are eligible for
employer-subsidized coverage through either parent, including the noncustodial parent. The
commissioner must treat employer contributions to Internal Revenue Code Section 125 plans and
any other employer benefits intended to pay health care costs as qualified employer subsidies
toward the cost of health coverage for employees for purposes of this subdivision.

[See Note.]
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Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 3. Other health coverage. (a) Families and individuals enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program must have no health coverage while enrolled. Children with family gross incomes equal
to or greater than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines, and adults, must have had no health
coverage for at least four months prior to application and renewal. Children enrolled in the original
children's health plan and children in families with income equal to or less than 200 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines, who have other health insurance, are eligible if the coverage:

(1) lacks two or more of the following:

(i) basic hospital insurance;

(ii) medical-surgical insurance;

(iii) prescription drug coverage;

(iv) dental coverage; or

(v) vision coverage;

(2) requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or

(3) lacks coverage because the child has exceeded the maximum coverage for a particular
diagnosis or the policy excludes a particular diagnosis.

The commissioner may change this eligibility criterion for sliding scale premiums in order
to remain within the limits of available appropriations. The requirement of no health coverage
does not apply to newborns.

(b) Coverage purchased as provided under section 256L.031, subdivision 2, medical
assistance, and the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Uniformed Service, CHAMPUS,
or other coverage provided under United States Code, title 10, subtitle A, part II, chapter 55,
are not considered insurance or health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement
described in this subdivision.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to Medicare Part
A or enrolled in Medicare Part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act, United
States Code, title 42, sections 1395c to 1395w-152, is considered to have health coverage. An
applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A may not refuse to apply for
or enroll in Medicare coverage to establish eligibility for MinnesotaCare.

(d) Applicants who were recipients of medical assistance within one month of application
must meet the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 2.

(e) Cost-effective health insurance that was paid for by medical assistance is not considered
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement under this section, except if the
insurance continued after medical assistance no longer considered it cost-effective or after
medical assistance closed.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. Families with children in need of chemical dependency treatment. Premiums for
families with children when a parent has been determined to be in need of chemical dependency
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treatment pursuant to an assessment conducted by the county under section 626.556, subdivision
10, or a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, who are eligible for
MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, may be paid by the county of residence of
the person in need of treatment for one year from the date the family is determined to be eligible
or if the family is currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare from the date the person is determined to
be in need of chemical dependency treatment. Upon renewal, the family is responsible for any
premiums owed under section 256L.15. If the family is not currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare,
the local county human services agency shall determine whether the family appears to meet the
eligibility requirements and shall assist the family in applying for the MinnesotaCare program.

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 1 s 68]
Subd. 6. [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]
Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 97]
Subd. 8. [Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 1 s 68]
Subd. 9. [Repealed, 2013 c 108 art 1 s 68]
History: 1986 c 444; 1992 c 549 art 4 s 8,19; 1993 c 345 art 9 s 8; 1994 c 625 art 8 s

56,72; 1995 c 234 art 6 s 11-13; 1997 c 187 art 1 s 18; 1997 c 225 art 1 s 12; 1998 c 407 art 5
s 33; 1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 98; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 63; 2002 c 220 art 15 s
21,22; 2002 c 277 s 30; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 78,79; 2005 c 10 art 1 s
56; 2005 c 59 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 69-72; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 28,29; art 13 s 3; 2008 c 286
art 1 s 10; 2008 c 358 art 3 s 10; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 63-66; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 35; 2012 c 247
art 1 s 22; 2013 c 108 art 1 s 54-56

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 54, is
effective January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2013, chapter 108,
article 1, section 54, the effective date. When effective, the subdivision will read:

"Subdivision 1. General requirements. Individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under
section 256L.04, subdivision 1, and individuals enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04,
subdivision 7, whose income increases above 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are
no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. For persons
disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage terminates the last day of the calendar
month following the month in which the commissioner determines that the income of a family or
individual exceeds program income limits."

NOTE: Subdivision 1 was also repealed by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 68,
effective January 1, 2014. This conflict will be addressed in the 2014 legislative session.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 55, is
effective January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2013, chapter 108,
article 1, section 55, the effective date. When effective, the subdivision will read:

"Subd. 2.Must not have access to employer-subsidized minimum essential coverage.
(a) To be eligible, a family or individual must not have access to subsidized health coverage
that is affordable and provides minimum value as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title
26, section 1.36B-2.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to a family or individual who no longer has
employer-subsidized coverage due to the employer terminating health care coverage as an
employee benefit."
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NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 56, is
effective January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2013, chapter 108,
article 1, section 56, the effective date. When effective, the subdivision will read:

"Subd. 3. Other health coverage. (a) To be eligible, a family or individual must not have
minimum essential health coverage, as defined by section 5000A of the Internal Revenue Code.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to Medicare Part
A or enrolled in Medicare Part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act, United
States Code, title 42, sections 1395c to 1395w-152, is considered to have minimum essential
health coverage. An applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A may
not refuse to apply for or enroll in Medicare coverage to establish eligibility for MinnesotaCare."
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