2.031 APPORTIONMENT.

Subdivision 1. **Legislative districts.** The representatives in the senate and house of representatives are apportioned throughout the state in 67 senate districts and 134 house of representatives districts. Each senate district is entitled to elect one senator and each house of representatives district is entitled to elect one representative.

Subd. 2. **Definition.** The terms "county," "town," "township," "city," "ward," "precinct," "census tract," "block," and "unorganized territory" when used in a description of a legislative district in section 2.444 or 2.484, mean a geographical area established as such by law and as it existed for purposes of the 2000 federal census.

History: Ex1966 c 1 s 2; 1973 c 123 art 5 s 7; 1983 c 191 s 4; 1991 c 246 s 1; 1994 c 612 s 1; 2009 c 86 art 1 s 1

NOTE: The legislative districts, with the exception of those in sections 2.444 and 2.484, are set by the order of the Minnesota Special Redistricting Panel in Zachman v. Kiffmeyer, No. CO-01-160 (March 19, 2002).