
1 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2011 256L.07

256L.07 ELIGIBILITY FOR MINNESOTACARE.

Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original children's
health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program
after September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and
children who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal
poverty guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 and the
four-month requirement in subdivision 3, as long as they maintain continuous coverage in the
MinnesotaCare program or medical assistance. Children who apply for MinnesotaCare on or
after the implementation date of the employer-subsidized health coverage program as described
in Laws 1998, chapter 407, article 5, section 45, who have family gross incomes that are equal
to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, must meet the requirements of
subdivision 2 to be eligible for MinnesotaCare.

Families enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose income
increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer eligible for the
program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January 1, 2008, individuals
enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above
200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines
on or after July 1, 2009, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by
the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage
terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the commissioner
determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income limits.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), children may remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if
ten percent of their gross individual or gross family income as defined in section 256L.01,
subdivision 4, is less than the annual premium for a policy with a $500 deductible available
through the Minnesota Comprehensive Health Association. Children who are no longer eligible
for MinnesotaCare under this clause shall be given a 12-month notice period from the date that
ineligibility is determined before disenrollment. The premium for children remaining eligible
under this clause shall be the maximum premium determined under section 256L.15, subdivision
2, paragraph (b).

(c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare if
gross household income exceeds $57,500 for the 12-month period of eligibility.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2.Must not have access to employer-subsidized coverage. (a) To be eligible, a
family or individual must not have access to subsidized health coverage through an employer and
must not have had access to employer-subsidized coverage through a current employer for 18
months prior to application or reapplication. A family or individual whose employer-subsidized
coverage is lost due to an employer terminating health care coverage as an employee benefit
during the previous 18 months is not eligible.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to a family or individual who was enrolled
in MinnesotaCare within six months or less of reapplication and who no longer has
employer-subsidized coverage due to the employer terminating health care coverage as an
employee benefit.
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(c) For purposes of this requirement, subsidized health coverage means health coverage
for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for the employee or
dependent, or a higher percentage as specified by the commissioner. Children are eligible for
employer-subsidized coverage through either parent, including the noncustodial parent. The
commissioner must treat employer contributions to Internal Revenue Code Section 125 plans and
any other employer benefits intended to pay health care costs as qualified employer subsidies
toward the cost of health coverage for employees for purposes of this subdivision.

[See Note.]

Subd. 2a. [Repealed, 2007 c 147 art 5 s 41]

Subd. 3. Other health coverage. (a) Families and individuals enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program must have no health coverage while enrolled or for at least four months prior to
application and renewal. Children enrolled in the original children's health plan and children in
families with income equal to or less than 150 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, who have
other health insurance, are eligible if the coverage:

(1) lacks two or more of the following:

(i) basic hospital insurance;

(ii) medical-surgical insurance;

(iii) prescription drug coverage;

(iv) dental coverage; or

(v) vision coverage;

(2) requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or

(3) lacks coverage because the child has exceeded the maximum coverage for a particular
diagnosis or the policy excludes a particular diagnosis.

The commissioner may change this eligibility criterion for sliding scale premiums in order
to remain within the limits of available appropriations. The requirement of no health coverage
does not apply to newborns.

(b) Medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and the Civilian Health and Medical
Program of the Uniformed Service, CHAMPUS, or other coverage provided under United States
Code, title 10, subtitle A, part II, chapter 55, are not considered insurance or health coverage for
purposes of the four-month requirement described in this subdivision.

(c) For purposes of this subdivision, an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to Medicare Part
A or enrolled in Medicare Part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act, United
States Code, title 42, sections 1395c to 1395w-152, is considered to have health coverage. An
applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A may not refuse to apply for
or enroll in Medicare coverage to establish eligibility for MinnesotaCare.

(d) Applicants who were recipients of medical assistance or general assistance medical care
within one month of application must meet the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 2.

(e) Cost-effective health insurance that was paid for by medical assistance is not considered
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement under this section, except if the
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insurance continued after medical assistance no longer considered it cost-effective or after
medical assistance closed.

[See Note.]

Subd. 4. Families with children in need of chemical dependency treatment. Premiums for
families with children when a parent has been determined to be in need of chemical dependency
treatment pursuant to an assessment conducted by the county under section 626.556, subdivision
10, or a case plan under section 260C.201, subdivision 6, or 260C.212, who are eligible for
MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, may be paid by the county of residence of
the person in need of treatment for one year from the date the family is determined to be eligible
or if the family is currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare from the date the person is determined to
be in need of chemical dependency treatment. Upon renewal, the family is responsible for any
premiums owed under section 256L.15. If the family is not currently enrolled in MinnesotaCare,
the local county human services agency shall determine whether the family appears to meet the
eligibility requirements and shall assist the family in applying for the MinnesotaCare program.

Subd. 5. Voluntary disenrollment for members of military. Notwithstanding section
256L.05, subdivision 3b, MinnesotaCare enrollees who are members of the military and their
families, who choose to voluntarily disenroll from the program when one or more family members
are called to active duty, may reenroll during or following that member's tour of active duty.
Those individuals and families shall be considered to have good cause for voluntary termination
under section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (d). Income and asset increases reported at the
time of reenrollment shall be disregarded. All provisions of sections 256L.01 to 256L.18 shall
apply to individuals and families enrolled under this subdivision upon 12-month renewal.

Subd. 6. [Repealed, 2010 c 200 art 1 s 21]

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 1Sp2011 c 9 art 6 s 97]

Subd. 8. Automatic eligibility for certain children.
[See Note.]

Subd. 9. Firefighters; volunteer ambulance attendants. (a) For purposes of this
subdivision, "qualified individual" means:

(1) a volunteer firefighter with a department as defined in section 299N.01, subdivision 2,
who has passed the probationary period; and

(2) a volunteer ambulance attendant as defined in section 144E.001, subdivision 15.

(b) A qualified individual who documents to the satisfaction of the commissioner status
as a qualified individual by completing and submitting a one-page form developed by the
commissioner is eligible for MinnesotaCare without meeting other eligibility requirements of
this chapter, but must pay premiums equal to the average expected capitation rate for adults with
no children paid under section 256L.12. Individuals eligible under this subdivision shall receive
coverage for the benefit set provided to adults with no children.

[See Note.]
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History: 1986 c 444; 1992 c 549 art 4 s 8,19; 1993 c 345 art 9 s 8; 1994 c 625 art 8 s 56,72;
1995 c 234 art 6 s 11-13; 1997 c 187 art 1 s 18; 1997 c 225 art 1 s 12; 1998 c 407 art 5 s 33;
1999 c 139 art 4 s 2; 1999 c 245 art 4 s 98; 1Sp2001 c 9 art 2 s 63; 2002 c 220 art 15 s 21,22;
2002 c 277 s 30; 2002 c 379 art 1 s 113; 1Sp2003 c 14 art 12 s 78,79; 2005 c 10 art 1 s 56; 2005
c 59 s 1; 1Sp2005 c 4 art 8 s 69-72; 2007 c 147 art 5 s 28,29; art 13 s 3; 2008 c 286 art 1 s 10;
2008 c 358 art 3 s 10; 2009 c 79 art 5 s 63-66; 1Sp2010 c 1 art 16 s 35

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1, paragraph (a), changing 215 to 250 percent of
federal poverty guidelines by Laws 2008, chapter 358, article 3, section 10, is effective July 1,
2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The amendment to subdivision 1, paragraph
(c), changing $50,000 to $57,500 for gross household income is effective July 1, 2010, or upon
federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor
of statutes when federal approval is obtained. Laws 2008, chapter 358, article 3, section 10, the
effective date.

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 1 by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 63, is
effective July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article
5, section 63, the effective date. The subdivision will read as follows:

"Subdivision 1. General requirements. (a) Children enrolled in the original children's
health plan as of September 30, 1992, children who enrolled in the MinnesotaCare program after
September 30, 1992, pursuant to Laws 1992, chapter 549, article 4, section 17, and children
who have family gross incomes that are equal to or less than 200 percent of the federal poverty
guidelines are eligible without meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 and the four-month
requirement in subdivision 3, as long as they maintain continuous coverage in the MinnesotaCare
program or medical assistance.

Parents enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 1, whose income
increases above 275 percent of the federal poverty guidelines, are no longer eligible for the
program and shall be disenrolled by the commissioner. Beginning January 1, 2008, individuals
enrolled in MinnesotaCare under section 256L.04, subdivision 7, whose income increases above
200 percent of the federal poverty guidelines or 250 percent of the federal poverty guidelines
on or after July 1, 2009, are no longer eligible for the program and shall be disenrolled by
the commissioner. For persons disenrolled under this subdivision, MinnesotaCare coverage
terminates the last day of the calendar month following the month in which the commissioner
determines that the income of a family or individual exceeds program income limits.

(b) Children may remain enrolled in MinnesotaCare if their gross family income as defined
in section 256L.01, subdivision 4, is greater than 275 percent of federal poverty guidelines. The
premium for children remaining eligible under this paragraph shall be the maximum premium
determined under section 256L.15, subdivision 2, paragraph (b).

(c) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), parents are not eligible for MinnesotaCare if gross
household income exceeds $57,500 for the 12-month period of eligibility."

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 2 by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 64, is
effective July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article
5, section 64, the effective date. The subdivision will read as follows:

"Subd. 2.Must not have access to employer-subsidized coverage. (a) To be eligible, a
family or individual must not have access to subsidized health coverage through an employer and
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must not have had access to employer-subsidized coverage through a current employer for 18
months prior to application or reapplication. A family or individual whose employer-subsidized
coverage is lost due to an employer terminating health care coverage as an employee benefit
during the previous 18 months is not eligible.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to a family or individual who was enrolled
in MinnesotaCare within six months or less of reapplication and who no longer has
employer-subsidized coverage due to the employer terminating health care coverage as an
employee benefit. This subdivision does not apply to children with family gross incomes that are
equal to or less than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines.

(c) For purposes of this requirement, subsidized health coverage means health coverage
for which the employer pays at least 50 percent of the cost of coverage for the employee or
dependent, or a higher percentage as specified by the commissioner. Children are eligible for
employer-subsidized coverage through either parent, including the noncustodial parent. The
commissioner must treat employer contributions to Internal Revenue Code Section 125 plans and
any other employer benefits intended to pay health care costs as qualified employer subsidies
toward the cost of health coverage for employees for purposes of this subdivision."

NOTE: The amendment to subdivision 3 by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 65, is
effective July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article
5, section 65, the effective date. The subdivision will read as follows:

"Subd. 3.Other health coverage. (a) Families and individuals enrolled in the MinnesotaCare
program must have no health coverage while enrolled. Children with family gross incomes equal
to or greater than 200 percent of federal poverty guidelines, and adults, must have had no health
coverage for at least four months prior to application and renewal. Children enrolled in the original
children's health plan and children in families with income equal to or less than 200 percent of the
federal poverty guidelines, who have other health insurance, are eligible if the coverage:

(1) lacks two or more of the following:

(i) basic hospital insurance;

(ii) medical-surgical insurance;

(iii) prescription drug coverage;

(iv) dental coverage; or

(v) vision coverage;

(2) requires a deductible of $100 or more per person per year; or

(3) lacks coverage because the child has exceeded the maximum coverage for a particular
diagnosis or the policy excludes a particular diagnosis.

The commissioner may change this eligibility criterion for sliding scale premiums in order
to remain within the limits of available appropriations. The requirement of no health coverage
does not apply to newborns.

(b) Medical assistance, general assistance medical care, and the Civilian Health and Medical
Program of the Uniformed Service, CHAMPUS, or other coverage provided under United States
Code, title 10, subtitle A, part II, chapter 55, are not considered insurance or health coverage for
purposes of the four-month requirement described in this subdivision.
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(c) For purposes of this subdivision, an applicant or enrollee who is entitled to Medicare Part
A or enrolled in Medicare Part B coverage under title XVIII of the Social Security Act, United
States Code, title 42, sections 1395c to 1395w-152, is considered to have health coverage. An
applicant or enrollee who is entitled to premium-free Medicare Part A may not refuse to apply for
or enroll in Medicare coverage to establish eligibility for MinnesotaCare.

(d) Applicants who were recipients of medical assistance or general assistance medical care
within one month of application must meet the provisions of this subdivision and subdivision 2.

(e) Cost-effective health insurance that was paid for by medical assistance is not considered
health coverage for purposes of the four-month requirement under this section, except if the
insurance continued after medical assistance no longer considered it cost-effective or after
medical assistance closed."

NOTE: Subdivision 8, as added by Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5, section 66, is effective
July 1, 2009, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. Laws 2009, chapter 79, article 5,
section 66, the effective date. The subdivision will read:

"Subd. 8. Automatic eligibility for certain children. Any child who was residing in foster
care or a juvenile residential correctional facility on the child's 18th birthday is automatically
deemed eligible for MinnesotaCare upon termination or release until the child reaches the age of
21, and is exempt from the requirements of this section and section 256L.15. To be enrolled under
this section, a child must complete an initial application for MinnesotaCare. The commissioner
shall contact individuals enrolled under this section annually to ensure the individual continues to
reside in the state and is interested in continuing MinnesotaCare coverage."

NOTE: Subdivision 9, as added by Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 16,
section 35, is effective April 1, 2011. Laws 2010, First Special Session chapter 1, article 16, the
effective date.
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