256L.15 PREMIUMS.

Subdivision 1. **Premium determination.** (a) Families with children and individuals shall pay a premium determined according to subdivision 2.

- (b) Pregnant women and children under age two are exempt from the provisions of section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b), clause (3), requiring disenrollment for failure to pay premiums. For pregnant women, this exemption continues until the first day of the month following the 60th day postpartum. Women who remain enrolled during pregnancy or the postpartum period, despite nonpayment of premiums, shall be disenrolled on the first of the month following the 60th day postpartum for the penalty period that otherwise applies under section 256L.06, unless they begin paying premiums.
- (c) Members of the military and their families who meet the eligibility criteria for MinnesotaCare upon eligibility approval made within 24 months following the end of the member's tour of active duty shall have their premiums paid by the commissioner. The effective date of coverage for an individual or family who meets the criteria of this paragraph shall be the first day of the month following the month in which eligibility is approved. This exemption applies for 12 months.
- (d) Beginning July 1, 2009, American Indians enrolled in MinnesotaCare and their families shall have their premiums waived by the commissioner in accordance with section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5. An individual must document status as an American Indian, as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50, to qualify for the waiver of premiums.

[See Note.]

Subd. 1a. **Payment options.** The commissioner may offer the following payment options to an enrollee:

- (1) payment by check;
- (2) payment by credit card;
- (3) payment by recurring automatic checking withdrawal;
- (4) payment by onetime electronic transfer of funds;
- (5) payment by wage withholding with the consent of the employer and the employee; or
- (6) payment by using state tax refund payments.

At application or reapplication, a MinnesotaCare applicant or enrollee may authorize the commissioner to use the Revenue Recapture Act in chapter 270A to collect funds from the applicant's or enrollee's refund for the purposes of meeting all or part of the applicant's or enrollee's MinnesotaCare premium obligation. The applicant or enrollee may authorize the commissioner to apply for the state working family tax credit on behalf of the applicant or enrollee. The setoff due under this subdivision shall not be subject to the \$10 fee under section 270A.07, subdivision 1.

- Subd. 1b. **Payments nonrefundable.** Only MinnesotaCare premiums paid for future months of coverage for which a health plan capitation fee has not been paid may be refunded.
- Subd. 2. **Sliding fee scale; monthly gross individual or family income.** (a) The commissioner shall establish a sliding fee scale to determine the percentage of monthly gross

individual or family income that households at different income levels must pay to obtain coverage through the MinnesotaCare program. The sliding fee scale must be based on the enrollee's monthly gross individual or family income. The sliding fee scale must contain separate tables based on enrollment of one, two, or three or more persons. Until June 30, 2009, the sliding fee scale begins with a premium of 1.5 percent of monthly gross individual or family income for individuals or families with incomes below the limits for the medical assistance program for families and children in effect on January 1, 1999, and proceeds through the following evenly spaced steps: 1.8, 2.3, 3.1, 3.8, 4.8, 5.9, 7.4, and 8.8 percent. These percentages are matched to evenly spaced income steps ranging from the medical assistance income limit for families and children in effect on January 1, 1999, to 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines for the applicable family size, up to a family size of five. The sliding fee scale for a family of five must be used for families of more than five. The sliding fee scale and percentages are not subject to the provisions of chapter 14. If a family or individual reports increased income after enrollment, premiums shall be adjusted at the time the change in income is reported.

- (b) Children in families whose gross income is above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines shall pay the maximum premium. The maximum premium is defined as a base charge for one, two, or three or more enrollees so that if all MinnesotaCare cases paid the maximum premium, the total revenue would equal the total cost of MinnesotaCare medical coverage and administration. In this calculation, administrative costs shall be assumed to equal ten percent of the total. The costs of medical coverage for pregnant women and children under age two and the enrollees in these groups shall be excluded from the total. The maximum premium for two enrollees shall be twice the maximum premium for one, and the maximum premium for three or more enrollees shall be three times the maximum premium for one.
- (c) Beginning July 1, 2009, MinnesotaCare enrollees shall pay premiums according to the premium scale specified in paragraph (d) with the exception that children in families with income at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines shall pay no premiums. For purposes of paragraph (d), "minimum" means a monthly premium of \$4.
- (d) The following premium scale is established for individuals and families with gross family incomes of 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or less:

| Federal Poverty Guideline Range | Percent of Average Gross Monthly Income |
|---------------------------------|--|
| 0-45% | minimum |
| 46-54% | \$4 or 1.1% of family income, whichever is greater |
| 55-81% | 1.6% |
| 82-109% | 2.2% |
| 110-136% | 2.9% |
| 137-164% | 3.6% |
| 165-191% | 4.6% |
| 192-219% | 5.6% |
| | |

220-248% 6.5% 249-275% 7.2%

[See Note.]

Subd. 3. MS 2010 [Repealed, 2008 c 358 art 3 s 14]

Subd. 4. [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]

History: 1995 c 234 art 6 s 20; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 39; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 99-101; 2001 c 203 s 16; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 65; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 24,25; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 83-85; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 57; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 74-76; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 32-34; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 11; 2008 c 358 art 3 s 11,14; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 68,69; 2009 c 173 art 3 s 20,25; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 24 s 7; 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 82; 2012 c 216 art 13 s 18; 2013 c 108 art 1 s 62,63

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 62, is effective January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 62, the effective date. When effective, the subdivision will read:

"Subdivision 1. **Premium determination.** (a) Families with children and individuals shall pay a premium determined according to subdivision 2.

- (b) Members of the military and their families who meet the eligibility criteria for MinnesotaCare upon eligibility approval made within 24 months following the end of the member's tour of active duty shall have their premiums paid by the commissioner. The effective date of coverage for an individual or family who meets the criteria of this paragraph shall be the first day of the month following the month in which eligibility is approved. This exemption applies for 12 months.
- (c) Beginning July 1, 2009, American Indians enrolled in MinnesotaCare and their families shall have their premiums waived by the commissioner in accordance with section 5006 of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009, Public Law 111-5. An individual must document status as an American Indian, as defined under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 447.50, to qualify for the waiver of premiums."
- **NOTE:** The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 63, is effective January 1, 2014, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 1, section 63, the effective date. When effective, the subdivision will read:
- "Subd. 2. **Sliding fee scale; monthly individual or family income.** (a) The commissioner shall establish a sliding fee scale to determine the percentage of monthly individual or family income that households at different income levels must pay to obtain coverage through the MinnesotaCare program. The sliding fee scale must be based on the enrollee's monthly individual or family income.
- (b) Beginning January 1, 2014, MinnesotaCare enrollees shall pay premiums according to the premium scale specified in paragraph (c) with the exception that children 20 years of age and younger in families with income at or below 200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines shall pay no premiums.
- (c) The following premium scale is established for each individual in the household who is 21 years of age or older and enrolled in MinnesotaCare:

| Federal Poverty Guideline | | |
|---------------------------|-----------|---------------------------|
| Greater than or Equal to | Less than | Individual Premium Amount |
| 0% | 55% | \$4 |
| 55% | 80% | \$6 |
| 80% | 90% | \$8 |
| 90% | 100% | \$10 |
| 100% | 110% | \$12 |
| 110% | 120% | \$15 |
| 120% | 130% | \$18 |
| 130% | 140% | \$21 |
| 140% | 150% | \$25 |
| 150% | 160% | \$29 |
| 160% | 170% | \$33 |
| 170% | 180% | \$38 |
| 180% | 190% | \$43 |
| 190% | | \$50" |
| | | |