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332.27 [Repealed, 2007 c 57 art 3 s 64]

332.28 [Repealed, 2007 c 57 art 3 s 64]

332.29 [Repealed, 2007 c 57 art 3 s 64]

ACCELERATED MORTGAGE PAYMENT PROVIDERS

332.30 ACCELERATED MORTGAGE PAYMENT PROVIDER; BOND
REQUIREMENTS.

(a) Before beginning business in this state, an accelerated mortgage payment provider,
as defined in section 332A.02, subdivision 8, clause (9), shall submit to the commissioner of
commerce an authorization fee of $250 and either:

(1) a surety bond in which the accelerated mortgage payment provider is the obligor, in an
amount determined by the commissioner; or

(2) if the commissioner agrees to accept it, a deposit:

(i) in cash in an amount equivalent to the bond amount; or

(ii) of authorized securities, as defined in section 50.14, with an aggregate market value
equal to the bond amount. The cash or securities must be deposited with the commissioner of
management and budget.

(b) The amount of the bond required by the commissioner shall vary with the amount of
Minnesota client funds held or to be held by the obligor. For new businesses, the bond must be no
less than $100,000, except as provided in section 332.301. The commissioner may increase the
required bond amount upon 30 days' notice to the accelerated mortgage payment provider.

(c) If a bond is submitted, it must name as surety an insurance company authorized to
transact fidelity and surety business in this state. The bond must run to the state of Minnesota for
the use of the state and of any person who may have a claim against the obligor arising out of the
obligor's activities as an accelerated mortgage payment provider. The bond must be conditioned
that the obligor will not commit any fraudulent act and will faithfully conform to and abide by the
provisions of accelerated mortgage payment agreements with Minnesota residents.

If an accelerated mortgage payment provider has failed to account to a mortgagor or
distribute funds to the mortgagee as required by an accelerated mortgage payment agreement, the
mortgagor or the mortgagor's legal representative or receiver or the commissioner shall have,
in addition to any other legal remedies, a right of action in the name of the debtor on the bond
or the security given pursuant to this section.

History: 1994 c 638 s 2; 1999 c 151 s 46; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50; 2008 c 277 art 1 s 72;
2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

332.301 BOND; BACKGROUND CHECK.

The commissioner may accept an initial surety bond or deposit in an amount less than
$100,000 based upon the business plan of the accelerated mortgage payment provider, provided
the commissioner obtains a third-party background check at the expense of the accelerated
mortgage payment provider and from a source to be determined by the commissioner. The
commissioner may require a third-party background check in connection with any accelerated
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mortgage payment provider at the expense of the accelerated mortgage payment provider, but no
more often than annually.

History: 1994 c 638 s 3

332.302 CONTRACTS; NOTICE TO MORTGAGOR.

A contract entered into between an accelerated mortgage payment provider and a mortgagor
shall be in writing and include all applicable terms and conditions including, but not limited
to, all fees, costs, and charges. A conforming copy must be provided to the mortgagor before
any fees in connection with the accelerated mortgage payment services are received by the
accelerated mortgage payment provider. A contract shall provide that the arrangement between
the accelerated mortgage payment provider and lender or lenders requires:

(1) that if the original terms of the mortgage, mortgage note, or escrow agreement are
in default because of nonpayment by the accelerated mortgage payment provider, the lender
or lenders mail or otherwise deliver to the mortgagor a written notice within 30 days of the
default; and

(2) that a written summary of payments received by the accelerated mortgage payment
provider by date and amount, payments made to the lender or lenders on behalf of the mortgagor
by date and amount, and unremitted balance held by the accelerated mortgage payment provider
be provided to the mortgagor at least annually or more frequently on a date or dates mutually
agreed upon between the accelerated mortgage payment provider and mortgagor.

History: 1994 c 638 s 4

332.303 SEGREGATED ACCOUNTS.

A payment received by an accelerated mortgage payment provider from or on behalf of
a client shall be held by the accelerated mortgage payment provider in a separate trust account
clearly designated for client funds. The account shall be in a bank or other depository institution
authorized or chartered under the laws of any state or of the United States. The accelerated
mortgage payment provider shall not commingle funds held for payment to lenders with its
own property or funds.

History: 1994 c 638 s 5

COLLECTION AGENCIES

332.31 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Terms. The terms in this section for the purposes of sections 332.31 to
332.45 shall have the meanings given them.

Subd. 2. Person. "Person" means and includes individuals, partnerships, associations
or corporations.

Subd. 3. Collection agency. "Collection agency" means and includes any person engaged in
the business of collection for others any account, bill or other indebtedness except as hereinafter
provided. It includes persons who furnish collection systems carrying a name which simulates
the name of a collection agency and who supply forms or form letters to be used by the creditor,
even though such forms direct the debtor to make payments directly to the creditor rather than to
such fictitious agency.
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Subd. 4. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]

Subd. 5. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]

Subd. 6. Collector. "Collector" is a person acting under the authority of a collection agency
under subdivision 3, and on its behalf in the business of collection for others an account, bill, or
other indebtedness except as otherwise provided in this chapter.

Subd. 7. [Repealed, 2010 c 384 s 104]
History: 1969 c 766 s 1; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1987 c 37 s 1; 2000 c 389 s 1

332.311 TRANSFER OF ADMINISTRATIVE FUNCTIONS.
The powers, duties, and responsibilities of the consumer services section under sections

332.31 to 332.45 relating to collection agencies are hereby transferred to and imposed upon the
commissioner of commerce.

History: 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 1; 1979 c 144 s 4; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1;
1984 c 655 art 1 s 92

332.32 EXCLUSIONS.
The term "collection agency" shall not include persons whose collection activities are

confined to and are directly related to the operation of a business other than that of a collection
agency such as, but not limited to banks when collecting accounts owed to the banks and when
the bank will sustain any loss arising from uncollectible accounts, abstract companies doing
an escrow business, real estate brokers, public officers, persons acting under order of a court,
lawyers, trust companies, insurance companies, credit unions, savings associations, loan or
finance companies unless they are engaged in asserting, enforcing or prosecuting unsecured
claims which have been purchased from any person, firm, or association when there is recourse to
the seller for all or part of the claim if the claim is not collected.

History: 1969 c 766 s 2; 1995 c 202 art 1 s 25

332.33 LICENSING AND REGISTRATION.

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, no person
shall conduct within this state a collection agency or engage within this state in the business of
collecting claims for others as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.45, without having first applied
for and obtained a collection agency license. A person acting under the authority of a collection
agency, as a collector, must first register with the commissioner under this section. A registered
collector may use one additional assumed name only if the assumed name is registered with
and approved by the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Penalty. A person who carries on business as a collection agency without
first having obtained a license or acts as a collector without first having registered with the
commissioner pursuant to sections 332.31 to 332.45, or who carries on this business after the
revocation, suspension, or expiration of a license or registration is guilty of a misdemeanor.

Subd. 3. Term. Licenses issued or renewed and registrations received by the commissioner
of commerce under sections 332.31 to 332.45 shall expire on June 30. Each collection agency
license shall plainly state the name and business address of the licensee, and shall be posted in
a conspicuous place in the office where the business is transacted. The fee for each collection
agency license is $500, and renewal is $400. The fee for each collector registration and renewal is
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$10. A collection agency licensee who desires to carry on business in more than one place shall
procure a license for each place where the business is to be conducted.

Subd. 4. Investigations. The commissioner may require financial statements and references
of all applicants for a license or registration as the commissioner considers necessary. The
commissioner may make or cause to be made an independent investigation concerning the
applicant's reputation, integrity, competence, and net worth, at the expense of the applicant for the
initial investigation, not to exceed $500, and for that purpose may require a deposit against the
cost of the investigation as the commissioner considers adequate. The investigation may cover all
managerial personnel employed by or associated with the applicant.

Subd. 5. Collection agency license issuance. Every application for a collection agency
license or renewal shall be acted upon promptly by the commissioner but in no event more than
45 days after receipt of the application. Each applicant may be issued a temporary license after
submitting a complete application which meets all requirements for licensure. This license shall
be effective until a permanent license is issued by the commissioner. If the application complies
in form and substance with sections 332.31 to 332.45 and the rules adopted under those sections
and the commissioner finds that the applicant is qualified under sections 332.31 to 332.45, the
commissioner shall issue a license immediately. If the application is not sufficient in form or
substance, the commissioner shall reject it and notify the applicant of the manner in which it is
deficient. The rejection is without prejudice to the filing of a new application. On finding that
the applicant is not qualified under sections 332.31 to 332.45, the commissioner shall reject the
application and shall give the applicant written notice of the rejection and the reasons for the
rejection.

Subd. 5a. Individual collector registration. A licensed collection agency, on behalf of
an individual collector, must register with the state all individuals in the collection agency's
employ who are performing the duties of a collector as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.45. The
collection agency must apply for an individual collection registration on a form provided by the
commissioner, or electronically when available. The collection agency shall verify on the form
that the applicant has confirmed that the applicant meets the requirements to perform the duties of
a collector as defined in sections 332.31 to 332.45. Upon submission of the form to the department,
the individual may begin to perform the duties of a collector and may continue to do so unless the
licensed collection agency is informed by the commissioner that the individual is ineligible.

Subd. 6. Deposit of fees. All money received by the commissioner under this section shall
be deposited in the general fund of the state treasury.

Subd. 7. Notice. A licensed collection agency or registered individual collector must give
the commissioner written notice of a change in personal name, company name, address, or
ownership not later than 15 days after the change occurs.

Subd. 8. Screening process requirement. Each licensed collection agency must establish
procedures to follow when screening an individual collector applicant prior to submitting an
applicant to the commissioner for registration. The commissioner may review the procedures to
ensure the integrity of the screening process. Failure to establish these procedures is subject to
action under section 332.40.

History: 1969 c 399 s 1; 1969 c 766 s 3; 1971 c 23 s 22; 1971 c 576 s 1; 1973 c 720 s 54
subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c
248 s 70; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 2; 1987 c 358 s 118,119; 1997 c 222 s 50,51; 2004 c 208 s 1
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332.335 [Repealed, 2010 c 384 s 104]

332.3351 EXEMPTION FROM LICENSURE.

A collection agency shall be exempt from the licensing and registration requirements of this
chapter if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) the agency is located in another state that regulates and licenses collection agencies, but
does not require a Minnesota collection agency to obtain a license to collect debts in the agency's
state if the agency's collection activities are limited in the same manner;

(2) the agency's collection activities are limited to collecting debts not incurred in this
state from consumers located in this state; and

(3) the agency's collection activities in Minnesota are conducted by means of interstate
communications, including telephone, mail, electronic mail, or facsimile transmission.

History: 2010 c 384 s 93

332.34 BOND.

The commissioner of commerce shall require each collection agency licensee to file and
maintain in force a corporate surety bond, in a form to be prescribed by, and acceptable to, the
commissioner, and in a sum of at least $50,000 plus an additional $5,000 for each $100,000
received by the collection agency from debtors located in Minnesota during the previous calendar
year, less commissions earned by the collection agency on those collections for the previous
calendar year. The total amount of the bond shall not exceed $100,000. A collection agency may
deposit cash in and with a depository acceptable to the commissioner in an amount and in the
manner prescribed and approved by the commissioner in lieu of a bond.

History: 1969 c 766 s 4; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1981 c
229 s 1; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 3; 1996 c 439
art 1 s 16; 1997 c 222 s 52; 2010 c 384 s 94

332.345 SEGREGATED ACCOUNTS.

A payment collected by a collector or collection agency on behalf of a customer shall
be held by the collector or collection agency in a separate trust account clearly designated for
customer funds. The account must be in a bank or other depository institution authorized or
chartered under the laws of any state or of the United States.

History: 2008 c 344 s 55

332.35 PRIOR CONVICTION OR JUDGMENT AS DISQUALIFICATION.

No registration shall be accepted for, and no license shall be issued to, any person, firm,
corporation or association who or which, or any of the officers of which have, within the past
five years, been convicted in any court of fraud or any felony or have been convicted of or had
judgment entered against them in any court for failure to account to a client or customer for money
or property collected by them for the client or customer. No registration shall be accepted for, and
no license shall be issued to, any attorney whose license to practice law has been suspended or
revoked, for a period of five years after the date of such suspension or revocation.

History: 1969 c 766 s 5; 2004 c 208 s 3
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332.355 AGENCY RESPONSIBILITY FOR COLLECTORS.
The commissioner may take action against a collection agency for any violations of debt

collection laws by its debt collectors. The commissioner may also take action against the debt
collectors themselves for these same violations.

History: 2000 c 483 s 51

332.36 [Repealed, 1975 c 61 s 26]

332.37 PROHIBITED PRACTICES.
No collection agency or collector shall:
(1) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written threaten

wage garnishment or legal suit by a particular lawyer, unless it has actually retained the lawyer;
(2) use or employ sheriffs or any other officer authorized to serve legal papers in connection

with the collection of a claim, except when performing their legally authorized duties;
(3) use or threaten to use methods of collection which violate Minnesota law;
(4) furnish legal advice or otherwise engage in the practice of law or represent that it is

competent to do so;
(5) communicate with debtors in a misleading or deceptive manner by using the stationery

of a lawyer, forms or instruments which only lawyers are authorized to prepare, or instruments
which simulate the form and appearance of judicial process;

(6) exercise authority on behalf of a creditor to employ the services of lawyers unless
the creditor has specifically authorized the agency in writing to do so and the agency's course
of conduct is at all times consistent with a true relationship of attorney and client between the
lawyer and the creditor;

(7) publish or cause to be published any list of debtors except for credit reporting purposes,
use shame cards or shame automobiles, advertise or threaten to advertise for sale any claim as a
means of forcing payment thereof, or use similar devices or methods of intimidation;

(8) refuse to return any claim or claims and all valuable papers deposited with a claim or
claims upon written request of the creditor, claimant or forwarder after tender of the amounts due
and owing to the agency within 30 days after the request; refuse or intentionally fail to account to
its clients for all money collected within 30 days from the last day of the month in which the same
is collected; or, refuse or fail to furnish at intervals of not less than 90 days upon written request of
the claimant or forwarder, a written report upon claims received from the claimant or forwarder;

(9) operate under a name or in a manner which implies that the agency is a branch of or
associated with any department of federal, state, county or local government or an agency thereof;

(10) commingle money collected for a customer with the agency's operating funds or use
any part of a customer's money in the conduct of the agency's business;

(11) transact business or hold itself out as a debt prorater, debt adjuster, or any person who
settles, adjusts, prorates, pools, liquidates or pays the indebtedness of a debtor, unless there is no
charge to the debtor, or the pooling or liquidation is done pursuant to court order or under the
supervision of a creditor's committee;

(12) violate any of the provisions of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act of 1977, Public
Law 95-109, while attempting to collect on any account, bill or other indebtedness;
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(13) communicate with a debtor by use of a recorded message utilizing an automatic dialing
announcing device unless the recorded message is immediately preceded by a live operator who
discloses prior to the message the name of the collection agency and the fact the message intends
to solicit payment and the operator obtains the consent of the debtor to hearing the message;

(14) in collection letters or publications, or in any communication, oral or written, imply or
suggest that health care services will be withheld in an emergency situation;

(15) when a debtor has a listed telephone number, enlist the aid of a neighbor or third party
to request that the debtor contact the licensee or collector, except a person who resides with the
debtor or a third party with whom the debtor has authorized the licensee or collector to place the
request. This clause does not apply to a call back message left at the debtor's place of employment
which is limited to the licensee's or collector's telephone number and name;

(16) when attempting to collect a debt, fail to provide the debtor with the full name of the
collection agency as it appears on its license;

(17) collect any money from a debtor that is not reported to a creditor or fail to return
any amount of overpayment from a debtor to the debtor or to the state of Minnesota pursuant
to the requirements of chapter 345;

(18) accept currency or coin as payment for a debt without issuing an original receipt to the
debtor and maintaining a duplicate receipt in the debtor's payment records;

(19) attempt to collect any amount of money from a debtor or charge a fee to a creditor that
is not authorized by agreement with the client;

(20) falsify any collection agency documents with the intent to deceive a debtor, creditor,
or governmental agency; or

(21) when initially contacting a Minnesota debtor by mail, fail to include a disclosure on
the contact notice, in a type size or font which is equal to or larger than the largest other type of
type size or font used in the text of the notice. The disclosure must state: "This collection agency
is licensed by the Minnesota Department of Commerce."

History: 1969 c 766 s 7; 1981 c 229 s 2; 1987 c 37 s 4; 1988 c 592 s 12; 1993 c 295 s 1;
1999 c 137 s 10; 2004 c 208 s 4; 2005 c 10 art 2 s 4; 2010 c 382 s 66

332.38 APPLICATION IN CASE OF PRETENDED PURCHASE, ASSIGNMENT OR
USE OF A FICTITIOUS NAME.

The provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.45 shall apply to any person who, by any device,
subterfuge or pretense, makes a pretended purchase or takes a pretended assignment of accounts
from another for the purpose of evading provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.45, or, uses a
fictitious name or any name other than the person's own name which would indicate to the debtor
that a third person is collecting or attempting to collect such account or claim.

History: 1969 c 766 s 8; 1986 c 444

332.385 NOTIFICATION TO COMMISSIONER.

The collection agency licensee shall notify the commissioner of any employee termination
within ten days of the termination if it is in whole or in part based on a violation of this chapter.

History: 1993 c 295 s 2
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332.39 INJUNCTIONS.

The attorney general or the county attorney of any county may apply for an injunction in
district court to enjoin any violations of sections 332.31 to 332.45, or any practices prohibited
in section 332.37, and any such court may issue temporary or permanent injunctions as the
circumstances shall require. Such injunctive proceedings shall be in addition to and not in lieu of
penalties and remedies otherwise provided in sections 332.31 to 332.45.

History: 1969 c 766 s 9

332.395 COMMISSIONER'S POWER OVER INEFFECTIVE LICENSES AND
REGISTRATIONS.

If a license or registration lapses, is surrendered, withdrawn, terminated, or otherwise
becomes ineffective, the commissioner of commerce may do either or both of the following: (1)
institute a proceeding under section 45.027 within two years after the license or registration
was last effective and enter a revocation or suspension order as of the last date on which the
license or registration was in effect; (2) impose a civil penalty as provided for in section 45.027,
subdivision 6.

History: 1996 c 439 art 1 s 17; 2004 c 208 s 5

332.40 INVESTIGATION, SUSPENSION, AND REVOCATION OF LICENSES OR
REGISTRATIONS.

Subdivision 1. Examination of licensee's or registered individual collector's records.
The commissioner of commerce may make examinations of the collection records of a licensee or
registered individual collector at a reasonable time and in a scope as is necessary to enforce the
provisions of sections 332.31 to 332.45, and for that purpose the commissioner shall have free
access to the books and records of a licensee or registered individual collector relating thereto. If a
licensee or registered individual collector violates any provision of sections 332.31 to 332.45,
or any administrative rules issued pursuant to sections 332.31 to 332.45, fails to maintain its
financial condition sufficient to qualify for licensure or registration on an original application,
or, fails to maintain its registration or comply with all of the requirements of chapter 303, the
commissioner may, after notice and hearing in accordance with the provisions of the laws of this
state governing proceedings before administrative agencies, revoke a license or registration, or
suspend a license or registration for a period as the commissioner deems proper.

Subd. 2. Other examinations. The commissioner may investigate within or without this
state as the commissioner deems necessary to determine whether any person has violated any
provision of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act of 1977, Public Law 95-109 or of sections
332.31 to 332.45, or any rule or order thereunder; to determine whether a license or registration
should be issued, renewed, or revoked; to aid in the enforcement of sections 332.31 to 332.45; or
in prescribing rules and forms thereunder. The commissioner may publish information concerning
any violation of sections 332.31 to 332.45 or any rule or order thereunder.

Subd. 3. Commissioner's powers. For the purpose of any investigation or proceeding
under sections 332.31 to 332.45, the commissioner or any person designated by the commissioner
may administer oaths and affirmations, subpoena collection agencies or collectors and compel
their attendance, take evidence and require the production of any books, papers, correspondence,
memoranda, agreements or other documents or records which the commissioner deems relevant
or material to the inquiry. The subpoena shall contain a written statement setting forth the
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circumstances which have reasonably caused the commissioner to believe that a violation of
sections 332.31 to 332.45 may have occurred.

In the event that the collection agency or collector refuses to obey the subpoena, or should
the commissioner, upon completion of the examination of the collection agency or collector,
reasonably conclude that a violation has occurred, the commissioner may examine additional
witnesses, including third parties, as may be necessary to complete the investigation.

Any subpoena issued pursuant to this section shall be served by certified mail or by personal
service. Service shall be made at least 15 days prior to the date of appearance.

Subd. 4. Court order to compel disclosures. In case of contumacy by or refusal to obey a
subpoena by any person the district court upon application by the commissioner may issue to
the person an order directing the person to appear before the commissioner or commissioner's
designee to produce documentary evidence if so ordered or to give evidence touching the matter
under investigation or in question. Failure to obey the order of the court may be punished by the
court as a contempt of court.

History: 1969 c 766 s 10; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1981
c 229 s 3; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 1987 c 37 s 5; 2004 c
208 s 6; 2010 c 382 s 67

332.41 APPEALS.
Appeal from a denial, suspension, revocation, or censure of a license or registration must

be made according to chapter 14.
History: 1969 c 766 s 11; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c

289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 2001 c 208 s 24; 2004 c 208 s 7

332.42 REPORTS AND RECORDS.

Subdivision 1. Verified financial statement. The commissioner of commerce may at any
time require a collection agency licensee to submit a verified financial statement for examination
by the commissioner to determine whether the collection agency licensee is financially
responsible to carry on a collection agency business within the intents and purposes of sections
332.31 to 332.45.

Subd. 2. Record keeping. The commissioner shall require the collection agency licensee to
keep such books and records in the licensee's place of business in this state as will enable the
commissioner to determine whether there has been compliance with the provisions of sections
332.31 to 332.45, unless the agency is a foreign corporation duly authorized, admitted, and
licensed to do business in this state and complies with all the requirements of chapter 303 and
with all other requirements of sections 332.31 to 332.45. Every collection agency licensee shall
preserve the records of final entry used in such business for a period of five years after final
remittance is made on any amount placed with the licensee for collection or after any account has
been returned to the claimant on which one or more payments have been made.

History: 1969 c 766 s 12; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c
289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1986 c 444; 2004 c 208 s 8

332.43 DELINQUENT COLLECTION AGENCIES.

Subdivision 1. Appointment of receiver. If the commissioner shall determine that a
collection agency licensee is insolvent or has collected accounts but has failed to remit money
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due to any claimant within 45 days from the end of the month in which collection was made, or
when the license of a collection agency has expired or terminated for any reason whatsoever, the
commissioner, on determining such action necessary to protect the public interest, may apply to
the district court for the county in which the main office of such agency is located for appointment
of a receiver to receive the assets of the collection agency licensee for the purpose of liquidating
or rehabilitating its business and or for such other relief as the nature of the case and the interest
of the claimants may require. The reasonable and necessary expenses of the receivership shall
constitute the first claim on the bond.

Subd. 2. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]

Subd. 3. [Repealed, 1979 c 144 s 7]
History: 1969 c 766 s 13; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 5; 1986 c 444; 2004

c 208 s 9

332.44 RULEMAKING POWER.

The commissioner of commerce shall make and file in accordance with the provisions of
chapter 14, all reasonable rules as shall be necessary for the administration of sections 332.31
to 332.45.

History: 1969 c 766 s 14; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1982 c
424 s 130; 1983 c 289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92; 1985 c 248 s 70

332.45 LIABILITY OF SURETIES.

Sureties for collection agencies who have executed bonds pursuant to Minnesota Statutes
1967, sections 332.01 to 332.03 shall not be liable for any new liabilities incurred by the
collection agency after the commissioner of commerce has approved that agency's bond as
required by section 332.34.

History: 1969 c 766 s 15; 1973 c 720 s 54 subd 2; 1979 c 144 s 6; 1980 c 516 s 2; 1983 c
289 s 114 subd 1; 1984 c 655 art 1 s 92

332.50 MS 2001 Supp [Renumbered 604.113]

332.505 MS 2001 Supp [Renumbered 604.15]

332.51 MS 2000 [Renumbered 604.14]

CREDIT SERVICES ORGANIZATIONS

332.52 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions in this section apply to sections 332.52 to
332.60.

Subd. 2. Buyer. "Buyer" means any individual who is solicited to purchase or who
purchases the services of a credit services organization.

Subd. 3. Credit services organization. (a) "Credit services organization" means any person
that, with respect to the extension of credit by others, sells, provides, performs, or represents that
the person will sell, provide, or perform, in return for the payment of money or other valuable
consideration, any of the following services:
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(1) improve a buyer's credit record, history, or rating;

(2) obtain an extension of credit for a buyer; or

(3) provide advice or assistance to a buyer with regard to either clause (1) or (2).

(b) "Credit services organization" does not include:

(1) any person authorized to make loans or extensions of credit under the laws of this
state or the United States, if the person is subject to regulation and supervision by this state or
the United States or a lender approved by the United States Secretary of Housing and Urban
Development for participation in any mortgage insurance program under the National Housing
Act, United States Code, title 12, section 1701 et seq.;

(2) any bank, savings bank, or savings and loan institution whose deposits or accounts are
eligible for insurance by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation or a subsidiary of the bank,
savings bank, or savings and loan institution;

(3) any credit union, federal credit union, or out-of-state credit union doing business in
this state;

(4) any nonprofit organization exempt from taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code of 1986, as amended through December 31, 1990;

(5) any person licensed as a prorating agency under the laws of this state if the person is
acting within the course and scope of that license;

(6) any person licensed as a real estate broker by this state if the person is acting within
the course and scope of that license;

(7) any person licensed as a collection agency under the laws of this state if the person is
acting within the course and scope of that license;

(8) any person licensed to practice law in this state if the person renders services within the
course and scope of practice as an attorney;

(9) any broker-dealer registered with the Securities and Exchange Commission or the
Commodity Futures Trading Commission if the broker-dealer is acting within the course and
scope of that regulation; or

(10) any consumer reporting agency as defined in the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act,
United States Code, title 15, sections 1681 to 1681t, as amended through December 31, 1990.

Subd. 4. Extension of credit. "Extension of credit" means the right, offered or granted
primarily for personal, family, or household purposes, to defer payment of debt or to incur debt
and defer its payment.

History: 1991 c 314 s 1; 2010 c 382 s 68

332.53 WAIVER OF RIGHTS.

Any waiver by a buyer of sections 332.52 to 332.60 is void. Any attempt by a credit
services organization to have a buyer waive rights provided under sections 332.52 to 332.60 is a
violation of sections 332.52 to 332.60. In any proceeding involving sections 332.52 to 332.60, the
burden of proving an exemption or an exception from a definition is upon the person claiming it.

History: 1991 c 314 s 2

Copyright © 2010 by the Office of the Revisor of Statutes, State of Minnesota. All Rights Reserved.



14 MINNESOTA STATUTES 2010 332.55

332.54 REGISTRATION.

Subdivision 1. Filing. It is unlawful for any credit services organization to offer, advertise,
or execute or cause to be executed by a consumer any contract in this state unless the credit
services organization at the time of the offer, advertisement, sale, or execution of a contract has
been properly registered with the commissioner.

Subd. 2. Disclosure. The registration must contain the following information:

(1) the name and address of the credit services organization;

(2) the name and address of the registered agent authorized to accept service of process
on behalf of the credit services organization;

(3) the name and address of any person who directly or indirectly owns or controls a ten
percent or greater interest in the credit services organization;

(4) the name and address of the surety company that issued the bond required under
section 332.55; and

(5) full disclosure of any litigation or unresolved complaint filed within the preceding five
years with the state, any other state, or the United States relating to the operation of the credit
services organization, or a notarized statement that there has been no litigation or unresolved
complaint filed within the preceding five years with the state, any other state, or the United States
relating to the operation of the credit services organization.

Subd. 3. Additional information. The credit services organization must attach to the
registration statement a copy of the contract which the credit services organization intends to
execute with its consumers and evidence of the required bond.

Subd. 4. Update of information. The credit services organization must update the
registration statement required under this section not later than 90 days after the date from which
a change in the information required in the statement occurs.

Subd. 5. Buyer inspection. Each credit services organization registering under this section
must maintain a copy of the registration statement in its files. The credit services organization
must allow a buyer to inspect the registration statement on request.

Subd. 6. Term. Registration issued or renewed by the commissioner of commerce under
sections 332.52 to 332.60 expires on June 30 of each year.

Subd. 7. Fees. The fee for a credit services organization's registration is $1,000 for issuance
or renewal for each location of business.

History: 1991 c 314 s 3; 1993 c 295 s 3-5; 2007 c 44 s 8; 2007 c 57 art 3 s 44

332.55 BOND.

A credit services organization must submit to the commissioner at the time of registration,
an annual surety bond of $10,000, expiring on June 30 of each year, by an insurance company
which is authorized by the state of Minnesota to transact the business of fidelity and surety
insurance. The credit services organization must be the obligor. The bond must benefit the state
of Minnesota and any person who may have a cause of action against the obligor arising out of
the obligor's activities as a credit services organization. The commissioner may accept a deposit
in cash, or securities that may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds of an
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aggregate market value equal to the bond requirement, in lieu of the surety bond. The cash or
securities must be deposited with the commissioner of management and budget.

History: 1991 c 314 s 4; 1992 c 564 art 4 s 16; 1993 c 295 s 6; 2003 c 112 art 2 s 50;
2009 c 101 art 2 s 109

332.56 PROHIBITED ACTS.

Subdivision 1. Requirements; prohibitions. A credit services organization, its
salespersons, agents, and representatives, and independent contractors who sell or attempt to sell
the services of a credit services organization may not do any of the following:

(1) charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration prior to full and complete
performance of the services the credit services organization has agreed to perform for the buyer;

(2) charge or receive any money or other valuable consideration solely for referral of the
buyer to a retail seller who will or may extend credit to the buyer if the credit that is or will be
extended to the buyer is upon substantially the same terms as those available to the general public;

(3) make, counsel, or advise any buyer to make, any statement with respect to a buyer's
credit worthiness, credit standing, or credit capacity that is untrue or misleading or that should
be known by the exercise of reasonable care to be untrue or misleading to a credit reporting
agency or to any person who has extended credit to a buyer or to whom a buyer is applying for
an extension of credit; or

(4) make or use any untrue or misleading representations in the offer or sale of the services
of a credit services organization or engage, directly or indirectly, in any act, practice, or course of
business that operates or would operate as fraud or deception upon any person in connection with
the offer or sale of the services of a credit services organization.

Subd. 2. Salespersons; agents. If a credit services organization is in compliance with
subdivision 1, clause (1), the salesperson, agent, or representative who sells the services of that
organization is not required to obtain a surety bond.

History: 1991 c 314 s 5

332.57 DISCLOSURE STATEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Requirement. Before the execution of a contract or agreement between the
buyer and a credit services organization or before the receipt by the credit services organization of
any money or other valuable consideration, whichever occurs first, the credit services organization
shall provide the buyer with a statement in writing containing all of the information required by
subdivision 2. The credit services organization shall maintain on file for a period of two years an
exact copy of the statement, personally signed by the buyer, acknowledging receipt of a copy
of the statement.

Subd. 2. Contents. The disclosure statement required under subdivision 1 must be printed
in boldface and in at least 10-point type and must include the following statement:

"CONSUMER CREDIT FILE RIGHTS UNDER MINNESOTA AND FEDERAL LAW
You have a right to obtain a copy of your credit report from a credit bureau. You may be

charged a reasonable fee. There is no fee, however, if you have been turned down for credit,
employment, insurance, or a rental dwelling because of information in your credit report within
the preceding 30 days. The credit bureau must provide someone to help you interpret the
information in your credit file.
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You have a right to dispute inaccurate information by contacting the credit bureau directly.
However, neither you nor any "credit repair" company or credit services organization has the right
to have accurate, current, and verifiable information removed from your credit bureau report.
Under the federal Fair Credit Reporting Act, the credit bureau must remove accurate, negative
information from your report only if it is over seven years old. Bankruptcy can be reported for
ten years.

You have a right to sue a credit repair company that violates Minnesota's Credit Services
Organization Act. This law prohibits deceptive practices by credit repair companies and gives you
a right to cancel your contract for any reason within five working days from the date you signed it.

Credit bureaus are required to follow reasonable procedures to ensure that creditors report
information accurately. However, mistakes may occur.

You may, on your own, notify a credit bureau in writing that you dispute the accuracy of
information in your credit file. The credit bureau must then reinvestigate and modify or remove
inaccurate information. The credit bureau may not charge any fee for this service. Any pertinent
information and copies of any documents you have concerning an error should be given to the
credit bureau.

If reinvestigation does not resolve the dispute to your satisfaction, you may send a brief
statement to the credit bureau to keep in your file, explaining why you think the record is
inaccurate. The credit bureau must include your statement about disputed information with any
reports it issues about you."

History: 1991 c 314 s 6

332.58 CONTRACT.

Subdivision 1. Requirements. Each contract between the buyer and a credit services
organization for the purchase of the services of the credit services organization must be in writing,
dated, and signed by the buyer and must include the following:

(1) a conspicuous statement in boldface type, in immediate proximity to the space reserved
for the signature of the buyer, as follows: "If you, the buyer, have been denied credit within
the last 30 days, you may obtain a free copy of the consumer credit report from the consumer
reporting agency. You also have the right to dispute inaccurate information in a report. You may
cancel this contract at any time prior to midnight of the fifth day after the date of the transaction.
See the attached notice of cancellation form for an explanation of this right";

(2) the terms and conditions of payment, including the total of all payments to be made by
the buyer, whether to the credit services organization or to some other person;

(3) a full and detailed description of the services to be performed by the credit services
organization for the buyer, including all guarantees and all promises of full or partial refunds,
and the estimated date by which the services are to be performed or the estimated length of time
for performing the services;

(4) the credit services organization's principal business address and the name and address of
its agent in this state authorized to receive service of process; and

(5) with respect to the previous calendar year or the time period the credit services
organization has been in business, whichever is shorter, the percentage of the credit services
organization's customers for whom the credit services organization has fully and completely
performed the services the credit services organization agreed to perform for the buyer.
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Subd. 2. Notice of cancellation. The contract must be accompanied by a completed form
in duplicate, captioned "Notice of Cancellation" that must be attached to the contract, is easily
detachable, and contains in boldface type the following statement written in the same language as
used in the contract:

"Notice of Cancellation
You may cancel this contract without any penalty or obligation within five days from the

date the contract is signed.
If you cancel this contract, any payment made by you under this contract will be returned

within ten days following receipt by the seller of your cancellation notice.
To cancel this contract, mail or deliver a signed dated copy of this cancellation notice, or

any other written notice to ......(name of seller)...... at ......(address of seller)......, ......(place of
business)...... not later than midnight ......(date)......
I hereby cancel this transaction,
......(date)......
...(purchaser's signature)..."

Subd. 3. Buyer's copy. The credit services organization shall give to the buyer a copy of
the completed contract and all other documents the credit services organization requires the
buyer to sign at the time that they are signed.

History: 1991 c 314 s 7

332.59 VIOLATIONS.
Any person who violates sections 332.52 to 332.58 is guilty of a misdemeanor. A violation

of sections 332.52 to 332.58 is a violation of section 325F.69, subdivision 1, and the provisions of
section 8.31 apply. Sections 332.52 to 332.58 do not limit or restrict the right of any person to
pursue any appropriate remedy for a violation of sections 332.52 to 332.58. The provisions of
section 45.027 apply to the enforcement of sections 332.52 to 332.58.

History: 1991 c 314 s 8; 1993 c 295 s 7

332.60 DAMAGES.
A buyer suffering damages as a result of a violation of sections 332.52 to 332.58 by a credit

services organization may bring an action for recovery of damages. Judgment must be entered for
actual damages, but in no case shall the amount be less than the amount paid by the buyer to the
credit services organization, plus reasonable attorney fees and costs. An award may also be entered
for punitive damages. The remedies provided under sections 332.52 to 332.60 are in addition to
any other procedures or remedies for any violation or conduct otherwise provided by law.

History: 1991 c 314 s 9

BUSINESS SCREENING SERVICES

332.70 BUSINESS SCREENING SERVICES; DATA PRACTICES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section:
(a) "Business screening service" means a person regularly engaged in the business of

collecting, assembling, evaluating, or disseminating criminal records on individuals for a fee.
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Business screening service does not include a government entity, as defined in section 13.02, or
the news media.

(b) "Conviction" has the meaning given in section 609.02, subdivision 5.
(c) "Criminal record" means a record of an arrest, citation, prosecution, criminal

proceeding, or conviction.

Subd. 2. Criminal records. A business screening service must only disseminate a criminal
record that reflects the complete and accurate record provided by the source of the data. A
complete and accurate record is a record that has:

(1) been updated within 30 days of its receipt; or
(2) been verified with the source of the data within the previous 90 days as being up-to-date.

Subd. 3. Correction and deletion of records. (a) If the completeness or accuracy of
a criminal record maintained by a business screening service is disputed by the individual who
is the subject of the record, the screening service shall, without charge, investigate the disputed
record. In conducting an investigation, the business screening service shall review and consider all
relevant information submitted by the subject of the record with respect to the disputed record to
determine whether the record maintained by the screening service accurately reflects the content
of the official record, as maintained by the official government custodian.

(b) If, upon investigation, the screening service determines that the record does not
accurately reflect the content of the official record, the screening service shall correct the disputed
record so as to accurately reflect the content of the official record. If the disputed record is found
to be sealed, expunged, or the subject of a pardon, the business screening service shall promptly
delete the record. A business screening service that complies with this subdivision is not in
violation of this section.

(c) A business screening service may terminate an investigation of a disputed record if the
business screening agency reasonably determines that the dispute is frivolous, which may be
based on the failure of the subject of the record to provide sufficient information to investigate the
disputed record. Upon making a determination that the dispute is frivolous, the business screening
service shall inform the subject of the record of the specific reasons why it has determined that
the dispute is frivolous and provide a description of any information required to investigate
the disputed record.

(d) The business screening service shall notify the subject of the disputed record of the
correction or deletion of the record or of the termination or completion of the investigation related
to the record within 30 days of the date when the agency receives notice of the dispute from the
subject of the record.

Subd. 4. Date and notice required. A business screening service that disseminates a
criminal record that was collected on or after July 1, 2010, must include the date when the record
was collected by the business screening service and a notice that the information may include
criminal records that have been expunged, sealed, or otherwise have become inaccessible to
the public since that date.

Subd. 5. Remedies; relationship to FCRA. (a) A business screening service that violates
this section is liable to the individual who is the subject of the record for a penalty of $1,000
or actual damages caused by the violation, whichever is greater, plus costs and disbursements
and reasonable attorney fees.
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(b) A business screening service in compliance with the applicable provisions of the
Fair Credit Reporting Act, United States Code, title 15, section 1681, et seq., is considered to
be in compliance with this section. Those entities are subject to the state remedies under this
subdivision when their actions would violate this section and federal law.

Subd. 6. Service of process; jurisdiction. A business screening service that disseminates
criminal record information in this state or that obtains a criminal record from a government
entity, as defined in section 13.02, or a court in this state is deemed to have consented to service
of process in this state for purposes of section 5.25, subdivision 4, or other applicable law and
to the jurisdiction of courts in this state for actions involving a violation of this section or for
the recovery of remedies under this section.

History: 2008 c 315 s 19; 2009 c 178 art 1 s 68; 2010 c 240 s 1-4; 2010 c 385 s 5
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